Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

To the 3 fellas that stole my top hat tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Fair point. I'm surprised the OP doesn't get into more fights with skangers looking like that.

I have walked around many a city dressed as all kinds of things. Marv, a zombie, a magician, Tyler Durden, i remember once walking around Dublin dressed mostly in Neon.....each and every time it would be the middle class mouthy guys saying a whole lot more than the skangers.

Or dickheads in suits out for an after work pint, they can never keep there mouth closed. That said, they never want to fight....just talk, then run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

I have things which are sentimental to me. For that reason I don't take them out with me at night. OP has learned a harsh lesson.

Hope you get it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

orestes wrote: »
    AH is not 4chan

Comparing what goes on on 4chan and the comment made which caused you a little episode is a little pathetic really.
    After Hours is a light hearted forum. 'Serious' issues have been posted before and people get ripped because After Hours allows it and obligatory replies tell the OP to post somewhere else if they want to avoid it.
    sure you can see why the OP is upset but you also see why people will take the piss. And After Hours allows that.

As others said it wasn't the best idea taking it out if it's worth so much to you. Clearly it draws attention and it only takes one moron to have the thought go through his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

Insurgent wrote: »
    Look. if something means that much to you, it shouldn't be worn out. Not my particular taste but you will always get some gobshites that will see it as a pisstake opportunity. Each to their own and all that but seriously, OP if you go out dressed like that, expect it.

So what it's supposed to sit gathering dust in the wardrobe? F*ck that, if people had more respect for other people and their property there would be no need to hide precious things away.

OP, sorry to hear about your hat. Hopefully it can be found, I once had a ring my great granny left me stolen and whether it be a hat or a ring it's still upsetting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Quazzie wrote: »
    Is this country of ours, that was once held in such regard, gone so far that now a man can't wear a hat out because the average person is a scumbag and will take it. Has it gotten that bad that we should Expect people to be scumbags now?

I've always expected people to be scumbags until they prove otherwise. I like to call it being vigilant. (Others, however, prefer to call it being paranoid.)

Expecting people to be scumbags is not necessarily a bad thing: it makes you more aware of your surroundings and there's always the relief when you manage to walk a few minutes without being attacked, abused or robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Dudess wrote: »
    He liked it and it meant a lot to him... I don't get the need for analysing and questioning the item or the wearing of it... or the need to be c*nts just because "this is After Hours". :confused:

Hold up.

I wasn't judging him on wearing the hat, I was genuine interested on what he was wearing it for. The pic reminds me of some character but can't remember who.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I think the frog from the wind in the willows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

I've always expected people to be scumbags until they prove otherwise. I like to call it being vigilant. (Others, however, prefer to call it being paranoid.)

Expecting people to be scumbags is not necessarily a bad thing: it makes you more aware of your surroundings and there's always the relief when you manage to walk a few minutes without being attacked, abused or robbed.

And when they turn out not to be scumbags it's a pleasant surprise!:)

That just reminded me of something that happened to me involving what looked like scumbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

YT wrote: »
    So what it's supposed to sit gathering dust in the wardrobe? F*ck that, if people had more respect for other people and their property there would be no need to hide precious things away.

I can understand that. I'm all for individuality but the hat and goggles immediatley draws attention to yourself. Your are going to see scumbags wherever you go. It just so happens because of the population of the capital there are more of them. Chances are you are going to run into one that will do this. I feel for the OP but if something was that precious to me I wouldn't be walking around Dublin with it. It wouldn't be gathering dust either, I'd have it going to parties etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,863 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Its a sad state of the affairs of this country when that is common thought. I know I'm from the country and all but I can remember (up until maybe 10 years ago) a few of my neighbours used to leave the key in their front door overnight. One neighbour in fact had to get a drill, because the key wouldn't come out, due to it being in there so long. We have gone from a land where you can trust people to do that, to one where we are being advised not to wear a hat on a night out.

In fact some have even said not to wear anything that might draw attention to ourselves. Maybe the next step is to come up with some kind of uniform to wear so that we all look the same and are less likely to attract the scum. Obviously that is a ridiculour over exaggeration, but it just boils me to think that a man can't wear a hat out on a night out and not Expect to have it taken from his head. :mad:

P.S sorry about the rant, its nothing against you igloo ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Comparing what goes on on 4chan and the comment made which caused you a little episode is a little pathetic really.
    What I find pathetic is quoting someone who can't defend themselves on a thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

He liked it and it meant a lot to him... I don't get the need for analysing and questioning the item or the wearing of it... or the need to be c*nts just because "this is After Hours". :confused:

Certain posters do seem to have a case of Borderline Cnut Syndrome. It is easily diagnosed as people who are probably not the nicest deep down, but lack the moral courage to actually insult someone in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I was in the bathroom at the time unfortunetly and missed the whole thing.

They were lucky... I'm a hat theif's worst nightmare!

It's true, I've seen him.
    This is why I can never wear hats. Some jackass will always think its 'funny' to rob it.
    Hope you get it back.
    Cnuts. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Well it's a particularly 'outrageous' hat, and it's just being conservative/realistic. I would consider a hat like that to be prime material for pissed dickheads, and even if it is sad, it's just being careful about something you prize. I find it sad that a girl can't walk down dark alleys in this fine country of ours, but she does so at her peril whether we like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Dragan wrote: »
    That said, they never want to fight....just talk, then run.

Well you are hooge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭glanman

to monkeyfudge and OP...

