Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What will I wear to River Island Interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Cookie Jar wrote: »
    To the grave.... flagship store:rolleyes:... Still cnt beat grafton;):p

Can't beat Newbridge!! :P How weird is this... I work flagship too!!! Are you menswear?!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

Novella wrote: »
    Can't beat Newbridge!! :P How weird is this... I work flagship too!!! Are you menswear?!!!

mail:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

dont go!!!horrible place to work!!!but if you insist wear somethign thats quite in style at the moment maybe one or two pieces from the shop but dont go over kill and cover yourself in stuff from the store!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 woohooo

I have an interview with River Island in Dundrum Tuesday and I'm bricking it... I applied to every place in Dublin for a job (including macdonalds) and theyre the only place I heard anything back from. I really need a job like but I dont own one thing from river island. Its not that I dont like the shop, I just find it over-priced and generally buy the knock offs in penneys for a third of the price :p
    I was thinking a long white shirt, belt, black leggings and flats... I dont want to wear jeans think theyre too casual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

woohooo wrote: »
    I have an interview with River Island in Dundrum Tuesday and I'm bricking it... I applied to every place in Dublin for a job (including macdonalds) and theyre the only place I heard anything back from. I really need a job like but I dont own one thing from river island. Its not that I dont like the shop, I just find it over-priced and generally buy the knock offs in penneys for a third of the price :p
    I was thinking a long white shirt, belt, black leggings and flats... I dont want to wear jeans think theyre too casual.

sounds ok, dont forget to smile , a smile from your heart will show in your eyes. GOOD LUCK :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,430 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

To the grave.... flagship store:rolleyes:... Still cnt beat grafton;):p

It won't be the flagship store for long - there's a HUGE one opening in Cork - so there! hehe:D

leahyl wrote: »
    It won't be the flagship store for long - there's a HUGE one opening in Cork - so there! hehe:D

Really??

Believe it or not I had three customers yesterday complaining about the current Cork store:pac::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Is Gael Mise

Brilliant news, dont find the one in the city much good always to crowded for my liking. Where will this be? Im excited...Sad but true. :)

Ya it's realy narrow alright isn't it! The new one is going to be in the new opera lane (dahling!) shopping centre on academy street - you know where H&M is going to be?! Ya i'm excited too - i hope all these stores are open for Christmas - Topshop (3 floors!) and Next too are opening there!:D

The Ilac Centre store is actually the flagship and it will remain that way, no matter what opens in Cork! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Is Gael Mise

Ya it's realy narrow alright isn't it! The new one is going to be in the new opera lane (dahling!) shopping centre on academy street - you know where H&M is going to be?! Ya i'm excited too - i hope all these stores are open for Christmas - Topshop (3 floors!) and Next too are opening there!:D

Holy crap, thats brillaint im quite excited right now :D ! If there open before Christmas it will be savage! Takes shopping in Cork City to a whole new level! (I'm from Waterford!) Flagship store or not its better then whats there, i aint complaining! :)

GAP are now opening there too!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jagabomb

ya i've got an interview for the new river island in cork tomorrow :-/ kinda scared but im just going to be myself if they don't hire me its their loss :P

its opening around the 24th november i think... I CAN'T WAIT!! whether i work there or not

btw im gonna wear a long white shirt with a black waistbelt and leggings.
    cant decide whether to wear heels or pumps...what do ye think??

If your just going for a sales advisor position dont go getting too dressed up.. keep it smart casual.
    Id go for the pumps.

You'll b asked to pick out an outfit if your having your interview in a river island store.. tip for ya.. .pick out what the mannequins have on or something similar;)

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭sisco

Hello
    Just Wondering I Had An Interview For River Island New Store Opening On Navan A Few Weeks Ago Like I Got The Job, But I Have An Induction Day On Sunday. What Do I Do At That?? What Do I Wear?? How Long It Take??

Tanx

sisco wrote: »
    Hello
    Just Wondering I Had An Interview For River Island New Store Opening On Navan A Few Weeks Ago Like I Got The Job, But I Have An Induction Day On Sunday. What Do I Do At That?? What Do I Wear?? How Long It Take??

Tanx

Is it a sales advisor induction, yeah?

There'll probably be a few of you there and a manager will talk you through River Island policy etc. Is it in a RI store that is already open? If so, they might walk you around the floor. "This is the fitting room. Such and such happens here. You do X and Y.", that kinda thing.

