If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SOS Being Called Up To The Main Roster?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Fozzy wrote: »
    The documents that were released as part of the senate's investigation into drug use in pro wrestling showed that he failed the test before he'd ever been brought up. They just brought him up and then suspended him to make an example of him. It's not like he let them down after they'd put enough faith into him to put him on the main roster

Crap, i'd forgotten that you'd mentioned that before Foz.
    My bad. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

I hope Sos gets a shot on TV to see what they do with him and see how much hes improved in the 2 year development programme.

I agree that SOS was cheesy in IWW but then again who isn't? They do small shows in front of mainly families and kids with no to little tv exposure, so its to be expected surely?
    I'm not going to be a fan because he's Irish like some of you mentioned but ill at least wait and see how he does before slating/praising him.

The bashing in this thread is a bit over the top Imo and there's no point to it except in hope of setting yourself up for a big smug "I told you so" if it does go tits up for the guy.

If nothing else it will surely give a bit of hope to the other lads wresting in Ireland at the moment if he can get to the WWE. Fair play to him for getting where he wanted to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭PRICELESS

pingu_girl wrote: »
    I hope Sos gets a shot on TV to see what they do with him and see how much hes improved in the 2 year development programme.

I agree that SOS was cheesy in IWW but then again who isn't? They do small shows in front of mainly families and kids with no to little tv exposure, so its to be expected surely?
    I'm not going to be a fan because he's Irish like some of you mentioned but ill at least wait and see how he does before slating/praising him.

The bashing in this thread is a bit over the top Imo and there's no point to it except in hope of setting yourself up for a big smug "I told you so" if it does go tits up for the guy.

If nothing else it will surely give a bit of hope to the other lads wresting in Ireland at the moment if he can get to the WWE. Fair play to him for getting where he wanted to be.

I've worked with him and been slammed by him, ha ha, i've always found Ste to be a very quiet, dedicated and determined guy and I hope he does well. He may not have Fergal's technical ability but IMO that's not what the business is about, especially in WWE. He's big, strong and marketable and that should take him a long way. Here's to ya big man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

Pity Regal and Burchill aren't a tag team anymore. Could have done an Ireland Vs UK thing with Finlay/SOS Vs Regal/Burchill.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

is there anywhere any of his FCW stuff can be seen online? as people say two years is a long time and they did make him FCW champion before now considering bringing him up to TV id be curious to see how good he actually is now

they could still do a britan vs Ireland thing with Drew Galloway/McIntyre teaming with regal, vs the Irish boyos

SOS makes an impact! About 7 mins in. Not too keen on the new version of the Fiery Red Hand, check out the kick though!

http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/florida+championship+wrestling/video/x8r2tr_wwe-florida-championship-wrestling_sport

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

if i was a booker / writer id be much happier to have SOS judging by the few clips i just saw (especially the DM one although its short) than the average guy of his size and strenght they usually have to deal with like Snitzky or more recently Mike Knox.

I would think all the guys that i just saw featured heavily will be in the WWE on a proper basis if they arent already though, Joe Henning, The new Harts/bulldogs and SOS judging by how they seem to book FCW.

Id say he was asked to alter the FRH, this version is quicker and maybe he changed it cos the wanted him to if hes going to get called up in a certain way i.e if hes going to be at the bottom of the card maybe not have him have such a long high impact move thats bound to gather loads of attension, instead at the start keep him about the character they have in mind maybe.

when it comes to promos though im not sure ill ever take that accent seriously, sounds like one of my mates and i just thinking yeah sure your a mean WWE wrestler sheamo whatever you say you drunk dub

if i was a booker / writer id be much happier to have SOS judging by the few clips i just saw (especially the DM one although its short) than the average guy of his size and strenght they usually have to deal with like Snitzky or more recently Mike Knox.

I would think all the guys that i just saw featured heavily will be in the WWE on a proper basis if they arent already though, Joe Henning, The new Harts/bulldogs and SOS judging by how they seem to book FCW.

Id say he was asked to alter the FRH, this version is quicker and maybe he changed it cos the wanted him to if hes going to get called up in a certain way i.e if hes going to be at the bottom of the card maybe not have him have such a long high impact move thats bound to gather loads of attension, instead at the start keep him about the character they have in mind maybe.

when it comes to promos though im not sure ill ever take that accent seriously, sounds like one of my mates and i just thinking yeah sure your a mean WWE wrestler sheamo whatever you say you drunk dub

Yeah it's clearly not his real voice, but i like it and the Yanks will lap it up. The FRH is now basically a Rock Bottom, i'd say by the time he's called up he'll have a different finisher again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,582 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I think our enthusiasm will quickly be sapped when we see what god awful Irish gimmick he might get saddled with. Pray not.

dsmythy wrote: »
    I think our enthusiasm will quickly be sapped when we see what god awful Irish gimmick he might get saddled with. Pray not.

They'll probably throw a union jack on him! Given how a lot of yanks don't know one end of the map from the other unless it's their 50 states.

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    unless it's their 50 states.

Some can't even name all 50, let alone point to where they are on a nameless map.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

*Predicts mad scramble to sign up SOS in 2010 Boards Draft.*:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

I think Sheamus has improved 10 fold since his iww days. His in ring work is ten times better, as are his promos. Even the way he carries himself in the ring has come along. I always thought that with his size, he had a good chance of making it. It also appears that he has huge levels of determination as well. Fair play to him is what I say, I hope he gets his call up and makes a name for himself. That big boot looks class as well.

I found this promo which I thought was particularly good - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bthJcgrPZyA&feature=related

They'll probably throw a union jack on him! Given how a lot of yanks don't know one end of the map from the other unless it's their 50 states.

