Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas/bus crash on O'Connel Street !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

JupiterKid wrote: »
    If that's true, than it doesn't bode well for the Gardai. I personally am sick to the teeth of Gardai cars speeding all over the city like we were in downtown New York or LA or somewhere.:( Must they speed all over the city blaring their sirens all the time?

Only when they are going for coffee.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Only when they are going for coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I hope anyone hurt makes a full and speedy recovery.

The badly injured have a horrible fight on their hands to get back to a semblance of normality and may never be the people they were before the crash in terms of mobility, mental function or personality. My heart really goes out to them and their families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

The Luas has plenty of cameras onboard as well. I've seen some of the footage from previous incidents and they have so many cameras that you can see pretty much every view of the Luas, so they're security cameras may also be able to shed some light of this ghastly event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

center15 wrote: »
    A friend of mine where there when the crash happened. A special branch Garda car was speeding down the street the wrong way and the bus stopped to let it pass and the Luas crashed into it.

Heard this also from a friend who was speaking to people in the GPO later on in the afternoon, terrible if true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Wasn't very efficient ?

In the aftermath of a crash the priority isn't to sweep up the debris and get everything back to normal. I imagine the Gardai call the shots, cordoning off the scene and bringing in their experts for an examination of the scene.
    Only when they are finished, can the site be cleared.

Sorry that's not what I meant. I was referring to getting all the rubberneckers back so the scene could be preserved and the ES have proper access. In the pics I saw people in their hundreds were gawking at the injured - which is bad enough but at least do it from a distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

i know that if you sneeze with your eyes open they can pop out!

I dont get it, why did so many people thank this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Because it was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Adiboo wrote: »
    Because it was funny.

it wasnt really that funny, it just happened to be the second post in a thread, which for some strange reason causes multiple thanks in a ratio of 1:20 in terms funniness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

I wonder how long it will take to actually find out what happened?

Will we need some sort of Tribunal to decide that as well.

If it's true about the Gardai or even if it's not, in general terms the problem I have with the Gardai speeding all over the city, is not the actual speeding as this is sometimes required to get them to the emergency they are required to attend. My issue is that the majority of them have not done any advanced driving classes.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhsneyeyqlau/

This is something that needs to be looks at urgently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,431 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ah, they will probably blame the poor traffic lights...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,432 ✭✭✭markpb

delricyo wrote: »
    Id say they already know who is at fault. Surely LUAS control at Red Cow know what signals were green for trams at any time (given its such a modern system). But, it will all go through the motions and the public will probably never know ....

I don't think the Luas control centre has anything to do with the lights - the Luas signals are connected to DCC's ITS system which controls most of the traffic lights in Dublin (DCC region anyway). In any event, both the Luas and the bus have front-facing cameras so the light/signal will have been recorded on them.
    JupiterKid wrote: »
    If that's true, than it doesn't bode well for the Gardai. I personally am sick to the teeth of Gardai cars speeding all over the city like we were in downtown New York or LA or somewhere.:( Must they speed all over the city blaring their sirens all the time?

Where's the rolls-eyes smiley when you need it? It's not possible that they're in a rush to help someone who's being robbed, beaten up, to a car crash or any other million possibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

From the pics you can see the bus is almost through the junction when its hit in the REAR so theres no way a Garda car could have been speeding through the junction unless it used special 'ghost' powers to glide through the middle of the bus but then if it used its special powers why would the bus have jammed on?

The Bus might be going fast but the Luas moves pretty slowly on Abbey Street especially when its going through the junction so my guess is the lights failed which is a lot more common than ghost Garda cars or the BUs broke a red light and wasnt paying attention. Again more likely than magic ghost Garda cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Eru wrote: »
    From the pics you can see the bus is almost through the junction when its hit in the REAR

The Bus was hit side on, not it the rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

sdonn wrote: »
    Sorry that's not what I meant. I was referring to getting all the rubberneckers back so the scene could be preserved and the ES have proper access. In the pics I saw people in their hundreds were gawking at the injured - which is bad enough but at least do it from a distance.

Everyone complains about the rubberneckers but we all still look at the photos they took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Everyone complains about the rubberneckers but we all still look at the photos they took.

A few nerds looking at photos on their PCs aren't interfering with the emergency services as they're trying to get their work done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I wonder is this linked to NAMA? Bit of a coincidence. Trying to distract us while the rob us blind.

Stark wrote: »
    A few nerds looking at photos on their PCs aren't interfering with the emergency services as they're trying to get their work done.

