If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SOS Being Called Up To The Main Roster?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Hey, I'm not always argumentative! I just have strong opinions on product and presentation within Ireland.

I actually like the job you do as mod. Not naming anyone specific, but previous mods would just close topics when it was just a heated debate rather than flaming which always annoyed me.

You at least have an understanding of what's what and know when to step in and when to let things breathe which I think has been demonstrated in the Irish sticky a lot.

Appreciated. I've been out of the loop on the Irish scene for the last couple of years, which I never denied. But i plan on changing that this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

I'm curious if SOS and Devitt have ever faced each other. I can't remember all of the matches Devitt had in his brief IwW cross over.

Wouldn't mind seeing Devitt work a few dates in the likes of RoH, but he seems content in Japan. I know he appeared on TNA once as part of that Global Impact show in 2008 wrestling a 6 man against Christian, AJ Styles and someone else.

I'm curious if SOS and Devitt have ever faced each other. I can't remember all of the matches Devitt had in his brief IwW cross over.

I didn't see most of them, so i couldn't say. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

He only wrestled, two, maybe three matches under the IWW banner...in Trabolgin (sp?), I think.

A squash against Ballymun Bruiser, then some sort of 3 Way, perhaps involving Red Vinny. Exit would be the man to ask here.

But I'm 99.9% certain they've never wrestled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

I was never a SOS fan, and I also hate being told to like something just because it's Irish, but I’d be lying if said I wouldn’t like to see him get a match on ECW, to see if he really has progressed and can fulfil his dream.
    If it works, hurray, we've got a Dublin born and bred wrestler on WWE TV
    If it fails, he's gone and forgotten in a week, no harm no foul, just ask Braden Walker :)

But I’d also rather see Devitt perform in the Impact Zone (Just as likely considering TNA’s association with New Japan), might not be his personal dream be a great sight to see on a Saturday night. And probably a prouder moment for Irish people than SOS appearing on WWE and proclaiming himself as Finlay’s old arch enemy / long lost brother / Hornswoggle’s older brother / Hornswoggle’s real Dad / Hornswoggle’s dance instructor (They could form a Riverdance faction) etc etc…:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

D-FENS wrote: »
    I was never a SOS fan, and I also hate being told to like something just because it's Irish, but I’d be lying if said I wouldn’t like to see him get a match on ECW, to see if he really has progressed and can fulfil his dream.
    If it works, hurray, we've got a Dublin born and bred wrestler on WWE TV
    If it fails, he's gone and forgotten in a week, no harm no foul, just ask Braden Walker :)

But I’d also rather see Devitt perform in the Impact Zone (Just as likely considering TNA’s association with New Japan), might not be his personal dream be a great sight to see on a Saturday night. And probably a prouder moment for Irish people than SOS appearing on WWE and proclaiming himself as Finlay’s old arch enemy / long lost brother / Hornswoggle’s older brother / Hornswoggle’s real Dad / Hornswoggle’s dance instructor (They could form a Riverdance faction) etc etc…:D

No ones telling you to like anything. All we're saying is to give the guy his due.

Moreover, its a minority of wrestling fans who give a damn about WORKRATE~~! If (and I'm aware its a big 'if') SOS does well in WWE, the majority of Irish fans are going to care a lot more about him than the guy wrestling mid-card matches in Japan, no matter how 'good' Devitt's matches are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

He only wrestled, two, maybe three matches under the IWW banner...in Trabolgin (sp?), I think.

A squash against Ballymun Bruiser, then some sort of 3 Way, perhaps involving Red Vinny. Exit would be the man to ask here.

I was there that day. SOS and Devitt did not wrestle each other. There was a three way as the last match of the day against Jay Phoenix and I think Vic Viper with an horrifically botched finish, where it had to be re started and the correct ending happened then. It was edited nicely for Whiplash TV though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Sorry forgot about to say i found the first post on www.nodq.com

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I saw feck all of SOS apart from a few bits on 427 before he went to america and from posts in the thread I understand his wrestling talent may not have been highly regarded. Personally i think all guys should be trying the wrestling around the world route before heading for wwe. WWE are actually restricting guys chances to develop by signing them up if they are raw.

He may not have been the complete wrestler going over but that would be why he got a development deal and not a superstar deal. He must have learned alot in two years under a programme that is designed to improve everything about you, from wrestling to promos. I hope going on the road works out for him.

A concern must be that his deal must be close to running out, if he doesn't impress then he may end up released.

If given a tv chance I wonder what role they will find for him. I actually think a role with hornswoggle wouldn't be a disaster. He would get over with kids pretty fast if he was with the wee man. If the finlay thing happened i think he would be very lucky, who better to learn from than Fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

DM-ICE wrote: »
    If the finlay thing happened i think he would be very lucky, who better to learn from than Fit?

Finlay is awesome though they do have to change his music from that stupid Hornswoggle rubbish. They wouldn't be a bad tag team with the long term aim of breaking them up and turning SOS heel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

SOS's intro could be linked with Hornswaggle and Finlay being on different show now i.e he could now be teamed with one and not the other i.e with finlay to tag/learn or feud which would be of obvious benefit and easy to write or as DM suggests with Hornswaggle in an attempt to get him over with the kids in the 'wwe universe'.

I'd actually prefer an SOS/McIntyre feud if they both get called up at the same time. At least both of them are watchable in the ring together.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    I'd actually prefer an SOS/McIntyre feud if they both get called up at the same time. At least both of them are watchable in the ring together.

I would love to see that type of storyline. I think bringing in two guys with the storyline they are trying to outdo one another and get over would be great. You could even have it as a Teddy long style impress me and you get a contract. At the end both guys get contracts and team up out of respect. They could have a follow on with the older wrestlers complaining about the screen time the new guys get. The two lads then watch each others backs against the old timers trying to keep them down.

