Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

So Eduardo is out for 2 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

thorbarry wrote: »
    Care to elaborate?

I already have!
    jasonorr wrote: »
    Really???

From here is a list of the amount of injuries (not duration of them) the big 4 had last season.

Liverpool 31
    Chelsea 46
    United 58
    Arsenal 74
    anyway, what i meant by the post was that, I am sick of people saying we didnt win anything because certain players got injured. We didnt win anything because of our lack of strength and depth in the squad

I would prefer if people didn't rely on that as an excuse, the simple fact of the matter is that we have been getting these injuries consistently over the last few years and our squad isn't strong/big enough to cope with that level of injuries!

thats the problem exactly, if we had a better/bigger squad it wouldn't be a problem. The problem is with the squad, not the injuries.... like we sort of agree, but have a slightly different opinion :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭WillieCocker

So Eduardo is out for 2 months?

Looks like it.
    I hope he's not going to suffer these niggles all season.

Looks like it.
    I hope he's not going to suffer these niggles all season.

bad news indeed. Yea i hope he gets a good run after he comes back... anybody know what the injury is? I assumed he was fine after i seen pics of him in full training, so i take it its a new injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

bad news indeed. Yea i hope he gets a good run after he comes back... anybody know what the injury is? I assumed he was fine after i seen pics of him in full training, so i take it its a new injury?
    If he can't survive pre-season training injury free, we're not likely to get too many full seasons out of him. at this rate we might as well have grabbed onto Michael Owen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I must be reading the article different to the rest of you, to me it says that Eduardo will be back in the two months that Nasri will be out for??? It just reads weird in Wengers slightly broken english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

Yes obviously Eduardo isnt out for two months!

I think we might have heard about it some how if he was.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Souless

I must be reading the article different to the rest of you, to me it says that Eduardo will be back in the two months that Nasri will be out for??? It just reads weird in Wengers slightly broken english.

lets hope that's the case as I can't find any info on Eduardo being out for 2 months :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

the amount of injuries (not duration of them) the big 4 had last season.

Liverpool 31
    Chelsea 46
    United 58
    Arsenal 74
    But I'm talking about the effect of injuries - ie key players out for stretches of time. And I don't think we suffer any more than any other club in that way - we just don't deal with as well. Plus, just as examples, Physio Room lists Djourou getting injured twice in two days over the Christmas period and Clichy getting injured twice on the same day in April so the numbers don't tell the whole story.
    jasonorr wrote:
    It isn't.
    You're seriously saying injuries aren't a part of any competitive sports team?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I think the whole "Nasri only out for 6 weeks" is rubbish. He wont kick a ball for at least 2 months, and by the time he gets match fit (he's missing all of pre-season) it will be close to 3 months before we see him back. Hope this isn't just Wenger blowing a smokescreen to avoid having to sign anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    But I'm talking about the effect of injuries - ie key players out for stretches of time. And I don't think we suffer any more than any other club in that way - we just don't deal with as well.

To be fair, name another club which has had 2 key players (Rosicky & Eduardo) miss pretty much all of the past 18 months. Injuries of that length are rare, and to have them happen to 2 key players at the same time is very unlucky.

You're seriously saying injuries aren't a part of any competitive sports team?!

This is what I meant...:rolleyes:
    If your squad is good enough, they should be able to deal with it.
    It isn't. They can't.

keano_afc wrote: »
    I think the whole "Nasri only out for 6 weeks" is rubbish.

Same here, I would be very surprised. Wenger's estimates are usually off the mark. You can usually multiply them by 2 or 3 to get a more accurate evaluation. So 3-4.5 months it is!

http://arsenal-mania.com/articles/3107042/Confusion-over-Eduardo-
    Apparently there is a bit of confusion over the fitness of Eduardo da Silva, but hopefully it's all just a case of being lost between the lines.

Manager Arsène Wenger had earlier today said that our Croatian international would be back "within two months". However, Eduardo himself seems confused over this statement, saying that he's not even injured to begin with.

Eduardo has been told that he will be taking part in Arsenal's pre-season preparations, which is technically, "within two months".

According to Arsenal Analysis, the Brazilian said: "I do not know anything about the statement made by my coach. It can not be true. I am completely ready physically.

"I was told that I will play between 20 and 30 minutes on the 27th July when we play against Szombatelya. Two days later against Hannover 96 I will play a half.

"I feel great, next week I will play for Arsenal, and I believe that everything will be OK."

Maybe it's much ado over nothing ... and what Wenger actually means is that Eduardo will be match fit in two months.

good news, he's not injured, it was a mix up, lost in translation i guess :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Phew:cool:

What an absolute muppet this lad is, although he's probably just angling for a move.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5449263,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

What an absolute muppet this lad is, although he's probably just angling for a move.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5449263,00.html

"I have friends at City and I hope they do really well - and that they finish above Arsenal," said the full-back.

