Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mercedes B Class - expensive to own? Looking for advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭roadrunner 1

mickdw wrote: »
    Thats a crazy response. There are so many assumptions there. You assume the man should have the big saloon while the little wife has a corsa or something. You assume that he is in control of the finances and the wife wouldnt know whether she could afford the car or not.
    It makes sense for her to have the better car as it seems she is carrying the kids around. Its a reasonable car to be looking at and a sensible enough purchase I would say. I wouldnt refer to it as a merc in the traditional sense (big, expensive, luxurious)either as it is aimed at being a family car for younger families

like you have made no assumptions there at all!!!! look around you we are living in a world full of want and cant afford it really. I am mearly pointing out that if if the car was on the cards then why would himself be so concerned about the servicing cost to me this would indicate that he was concerned over the monetry side. My comments were not to be taken in a offencive way i was not even thinking about the kids maybe they travel all the time via nissan who knows and if buying a merc is for there safety and not for status, does this mean dad cant take them out in the nissan anymore to watch a match or have a burger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

We keep our money separate so it's my money I'm buying the car with. My husband bought the Almera without even looking at it. He needed a car quickly for work and his dad said it was decent, he agreed to get it and first time he saw it was when he picked it up. He regrets it and wants me to buy it off him now so he can buy something better but tough titty. He doesn't think it's a bad car though but considering the mileage he does he should have got a diesel. Maybe it's partly cos he keeps it like a pig stye that I hate being in it but I often feel travel sick in it too. When I flip up the sun visor thing the roof vibrates, the mirror on it also aims at the space between the headrest so I need to lean way over if I want to see myself in it. I'll probably get moans for even mentioning that but it's a silly oversight. It's '05 and it doesn't even have Isofix. My 99 Yaris has Isofix!

My husbands problem with the car is not the price it's the brand, it's my problem too, it's why I posted here in the first place, looking for reassurance on the brand.

OK, I'm going to check out Stevie Dakota's suggestions and check once again for other alternatives. It's still a contender but I'll do some more looking around and maybe take a test drive in a qashqai too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Sounds like OH may be a wee bit jealous as he would probably like a new car himself! I reckon when you do change car you'll find he'll want to "borrow" it a lot more than he did the yaris! Hope all works out for you.

Mary fair play to you. and i did chuckle about the husband trying to sell you the nissan ha ha. Mary in all seriousness now when buying a mercedes, bmw, jaguar or any other pedigree brand in fairness the serviceing would not be an issue you know it will be expensive and very. the reason for this is if you do buy a merc you will obviously be wanting a mercedes service history with it any thing less is not good enough. so you know that you too will have to keep your merc with a fully upto date mercedes service and parts. Now there is the stinger, if the service is 200e and you need some parts they will also be of a high caliber namely BOSCH. you can buy cheaper patten parts such as lucas but then you will no longer have a mercedes but a cheap replica. This is what i was getting at you see i was not trying to be insulting to you it is like i said when buying a pedigree you illiminate back street garages and cheap parts and then get the cheque book on standby. if it is of any consolation all of my experiances with mercs have been good but only because they have been kept original. i have also checked some of the labour costs from b/s garages and main dealers and surpisingly the hourly rate is not that alarmingly differant and to be honest they should be. finally, taking it to a non trained merc mechanic could prove more expensive as you will be paying him/her to train on your car.... besides in reality when you come to sell it it will proberbly be over in england and they will insist on dealer servicing. also beware of those claiming to be merc trained... it would be a company you dont leave if ye know what i mean

good luck with your decission

Mary have you had a look at "www.benzworld.org" or type "mercedes b class problems" into google. maybe that will help you with your decission its not so bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Go ahead Mary and get the Merc... you seem to know your cars better than a lot around here.
    The merc is inherently better designed and safer than comparable mass market cars.

Also its nice to have something thats not run of the mill.

Aftermarket servicing is easily obtainable and should keep the servicing cost down. Merc [parts are actually quite cheap) and i can recommend a competent non main dealer merc Mechanic(not back street). Pm me for details

The people who have actual experience of these models here in this forum were happy with the B class unlike the heresay merchants

Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,800 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Mary fair play to you. and i did chuckle about the husband trying to sell you the nissan ha ha. Mary in all seriousness now when buying a mercedes, bmw, jaguar or any other pedigree brand in fairness the serviceing would not be an issue you know it will be expensive and very. the reason for this is if you do buy a merc you will obviously be wanting a mercedes service history with it any thing less is not good enough. so you know that you too will have to keep your merc with a fully upto date mercedes service and parts. Now there is the stinger, if the service is 200e and you need some parts they will also be of a high caliber namely BOSCH. you can buy cheaper patten parts such as lucas but then you will no longer have a mercedes but a cheap replica. This is what i was getting at you see i was not trying to be insulting to you it is like i said when buying a pedigree you illiminate back street garages and cheap parts and then get the cheque book on standby. if it is of any consolation all of my experiances with mercs have been good but only because they have been kept original. i have also checked some of the labour costs from b/s garages and main dealers and surpisingly the hourly rate is not that alarmingly differant and to be honest they should be. finally, taking it to a non trained merc mechanic could prove more expensive as you will be paying him/her to train on your car.... besides in reality when you come to sell it it will proberbly be over in england and they will insist on dealer servicing. also beware of those claiming to be merc trained... it would be a company you dont leave if ye know what i mean