I assume its been done before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I've never been a fan of SOS, in fact I think he's God awful, but good luck to the fella for realising his dream, if and when it happens for him.

You know what I'm dreading though if he does make it to a decent level of WWE? The predictably smug and cringeworthy Late Late interview we'll have to endure when some ill-informed presenter will spend the whole time being patronising about wrestling, or worse will kayfabe the whole thing to the absolute mortification of wrstling fans everywhere.:eek:

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I assume its been done before?

It has and it hasn't. The one thing that springs to mind, that most people didn't really get to see until Curt Hennig's DVD came out, and that's the match at Wrestlefest 88.

Basically the winner of the Curt Hennig/Terry Taylor match got titled Mr Perfect (as neither had a televised defeat in WWE prior to that match), of course where it was the beginning of Hennig's career in the big leagues, it pretty much was the end of Taylor's career, as he was later managed by Bobby Heenan as the "stumbling fumbling Red Rooster", who needed to be guided.

Tragic thing is, Taylor was more than an accomplished wrestler, sadly his career never recovered after that horrible gimmick, and it's pretty much all he's ever been remembered for ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I know he appeared on TNA once as part of that Global Impact show in 2008 wrestling a 6 man against Christian, AJ Styles and someone else.

Petey Williams. I'd hope that he'd land in TNA for at least a month or two through TNA's working relationship with New Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,596 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'll be supporting SOS nonetheless. However I'm not supporting him because he's Irish but because i've heard good stuff about him.

I also hope DH Smith get's called up so that we might see the New Hart Foundation. I'd like to see them feud with Legacy

Riddle101 wrote: »
    I also hope DH Smith get's called up so that we might see the New Hart Foundation. I'd like to see them feud with Legacy

That's not gonna happen anytime soon, especially after they tried calling him up about 18 months ago and he was suspended almost a month later due to wellness violation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Shaneomac

It has and it hasn't. The one thing that springs to mind, that most people didn't really get to see until Curt Hennig's DVD came out, and that's the match at Wrestlefest 88.

Basically the winner of the Curt Hennig/Terry Taylor match got titled Mr Perfect (as neither had a televised defeat in WWE prior to that match), of course where it was the beginning of Hennig's career in the big leagues, it pretty much was the end of Taylor's career, as he was later managed by Bobby Heenan as the "stumbling fumbling Red Rooster", who needed to be guided.

Tragic thing is, Taylor was more than an accomplished wrestler, sadly his career never recovered after that horrible gimmick, and it's pretty much all he's ever been remembered for ever since.

Does nobody remember TTT? Didnt last to long but thats my only memory of the guy as was too young to remember the rooster thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Shaneomac

That's not gonna happen anytime soon, especially after they tried calling him up about 18 months ago and he was suspended almost a month later due to wellness violation.
    I reckon its gonna happen sooner rather than later. Theve probably been testing him quite frequently since then and deemed hes learnt his lesson hence why they used a draft space for him.

Shaneomac wrote: »
    Does nobody remember TTT? Didnt last to long but thats my only memory of the guy as was too young to remember the rooster thank god

Terriffic Terry Taylor? He lasted about three weeks in January 1993, which is why nobody remembers him, only reminded in recent years of his brief participation in the Royal Rumble that year before leaving for WCW yet again.

Shaneomac wrote: »
    I reckon its gonna happen sooner rather than later. Theve probably been testing him quite frequently since then and deemed hes learnt his lesson hence why they used a draft space for him.

Sorry, I should have been a little clearer.
    I meant they're not gonna do the Foundation angle anytime soon. Even if they're dope testing the living crap out of him, they're not going to push him for a major angle for a while until he can prove himself. If I recall correctly, that's one of the reasons Orton didn't get to take Taker's streak at Mania 21. Because WWE didn't deem him reliable at that point in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭PRICELESS

Finlay is awesome though they do have to change his music form that stupid Hornswoggle rubbish. They wouldn't be a bad tag team with the long term aim of breaking them up and turning SOS heel.

Thank you! I've been saying that for ages, about his music being crap. Anyone remember this?

http://tr.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm73OiofW0s&feature=related

Didn't really suit him but it's better than Hornswoggle's theme. What are the odds they give it to SOS? ha ha!

Even Hornswoggle's first theme is better than that rubbish he comes out to now!

http://tr.youtube.com/watch?v=Oq2TNmlcuOU&feature=PlayList&p=FB4540A2AE032E6F&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=6

PRICELESS wrote: »
    Thank you! I've been saying that for ages, about his music being crap. Anyone remember this?

http://tr.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm73OiofW0s&feature=related

Didn't really suit him but it's better than Hornswoggle's theme. What are the odds they give it to SOS? ha ha!

Given that they gave him back his old Belfast Bruiser outfit at Wrestlemania, don't be surprised if his WCW theme comes back, lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

They should just toss some money at the Dropkick Murphys and use one of their songs, it'd be perfect.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-64CaD8GXw

They should just toss some money at the Dropkick Murphys and use one of their songs, it'd be perfect.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-64CaD8GXw

UFC already use that for one of their guys. Forrest Griffin, i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Haha, Cork City FC use it as the coming into the pitch music as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭PRICELESS

THIS is SOS all the way! Shell out the money Vince!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smyQRprA4NQ&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

The documents that were released as part of the senate's investigation into drug use in pro wrestling showed that he failed the test before he'd ever been brought up. They just brought him up and then suspended him to make an example of him. It's not like he let them down after they'd put enough faith into him to put him on the main roster

gimmick wrote: »
    Haha, Cork City FC use it as the coming into the pitch music as well.

Not in a couple of weeks, they'll be listening to it through headphones on the way to the dole queue. :D