Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunderland V Liverpool 17/10/09 Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Xavi6 wrote: »
    There was no drop ball either when it happened City against Sheffield United.

Just because a ref got it wrong on a previous occasion does not make it okay for a different ref to get it wrong again on this occasion. I would love to hear how he justified that one to himself. The ball changed direction, Reina would have had it otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,033 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

"He's fat
    He's round
    He bounces on the ground
    Andy Reid, Andy Reid"

He's fit
    He's thin
    He crossed a "beach" of a ball in
    Andy Reid, Andy Reid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,981 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Just because a ref got it wrong on a previous occasion does not make it okay for a different ref to get it wrong again on this occasion. I would love to hear how he justified that one to himself. The ball changed direction, Reina would have had it otherwise.

:confused: I didn't say it was right or wrong on either occasion, I merely said that it has happened before.

People are way too defensive here sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

http://msn.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5635471,00.html

I'm genuinely surprised, I didn't know that it was actually wrong to allow the goal, I just thought it was of those unfortunate situations you can do nothing about (like when the ball hits off the ref or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,466 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    http://msn.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5635471,00.html

I'm genuinely surprised, I didn't know that it was actually wrong to allow the goal, I just thought it was of those unfortunate situations you can do nothing about (like when the ball hits off the ref or something).

Yes but the ref is considered part of the pitch, the same way goalposts are and can be used to score off....if you're good/unlucky enough to hit them.
    The beach ball is an external influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Was at the game yesterday,

Sunderland went into this game knowing they had a great chance of getting a result, the fans had high expectations even before it was revealed that Gerrard and Torres were injured. They came out of the blocks very fast and didn't give Liverpool a minute on the ball. Cana, Cattermole, Malbranque and Reid all had excellent games, and with Mascherano not starting either C&C dominated the midfield.

At times Liverpool invited the pressure onto themselves, Sunderland were closing down everything - and it amazed me the amount of times Reina still decided to pass the ball to one of the back 4 - i know it keeps hold of possession rather than punting it upfield - but they didn't do themselves any favours at all.

Although both defenses were rocky yesterday I couldn't see any Liverpool player who was going to score. Johnson caused havos a few times but his final ball was lacking at times, and at other times there were just too many Sunderland players around him.

The crowd chants were funny at times, Liverpool fans chanting "Steve Bruce, He's got a big fat head, he's got a big fat head"....Countered by "Your a fat Spanish waiter, you're just a fat Spanish waiter" and "sign on, sign on".

As for Bruce blasting Rafa out of it, i think he went a bit over the top. Jones went down a few times, the one just before this incident being his last obviously, but it was very frustrating for Liverpool. They should have taken Jones off earlier - he hadn't the legs left - and he was making the most of every challenge on him.

Forgetting about the beach ball thing, anyone who saw the game would agree that Sunderland deserved their win. They had by far the better chances. Liverpool really do suffer without their top 2 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Yes but the ref is considered part of the pitch, the same way goalposts are and can be used to score off....if you're good/unlucky enough to hit them.
    The beach ball is an external influence.

Not trying to derail thread but wondering ,

Case 1
    Defender makes a tackle and loses his boot , (boot just left there on the ground in the box) Ball breaks to a striker he has a shot which is deflected of the boot into the net Goal or not ???
    Case 2
    If the balloon yesterday was a football returned by over zealous Ballboy ie two balls on the pitch And the shot hits this ball Would it be Goal or Not ??

Sorry just wondering

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

ROCKMAN wrote: »

Case 1
    Defender makes a tackle and loses his boot , (boot just left there on the ground in the box) Ball breaks to a striker he has a shot which is deflected of the boot into the net Goal or not ???
    Case 2
    If the balloon yesterday was a football returned by over zealous Ballboy ie two balls on the pitch And the shot hits this ball Would it be Goal or Not ??

Sorry just wondering

Not sure about case 1 but case two is, afaik, instant stopping of the game and the unofficial ball removed, then a drop ball (normally uncontested)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

ROCKMAN wrote: »

Case 1
    Case 2

Sorry just wondering

Case 2: As soon as a ref spots a 2nd ball on the pitch he has to stop the game.

Not 100% sure on Case 1 put I'm guessing a players clothes are considered part of the pitch like the ref and goalposts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Did it even hit the ball? Looking at it on match of the day it looks like
    Johnson just kicks the beech ball instead of the football.

