Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Need help with route (Malin to Mizen)

• 15-07-2009 01:20PM

Yes, this is yet another Malin to Mizen thread :)

I'll be cycling with some mates from Malin to Mizen from Saturday week, but a good bit of the west part of the country is unknown to ourselves, so I'm basically looking for any advice people might have on routes. We're sticking out along the coast as much as possible as the point of the trip is really for scenary and just to see the country properly.

I've mapped out a preliminary basic route on google maps here: http://short.ie/jpj4gu

The plan is...
    July 25th: Malin Head - Bundoran
    July 26th: Bundoran - Westport
    July 27th: Westport (via Clifden) to Galway
    July 28th: 'Rest' day @ the galway races :)
    July 29th: Galway - Lahinch
    July 30th: Lahinch - Tralee
    July 31st: Tralee - Bantry
    August 1st: Bantry - Malin Head - Skibbereen

And of course, it goes without saying if anyone is along the route and wants to tag along for a few kms, then by all means let me know.

I'm asking a lot I know but as I said any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

No advice here but I've done the Galway - Tralee along the coast road and must say the hill climb before the Cliffs of Moher was a b*tch, but then it's worth it because you can almost reach Lahinch rolling downhill on the other side :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

I wouldn't bother going to Clifden. From Leenane go to Maam and then directly south to the coast and come in along the coast road via Spiddal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

hynesie wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother going to Clifden. From Leenane go to Maam and then directly south to the coast and come in along the coast road via Spiddal.

I agree with hynesie, come along in by Spiddal.

And I'll be floating about Connemara/Galway at the weekend anyway (though I doubt you'll have got that far by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 the bald monk

on the Westport - Galway leg you really should go to Leenane via Louisburg and the Doolough pass. the scenery is incredible, although the wind can funnel between the mountains. would be a bit out of your way but if you follow the above advice and cut out clifden, you can do this then to Maam from Leenane.

enjoy the trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Donal.

2 points of disagreement re your otherwise excellent route.

(1) Galway - Lahinch - please take the coast road and not the inland road. The coast road via Kinvara, Ballayvaughan, Fanore and Doolin is some of the best scenery in Europe IMHO, it would be a shame to miss it. These are quiet roads with undulating stress free cycling.

(2) Tralee to Bantry: Two points, avoid main Tralee to Killaraney route - very busy with traffic. Head to Beaufort and over the Gap of Dunloe to Molls Gap.

More importantly the route that you have choosen from Kenmare to Bantry is via Priests Leap. This is a 5km climb that averages 9% (max 20%) on very bad road. Think Kippure times 2. Now you will have no problem doing that, but AFAIK you siad some of your colleagues are not experienced cyclists. Also, ye will have luggage. Ye will end up walking not cycling. Oh yeah, the descent is trecherous and very very fast on poor roads filled with grass, manure and sheep.
    Go over the Caha Pass the N71 (road from Kenmare to Glengarriff) equally stunning, but an 11km climb at an average of 3.5%.
    If I can get a child minder I will join you some of the way on the Molls Gap to Bantry leg. If not I will be able to provide a sandwich, water, toilet stop. Let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭8kvscdpglqnyr4

ROK ON wrote: »
    (1) Galway - Lahinch - please take the coast road and not the inland road. The coast road via Kinvara, Ballayvaughan, Fanore and Doolin is some of the best scenery in Europe IMHO, it would be a shame to miss it. These are quiet roads with undulating stress free cycling.
    I have to aggree with ROK ON. I've modified the route from Kinvara to the Cliffs of Moher to reflect what ROK was saying:
    MAP
    It now goes via Ballyvaughan, Fanore and Doolin. The most beautifull coast road in the country (IMHO)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

on the Westport - Galway leg you really should go to Leenane via Louisburg and the Doolough pass. the scenery is incredible, although the wind can funnel between the mountains. would be a bit out of your way but if you follow the above advice and cut out clifden, you can do this then to Maam from Leenane.

enjoy the trip.
    hynesie wrote: »
    Have to agree with the lads. Avoid Clifden.Louisburg to Leenane is much more worth while.And if you wanted you could go up the Inagh Valley from Leenane to Recess(you in the heart of theMountains though its relatively flat)) and then on from Maam Cross to the coast and in by Spiddal.
    Enjoy your week:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I just did this trip and I wouldn't discount the scenic greatness of the inland regions, like co. Tyrone. Whatever you do avoid east galway, absolut boredom.

Much obliged for all the comments so far. Cheers guys, so looking forward to this now!

ROK ON, I'll definitely be calling you up on that, thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭honkjelly

Just did the cycle last week sooo....make sure to do the inishowen peninsula after Malin and if possible (will be tough for people new to cycling) follow the npcc route on the road. Great climbs!!

Take the coast road to lahinch. Stop for coffee in Doolin and have a big slice of chocolate cake. Pop into Frawleys in Lahinch and have a pint - there is only one choice.

And as ROK ON says you have to do the Gap of Dunloe, the black valley, molls gap and the caha pass. Nearest thing to the alps I have cycled in Ireland

Hope you get good weather!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

have done this cycle both ways a couple of times.

all i will say is routes look great, have to agree with the changes the Lads suggested.

my opinion for what its worth, sit and enjoy the beginning and end points. think of the significance of the two places and how far apart they are. ive always found people rushed away from the start point, its only on the wet days of winter when you take out the map you will be glad you sat for a second and took it all in.

happy travels.

Have to say, that's probably the best holiday I've ever been on. Exactly 800km on the dot in all, and just over 20km/hr overall.

Did most of the map mentioned below, including facing what I think was the hardest day's cycling I've ever done with the Gap of Dunloe, Moll's Gap and the Caha Pass all being done last Friday in some of the worst weather I've ever been in. Would love to go for another few spins in Mayo and Galway, there are some amazing hills there. Barnmore Gap was great too, as well as the coast of Clare.

All in all a simply amazing trip. My companions, well, out of the four of us who started, myself and one other completed the whole thing. I'd definitely change the flat bars for the next trip - my neck started to hurt me after around 80km on the second day and the pain came back a few times, which obviously isn't good.

After the Kerry washout we collapsed in Glengariff after originally planning on making it to Bantry but the day took it out of us. Found a B&B in a crappy pub but it did the job. Barely stopped at all that day since we had to keep warm which meant we couldn't take ROK ON up on his kind offer below.

Apart from that day the weather was grand really, bit of rain showers but a good bit of sun. I have tan lines at my wrists and legs which look pretty hilarious.

A few pictures:

Some more pics.

...more.

...and the final lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Donal

Lovely pics.
    Especially like the one of Molls Gap in the rain.
    Sorry you couldnt make it (I had the nice choccie biscuits ready - so I ate the entire packet that night!!!).
    Fair play to yu for cycling on that day, it was real 'end of the world' stuff there for a while.
    Looks like a lovely way to spend a few days.
    Well done.