Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas/bus crash on O'Connel Street !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 VelvetKevorkian

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The funniest thing about your reply is that it's not true. "LOL" :rolleyes:

Ah just didn't wanna seem cold and uncaring bout the whole thing, like sayin "Its probably the only time you could step off a Luas straight onto a bus" or somethin like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

no - it was counting crows.
    Run to da hills is on holidays.

I wasnt shouting a name, it was a suggested course of action with a boards conspiracy theorist pun to it. But it's ok, not everyone gets things first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

So it seems that the bus had a green light. That definitely changes things. Can't see why a luas driver would move forward if there's a big bus in its way and as has been said, them luas cross that junction very slowly anyway. I'd say it's likely the bus was crossing the junction and then had to stop for some reason at which point the luas was already in motion. Be interesting to see what role the Garda played in this if any.

Any word on the Luas driver and the passengers that were seriously injured ? I read on RTE teletext that the Bus driver is badly shaken up but grand otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

center15 wrote: »
    Mods how is any of this constructive to the thread?

Very , If Luas Hamilton was indeed driving the Luas then its to be expected he would have been driving it to its max speed and assuming he had a clear track, which in Dublin would rarely happen and thus therefore struck a solid yellow object , in this case a bus ....so in closing...very constructive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭micawber

Alan Rouge wrote: »
    So it seems that the bus had a green light. That definitely changes things. Can't see why a luas driver would move forward if there's a big bus in its way and as has been said, them luas cross that junction very slowly anyway. I'd say it's likely the bus was crossing the junction and then had to stop for some reason at which point the luas was already in motion. Be interesting to see what role the Garda played in this if any.

Any word on the Luas driver and the passengers that were seriously injured ? I read on RTE teletext that the Bus driver is badly shaken up but grand otherwise.
    Posted this earlier on the mirror thread on this topic:
    From what I saw the bus had stopped momentarily a short distance into the junction but a few yards from the luas track. As the Luas crossed into the junction the bus then went forward again. There had been a lot of sirens and garda cars flying down the street moments before.
    From past experience on the Luas drivers are usually fairly cautious at that junction due to pedestrians walking out in front of them. Yo will often hear the warning bell at Eason's.
    In any event the cctv should show clearly the sequence of events. Having seen the impact I am amazed and relieved that casualties are as low as they have turned out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

Does anyone remember this:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/1575293/Schoolboy-hacks-into-citys-tram-system.html

A 14 year old boy managed to use a simple IR remote control to mess with the tram signalling system in Poland. He caused 4 trams to derail, and some pedestrians sustained injuries.

A similar attack is probably unlikely to have been the cause yesterday, but ya never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Speedway

fullstop wrote: »
    RIP :rolleyes:

Why do people bother posting made up crap?

What part of that was made up?

My friend's girlfriend is a journalist and sent him a text yesterday when i was sitting next to him saying that.

So I stated a fact "I heard from a journalist friend that the bus driver had died"

I didn't state that I knew he had died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Speedway wrote: »
    What part of that was made up?

That part that your friend's girlfriend made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

Just reading the evening Herald there and the cctv footage is from a bus that was travelling behind the 16!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭givyjoe81

Sure we'll all find out what happened in 2 to 3 years when the cctv footage shows up on some cheesy sky one clip show.

walshb wrote: »
    That's correct, what a cock up. If I remember, the bus was passed fit only a couple of months prior to the accident. Perfect condition, but I guess, sometimes those buses just drive by themselves...:rolleyes:

And the bus in question, AV32, never re-entered service. It's in storage in an undisclosed location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,697 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://www.garda.ie/PressReleases/Default.aspx
    Witness Appeal - Luas/Bus Crash on O'Connell Street, Dublin on the 16/9/09.

Anyone who was in the area of O’Connell Street Lower and Abbey Street junction between 2.50 p.m. and 3.15 p.m.

Gardai are appealing for witnesses to collision on O’Connell Street Lower, between a Luas tram and a Dublin Bus about 3.00 p.m. on the 16th of September, to contact them.

They would like to speak to anyone who was in the area of O’Connell Street Lower and Abbey Street junction between 2.50 p.m. and 3.15 p.m.

Gardai also believe that a number of passengers of the bus and the Luas may have left the scene before emergency services arrived and we would like them to contact us.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact Store Street Garda station on 01 666 8000.

Garda Press Office
    17th September 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i'm surprised it didn't happen sooner to be honest with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Victor wrote: »

I can only imagine the quality of most of the witness reports they'll get. :pac:

fryup wrote: »
    i'm surprised it didn't happen sooner to be honest with you

What makes you say that fry up?

EnterNow wrote: »
    I wasnt shouting a name, it was a suggested course of action with a boards conspiracy theorist pun to it. But it's ok, not everyone gets things first time.

It was a joke. But it's ok, not everyone gets things first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Any word on the three people who are reported to be seriously injured?

From Rte

Four people are still being treated in hospital following Wednesday's crash between a Luas tram and a bus in Dublin city centre.
    One woman remains in a serious but stable condition.
    Three other people are said to be in a stable condition.

Red Line Luas services returned to normal yesterday after the incident on O'Connell Street.
    Investigations into the cause of the crash are continuing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

givyjoe81 wrote: »
    Sure we'll all find out what happened in 2 to 3 years when the cctv footage shows up on some cheesy sky one clip show.

It'll show up on youve been framed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Oliver1985 wrote: »
    From Rte

Four people are still being treated in hospital following Wednesday's crash between a Luas tram and a bus in Dublin city centre.
    One woman remains in a serious but stable condition.
    Three other people are said to be in a stable condition.

Red Line Luas services returned to normal yesterday after the incident on O'Connell Street.
    Investigations into the cause of the crash are continuing.

I hope they can all make a speedy and full recovery. Thoughts with them and their families at this difficult time. Hopefully they'll soon get answers as to why it occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Ok I'm goin to get told off but check out this pic :o

luas.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 VelvetKevorkian

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The funniest thing about your reply is that it's not true. "LOL" :rolleyes:

Who said I was tryin to be funny:confused:

ziggy23 wrote: »

luas.jpeg

Yeh I thought that was actually real, I was amazed it had taken two days to arrive in my inbox. But alas, no, it was just some eejit who likes to photoshop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

if it was the case where the bus driver had to move to let the garda pass, he prob just at the spur of the moment got distracted and moved without thinking into the path of the luas completely forgetting there's be one coming. It can happen if put under pressure by loud sirens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Photoshop FAIL....

They forgot to change the reflection in the glass.

ziggy23 wrote: »

luas.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

that takes time and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,697 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=4399
    Renewed Witness Appeal - Luas/Bus Crash on O'Connell Street on the 16/9/09.
    Gardai have now conducted a preliminary investigation into the collision at Abbey Street.

Gardai have now conducted a preliminary investigation into the collision at Abbey Street and O'Connell Street, Dublin 1 on Wednesday, the 16th September 2009.

The public's response has been very helpful, however Gardai are now anxious to interview people who were in the following areas between 2.30pm and 3.10pm on the day of the incident.:-

1. Pedestrians who were outside 'Clarks' shoe shop on Lower O'Connell Street

2. Pedestrians who were on the median strip or crossing the median strip at the Abbey Street / O'Connell street junction.

3. Drivers of private vehicles and taxis travelling northbound towards Parnell Square at this time.

Anyone with information is asked to contact the Gardai at Store Street 01-666-8000, the Garda Confidential Line 1-800-666-111 or any Garda Station.

Previous Press Release is attached for your information.

Garda Press Office
    18th September 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Yeh I thought that was actually real, I was amazed it had taken two days to arrive in my inbox. But alas, no, it was just some eejit who likes to photoshop!

Yea I'd guessed it was fake still had a chuckle though:o