Thanks lads

Edit: just seen other thread
    So have posted them there aswell ,
    sorry again for any de-railing

Holsten wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Mr Alan wrote: »
    24kz711.gif

couple of match ban for aul Brucie hopefully

Agreed
    A1 thug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

bluefinger wrote: »
    Agreed
    A1 thug

seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,033 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Agreed
    A1 thug

ah here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭CR 7

Holsten wrote: »

Yeah, looks like this in some replays, Johnson's foot was at 45 degrees, ball could have come off this, and he kicks the beach ball in the same motion. Although it's so difficult to tell, that it's just funnier to believe the beach ball version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It seems Man City have made a quick move for the balloon

2dsg474.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I was at the game,the famous beach ball come from a couple of rows in front of us.I have not seen it on the TV yet its on my Sky Plus I will have a look later,one thing I am not sure if it was picked up on the TV is it was on the pitch before the game and Reina kicked it off the pitch and behind the goal.Looking back in hindsight he should have burst it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,981 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Dave! wrote: »
    It seems Man City have made a quick move for the balloon

2dsg474.jpg

Well he was only effective in his own box so maybe he's just a straight replacement for Dunne :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Dub13 wrote: »
    I was at the game,the famous beach ball come from a couple of rows in front of us.I have not seen it on the TV yet its on my Sky Plus I will have a look later,one thing I am not sure if it was picked up on the TV is it was on the pitch before the game and Reina kicked it off the pitch and behind the goal.Looking back in hindsight he should have burst it.
    Did that young kid get any stick from fans. Feel a bit sorry for him.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Well he was only effective in his own box so maybe he's just a straight replacement for Dunne :pac:

Think Chelsea thought that too :D

Whats are the odds united fans will be singing 99 red balloons. Or words to the tune next weekend

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/18102009/58/premier-league-liverpool-shop-sells-beach-balls.html
    Opposition fans revelling in Rafa Benitez's side's misery have bought all remaining 'beach sets' from the online shop, which consist of a towel, a bag and the now-infamous beach ball.

The sets had been reduced from £20 to £10 and have now sold out. They will be a must-have item for travelling supporters visiting Anfield in coming weeks.

Several web users have also left spoof reviews on the site.

'Natalie from Manchester' wrote: "I bought this set, but seem to have lost the ball in Sunderland. Is it possible to order a replacement?" while 'G from Johnon' commented: "This is one of the most flexible products I have ever purchased. Great for not only the beach, but can also play up front."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Whats are the odds united fans will be singing 99 red balloons. Or words to the tune next weekend

Pretty low I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

That_Guy wrote: »
    Anyone see the analysis on RTE?

Highlighting the balloon.
    "Ok and here we see the balloon making it's first appearance."
    "And here's the balloon now rolling its way into an onside position"

Genius.

Yeah, and 99 Red Balloons playing, brilliant :)

Did that young kid get any stick from fans. Feel a bit sorry for him.

I did not see him getting any stick.

Dub13 wrote: »
    I did not see him getting any stick.
    Yes Rte zoomed in on him before and after the goal. He looked a bit distraught but fair play to the Liverpool players and management they distanced themselves from the whole incident.
    Btw what was your take on the formation pool played. Shearer reckons our back three struggled with the system all afternoon.
    And looking at highlights of game yesterday, defence did not look comfortable at all.

Btw what was your take on the formation pool played. Shearer reckons our back three struggled with the system all afternoon.
    And looking at highlights of game yesterday, defence did not look comfortable at all.

I am never a fan of 3 at the back,it just does not work when the other team is playing 2 up front you can maybe get away with it when they are only playing one up but even then the CB don't play it enough to be comfortable playing it.

Yes three at the back seems a bit of a strange system and we were all over the place yesterday.
    Dont know what is wrong with our defence but they just dont look like a happy bunch. Always felt it strange that Carra chose to take a go at his team mates in the last game of last season (maybe it was second last).
    It showed his team mates up and I dont know if it was right thing to do.
    But either way he has been struggling so far this season. Hypia I know lacked pace but he was solid for most part.
    Maybe we are underestimating his loss to team. Always very dependable in the air and put his body on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Agreed
    A1 thug

If anything Mr Benitez should be issuing a public apology for accusing Kenywne Jones of timewasting :eek: