traveller conflict resolution program

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I dont see any problems with their current dispute resolution syste,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

^^^ terrible camera work :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

MizzLolly wrote: »

now you know not to buy one from them regardless of how many dogs they offer to throw in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

genericguy wrote: »
    now you know not to buy one from them regardless of how many dogs they offer to throw in.

''Ah it was a great fight, I'd say I need about three stitches in my lip and he bit the top of me ear, twice. It was a good oul fight!''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭chilli_pepper

I dont see any problems with their current dispute resolution syste,
    The nice Chap in the Vest looks Preggers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

so apparently there's a new conflict resolution service to be set up which will aim to deal with disputes among the travelling community.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0928/travellers.html

now, although we know there is a huge percentage of bad eggs in the community, we all know that not all travellers are bad. however, we all know that all travellers want to be treated as equals with settled people in society.

does anyone else think this is a waste of time? it's essentially a concession of defeat by the government in my opinion, anyone committing violent crimes should be locked up. do you think that the government would set up a fcuking sit-down-together-and-have-tea committee for the average house-dwelling anto and deco who are having scraps on the streets on a daily basis?

steps like this do more to segregate the travelling community from the rest of society by treating them differently from the rest of us in the first place.

thanks once again HSE, you useless shower of fat bastards.

Spot on buddy, jail the fookers if they break the law just like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

The law is "one size fits all". Certainly should be anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

****, I clicked on this link and expected to see a picture of a rocket to the sun with the caption "Problem solved!" :/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Settle down, settle down there lads!!!!!!!

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭firesidechat

The level of ignorance and narrow mindedness on this thread is a sad
    reflection on irish society today.
    Laughing and joking nor cheeky remarks will erase the problem.
    A happy medium where their culture is respected and also where they must answer to the law is needed.
    This will come about ONLY by dialogue, It's not the answer one wants to hear but it is reality........
    So ...strap on a pair of balls and start a realistic debate or else take it to the High Horse thread.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

So ...strap on a pair of balls and start a realistic debate or else take it to the High Horse thread.

Is the High-Horse a piebald pony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'd love to see an RTE documentary on this process, Celebrity Mediator or some such. Maybe get someone like David Norris in for a hilarious dichotomy.

They could try to mediate between the limerick gangs while they're at it, all the while respecting their drug culture of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

There was a programme here in Australia about Irish travelers and one of the kids managed to get into a clothes recycling skip thing. She couldnt get out though and her mate just headed off. V Funny!:D:D:D

Bambi wrote: »
    I'd love to see an RTE documentary on this process, Celebrity Mediator or some such. Maybe get someone like David Norris in for a hilarious dichotomy.

They could try to mediate between the limerick gangs while they're at it, all the while respecting their drug culture of course.

Couldn't be as good as Kilroy and the Gypsies, not sure if anyone saw it but racist and all-round w4nker Robert Kilroy Silk lived with travellers for a week with hilarious consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

SLUSK wrote: »
    Why should we respect travellers so called "culture"?

There are enough clips on Youtube to give me an impression of what their "culture" is about.

If we're judging people by clips on Youtube then settled people are pretty f*cked too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Blackjack

We need many more of these horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A happy medium where their culture is respected and also where they must answer to the law is needed.
    Their culture being holding County Councils, the government, local schools, etc, to ransom? That unless they pay money to the travellers, the travellers won't move? And when they do, they leave a mound of rubbish that costs many thousands of euro to clean up, never mind that the scenic spot is by then forever ruined. F**k their culture. When they obey the same law as I do, I'll think about giving a damn about their culture.

=-=

I've gotten banned before for letting people know of my "master plan" for sorting out travellers, so I won't speak of it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

There was a programme here in Australia about Irish travelers and one of the kids managed to get into a clothes recycling skip thing. She couldnt get out though and her mate just headed off. V Funny!:D:D:D

That's Pavee Lackeen. She came across as brain-damaged in many scenes in that film.

BANNED*

*is what this would say if I posted how I really felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

994 wrote: »
    That's Pavee Lackeen. She came across as brain-damaged in many scenes in that film.

Yeah, good film though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I say we sort this out the old navy way, first guy to die loses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Things got resolved, to some extent in the North, so why not give it a go with the Travelers. I think this fighting is just a hobby for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Is the High-Horse a piebald pony?

Standing on a mountain of rubbish!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

MizzLolly wrote: »

Agree. Can you imagine the smell? Would have been an ideal time to throw some soap and water in there. Clean the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

now, although we know there is a huge percentage of bad eggs in the community,

I wouldn't agree with that, it is a select few of families (big families admittedly) who have a monopoly of terror. I know of at least one site in Dublin where one family arrived and ran out all the other families who were there for years out of the place.

Let's not forget either that we as settled people have our fair share of bad eggs too, but do we affiliate ourselves with them? No.

Finally, I don't see a problem with this conflict resolution program, if they can get the ringleaders to sit down and see sense then it will make countless more lives easier (in both communities).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

What does traveller culture actuall add to irish society? IMO, nothing.

TBH, most people here pay PRSI, PAYE, VAT etc.... for the luxury of having police protection, infrastructure, social security etc.... what do these guys give? The guys in the revenue won't ask them, erm where did you get that Range Rover from? and then tax them on it as I'm pretty sure a few of them are undeclared. Maybe the odd search of a caravan now and again may reveal a few grand to be taxed on also, I mean if I put a large some of money into the bank I'd have to pay tax on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

jerseyeire wrote: »
    TBH, most people here pay PRSI, PAYE, VAT etc.... for the luxury of having police protection, infrastructure, social security etc.... what do these guys give?

Have you come across a traveller in a job where you pay PRSI, PAYE or VAT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

What does traveller culture actuall add to irish society?

problems.