Post Man shot with air rifle in Finglas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Somewhere else perhaps. In Finglas? Noooooo.........
    I can see that you have standards.Abandon them,you'll get nowhere with standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

i remember shooting an air rifle away in poland. From about 50 yards, it went through an empty can of beer no problem. Ive no doubt that would hurt like ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

KTRIC wrote: »
    I have one and I don't need a licence for it. If I shot the local postie I'd have the f*cking Polizei outside my house within minutes in riot gear.

Willkommen zu Freistaat Bayern :D

Aren't we trying to ban Paintball....?:pac:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

DubMedic wrote: »
    * Awaits Sharpshooter's guilty plea/witty answer to thread *

Why the roll eyes? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Why the roll eyes? :confused:
    Mis-used, one does apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I can see that you have standards.Abandon them,you'll get nowhere with standards.

I thank you for your concern sir, much appreciated. They've guided me well so far. I'm doing ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

neil_hosey wrote: »
    i remember shooting an air rifle away in poland. From about 50 yards, it went through an empty can of beer no problem. Ive no doubt that would hurt like ****!

Big diference in velocity between an air rifle and an air pistol,the postie was shot with a pistol..for which you need a firearms certificatete although its far less dangerous than a rifle..
    The kid when caught can,and should go to prison..i'm sure the cops know well who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Degsy wrote: »
    Big diference in velocity between an air rifle and an air pistol,the postie was shot with a pistol..
    Ah just one more thing sir, the police report says nothing about the postman being shot with a pistol. The newspaper reports an "air or pellet gun", now how could you know that he was shot with pistol, how could you know sir, unless you where there?

http://www.tvder60er.de/bilder/columbo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

If it did infact penetrate his raingear and uniform then it was a high powered air rifle/pistol.

They cant tell if it was one or the other till he is actually caught, so they dont know if it was a pistol or rifle, until the individual and the item is retrieved.

My dad himself is a postman and I'm an airsofter. Their rain gear is a very thick heavy wax jacket, so it would take something phenomenal to penetrate.

If you own an "air rifle" you DO need a license for it, unless it shoots under one joule, in which case its airsoft, or if it shoots anything metal, its ****e.

If you have anything that shoots metal anything, at any distance or pace, you need a license, thats a ****ing fact...

I believe this is going to be discussed on Joe Duffy show in a bit, and I'll be tearing my hair out no doubt as they mix it up with airsoft as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭amaughan

iv been tagged with AIRSOFT rifles and AIRSOFT pistols at ranges as close as a foot ,one of which was in the face at a meter away.only lumps and a bit of redness no skin penetration in anyway.this leads me to say with an educated assumption that it was an air gun firing metal slugs.these do indeed need a fire arms license.if/when this person is caught i do hope the the media clarify that it was not airsoft but unfurtunatly i cant see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

amaughan wrote: »
    if/when this person is caught i do hope the the media clarify that it was not airsoft but unfurtunatly i cant see that happening.
    In fairness to them at no point do they claim it's an airsoft device.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 blingBabe

I have been shot with air pistols before while working in wexford. They do penetrate the skin or at least did in my case. It was at a range of about three meters and went through a hi-viz, a jumper and a tee shirt. It hurt!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Sir Molle

Ban airsoft.

ScumLord wrote: »
    In fairness to them at no point do they claim it's an airsoft device.

agreed but we always get branded with the same stick.(pelletgun)= illegal
    (airsoft gun)= legal

Sir Molle wrote: »
    Ban airsoft.
    and why would you suggest a ban on airsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

A classic case of "shooting the messenger" if you ask me.

I reckon someone doesn't like getting household bills delivered to them.

This comment took almost two pages?
    AH has gone to sh|te!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Ban airsoft.

Whooooaaaaa...... now hold on a minute!

*awaits invasion from airsoft forum*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Ban airsoft.

Nothing to do with airsoft

ScumLord wrote: »
    Ah just one more thing sir, the police report says nothing about the postman being shot with a pistol. The newspaper reports an "air or pellet gun", now how could you know that he was shot with pistol, how could you know sir, unless you where there?

http://www.tvder60er.de/bilder/columbo.jpg

Actually mea culpa..i assumed for some reason it was a pistol but i'm probably wrong.
    A pistol wont penetrate clothes unless you're standing a couple of feet away in which case the postie wouldve seen the kid,you could probably break the skin with a rifle fro 30 or so feet.
    Anyway,kids running around thinking they can do this shiit is unnaceptable and i hope the little bollox is caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Sir Molle

amaughan wrote: »
    and why would you suggest a ban on airsoft.

People quite obviously can't be trusted with them and they're pretty scary looking. Why make it easier from criminals to get their hands on perfect look a likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

So what?I hit a Post Man with a water balloon when I was younger but ya didnt see that in the news!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

People quite obviously can't be trusted with them and they're pretty scary looking. Why make it easier from criminals to get their hands on perfect look a likes?

I'm going to assume you're a troll..I hope I'm right.

If a criminal goes to rob a bank or post office, like its portrayed, with an airsoft gun, to be honest they are putting their life in their hands.

Handguns and pistols are available for sale here in the underworld for cheaper then airsoft guns, and it would be easier to buy then buying an airsoft gun.

And you have the knowledge that when **** goes tits up, you can use a REAL gun.....

Also saying people cannot be trusted with them is a total remo comment.

If someone smashes someones head open with a hurl, people wont blame hurling and call for it to be banned and have hurls painted two tone colours, and you wont be saying " you cant trust people with hurleys"

Airsoft is a sport played by hundreds in this country, with teams who go abroad and WIN international events and are recognised as the best of the best.