If the people taking photos were getting in the way, then the Gardai failed to establish the crime scene cordon properly. Unless you have heard specific complaints from the emergency services that they were unable to do their work, what exactly is your problem? It's human nature to stop and look at the unusual - curiosity is what makes us human.

It's human nature to stop and look at the unusual - curiosity is what makes us human.

I love people watching! Im doing it right now in the office.

nearly got caught there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

I was there yesterday, not long after it happened
    You'd think they were giving away free money with the crowds..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭center15

From the pics you can see the bus is almost through the junction when its hit in the REAR so theres no way a Garda car could have been speeding through the junction unless it used special 'ghost' powers to glide through the middle of the bus but then if it used its special powers why would the bus have jammed on?

The Bus might be going fast but the Luas moves pretty slowly on Abbey Street especially when its going through the junction so my guess is the lights failed which is a lot more common than ghost Garda cars or the BUs broke a red light and wasnt paying attention. Again more likely than magic ghost Garda cars

Crap I forgot the mention ghost powers! You missed your calling on the crash investigation team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Stark

markpb wrote: »
    If the people taking photos were getting in the way, then the Gardai failed to establish the crime scene cordon properly. Unless you have heard specific complaints from the emergency services that they were unable to do their work, what exactly is your problem? It's human nature to stop and look at the unusual - curiosity is what makes us human.

I don't have a problem. I was responding to someone who said we shouldn't be looking at the photos.

Stark wrote: »
    I don't have a problem. I was responding to someone who said we shouldn't be looking at the photos.

Sorry, I thought you were agreeing with Sdonn when he said:
    sdonn wrote: »
    In the pics I saw people in their hundreds were gawking at the injured - which is bad enough but at least do it from a distance.

No offence meant.

The Irish Times are today quoting a by-stander saying that the bus moved onto the junction to allow a Garda car to pass from behind. That certainly sounds plausible. Of course, another bystander says the bus swerved right to avoid the Luas and another says the bus braked on the junction to let pedestrians cross so it only goes to prove that the worst witness is one who was actually there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I hate these slack-jawed gawkers, no consideration for other pedestrians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The Irish Times are today quoting a by-stander saying that the bus moved onto the junction to allow a Garda car to pass from behind. That certainly sounds plausible.

Not that plausible, it still requires the bus driver to either (a) pull out in front of the approaching luas i.e. knowing a crash would occur or (b) pull out and then stay stationary in the middle of the junction, in which case the luas driver would have to see him stopped over the tracks.

prinz wrote: »
    Not that plausible, it still requires the bus driver to either (a) pull out in front of the approaching luas i.e. knowing a crash would occur or (b) pull out and then stay stationary in the middle of the junction, in which case the luas driver would have to see him stopped over the tracks.

Isn't it possible the Luas was stopped at the signal, the bus driver saw the Garda car and moved forward to let him out but the Luas got a go-ahead signal at the same time. Both move forward simultaneously, the bus driver realises the problem and accelerates but can't clear the junction in time (it's a long junction, a slow accelerating bus and there's rise up to the Luas tracks at that point). The Luas driver isn't expecting a bus in his way and, having less than 10m to react, fails to stop in time and strikes the bus at the back. The bus is still moving and drags the Luas off the tracks.

I'm just guessing of course - anything could have happened.

Isn't it possible the Luas was stopped at the signal, the bus driver saw the Garda car and moved forward to let him out but the Luas got a go-ahead signal at the same time. Both move forward simultaneously, the bus driver realises the problem and moves right and accelerates to avoid the collision but the Luas driver isn't expecting a bus in his way and fails to stop in time. The bus is struck at the back but continues to move dragging the Luas with it.

I'm just guessing of course - anything could have happened.

That could have happened allright. I guess we wont find out for sure for a while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Isn't it possible the Luas was stopped at the signal, the bus driver saw the Garda car and moved forward to let him out but the Luas got a go-ahead signal at the same time. Both move forward simultaneously, the bus driver realises the problem and moves right and accelerates to avoid the collision but the Luas driver isn't expecting a bus in his way and fails to stop in time. The bus is struck at the back but continues to move dragging the Luas with it....

So bus driver pulls out into the middle of a junction against the lights? Bad move bus driver.

Edit: It could be the case obviously but I have my doubts. Anything happens at all the country and the gardai are at fault. If a pidgeon craps on the O'Connell statue it will be blamed on the squad car sirens next.

prinz wrote: »
    So bus driver pulls out into the middle of a junction against the lights? Bad move bus driver.

You've never seen anyone move pull out into a junction to let an emergency services vehicle through!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Feckin Guards Gardases.