"I think it's going to be hard for City but they could do it. They may click straight away and it's magic. I hope they do."

Well f**k you, you little slimy greedy dishonest piece of sh!t cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Graham Poll summed Ashley Cole up in one sentence: “[Cole is] a product of the age of excessive wages and player behaviour. He shows little respect for officials and has abused attempts to manage him with snide comments.”

Cole's attitude and behaviour leave a lot be desired and understandibly he is one of the most hated players around. He was even booed by the England supporters in a game watched by Poll, to which the referee responded: "I can't condone booing any player but struggle to condemn the reaction to Ashley Cole last weekend — a player I never enjoyed officiating. Cole is an objectionable player.” There appears to be a dislike between the lads me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Graham Poll summed Ashley Cole up in one sentence: “[Cole is] a product of the age of excessive wages and player behaviour. He shows little respect for officials and has abused attempts to manage him with snide comments.”

Cole's attitude and behaviour leave a lot be desired and understandibly he is one of the most hated players around. He was even booed by the England supporters in a game watched by Poll, to which the referee responded: "I can't condone booing any player but struggle to condemn the reaction to Ashley Cole last weekend — a player I never enjoyed officiating. Cole is an objectionable player.” There appears to be a dislike between the lads me thinks.

Have to say Poll has shot up in my estimations, its a pretty damn accurate description of that other yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Its compounded by the fact that he just isn't that good a footballer anyway. When people persist in calling him one of the best left backs in the world, I want to skull them.

He is so poor going forward its criminal. He can't dribble, he never takes people on, its always a lateral pass and then a sprint / run into a crowd of players so that he isn't available for a return pass. As a defender, he is adequate. He is quick, and is a decent tackler. But thats about it.

The fact that he is a twat in real life too just rounds the whole thing off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭WillieCocker

I think Wenger still needs to work on his English, i almost lost the plot when he said Eduardo should return within 2 months.:)

To be fair, name another club which has had 2 key players (Rosicky & Eduardo) miss pretty much all of the past 18 months. Injuries of that length are rare, and to have them happen to 2 key players at the same time is very unlucky.
    Obviously injuries like that are exceptional - but they're exceptional even for us. And Eduardo (not yet a full first-teamer) was really out for about a year, then just suffered some other niggly injuries.

The closest I can think of is Utd missing both Hargreaves and Brown for all of last season, and Hargreaves still ain't back, so it's not too far off the mark.

But again, situations like that are exceptional for any club - though I'll be happy to be proved wrong if all the teams around us suddenly get struck down for the upcoming season :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Not surprisingly, more childish, spoilt, down right cùntish behavior from Cashly. What a terrible person he is.

Anyone think that with mascharano looking likely to move to Barca that we should put a cheeky bid in for Yaya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Obviously injuries like that are exceptional - but they're exceptional even for us. And Eduardo (not yet a full first-teamer) was really out for about a year, then just suffered some other niggly injuries.

Well that's what I mean, they were exceptional even for Arsenal. Look at it however you want, but because of injury Eduardo has played 4 games in 18 months.

Also Fabregas was injured for 4 months, I don't remember injuries of that length to players like Torres, Gerrard, Rooney, Ronaldo, Lampard etc.

I think with regards to the length of the Rosicky/Eduardo injuries and the fact that their top player received a serious injury last season, Arsenal have had less luck with injuries than other teams.

It's not an excuse, and yes the squad really is too small to cope with them.

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Anyone think that with mascharano looking likely to move to Barca that we should put a cheeky bid in for Yaya?

Yes, but it wont happen. Our bid would probably be £5 million, and Silvestre. Total bid of around £5.1 million.

+ Eboue which makes a total of................. 62.1 and a half million.
    I think we have a shot

Redzer7 wrote: »

That would be awesome, but jaysis, i dont think i can deal with being linked with yaya toure again lol

Toure confirms arsenal interest "Arsenal are a good team"

Arsene Wenger confirms Toure interest "He is a player we looked at a few years ago and decided not to buy him"

lol im sick of quotes like that been taken out of context, but i guess there is nothing we can do :p

Well that's what I mean, they were exceptional even for Arsenal.
    Which is why that can never be the benchmark we take when we compare our injury problems with those of other teams (I think we agree on this though).
    Also Fabregas was injured for 4 months, I don't remember injuries of that length to players like Torres, Gerrard, Rooney, Ronaldo, Lampard etc.
    Well Fabregas played 22 league matches last year, Torres appeared in 24 (and think one or two of those were sub appearances when he was coming back?). And in terms of time, Ronaldo was out for two months at the start of the season - he and Utd were just lucky that the other period he was unavailable for was during the summer break - plus Hargreaves and Brown as I said. As for Chelsea, Carvalho only played 12 games last year, Joe Cole played 14 and still isn't back and Essien played 11.

I'm not saying all these are the exact same, but apart from the truly exceptional Rosicky one, I think they're in a similar area.