Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Of course he's gonna say the current crop is good enough, you think he's say they are crap? and "not buying" and "not panic buying" are two very different things. Relax, this is typical news paper/ website hype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Just gets better and better...

LONDON (AP) -Arsenal midfielder Tomas Rosicky has picked up a minor injury problem since making his comeback earlier this month after nearly 18 months out.

The Czech Republic international has not played in Arsenal's last three preseason matches, including a 1-0 victory Wednesday night against Hannover 96 in Germany.

Arsenal said Thursday that Rosicky picked up a "minor problem'' in the Barnet friendly on July 18.

That was his comeback after hamstring and knee injuries ruled him out since January 2008.

It was not immediately clear if Rosicky would be available for the Emirates Cup preseason tournament this weekend.

If the most recent problem turns out to be worse than expected, it would be a major blow to manager Arsene Wenger's plans.

The Frenchman had highlighted the 28-year-old Rosicky as a key attacking option after striker Emmanuel Adebayor's joined Manchester City and Samir Nasri was ruled out last week for up to three months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Ah this is gonna be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Hopefully Rosicky just has a minor strain unrelated his recent injuries that kept him out for the last year or two. Really looking forward to seeing him back in action. C'mon L'il Mozart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Fair play to Kolo.

He's in his press conference announcing him as a Man City player. The reporter kept prodding and asking him about Arsenal, basically trying to get him to say Arsenal are shíte and that he left because they'l never win anything. He was having none of it, said one or two complementary things about the club and then said he didn't want to talk about Arsenal anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Souless wrote: »
    How can he think the current defence is good enough?... we're back to having 2 starting CB's
    Because he's obviously bought Vermaelen to be starting a lot, with no settle-in season (too right as well, 10m quid, 23 years old and almost 100 games for Ajax - he should be ready to start).

So we've got 3 starting centre-halves - Vermaelen, Djourou and Gallas, with Silvestre, Senderos (for now) and Song as cover. So CB isn't a massive problem if our first 3 stay fit enough (basically if neither of the others are injured when Djourou picks up one of his 2-week niggles).

If we were to sign one more player, I'd like a centre-mid but I'm not sure that player is out there and available right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Because he's obviously bought Vermaelen to be starting a lot, with no settle-in season (too right as well, 10m quid, 23 years old and almost 100 games for Ajax - he should be ready to start).

So we've got 3 starting centre-halves - Vermaelen, Djourou and Gallas, with Silvestre, Senderos (for now) and Song as cover. So CB isn't a massive problem if our first 3 stay fit enough (basically if neither of the others are injured when Djourou picks up one of his 2-week niggles).

If we were to sign one more player, I'd like a centre-mid but I'm not sure that player is out there and available right now.

Of course there is...Patrick Vieira, and it's looking increasingly likely that Patrick will be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

DenMan wrote: »
    Of course there is...Patrick Vieira, and it's looking increasingly likely that Patrick will be back.

Don't want him back to be honest if it means that he's all we're getting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Leprechaun77

I just listened to the Kolo Toure interview on mcfc.co.uk and it would seem to me that this transfer was decided upon in principle in January. Toure is asked why he didn't join in January, and replies to basically say that it was not the right time. I now believe that when he handed in his transfer request in December, he was obviously promised that he could go at the end of the season if he kept stum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Actually got to see the match last night.
    Was kinda sick so didn't head out. And how delighted was I to find that the hostel were showing the Arsenal match at 12 :D

Traore, Song and Bendtner all played very well I thought.

As for the end, it certainly does look like Eboue is on his way out. Which is bad news as it means we now have to sign another back up RB as the only two who could really play there were Eboue and Toure if Sagna got injured.

Also:

8.21 Gary Megson concedes Bolton Wanderers do not have the resources to make a renewed bid to sign Sporting Lisbon ace Miguel Veloso.

DO IT ARSENE!!!

NO TRANSFER PANIC FOR WENGER

Arsene Wenger claims his Arsenal squad are "strong enough" without any more new signings but he insists there is cash available for transfers.

The Gunners, linked on Thursday with a move for their former skipper Patrick Vieira on a pay-as-you-play basis, have made just one signing, defender Thomas Vermaelen from Ajax, but have sold both Kolo Toure and Emmanuel Adebayor to Manchester City.

Arsenal are £30million up on the deals but Wenger is in no rush to spend.

He told the club's official website: "I feel we are strong enough but if we can add then we will do it.

"In England people think that all the problems can be sorted out by buying players.

"I believe the biggest target is to work hard in training, improve what we can improve and have confidence in the players that we have.

"If we need to add then we will. We have money available so for us it is now [important] to spend it in the right way when we do it or if we do it."

Arsenal have refused to comments on the reports about Vieira, who is keen to leave Inter Milan.

But former Gunners striker Ian Wright said on his TalkSport radio show: "I'm hearing Vieira, pay-as-you-play, back at Arsenal. That's what I'm hearing, and that's what I'm hoping."

Strong enough for what exactly?? The Carling Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

All this buzz about Patrick Vieira coming back concerns me. Step in the wrong direction IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

DenMan wrote: »

Where do you read this like? I would be completly and utterly shocked if we have Vieira in the squad next season, would you not be? Once again why would we want Vieira back at this stage?

