Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

GAMSAT 2010...for discussion of all things related to this exam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭liberal

Laydee wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    How long do GAMSAT results last for?
    I would be afraid of not getting enough in the first attempt. Can I sit it now if I don't plan on using them until 2011?

you can also sit the exam in london in sept

[FONT=&quot]Alrite Lads

Did GAMSAT UK yesterday, here's my 2 cents on it......

Section 1 was ok but there was more material than normal, towards the end I had only about 5 mins left and was horrified to the last two units contained two huge passages (had to randomly guess for them), Seamus Heaney came up which was sweet seeing as my English teacher for the lc was obsessed with him

Section 2, Task A I interpreted as "The role of government" and Task B I just wrote based on a single quote which was something like "Today the news is more and more about entertainment"

Section 3, As a biomed Im comfortable with biology but this year’s bio was tough and was very time consuming, alot harder than the acer papers imo, on the other hand the org chem and the physics was grand, all the usual came up....loads of acd-bases stuff, graphs on metabolism and heart valves etc, no entropy/enthalpy stuff though, managed to finish it with 2 secs to spare, did ok but def made a few rookie mistakes looking back on it

Was talking to an English lad and he told me that most of the UK applicants haven’t studied English since the GCSEs (junior cert) as they only take 3 subjects for their A levels (LC) which for most interested in med was dominated by science, imagine trying to do section 1 and 2 with only jc English! Thank god for our system!! And none of them knew what a Venn diagram was (which was the first question in s1), if the per centile grading rumour is true then GAMSAT UK is the way to go! :D [/FONT]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 runawaytrain

I also sat the GAMSAT UK yesterday,

Just did it as a practice run for the one in march, have just finished a BSc but the only real perparation I did for the gamsat was organic chem, I definately didnt get on well enough, but I had no intention of applying to the UK anyways, I now have a good idea of the study I have to do for the next six months, hopefully my trial run will stand to me in the march exam, I definately think the GAMSAT is doable, but requires a lot of work for S3, also consider the point that their is no limitation on the amount of times you can sit the gammy ... you have nothing to lose by doing it... no need to worry about it

btw liberal i was also chuffed when the forge came up, and s3 I though was full of AAs, I think the gamsat in ireland is more focused on Org Chem than the UK

there was actually 3 differnet S1 and S3 yeaterday, each slightly different,

my firend freaked out when I asked him how he found the question about the frogs breathing system, some guy told us later on

also i didnt know that there is a 3 page maximum for s2, that was the job, it explicity said only write on the ruled pages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 neurodegenerate

Hey guys! I did the gamsat on Friday. It wasn't too bad:) My best advice for anyone thinking of taking it is to practice lots and lots of sample papers and to give yourself less time than you would have in the exam itself to do it. I found the actual exam contained so much more text in section 1 than in any I'd done before and section 3 involved a lot of chemical product predictions, so it can take time to draw out the reactions. Overall its an exceptionally long day-I finished section 3 with time to spare but was so tired I began to lose the will to look over any more questions! Good luck to anyone studying for it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 meeayz

Hi , Ive just started studying for gamsat in march .
    Im living in Cork city and was wondering is there anyone else out there studying for it in Cork aswell ? Would love to meet up with someone else ! If any one is interested in meeting up sometime jst let me know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

I also sat the GAMSAT in London on Friday. This was just a dry run for me so didn't feel under too much pressure. Overall feeling was that it went ok, but I need to work majorly on the timing. I think practicing the sample papers is the way to go regarding that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭eagle_&_bear

hi Ashyboots.. yup I am Dublin based.

I think a mini list meet over a pint or 3 would be cool! also be a really nice way of getting to meet people off the list.

anyone got any suggestions? dates? times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

thanks for posting what was on the paper guys. sound pretty similar to March in terms of science breakdown.

The THOUGHT of March... ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 MedGal

A few questions came up this time round that came up in March too.

The one with the negative feedback loop (or whatever it's called), the heart (where it's oxygenated) and one or two others.

Someone mentioned earlier there are different papers. That's true but everyone is marked on the same qs and the questions that are only some papers are just for ACER to test how hard they are and aren't actually marked (as far as I know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 cill5

MedGal wrote: »
    A few questions came up this time round that came up in March too.

The one with the negative feedback loop (or whatever it's called), the heart (where it's oxygenated) and one or two others.

Someone mentioned earlier there are different papers. That's true but everyone is marked on the same qs and the questions that are only some papers are just for ACER to test how hard they are and aren't actually marked (as far as I know).

Are you sure about this? Where did you find this info?

Heard it off a few people. Will ask a friend of mine who mentioned it to me where they heard it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

The RCSI Graduate Entry Programme Open Day is on 14th November this year. Register here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 lynzul86

Hey Eagle and Bear,

Saw that you guys were planning a study group in Dublin - I've just decided to take the test, and would be really interested in joining if thats ok with ye guys?

lynzul86 wrote: »
    Hey Eagle and Bear,

Saw that you guys were planning a study group in Dublin - I've just decided to take the test, and would be really interested in joining if thats ok with ye guys?

Of course... absolutely delighted to have you on board.

There's no hard 'n' fast rules on how it works. I think in the beginning it'll be about collating topics to be done, then what materials each have and sharing etc. Then work progressively through it.

There's talk of a mini meet soon so that'll also be cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 lynzul86

Thanks, it sounds great :D ... I'm just getting started, got the ACER practise questions today in the mail and realised that there's an awful lot to do!

lynzul86 wrote: »
    Thanks, it sounds great :D ... I'm just getting started, got the ACER practise questions today in the mail and realised that there's an awful lot to do!

