Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Lol, there's this guy who lives on our road who's a bit slow but harmelss, and every time you pass him (he just stands in the street the whole time I think, god love him) he goes "NICE DAY" but anyways I have my bedroom window open (I'm on the second floor) and just there I heard clear as a bell "NICE NIGHT!" poor guy, I wonder who looks after him :( he was hanging out around the gates of college a couple of days ago looking a bit lost

Aww sounds like they arent doing a very good job, who ever they are. :(

Ouuhh There is a vegan on Come dine with me....:eek: and he is cooking meat. ugh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I hope you're not implying that veggie meet-ups all end with someone disgracing themselves :eek: ;)

Selflessly saving the day were you? What a hero!

PANEER MAN, HERE TO SAVE THE DAY.
    They had lentil shepards pie, which I have become oddly fond of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Xandrius

I got this from an animal rights group here in Dublin, just wanted to spread it to you guys also:

I have just heard about a 14 foot python in desperate need of a new home. The current "owners" are threatening to SHOOT her if not rehomed soon :evil:

I am awaiting more details and will post them as soon as I get them. All I know so far is that she is living in a room in their house and they are afraid to go in there. They are throwing food in through the window (at least that's SOMETHING I suppose...) but not even cleaning the room for her.

I have no idea why they are so afraid of her. They sound like complete idiots to me so it could be anything from her sheer size to her snapping and them not realising what they did wrong or anything.... They seem to have her branded as an "evil snake" :(

I'd take her myself but have my hands and house full, have no experience with such large snakes, and cannot affoard to keep her. I assume she is Burmese as that's all I've ever seen of the larger pythons in shops here, but you'd never know - a retic possibly. I'm trying to get a photo. Those fools probably don't even know themselves....

If anyone can take her please let me know!!!! Please pass this on to anyone you think may help also, with my email (irlandaise@imagine.ie) and phone number (+353 (0)851338095).

I'm doing my best to contact shelters etc also so if you have any contacts pass them on please! Dublin Zoo has refused to take her as they have their fill of snakes (and a very poor track record anyway with animal welfare so that's probably for the best in a way...) As I said I'm waiting for more info and hopefully a picture to post here. Please copy and past this to all your groups, twitters, facebook etc!!! What a tragedy if this poor neglected snake was shot, simply for being herself (or himself - gender is also unknown!)

Why does this seem like an elaborate set up? Like somebody's going to volunteer to take the thing and then some pervy guy shows up and goes yeah, I got your 14 foot python...in my PANTS!

On the other hand, poor snake, how did the owners even get their hands on it if they didn't know how to take care of it :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I rarely actually lol online, thanks, haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Why does this seem like an elaborate set up? Like somebody's going to volunteer to take the thing and then some pervy guy shows up and goes yeah, I got your 14 foot python...in my PANTS!

HAH! funniest thing I've heard today. :pac:

God damn took hours to screw this bed together, no more screws for a while please. At least it's +3 manly :P

Well what's going on in here?

my feet hurt and there are wolves outside.

2 days I have slept on the dart, and got on the wrong one, taht didn't stop at my house, also missed my first lecture, all going well :D

oh jesus, culchie comes to town! Tho I still haven't quite figured out the cork buses so I can't really mock! wolves you say...full moon?

I'm too afraid to look. Dart was tricky ok, and sleep wasn't my fault, damn body.
    One day in and I'm already wreccccked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

sounds like all is going well then :) at least you have pizza to look forward to on Friday, and us lot :D

fargo is excellent, i'm gonna talk like that tomorrow!

Who needs sleep, my feet hurt too.

I wonder if the kitten has pood in my shoes.
    Also, I'm so lost right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭DonnieScribbles

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    Who needs sleep, my feet hurt too.

I wonder if the kitten has pood in my shoes.
    Also, I'm so lost right now.

Hee hee, this post is like poetry! Minus the word 'also' perhaps...

On the subject of sleep, I will be sleeping in an actual bed tonight as opposed to a couch, for the first time since August! :)'s all round.