Funny you should mention that, here's an excerpt from a comment on the SOS/Hennig match.

"Makes me proud as a Brit and a guy who has been watching Sheamus for about 5 years to see him called up. I hope they don't ruin him like they did Burchill"

Hah SOS & Burchill, The New British Bulldogs!

- WWE developmental working Sheamus O'Shaunessy will be going on the road to be observed for a main roster spot. [Credit: Pwinsider.com]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

- WWE developmental working Sheamus O'Shaunessy will be going on the road to be observed for a main roster spot. [Credit: Pwinsider.com]

Oh, the pressures on!

I reckon he has a decent chance of getting over with the live crowds, as he's notably different from the typical cookie-cutter WWE muscle-head mould.

Also, just to add onto what has already been said in this thread, he seems to have improved since his IWW days, both in the ring and on the mic (check out The Escapist; its a solid film and SOS has a small part in it...he is quite convincing in the monster bad-ass role).

Well, The Ultimate Warrior sucked both in the ring and on the mic, and look how far he got. He's at least better than that... although the Warrior was more entertaining with his non sensical promo's. He should rip Warrior off and start ranting and raving about drawing power from Celtic Gods and stuff :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

SOS is better than the Ultimate Warrior give me a break I wasn't a big warrior fan but please this thread is approaching ridiculous according no rajah and I know not the best source but according to the site they're aint much happening in Florida and the talent is going to need some serious work.

I don't get it, are you defending the Warrior or saying that he is better somehow? All he did was a bunch of clotheslines, gorrilla press slams and then jumped on guys for the pin and he was over like crazy. Any match that went longer than 4 minutes, he was carried by a superior worker like Rick Rude or had every movement choreographed for him like the Hogan match.

SOS has a decent finisher, a physique and an interesting look. That's all you need as long as you can execute basic moves competently. The marketing department does all the rest if they choose to get behind you.

Any match that went longer than 4 minutes, he was carried by a superior worker like Rick Rude or had every movement choreographed for him like the Hogan match.

Sorry but that's not entirely true either. Rude was wasn't that great a worker back then, although he would drastically improve by the time 1990 rolled around. And the Hogan match wasn't choreographed either (i think you're referring to the Savage match, which most of his matches were).

Warrior wasn't the best worker on the planet, but he certainly wasn't the worst for the time either, and definitely not as bad as half the people (who either weren't in the business or were working for the opposition) burying him in the 2005 DVD claimed he was.

I've definitely heard it from more than one source that Hogan and Warrior worked out every bit of the match before they even got to the ring and even did a trial run before the show. Which explains how it came to be a personal best match for both guys.

And Rude was very under rated. That match at Sumerslam with Warrior was all him. In Bret Hart's book, he even stated that Rude quit the company when he saw Warrior got a ton more than he did considering he'd carried the whole match and had been carrying Warrior on the house tours for weeks.

The only thing Warrior really had going for him was a certain natural intense charisma. I was a HUGE Warrior fan as a kid just based on his intensity. Goldberg had a similar thing in later years, but his extended matches were usually more bareable.

I didn't mean to divert this into a Warrior pro/con debate, but just to highlight that there is precedent in WWE for someone with limited ability but a good look to go far.

And Rude was very under rated. That match at Sumerslam with Warrior was all him. In Bret Hart's book, he even stated that Rude quit the company when he saw Warrior got a ton more than he did considering he'd carried the whole match and had been carrying Warrior on the house tours for weeks.

That was in 1990 though between June-August. Rude had improved a lot, but he was bloody terrible in 88 and 89.
    The only thing Warrior really had going for him was a certain natural intense charisma. I was a HUGE Warrior fan as a kid just based on his intensity. Goldberg had a similar thing in later years, but his extended matches were usually more bareable.

Same could be said for about 95% of the WWE roster around the time Warrior served his first stint, in fairness.
    I didn't mean to divert this into a Warrior pro/con debate, but just to highlight that there is precedent in WWE for someone with limited ability but a good look to go far.

Personally i think Khali would have been a better example, but i got your point. :)

Khali is more of an oddity or side show attraction, much like Andre. Warrior was a regular guy who roided up. He is more comparable to SOS, not that I'm implying he takes steroids.

Roode is generally credited with carrying that cage match with Warrior, to be fair.

The comparison is an interesting one; I could definitely see Sheamus 'summoning the spirits of Cu Culainn' or whoever in his promos, and considering WWE's recent kids-orientated product and almost cartoon character like wrestlers, SOS seems to be hitting WWE at the right time.

If WWE's marketing department and the writing team get behind the Dubliner, then he will have no one to blame if he fails but himself.

I wish him the best of luck.

Roode is generally credited with carrying that cage match with Warrior, to be fair.

I really wish people would research before they post
    THAT MATCH WAS IN 1990, WHICH I HAD SAID HE HAD IMPROVED BY THEN!!

Yeah, but that was the match I was refering to in my original post. Warrior always needed someone who was willing and able to make him look good and help him along every step of the way in order to have a good match.

Ok. But out of interest, what was your point when you said this;
    Rude was wasn't that great a worker back then

Cannibal was discussing Roode's series with Warrior, and you admit that Roode had 'improved' by the time his series with Warrior came around. Wheres the problem?

Yeah, but that was the match I was refering to in my original post. Warrior always needed someone who was willing and able to make him look good and help him along every step of the way in order to have a good match.

My point was Rude wasn't great one year earlier at Summerslam and they both managed to have a great match, and believe me, it wasn't a Rude carry job either as he made his fair share of botch jobs.

As opposed to their Wrestlemania V match which stunk up the place.