Do you think he has enough to offer or something? Im of the opinion anyway that he has played his best years for Arsenal and would have very little to offer the club at this point in terms of being able to compete in such an important position at the level we require.

An Arsenal legend no doubt but lets just leave it at that!

On the Toure interview ya i had no real doubts about his personality and knew he wouldnt be dragged into any sh!t talk about Arsenal, imo he was a great defender for us and he knows how much Wenger done for his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

Just a comment Ian Wright made very recently. We need strength in the middle and Patrick will definitely give that to us, as he did in the past.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/9/england/2009/07/30/1411900/patrick-vieira-back-at-arsenal-ian-wright

Ya no doubt we need strength in the middle, but look we just wouldnt see the Vieira of old, hes 33 he just wont have the fitness at this stage in his career to mix it with the best of the premiership imo of course!

itsjaybud wrote: »
    Ya no doubt we need strength in the middle, but look we just wouldnt see the Vieira of old, hes 33 he just wont have the fitness at this stage in his career to mix it with the best of the premiership imo of course!

+1 Paddy was great, but he can be no where near as good as we need him to be, he has struggled since he left arsenal, and i really doubt he could come back and succeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

itsjaybud wrote: »
    Ya no doubt we need strength in the middle, but look we just wouldnt see the Vieira of old
    He's not the Vieira of old but he's a very good holding midfielder and will give Arsenal a lot of what they lack. I think he'd add so much to the current Arsenal team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I've sort of come round to the Vieira idea, even though it's most likely bullshít. As Arseblogger said, if it's a choice between Vieira and nobody, then I'll take Vieira.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    He's not the Vieira of old but he's a very good holding midfielder and will give Arsenal a lot of what they lack. I think he'd add so much to the current Arsenal team.

I hate to mention Flamini but hes the type of player needed alongside cesc, he played as the holding mid fielder but yet often covered the pitch from box to box. Wenger is never going to have a DM purely just to sit in front of the back four unless formation changes.

Its these energy levels that we need to have in mid field imo and im pretty sure Vieira cant offer the team that sort of energy anymore.

I've sort of come round to the Vieira idea, even though it's most likely bullshít. As Arseblogger said, if it's a choice between Vieira and nobody, then I'll take Vieira.

I personally would just settle with having Song and Denilson if it was true that Vieira is being considered.

Looks like Rosicky has said on his offical website that he is fit and ready to play at the Emirates cup this Saturday, and the boss said that himself and clichy will play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Strange!!!

800x450_AwayKit_2.ashx?as=0&dmc=0&h=450&thn=0&w=800

Doesn't look right.

Very nice kit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

I really can't believe City have bought two of your best & most senior players.

Wenger is gonna be rightly in serious **** if City get top 4 this year at Arsenals expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭RedivideR

firstly just want to introduce myself as a first time poster.
    im a long time arsenal fan and have been lurking for a while before finally getting my 50 posts :)

while i am disappointed to see the back of kolo i dont find it as disastrous as some people. i agree with yahoo_moe that in vermaelen, gallas and djourou (seeing as senderos might not be around much longer) that we are not in bad shape for CBs.
    but, while i have never been a fan of his, if eboue goes then we do need a replacement RB. i saw the first-half of the hannover match and was quite impressed with traore though. anyone think it is anyway viable to use him as RB cover (as we already have pretty decent LB cover with gibbs)??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭shano_88

thinking of getting arsenal online for the new season. Anyone got it? Is it worth it?

RedivideR wrote: »
    firstly just want to introduce myself as a first time poster.
    im a long time arsenal fan and have been lurking for a while before finally getting my 50 posts :)

while i am disappointed to see the back of kolo i dont find it as disastrous as some people. i agree with yahoo_moe that in vermaelen, gallas and djourou (seeing as senderos might not be around much longer) that we are not in bad shape for CBs.
    but, while i have never been a fan of his, if eboue goes then we do need a replacement RB. i saw the first-half of the hannover match and was quite impressed with traore though. anyone think it is anyway viable to use him as RB cover (as we already have pretty decent LB cover with gibbs)??

Welcome :D, Traore, yea ive been a fan of his since seeing him in the carling cup a couple seasons ago, he's very quick and seems a good crosser of the ball. I would be very happy if we transformed him into a RB, would be great for us and him. I think Wenger has a tough choice choosing between himself and Gibbs for the second choice LB, and more than likely first choice carling cup starter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,668 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I really can't believe City have bought two of your best & most senior players.

Wenger is gonna be rightly in serious **** if City get top 4 this year at Arsenals expense.

I agree. Are ye Arsenal fans not bricking it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

JPA wrote: »
    I agree. Are ye Arsenal fans not bricking it?

Laughing more like. Rid of a guy who wanted out for quite a while and a semi decent centreback who wasn't first choice last season for long periods, all for 40 million. :eek:

I think most Arsenal fans are happy with that to be honest, I know I would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,668 ✭✭✭✭JPA

flahavaj wrote: »
    Laughing more like. Rid of a guy who wanted out for quite a while and a semi decent centreback who wasn't first choice last season for long periods, all for 40 million. :eek:

I think most Arsenal fans are happy with that to be honest, I know I would be.

They've got the money but Arsene has given no indication that he will spend it.

JPA wrote: »
    They've got the money but Arsene has given no indication that he will spend it.

He never does, and then BAM! A 16 year old from the French second division. In Arsene we trust.