Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Achill ROAR- Sat 11th Sept 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

4 stars (good)
    Any people new to Triathlon/adventure racing doing Achill Roar? Bit nervous seen all the posts from people that did Gael Force doing it too. Since its my first one tho I'm looking forward to it and aim to finish!!

I think with the exception of 3-4 hardcore guys here the rest of us are in unknown territory so your welcome....
    those 3-4 hardcore guys are good for picking up tips/advice from so use them when you can.
    This year is mid life crisis year for me so apart from 4 previous sprint tri's since April and 1 GF i had done nothing really before that ,except expand.

If GF's anything to go by you/we will be welcomed , I signed up for the expert and just hope to finish before dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Having avoided being coerced into doing GF for the last few years( Hate CP with a passion) I have been dumb enough to take up the Roar Challenge.
    Ridden plenty of Sportives this year and Hillwalk plenty but I only run 1 8km a year will I be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Enduro

The ROAR is a perfect starter/intro race into the world of adventure racing. The race organisers have designed it as such. So you'll all be very welcomed I'm sure.

Esroh, that's a better background than I had when I started adventure racing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 SavannahRose

Great feedback! Really looking forward to it, have done an 8k few months ago but just running 5 to 6 k mostly now . The rest will hopefully fall into place on the day. Signed four my friends up too so all training hard!! The after party will be more than welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Ra1ph

Just registered for Expert Solo for the Achill Roar. Only a few places left. Did Gaelforce West in 5hrs 47min, have done shag all training since....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 EimearSF

Anyone interested/mad enough to swap sport entry for expert???
    I had to enter expert as the sport category sold out, but as I am totally new to adventure racing and haven't done much running recently (did GF, but took me 7.5 hours...) I fear I may be under-estimating the challenge/over-estimating my ability:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

EimearSF, I will swap with you. I know 1 or two others that are in the sports that would like to go for the expert category

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 EimearSF

Hi Sniipe - you have no idea how happy that post just made me:) Just went for run at lunchtime and each step was filled with dread at the thought of how much further (and higher!) I would have to go on Achill...So now down to business, do I ring the organisers to arrange? You can PM me Thx

I have your email. please remove it from the fourm (because u mite get spammed). I'll email u in the next few min

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Dunebuggy

Achill Roar

GoHard
    Dapope
    PeterX
    TooMuchDetail
    MyMojo
    Yop
    CKWPORT - Registered
    FirstTimer?
    Dunebuggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 aliveandkickin

First year doing tri's and adventure races ( majorly unfit smoker xmas 08 although only 23), done GF and said to myself thats it you deserve a break now for a month. Said that the sunday after gael force. Read the article in one of the papers the next week about GF and it mentioned Achill roar. 30 minutes later i found myself signed up for that too. When you get bitten by this bug it becomes your life. I love it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 DiscoverIreland

Hey,

Im doing achill roar in the coming week. Cant wait. first time for everything. Doing expert level with kayaking.
    Just wondering what essential items should i bring. Which I may overlook.
    Is it a big nte out aswell in achill that night following the adventure race? Stayin there for the weekend. Roll on next sat. hope the weather is good.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Huckleberry23

Does anybody know the route of the run/hike, as we are still waiting for it to be put up on the website.

The website will probably be updated today with the route...

DiscoverIreland if you are doing the expert have a look at the FAQ on the site: http://www.roar.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=56

But to highlight and if you want to get the best out of yourself try and have the following:
    Road bike, helmet, 1 or 2 drink bottles
    trail runners seem to be whats advised for running (these are different to road runners and can give a big advantage especially if its wet on the day)
    A bag that contains your survival kit and have it containing some food and drink.

I will probably be camping in Achill that weekend. Fingers crossed it won't be too wet, its too early to look at the weather forecast.