Where do you go on a night out when dressed-up like this? Never really seen people dressed up like this on nights out... If off topic mods can delete, I'm not trolling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

A bit OTT calling people c*nts for asking questions. Most people just seemed to be genuinely interested in the OP's attire. This is a discussion board, of course people are going to ask questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Sorry to hear that man, I know how much you liked that hat. :(

I don't see why people are questioning why someone would wear a hat! It's an item of clothing that people... err wear. In fact more people should wear hats... but sadly I think that the scum of society would ruin that also. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

collector wrote: »
    is there not cameras all over these mc donalds go back and get the film of the culprit .you were robbed on there premises they have to be help you out in getting your hat back or next stop the radio stations if it was mine
    i would
    This.
    Go back there today and report the theft.
    Go to the Gardaí too. I know it's not the biggest crime in the world, but they may just get someone who already has a record.
    Dragan wrote: »
    In fairness, the majority of people being cnuts are most likely cnuts everywhere, as oppossed to exlusive internet cuntistry.
    Nah. They just think they are anonymous and untouchable on the internet.
    It's a bit hey, look at me. I'm laughing at someone else from the comfort of my own home.
    Most of them wouldn't have the balls to say anything to Blitzkrieg's face.
    Cowardly bastards.
    jum4 wrote: »
    ok so he posted the topic, should we have just sit here and not reply?

If it meant that much should have been more carful
    You are not under any obligation to reply to any thread.

marko91 wrote: »
    sorry about the hat especialy since it meant alot but on a night out u should EXPECT ur hat to be taken from ur head, d!ckheads
    No you shouldn't.
    I remember a time when scumbags would rob people's runners. It probably still happens. Does that mean you shouldn't wear a pair of Nike's when you are outside?

As a side note, your post makes no sense.
    marko91 wrote: »
    sorry about the hat especialy since it meant alot but on a night out single vowel should EXPECT ancient Mesopotamian city hat to be taken from ancient Mesopotamian city head, d!ckheads
    You should have expected me to do that.

After Hours is a light hearted forum. 'Serious' issues have been posted before and people get ripped because After Hours allows it and obligatory replies tell the OP to post somewhere else if they want to avoid it.
    sure you can see why the OP is upset but you also see why people will take the piss. And After Hours allows that.

As others said it wasn't the best idea taking it out if it's worth so much to you. Clearly it draws attention and it only takes one moron to have the thought go through his head.
    Who died and made you a mod of AH?
    Taking the piss out of someone's plight is not a given right in AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Katarn1

Sorry to hear about your hat - it sucks and is really frustrating when something like that happens.

I live just off O'Connell St - I'll do my best to keep an eye out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Sorry to hear about this, hope it shows up somewhere. Something similar happened me once, thankfully things worked out tho. fingers crossed 4ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

OP, if this ever goes to court (and this thread isn't a piss-take), please give us a shout. It's something I need to see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I don't even want to know why anyone would go around looking like that, but this is Dublin, I'm assuming you're from here or live here, you should know that any expression of individuality or eccentricity is ridiculed here, and the hat would have been swiped sooner or later by some asshole. You can't even have long hair here without getting abuse over it now and again. Quelle surprise is my reaction!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Sorry for your loss but why were you wearing goggles and a top hat? Some character from a book?

Probably sarging or whatever. Mystery Method thingy.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I do appreciate that you are upset about it as it's not a nice thing to have lost, but you're not exactly blameless. You shouldn't have been wearing it around town at all whether it was stolen or got blown off under a car etc. you weren't exactly taking great car of it now were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,863 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Draupnir wrote: »
    I do appreciate that you are upset about it as it's not a nice thing to have lost, but you're not exactly blameless. You shouldn't have been wearing it around town at all whether it was stolen or got blown off under a car etc. you weren't exactly taking great car of it now were you?
    How is the OP to blame for someone coming up, and robbing the hat clean off his head and running away with it. Are people who are mugged not exactly blameless either? When did it suddenly become acceptable behaviour to do something to someone like the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Quote:
    Originally Posted by monkeyfudge View Post
    I was in the bathroom at the time unfortunetly and missed the whole thing.

They were lucky... I'm a hat theif's worst nightmare!

ScumLord wrote: »
    Is that because you don't wear a hat?

That's one of the funniest replies I've ever read on boards, I'm actually crying laughing here in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

How is the OP to blame for someone coming up, and robbing the hat clean off his head and running away with it. Are people who are mugged not exactly blameless either? When did it suddenly become acceptable behaviour to do something to someone like the OP?

I didn't say it was acceptable, it's hardly unlikely though is it. If you have something which is valuable and dear to you, particularly something that is quite easy to lose in many circumstances as a huge brown top hat is, then you don't bring it into situations where many things could go badly wrong.

Also, the OP admits it has been taken on him before, was he ever going to learn his lesson?

As I say, if it was so dear and valuable, if it was me it would have been kept nice and safe at home and worn to things like house parties with friends etc.

I do of course hope that the OP gets the hat back as I can understand the upset it is causing him, I'm not about to tell him it's not his fault too though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

It sucks that the hat was taken but when people have drink on them they think its funny to do stuff like that.
    People taking traffic cones, glasses from the pub. These things happen in town, most people dont mean any harm by it but ya gotta expect it to happen, ive never worn a hat on Paddys day or whatever and not had someone take it off me.
    Just like when your on AH ya gotta expect people to take the p1ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You should be allowed to ware what you want without being hassled sure but the fact of life is drunk people are assholes. I have a lovely Australian hat that I paid 50 punts for years ago and it barely leaves the house for the same reason. It would instantly win any fancy dress because it's just that authentic and awesome but I won't risk it after loosing my Russian commie hat and that went missing amongst friends.