I'd just wear jeans, ya know as if you were just heading to work! Mine was over two years ago now but I think it took three or four hours. I could be wrong, it was aaages ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jagabomb

just thought id let ye know i got the job!! was delighted with the interview yesterday evening and they rang me today offering it to me...and its permanent woohoo cant wait for the new store to open up. have my induction day the 14th November and think i will just wear a pair of river island jeans and a plain black tee. i presume theyll give us the ri t-shirts like?? ill let ye know how it goes! :D:D

jagabomb wrote: »
    just thought id let ye know i got the job!! was delighted with the interview yesterday evening and they rang me today offering it to me...and its permanent woohoo cant wait for the new store to open up. have my induction day the 14th November and think i will just wear a pair of river island jeans and a plain black tee. i presume theyll give us the ri t-shirts like?? ill let ye know how it goes! :D:D

Congrats! :)

Yeah, they'll give you a t-shirt or a shirt.

Well done.... welcome to hell :p

Yeah they will give you a tee shirt or shirt... new ones are muck by they way but well done:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭insert-gear

They should bring back the shirts. That way you can actually wear an outfit and look nice under it.

They still have shirts but we have to keep them buttoned up:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Thats cos they dont want to give a staff uniform discount like topshop do. 2 pairs of jeans like...

They still have shirts but we have to keep them buttoned up:mad::mad::mad::mad:

I remember when I moved store and they kept telling me I had to button up my shirt. I was like, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!!". In Newbridge, we didn't even have to wear jeans, we were allowed to wear leggings and stuff. I hate this whole shirt buttoning stuff, the state of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Mac14

ya i've got an interview for the new river island in cork tomorrow :-/ kinda scared but im just going to be myself if they don't hire me its their loss :P

its opening around the 24th november i think... I CAN'T WAIT!! whether i work there or not

btw im gonna wear a long white shirt with a black waistbelt and leggings.
    cant decide whether to wear heels or pumps...what do ye think??

Well done with getting the job. I was just wondering how did you go about applying for it, Thanks

I remember when I moved store and they kept telling me I had to button up my shirt. I was like, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!!". In Newbridge, we didn't even have to wear jeans, we were allowed to wear leggings and stuff. I hate this whole shirt buttoning stuff, the state of them!

I know!! We used to cut up our shirts and everything:( Damn these new rules!
    We can only choose from like 4 pairs of jeans... no converse... have to wear make up... no runners... having a laugh like!!
    Mac14 wrote: »
    Well done with getting the job. I was just wondering how did you go about applying for it, Thanks

Go to riverisland.com
    You can apply there if there is any positions left!

They also have those application forms in store sometimes. Cant wear converse? Thats a joke. I get the no runners though. Hardly the look theyre going for. But converse are always in at least one trend every season. Yeah when I was in liffey valley they didnt really care. In grafton st the manager let us buy skirts on discount for a while, but then they decided they didnt like the look anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,829 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Speaking from experience, male or female, stockroom is where you wanna be in RI. Great comraderie doing deliveries together, easy pulling replenishment reports every 15-30mins, don't have to deal with annoying customers too, and always overstaffed around christmas so not that much work to do either :D

I always liked working in the stockrooms, so much more craic. The one in liffey valley was inhuman till they got the airconditioning fixed though!

I know!! We used to cut up our shirts and everything:( Damn these new rules!
    We can only choose from like 4 pairs of jeans... no converse... have to wear make up... no runners... having a laugh like!!

Go to riverisland.com
    You can apply there if there is any positions left!

Yeah, same! I was buying work jeans a while ago and everything I picked was, "No, they have rips and you can see skin", "No, they're too light" etc. Basically we're allowed dark and skinny! Great, I can add to my collection! I only have 50 fcuking pairs of dark skinnies already! :rolleyes:

No Uggs or any branded footwear! Our new thing is we're supposed to wear either a plain black or white RI vest under our shirt!

There are a few positions on the website, I was having a look the other night! :)

Speaking from experience, male or female, stockroom is where you wanna be in RI. Great comraderie doing deliveries together, easy pulling replenishment reports every 15-30mins, don't have to deal with annoying customers too, and always overstaffed around christmas so not that much work to do either :D

Pretty much... but when replen is big its pretty hard work!!!
    Yeah, same! I was buying work jeans a while ago and everything I picked was, "No, they have rips and you can see skin", "No, they're too light" etc. Basically we're allowed dark and skinny! Great, I can add to my collection! I only have 50 fcuking pairs of dark skinnies already! :rolleyes:

No Uggs or any branded footwear! Our new thing is we're supposed to wear either a plain black or white RI vest under our shirt!

There are a few positions on the website, I was having a look the other night! :)

We are allowed dark but not too dark wtf?????
    Oh.. we do not have that over here.
    I really hate the way they "check" your uniform before you start your shift.
    Basically looking you up and down and commenting on your clothes or make up.. not a good start to your shift!!!