Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old style car registrations

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

LI is a wesmeath registration,and JLI*** lasted from feb69 to jan70 so id guess your morris was a 1969 car.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Carchaeologist, you should try and open up a separate forum here, a car registration forum! :)

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Carchaeologist, you should try and open up a separate forum here, a car registration forum! :)
    Haha,itd be no fun then!!Id have to be all serious like!!:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭gipi

Here are a few of my own fav pre-87 reg numbers....

368 EZL - my first bike (1981 Kawasaki 100cc, sadly written off in 1984)

255 AZU - my first car (1982 Ford Fiesta)

JZS 665 (Honda 50, from 1984, I think?), we called it "jaysus 665"....wonder who got "jaysus 666"!!

Friend of mine had 858 MYI, which was regularly stopped by the gardai, because it had a chequered past before he owned it. He got stopped one night, was asked for his reg number and said without thinking "858 my eye"....garda thought he was taking the p.....!

Thanks for all of the wonderful info on reg nos Carchaeologist!

368 EZL-Dublin,issued middle of march 81

255 AZU-Dublin,mid jan 82

JZS 665-Dublin,late august 84

858 MYI-Dublin,mid july 76

No bother with the reg info,as geeky as it sounds,i just love old irish reg numbers,and any discussion whatsoever is good!!
    Its not a subject that many people can talk about without falling asleep,thats why the good old internet is great for this sort of thing.:D

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

IIRC, my old Kawasaki AR80 was 9603 EI (EI being Sligo). Or maybe it was 9606EI...

Well,9603EI was a
    Registration9603EI MakeOPEL ModelKADETT Description1.6D VAN Fuel TypeDIESEL
    And 9606EI was a
    Registration9606EI MakeFORD ModelFIESTA Description1.6D L Fuel TypeDIESEL
    Nothing from 9601 to 9609 comes up as a kawasaki,you will have to dig out some photos!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Oh Sweet Lord, big brother is here....................! How do i get the impression you checked all the regs!

TheDriver wrote: »
    Oh Sweet Lord, big brother is here....................! How do i get the impression you checked all the regs!
    Heh heh,well the information is available to all on www.cartell.ie Might as well use it as its there!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

I used to like Leirim regs best. Made my day to see some grumpy looking fecker driving around in a car with GIT written on it. Or a good looking lady with FIT. Or my favourite was seeing a car which had been crashed with HIT on it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

il gatto wrote: »
    I used to like Leirim regs best. Made my day to see some grumpy looking fecker driving around in a car with GIT written on it. Or a good looking lady with FIT. Or my favourite was seeing a car which had been crashed with HIT on it.:D

There is a Nissan Sentra going around Granard in Longford these days with a 'KIT' reg.!

il gatto wrote: »
    Yeah,pity they never made it to TIT:D,KIT was the last one,as iv said on the classic cars forum,my own capri has a KIT reg,was half thinking of painting it black and putting LEDS on the front grille,if only my name was micheal!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

My capri has a KIT*** reg!!Im half thinking of painting it black and putting LED lights on the front:DKIT*** was the last leitrim reg before the change in 87,finished up at KIT780.
    As for the ***PZU reg,twas a dublin issue from the last few days of april 82 to the first few days of march 82. Another case of dublin chomping through their allocations!!

Were bikes reged different back then? I had a Yamaha RD350lc PZW244 I'm sure it was 81..

Also 2 cars my Da had way back one was a Vw Golf 7 DZC and a Beetle LLI 174 If you can put dates to em I'd appreciate..

Cocoon wrote: »
    Were bikes reged different back then? I had a Yamaha RD350lc PZW244 I'm sure it was 81..

Also 2 cars my Da had way back one was a Vw Golf 7 DZC and a Beetle LLI 174 If you can put dates to em I'd appreciate..

Can do..
    Bikes were issued the same allocations as cars were,there was no difference.

PZW*** was a kildare issue from august 1980 to january 1981,would probably date your bike to 1980.

***DZC was a dublin county issue,lasted for about a week in september 1977(***CZC&***EZC were also issued that same month,7DZC was a nice reg,i suppose the golf has gone to the scrapper in the sky a long time ago,and it would have been one of the early ones with the round clock dash board too....

LLI*** was a westmeath issue from october 1970 to august 1971

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

Can do..
    Bikes were issued the same allocations as cars were,there was no difference.

PZW*** was a kildare issue from august 1980 to january 1981,would probably date your bike to 1980.

***DZC was a dublin county issue,lasted for about a week in september 1977(***CZC&***EZC were also issued that same month,7DZC was a nice reg,i suppose the golf has gone to the scrapper in the sky a long time ago,and it would have been one of the early ones with the round clock dash board too....