Oh I hear ya!!

The spacial awareness questions are fine... its the damn poetry that gets me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 GAMSAT GIRL

HEY GUYS-JUST WONDERING IS ANYONE ELSE STUDYING TO DO THE EXAMS IN LIMERICK OR ARE ANY OF YOU THINKING OF DOING MEDICINE IN UL? THINKING ABOUT STARTING THE PREP NEXT WEEK. ANY WORDS OF WISDOM?

PS I THINK THIS THREAD WILL REALLY HELP US AS WE GET CLOSER TO THE EXAM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 fidget84

hi. im interested in sitting the GAMSAT.
    i am wondering if anyone is interested in setting up a study group in cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 fidget84

hi, im sitting GAMSAT in march 2010. is anyone down around cork interested in a study group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 turnerc3

Hi there, i'm planning to to the GAMSAT 2010 in Limerick myself and was looking for anybody who would be interested in setting up a study group that would meet in UL library. Would you be interested in something like this?

Colm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭colquhom

Hi i was just wondering if someone could give me some info on how difficult it is to require a loan for doing post grad medicine? Is anyone who is granted a place in the course guaranteed to be granted a loan by the bank or does the usual criteria apply for getting a loan (as in there is a non-zero chance of being refused?) Can a loan be discussed prior to being granted a place or should you only talk to the bank post acceptance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ashyboots

Hey guys, Yeah a meet up would be great. Anywhere in town is good for me - maybe the longstone? I actually got loads of notes and some practice tests off a friend who did gamsat two years back. Can bring stuff along to see if people want to photocopy anything...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 aoife234

Hey guys,
    I'm in Limerick and am hoping to sit the gamsat in 2010. I would definitely be interested in a study group if anyone else still is? I haven't really done too much yet but am hoping to get started this week.

Aoife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

So, now that we have the new education forum, we'll sticky this until the next GAMSAT, then we'll start another thread for the GAMSAT after that, so it doesn't get too big and unwieldy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 MollieB

hi Liberal,

first of all, the very best of luck in the gamsats. Please do update us on how it was and what came up etc ?

Please find attached the CAO list of accepted points for the colleges (rcsi/ucd/ucc/ul).

RCSI (for 2009) is set at 62

Hi All
    Just wondering if anyone has any idea what was the minimum GAMSAT points accepted for graduate entry Veterinary Medicene this year. I wonder is there any details available for overall CV and Gamsat scores and how these are calculated. I am considering giving the GAMSAT a shot this year but really don't know if I have a chance in hell!! I have the GAMSAT material and the sample questions seem do-able but its been a long while since I studied science subjects as I graduated from undergrad in Animal Science in 2000! Any help or advice would be welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Psychologeeee

Hey, I am in first year in Psychology in UCD, and I was wondering if I did the GAMSAT next year, would my score be valid for entry into Medicine in 3 years? I was 8 points of Medicine this year, and I was hoping to to the GAMSAT a.s.a.p while the science I had from second level is still fresh in my head. Obviously just leaving cert Biology, Chemistry and Physics is not enough but I do tend to do alot of independant reading in each of these areas. The essay aspect should be o.k as I managed to get 99% in both english papers in the leaving :). Would anybody advise going for a few grinds in Physics or anything before the GAMSAT?

Psychologeeee,
    All the info on score validity can be found on GAMSAT site.

Your score is only valid for 2yrs.

Gradmed is the only prep course in Ireland that I'm aware of but i reckon most people just do their own prep from text books.

The exam is pretty tough (in my opinion) but give it a go, get practice papers from Acer and try your best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 vinylqueen

currently trying to decide if I want to put myself through this whole thing again ;) when i do make up my mind if there's a study group going in dublin i'd love to join you guys! think i went a bit stir crazy at times stuck studying on my own!

sat the london one last month and found it - in my humble opinion - a lot harder then both the acer & grad med practice tests, but i'm from a non-sci background and because of an unfortunate mixup only managed to get a handful of raisins for lunch which left me in a less then alert state for sIII. sI & sII were fine though! the wait for results is absolutely horrible, i've been full of nervous energy and obsessively NMM/paging dr/this board checking ever since the evening after the exam. it's like a plaster you just want to rip off, particularly when you know the results aren't gonna be good!

in case anyone's interested in study approaches, i cut down to part time work, gave up nearly my whole social life and spent the whole summer with org chem for dummies, my LC physics book and my sister's grad med notes from last year. i tried to write two essays every day for the last month but that didn't always happen! even though i'm positive i did appallingly this time around in sIII (a lack of genuine understanding in some topics, i'd know what to focus on next time) i'm still glad i did it. it's a *lot* of hard work but definitely an experience particularly if - like me - you come from a non sci background because it really changes your perspective and gives you a new-found respect for science's role in everyday life, as well as medicine.

good luck anyway everyone :D happy studying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

vinylqueen, sat Gamsat in March in pretty much same circumstances. Laughable how much science I thought I 'knew' going into the exam and I really got a good shock coming out when I realised all the stuff I hadn't a notion about in SIII. I didn't do too badly (got a 57 and an offer for UL) but am definitely repeating in March. It is worth doing it again and the study second time round is easier as you will probably have a good grasp of the basics - it is quite doable to move onto the harder stuff incrementally.
    Self-teaching science is tough and it's hard to judge what level you are at but I agree it is fascinating stuff.
    Good luck! and don't get too het up waiting for results. If I learned anything from March it's to keep busy during those horrible six weeks!