There is just constant knee jerk reaction to airsoft due to the serious anti gun culture in this country, the think of the children brigade and Irelands relentless " we hate change" attitude.

TheDoc wrote: »

Handguns and pistols are available for sale here in the underworld for cheaper then airsoft guns, and it would be easier to buy then buying an airsoft gun.

Really?
    So i want to buy a glock or something similar,the real deal is cheaper than the airsoft version?
    http://www.airsplat.com/GlockAirsoftPistol.htm

http://www.usglock.com/index_files/glockpricelist.htm

This price doesnt take into account that the weapon is illegal and therefore more expensive to buy and the considerable cost of ammunition.
    In fact its far more difficult to obtain amunition than it is to obtain replica firearms OR real firearms and once a weapon has been used you've got to sling it as the forensic information becomes available to the guards once they examine the bullet or empty casing.
    The fact is that ordinary assholes DO use replicas for commiting robberies,they're extremely easy to come by as geeks have taken to firing plastic beads at each other at weekends and a replica weapon is less likely to have three previous murders attached to it that could see you going away forever.
    If you want to actually shoot people thats a different kettle of fish but for robberies against civilians replicas are the way to go.

The pistols you have linked are cheapsoft, cheap ****e you could buy in any market in spain or portugal. Granted it may look the same and anyone who does not know what a gun looks like may not tell the difference, or in a panic.

But the point is airsoft not cheapsoft.

There is enough guards, military and the like that play airsoft, that speak to me and others and you get the same stories.

I work in an airsoft shop and have had guards come in and ask the price of glock and laugh with comments like " you'd get the real one cheaper".

as geeks have taken to firing plastic beads at each other at weekends

Thats just a stupid comment in fairness to make.

I knew after hours is like the purposely retarded forum on boards that is populated by basically the joe duffy brigade, but some of the **** is beyond remo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

The pistols you have linked are cheapsoft, cheap ****e you could buy in any market in spain or portugal. Granted it may look the same and anyone who does not know what a gun looks like may not tell the difference, or in a panic.

So to all intents and purposes they are replica is what you're saying.

Dinter wrote: »
    So to all intents and purposes they are replica is what you're saying.

Not denying they are, they look very much like the real thing if you are oblivious to rifles etc.

Its the problem airsoft has, granted they are our tools in which we use responsibly in our sport, they can be acquired by mongs and used inappropriately.

But to put into perspective, and airsoft gun cannot cause you harm. The one joule was picked because of UK studies from the house of lords that proved impact to the human eye at one joule caused little risk of long term eye damage.

I play in some games where im shot from a foot away, at worse you get a red mark, never any blood.

I've also partaking abroad where the limits are much higher, and it just stings more.

It is down to the individuals obviously, some airsofters have lost teeth, but that's down to their own personal cases.

The only damage an airsoft gun can cause physically is if you got hit with it, swung at you, like youcould prtty much any object

as geeks have taken to firing plastic beads at each other at weekends

Thats just a stupid comment in fairness to make.

I knew after hours is like the purposely retarded forum on boards that is populated by basically the joe duffy brigade, but some of the **** is beyond remo...

Look,you're beeing precious about your "sport" and bully for you but the fact is that airsoft guns are in fact TOYS and they fire little plastic beads 6mm with about enough force to wind a bluebottle.
    They dont operate anything like real guns,there's no cartridge,no working parts,no recoil,no smoke,no bang and do danger.
    The guys who set of on thier skirmishes at the weekends are no different to a bunch of three-year-olds playing cowboys and indians except the kids will probably grow out of it.
    If you like guns go and join agun club and apply for a firearms certificate,otherwise you're fooling yourself and playing soldier with toy guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

If someone smashes someones head open with a hurl, people wont blame hurling and call for it to be banned and have hurls painted two tone colours, and you wont be saying " you cant trust people with hurleys"

They do with swords though; I'm always fascinated by this phenomenon. I think it’s related to perception as in the perceived intent. Swords and guns being perceived as people killers are always on the table for getting banned, where as 9 inch laser sharpened carving knives designed so that even a child would be able to have enough force to puncture a skull are on sale in every home ware store.
    This happens with security as well, people using all sorts of specialist front door locks, when a single pane of fragile 4mm clear float glass covers a hole 2m X2.5m known as a window?

Degsy wrote: »
    Look,you're beeing precious about your "sport" and bully for you but the fact is that airsoft guns are in fact TOYS and they fire little plastic beads 6mm with about enough force to wind a bluebottle.
    They dont operate anything like real guns,there's no cartridge,no working parts,no recoil,no smoke,no bang and do danger.
    The guys who set of on thier skirmishes at the weekends are no different to a bunch of three-year-olds playing cowboys and indians except the kids will probably grow out of it.
    If you like guns go and join agun club and apply for a firearms certificate,otherwise you're fooling yourself and playing soldier with toy guns.

They are toys, theres no denying that.

Do you know what it takes to get a firearms license, especially now? Its a very large investment of time,effort and money.

The only "non" realistic operations are the internal operations along with materials used.

An m4 loads like an m4, fire selector is the same, cocking level, bolt release, stock adjustment and the likes.

Your actually not adding weight to your comment....

So anyone that plays video games are just big kids, like **** sake get over it?

I guess paintball is cool though? Because you can go with "the lads" and be sound?

I used to play paintball too. Airsoft is just better for me because there is more tactical play, team work and you can kit out in what looks like a solider.

Its toy soldiers for adults yeah, so what. You cant shoot real guns at each other, sorry but i dont find shooting targets fun.

Atleast with airsoft i have a collection of great looking "toys" that at the weekend i can shoot people safely and in a controlled enviroment

Care to make anymore stupid comments?