Achill Roar

GoHard
    Dapope
    PeterX
    TooMuchDetail
    MyMojo
    Yop
    CKWPORT
    FirstTimer?
    Dunebuggy
    Sniipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Peterx

In terms of what to bring here's the bare minimum list lifted from the roar site;

Basic first aid kit (Minimum: 1 x Dressing Pad for heavy bleeding (field dressing); 1 x bandage, plasters)
    Survival bag or foil blanket
    Energy food and drink
    Bicycle helmet for cycling section[/LIST]

Other Items that may be required for the Expert Run Section are
    Gloves
    Hat (Buff Headwear or equivalent IS sufficient)*
    Spare fleece shirt*
    Water-proof top with Taped seams
    Water-proof bottoms
    Small rucksack or suitable bumbag
    We'll let you know at Registration whether these items are needed - weather forecast dependent.
    You must bring all mandatory equipment to registration

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

4 stars (good)
    Just had a super week in Portugal "training" :) Have to say trying to run in 30 degrees + is some fun!!!!! But the reward of nice dinners will really stand to me *cough cough* on race day!!!!!! :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

Entry Lists for all categories now up on www.roar.ie

Swim is confirmed as in the lake - open choice on wetsuit or not :confused:

If you think you can swim 800m in a fresh water lake without a wetsuit then you will save the time it takes to take the wetsuit off and carry it to transition. Presumably swimming with a wetsuit on is quicker then without and it will keep you warmer so you have a choice.

My choice was to use a kayak:)

It will be interesting to see how this works out, despite their best efforts either the kayakers or the swimmers will have a time advantage as it's unlikely they tested the course with a swimmer and kayaker of exactly the same ability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Ra1ph

Does anyone know what the swim and paddle distances are yet?

4 stars (good)
    The swim and paddle distances have been confirmed on the website at 400m/1.3km and 800m/2.6km respectively .

Any advice on the Kayak ? apart for GF I have never Kayak'd before . Is their an advantage on a 1 man kayak over 2 man , is it realisic to be able to handle a 1 man kayak with no exp ?
    What sort of time would and average Joe do the 2.6km kayak in ?
    It seems to be a little like GF in that it is everyman for himself at the kayak stage so I assume theres is a little bit of luck in who we get teamed up with (or who is stuck with me !!)
    Had originaly planned the 800m swim and would have hoped for under 20mins but GF and the Wesport half marathon last week has sucked the life out of the legs so opted for the preceived easier option.
    No sign of a map yet so lets hope is all down hill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

From Roar site:
    "Swim - 400m Sports or 800m Expert
    Paddling - 1300m Sports or 2600m Expert
    NOTE:- Exact distances for the swim and paddle will be finalised to give a good match between a good swimmer and a good paddler in the boats being provided"
    Kayaks to be set out to have the faster runners to the water taking single kayaks (They will be nearer the water).
    This should ensure a fairer paddle result for those aiming for the podium.
    Certainly a bit of a lottery who you get with you in the double kayaks but I reckon no great difference between the singles and doubles in the sit on top type of boat.

Presume you have ok'ed your change from swim to kayaking toomuchdetail with the organisers if you originally planned to swim?
    Boats being provided only for those declaring an intention to paddle on their registration form.

Some technical glitch w the maps and web site but you can get a copy e-mailed to you by e-mailing a request to info@roar.ie
    Maps to be issued at registration and course to be fully marked in any case.

A 2 man kayak should be faster than a 1 man, all things being equal. There are 2 reasons for this... the 2 man boats would normally be longer, and there are 2 power sources rather than just one.

Sit On Tops (SOTs) are the easiest kayaks to use, so even with little experience you should be able to do OK in them. Personally I'd rather be in a solo boat than be stuck with someone less able than me. The flip side of that is that the best case scenario would be to get in a double with the best kayaker.

My own opinion on the swim vs kayak is that really good swimmers will have an advantage, as the kayaks are speed limited (because they're SOTs), but poor kayakers should be able to beat poor swimmers.

Ideally the likely contenders will be told to pick a single for the oul level playing field. Not fair otherwise as I could pre-arrange to hop in a double with you.

4 stars (good)
    Already registered in Kayak section as I had already weighted up the options .
    Thanks for the info on the Kayak ,going to relax and enjoy it , I think the lake will be a little less stressfull than the sea for the Kayak .
    2 more questions for those of you who might know :
    I am not the smallest guy in the world so is there a correct position I should take on the 2 man if I get paired up , front or back ?
    Cramped badly on GF on the bike despite taking loads of carb fluids , should I look at the like of Nunns or Diorilite in a small bottle, and if so should I be sipping from it regularly or take it when the cramps set in?

