The Garda Helicopter is keeping us awake every night !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Messed Up Mind

I live in Tallaght too and can hear the helicopter sometimes. Thankfully I don't live near Jobstown or Fettercairn so I don't hear it that often. I suggest that you become some sort of Batman or Dexter (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0773262/) figure and take out the bad guys yourself. After a few months, you'll have emptied half of the population of Tallaght leaving only the good guys and will get a good night's sleep. Sorted.

PS Yore ma keeps me awake every night (was gonna add something else but remembered I wasn't on B3TA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭jum4

R.P.G....

one of those cheap laser pointers will do the trick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Well Joe, as much as I agree with a panoptical criminal surveillance presence in low-income areas......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It can be annoying, but it's generally only for about ten minutes or so. I can see why they laughed at you when you rang to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

ascend wrote: »
    ah the good ole garda chopper, did ye know the thing has a bloody siren??? Its actually priceless when they turn it on
    :rolleyes::D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Is there only one chopper? because there's one that's been spending a lot of time in the Inchicore/Drimnagh/Crumlin area recently - had the windows rattling at one stage thanks to the Crumlin v. Drimnagh gang war shenanigans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ascend

As far as i know there are 2 garda helicopters, the squirrel and the eurocopter. I know this because squirrel spent a lot of time in overhead in limerick!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 932 ✭✭✭PaulieD

brummytom wrote: »
    That's Tallaght for you..

Says the brummie.......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Yeah, better the chopper wasn't there and you were just kept awake by regular old knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭max 73

I sued to live near to Tesco in Ballybrack and the chopper used to be over the estates (Ashlawn & Cooleven) on a regular basis at night. They followed one of my friends with the spotlight from his house to Tesco once:)

thanks to the gardai, he didn't become a statistic in crime report!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

bigkev49 wrote: »
    I wish I could RPG that bloody pointless second full stop at the bottom of every one of your posts. :p

There is a point to it actually, it makes it easier to read posts, especially on forums where people have big flashing images in their sigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

I live in Tallaght (I know its a high crime area). I haven't got a good nights sleep since last week because of the late night hovering of the copper chopper every night. I've spoken to neighbours about this and its affecting them the same.
    I rang the local Garda station to complain and basically got laughed at. Every time I hear the drone of the heli now, I get irritated and annoyed. I wish I had an R.P.G....

the **** attitude of gardai yet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

An RPG? Wouldn't be surprised if Tallaght started using flying explosives now. :P

How high are the choppers flying? If they're very low then they're probably breaking some laws, there's a limit on how high one can fly, unless the Garda are an exception.
    The choppers are needed though, but I'm sure they don't have to be "on patrol". There's cars and legs for that. Awful waste of resources and fuel having a chopper flying around "on patrol".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

jumpguy wrote: »
    An RPG? Wouldn't be surprised if Tallaght started using flying explosives now. :P

How high are the choppers flying? If they're very low then they're probably breaking some laws, there's a limit on how high one can fly, unless the Garda are an exception.

I'm sure the gardai have an exemption and would at time need to fly quite low to track people etc.

It has nothing on the noise generated by the coastguard chopper though, that one noisy beast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 tommyfitz

Maybe its Minister Cullen on his way home to his appartment after a night out on the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I wish I had an R.P.G....

Like to see those Garda helicopters flying on Halloween, when practically every kid in Dublin has an RPG in the form of fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

There is a point to it actually, it makes it easier to read posts, especially on forums where people have big flashing images in their sigs.

Or you could report them since they aren't allowed anyway?

SIGPO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

1000ft above mean sea level(amsl) 1000 ft above object clearance thats for civilan acft.
    as for the noise just get on with it i live directly under the main flight path for Dub airport so hear every thing from little turbo props to large jets taken off/landing every couple of mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I am afraid it is the price you pay ... I don't have a problem with it, if it helps stop crime, I am all for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

I live in clondalkin just beside where the helicopter is based in baldonnel aerodrome,it usuallys fly's over 7 or 8 times during ther night and never affects our sleep,you get used to it after a while.

No point ringing the local Garda station as they have no say about anything regarding the chopper (bar calling it for assistance) as it's operated by the air corps,try complaining to the air corps or give Garda hq a call and complain to them.
    If all else fails contact your local T.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Neonlight

Dont get me started i live in finglas for me sins, its like close encounters of the third world kind!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I'm going to suggest a nice tall glass of deal with it.

Trying blaming the scumbags for bringing the Gardi out in the copter in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Arktos.as.l

Used to live next to Sarsfield barracks where the Limerick branch's helicopter was stationed. Helicopters were constantly coming and going. Didn't mind the garda one so much because it was probably being put to good use but whenever I saw its air corp counterpart I always had a suspicion it was just generalissimo O'Dea on his way down from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I always suspected there was a high proportion of North Siders on boards, most of whom it seems from this thread haven't crossed a mile over the liffey since Tallaght developed in the passed few years.;)

Anyhow everyone thinks they are actually chasing crime or assumes that they are looking for someone or at something when in the helicopter.

I doubt this is always the case.

Having a cigarette out my back garden late one evening a few years back the 'copter cops went by quite low, circled, and then came back to laugh at me - I assumed it was because I was in my pj's.
    That's how low they were. I couldn't believe it.
    Busy guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I'm in Tallaght too and two nights in a row it's been hovering over my house this week. Then I'd call my boyfriend, who lives in another part of Tallaght and he'd report it arriving over his. What can they do up there? Shine lights on suspicious looking people??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Could be worse:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I'm going to invest in one of those huge industrial spotlights and take down da choppa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Hell Toupee

Can they not put it on silent mode like they do in Airwolf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I live in Tallaght too and can hear the helicopter sometimes. Thankfully I don't live near Jobstown or Fettercairn so I don't hear it that often. I suggest that you become some sort of Batman or Dexter (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0773262/) figure and take out the bad guys yourself. After a few months, you'll have emptied half of the population of Tallaght leaving only the good guys and will get a good night's sleep. Sorted.

PS Yore ma keeps me awake every night (was gonna add something else but remembered I wasn't on B3TA)

It doesn't keep to those two housing estates, it goes over all of Tallaght. Tallaght gets picked on by the rest of Dublin, and Jobstown gets picked on by the rest of Tallaght. It never ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 room18

I recall that the Gardai were training (when they first started using the chopper) over Leixlip and Celbridge at like 3/4am. It was extremely noisey at the time. They would train on weekdays when everyone would be working the next day. All they did was hover over and turn on the spot light.