My new room also has a massive floor-to-ceiling, east facing window taking up the whole far wall. I'm going to grow some lovely herbs on the window-sill and maybe some lettuce... Has anybody any suggestions actually on what herbs* are good to grow indoors at this time of year?

*of the legal variety!

Hee hee, this post is like poetry! Minus the word 'also' perhaps...

On the subject of sleep, I will be sleeping in an actual bed tonight as opposed to a couch, for the first time since August! :)'s all round.

My new room also has a massive floor-to-ceiling, east facing window taking up the whole far wall. I'm going to grow some lovely herbs on the window-sill and maybe some lettuce... Has anybody any suggestions actually on what herbs* are good to grow indoors at this time of year?

*of the legal variety!

Yay for you! you still living in galway yeah? I have no advice for herbs except don't feel bad if your basil plant dies, everyone I've ever talked to who tried to grow basil ended up with a dead basil plant and some guilt

mmmmm dead basil.

Zombified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

my associate informs me that Bay tree (think bonsai) will grow almost anywhere. At least it does in her house. Strawberries apparently happen all over the place as well.

In other news, my new abode is a few doors down and above an off-licence called the grapevine! Awesome-ness! =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭DonnieScribbles

Yay for you! you still living in galway yeah? I have no advice for herbs except don't feel bad if your basil plant dies, everyone I've ever talked to who tried to grow basil ended up with a dead basil plant and some guilt

Yeah, still in Galway, this place is much further from town than my old place though :( It's quite dirty too, I'm seeing cleaning in my future. I really like my room though! Which is important.
    Basil is a toughy, I think I've killed basil before, but this time I'll try harder!
    cocoa wrote: »
    my associate informs me that Bay tree (think bonsai) will grow almost anywhere. At least it does in her house. Strawberries apparently happen all over the place as well.

In other news, my new abode is a few doors down and above an off-licence called the grapevine! Awesome-ness! =)

Strawberries! That's exciting... Will look into this Bay Tree you speak of.

In Galway there was a 'Bunch of Grapes' off-license, but not a Grapevine... Grapevine's better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

In recent news, my associate adds, the grapevine has cheap pink champagne. But the good stuff. (this means nothing to me)

oh jesus, culchie comes to town! Tho I still haven't quite figured out the cork buses so I can't really mock! wolves you say...full moon?

I have not figured out the bus system in Dublin yet and I guess the system in cork is just as bad. I feel sorry for you guys who have lived with this bus system all your life. I almost became a suicide bomber targeting only the busses the first month I was living here, the bus I hate the most is the 220 that one goes all over the place and no one seems to know its destination. Even the busdriver just drives around unknowing where the hell he is going. Everybody that is new in this country despice the bus system here just so you know.

Xandrius wrote: »
    I have not figured out the bus system in Dublin yet and I guess the system in cork is just as bad. I feel sorry for you guys who have lived with this bus system all your life. I almost became a suicide bomber targeting only the busses the first month I was living here, the bus I hate the most is the 220 that one goes all over the place and no one seems to know its destination. Even the busdriver just drives around unknowing where the hell he is going. Everybody that is new in this country despice the bus system here just so you know.

Have you had to endure the country buses? It's quite funny trying to explain it to german tourists "yeah there is a 9.30 bus to Galway. Should be here around 9.40. Then the bus driver goes in to pick up the papers and chat to his son. Leaves here around 9.50. What time does it get into Galway? Like, between 11 and 11.30 depending on stuff"

Hehehe that is so funny, think I would go crazy there. Pretty laid back people.

agggh 2 days in and I think it's impossible hehe. damn college.

Just looking at drunk photos from over the summer, good times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Aw! I did that last week. It's only been a couple of months but I was surprised how much I had to be reminded of. I'm already looking forward to looking at them again around Christmas :P

there's a whole series of me and my housemate doing "russian faces" ie wearing a hat and drinking vodka!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

there's a whole series of me and my housemate doing "russian faces" ie wearing a hat and drinking vodka!

I read this as:
    there's a whole series of me and my housemates dog with "russian faces" ie wearing a hat and drinking vodka!

Lol no.

I didn't put up the photos of that night