Ideally the likely contenders will be told to pick a single for the oul level playing field. Not fair otherwise as I could pre-arrange to hop in a double with you.

talking to Brian this evening, and he expects that we'll all be taking singles as there is more time to be lost hanging back for a double than just sprinting for a single. He reckons the speed difference between the singles and doubles wouldn't justify it. First 30 there have to take the singles. Yeah, we'd probably storm away in a double, game over!
    Thanks for the info on the Kayak ,going to relax and enjoy it , I think the lake will be a little less stressfull than the sea for the Kayak .

That's the spirit. The whole race is first and formost there to be enjoyed. Yeah, a lot less can go seriously wrong in a lake... you can never get too far lost, no matter how hard you try!
    I am not the smallest guy in the world so is there a correct position I should take on the 2 man if I get paired up , front or back ?

Generally it works better with the bigger person in the back, but there are exceptions. Don't worry about it too much though. What I would say is more important is to have the better kayaker in the back so he/she can better control and steer the boat, and match the front person's stroke.
    Cramped badly on GF on the bike despite taking loads of carb fluids , should I look at the like of Nunns or Diorilite in a small bottle, and if so should I be sipping from it regularly or take it when the cramps set in?

Using Nuuns in water instead of plain water might be a good idea then. Any energy drinks/powders would probably also do you good. Drink regularly... don't wait for the problems to occur

Well that was a very successful race. Achill was a sub-tropical paradise, and looked absolutely amazing. The whole day went really well.

Registration on Friday seemed to go very well. No problems getting all the bikes in place on saturday morning.

The swimmers had a definite advantage over the kayakers, and the doubles had a definite advantage over the singles. Not good for me!

The hill run was fantastic. The ground was still wet in parts, despite the good weather. A brilliant route.. along the beach, out over the sea cliffs, down to a saddle, and then climb to the peaks, a direct descent down the side of the hill and then back along the beach. A very tough run that had everyone walking in parts. One of the most enjoyable new routes I've run in a long time.

The cycle was a good road cycle. Lots of undulating hills, with one or two moderate climbs.

Some great performances from the boardies, particularly DaPope, GoHard, Dunebuggy, and of course the winner himself (2 minutes ahead of me after a great race all day) PeterX

Currently on our second night camping here. The place is amazing partly due to the weather but more so the surroundings.

The event itself was excellent. Not a single complaint on our side. I must admit it was better than gael force for the 4 of us. Definately doing it again next year.

Well done peterx and enduro, as i was heading out 8k into the cycle you guys were on your final 8k. I shouted to enduro, 8k left and you are 300m behind, tho it was more like 400m at the time. I'd say it was a grrat race for ye.

Anywy 10/10 from me and the 3 others with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,400 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Sniipe wrote: »
    Currently on our second night camping here. The place is amazing partly due to the weather but more so the surroundings.

The event itself was excellent. Not a single complaint on our side. I must admit it was better than gael force for the 4 of us. Definately doing it again next year.

Well done peterx and enduro, as i was heading out 8k into the cycle you guys were on your final 8k. I shouted to enduro, 8k left and you are 300m behind, tho it was more like 400m at the time. I'd say it was a grrat race for ye.

Anywy 10/10 from me and the 3 others with me.

You cant't beat Achill in the good weather.
    Its good to see more events of this nature happening there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Never done anything like this b4 and although I can see CP fromthe house never felt I wanted to do GF. The Sports Roar was a the perfect way to start.With everything being centered on the beach it was great to get a cheer as you came back to each change over(though the words of encouragement from people on the beach and the locals at their gates on the road does add that something to your effort).
    To be able to walk away with my time splits minutes after finishing was great asit added to the chat you were having with people just sitting on the dunes.

Hats off to all in the experts, Ive walked that run b4 and even those who were on the way down when we were doing our little climb had a word of encouragement.

Well done to the Organisers and the people of Achill for their work on this.
    I wouold say to anyone if you want to do an adventure race put the Achill Roar in your diary and take a weekend in Achill in 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 KOLICHIYAW

I normally do triathlons - and mistakingly thought that this would be like a triathlon with a wee bit of cross country running thrown in - wanted to quit as soon as we started climbing after the beach run!! Then realised that everyone else was kindof walking too - then started to get into it - caught up with the guy in front - started to take in the amazing scenery & started to enjoy myself - realising this was something v different to triathlon!! A different kind of buzz.

From then on I enjoyed every second - this was a really well orgainised event - and will deffo make it along again next year!