good luck with your decission

In relation to service history, Ive bought and sold premium cars where the history was main dealer for a couple of years and then independant for the rest. If I see a load of receipts for service parts and a garage receipt, I am completely happy and imo this is every bit as good as a main dealer stamp without receipts. Servicing would not be a problem. Genuine (by genuine I mean original equipment parts bought through a motor factors) parts must to used for any service or additional works. If you were to buy everything at dealer, it would get expensive as it would for any manufacturer but using motor factors who will sell you the same part made in the same factory as the one sold by mercedes, it just wont be in a mercedes box will mean ownership shouldnt get out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,623 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The closest rivial I could find to the B Class is probably the Qashqai.

Here are the Euro NCAP results of both cars:

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/mercedes_benz_b_class_2006/266.aspx

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_qashqai_2007/290.aspx

The Qashqai does marginally better than the B Class especially for child occupant safety, so saying that the Merc is inherantly safer and better designed simply isn't the case.

Iirc the original A Class had to be recalled because it's high centre of gravity caused it to flip over on it's side during a test so just because a company like MB makes it doesn't automatically mean it is superior to main stream competitors.

imo, its certainly a nicer place to be than a qashqai.
    This woman wants the B Class, its a reasonable family car. There should be nothing scary about owning or running it.
    If it was an S Class, well yes, repairs could get scary but a B Class should provide reasonable cost family motoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

also think about kia and the likes of them. you might be just about able to afford a brand new one as these cars are not near as expencive as mercedes etc but will have the same spec like air con and all electrics. i dont no much about them but might be worth looking into...

mickdw wrote: »
    In relation to service history, Ive bought and sold premium cars where the history was main dealer for a couple of years and then independant for the rest. If I see a load of receipts for service parts and a garage receipt, I am completely happy and imo this is every bit as good as a main dealer stamp without receipts. Servicing would not be a problem. Genuine (by genuine I mean original equipment parts bought through a motor factors) parts must to used for any service or additional works. If you were to buy everything at dealer, it would get expensive as it would for any manufacturer but using motor factors who will sell you the same part made in the same factory as the one sold by mercedes, it just wont be in a mercedes box will mean ownership shouldnt get out of hand.

you know it has to be said i know nothing professionally about cars, i am in all a lorry driver and please all do not forget that and do not be thinking i am giving professional advice.... i am not. if my comments have offended anyone then i apologise but isnt it good that everyone has an opinion??? i have only spoken throu my own experiances and thoughts.

now this guy i am quoting has hit a nerve with me as you all know i am a lorry driver and at some point in my career cant say when obviously i was doing long distance inclusive of uk. now then there is a town in northamptonshire called burton latimer and in this town is a company that no one will know called wheatabix!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! as i said no one would have ever have heard of them any way they by all reconning are quite a big company and brand name....... but out of the same factory comes supervalue lidl aldi wheat bix same ingrediants i assume differant packaging........ food for thought. are we not all sick and tired of being ripped off

lads i am going to back on out now respect to ye all especially you mickdw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,623 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I suppose it depends how important soft touch plastics are to you when buying a car. Personally I never found anything to write home about in cars aimed at the masses built by premium marques. They are ususally built to a budget to attract people to the brand who normally could not afford one.

If the OP wants one then buy one for the right reasons, not just because it's a premium marque though.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I suppose it depends how important soft touch plastics are to you when buying a car. Personally I never found anything to write home about in cars aimed at the masses built by premium marques. They are ususally built to a budget to attract people to the brand who normally could not afford one.

If the OP wants one then buy one for the right reasons, not just because it's a premium marque though.

Yes id agree. An example would be new C Class, I dont think that has great materials inside. Having said that it would be ahead of alot of cars as would the B Class be ahead of many of it rivals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 johnwise

save your money and buy either a corrolla verso or a nissan quaquai.....a merc b class is just a badge and is only for people who cannot afford a proper merc but would like people to think they can...stay well away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

johnwise wrote: »
    save your money and buy either a corrolla verso or a nissan quaquai.....a merc b class is just a badge and is only for people who cannot afford a proper merc but would like people to think they can...stay well away.

To say people who drive a B-class can't afford a "proper" merc is a bit presumptuous. The two people I know who have the car have no shortage of money, they simply liked the car.

Have been in the Corrolla verso andI personally wouldn't be mad on it. The quasquai and b-classs have much nicer interiors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Nice 2nd post johnwise ... good to see we have a fully qualified car reveiwer on board that can tell the ladies what they ought to do.