LLI*** was a westmeath issue from october 1970 to august 1971

Thanks for the info Carchaeologist, thats very interesting.

Cocoon wrote: »
    Thanks for the info Carchaeologist, thats very interesting.
    No problem..:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭shanew

just seen this thread and thought maybe you could advise on a possible date of registration for the old motorbike attached - reg YI 2685 :

from what I can tell YI was assigned to Dublin County Council, and it may have been quite early on in the vehicle registrations.

thanks..

Shane

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Our old Fiat Mirafiori was JZG 309

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Blue850

one that has stuck in my head is UZI 911, which was on a Mirafiori a neighbour had. I remember a father and daughter having 2 cars in the early 80s having the same letters and digits except in reverse eg 123 PIM and PIM 123, think it was a Ford Prefect and a new Datsun at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

HIV*** was a limerick county issue from september84 to march85,i always thought it strange that they used it as the AIDS issue was becoming prevelant at that time!! A neighbour had a corsa with that reg and we used to call it the AIDS car,imagine how p1ssed off you would be having bought your shiney new car only to get that reg.HIV1 was a fiat uno.
    Incidentally IIV*** and MIV*** were never issued for some strange reason.
    You are right with the CI being laois and Carlow being IC.

Other unissued marks in ireland were:IHI,IIO,IRI,KIP,ZFI,ZMI,ZRI,ZYI,IIS,PIS,and YIS.
    I cant work out why many of them were unissued,apparently a KIP was a brothel,which is fair enough,and PIS is pretty self evident,but as for the others,im at a loss!!

Hi Carchaeologist,

My guess as to why IIO was not issued is because it was feared that some might take this mark to be the number 110.
    OIO was also omitted and that could also have been because it was a mark that might have been misinterpreted as a number (in this case 010).
    And IO looking like the number 10 could explain why Kildare skipped reverse IO and thus issued 1 ZW onwards after YZW 999.

shanew wrote: »
    just seen this thread and thought maybe you could advise on a possible date of registration for the old motorbike attached - reg YI 2685 :

from what I can tell YI was assigned to Dublin County Council, and it may have been quite early on in the vehicle registrations.

thanks..

Shane

YI 1-9999 were issued between 1921 and 1927, so I'd guess that motorbike was registered around 1922 - but I'm not sure how much vehicle registrations were affected by the civil war, which would have been taking place at that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Cul a cnoic

It was also possible to transfer a number (as is still the case in the UK) back with the old system. I had a golf, think it was an 84 with the reg IT 200. This number goes back to nearly the start of the old reg system and therefore must have been transferred.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭david

I remember we had three cars throughout my youth:

2 FNI Toyota Carina Saloon, Had it since new prob early eighties, we sold it in '92 with 212k miles and the owner moved to the UK, I assume it's long gone.

XXX EI (Not sure if thats right) Volkswagen Transporter Van converted to a camper, at a guess it was also late eighties. Sold locally in '98. Used to see it driving around up until 2007.

36 PHI VW Beetle 1966 - My favourite of them all! Rotten as hell but my Dad restored her into great nick. Deadly number plate (Divine proportion etc!). 27k miles on her but I'd say that was her second time around the clock. Although there was only one other lady owner in the log book between 1966 and 1988. I was gutted he swapped it last year plus €1k for a ZV Morris Traveller also 1966 :(

My uncle has a house on Knockanore mountain near Ballybunion in Kerry and on a walk up the mountain one evening during my first visit in 2001 I came across three old, abandoned cars in a small field. Having a camera with me, and plenty of film in it, I decided to take photos of them, which I still have. They were:

4410 ZF - an Opel Ascona from 1979,
    9511 IN - a Morris Ital from late 1981/early 1982,
    4429 DI - an Audi 100 from around 1982.

All three have since disappeared from the field - but the Morris and the Audi are still listed on Cartell. I'd be surprised if they've been restored, as they, and the Ascona, all look ready for scrapping in my photos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Trying to think of some of my old ones, but some drink taken

958 TZC, Chrysler Sunbeam ((Dub), rusty colour + rust
    137 GZJ, Renault 5 (Dub), Beige
    4556 NI, VW Golf (Wicklow), Wine
    3333 ZR, Toyota Corolla (Wexford), Red

Anyone out there ever own/drive them after me??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

The UK never seem to want anything european,no euro money,no euro reg standard etc,and we get the rap for lisbon.....:P

If Euro stars and "GB" was made compulsory then many people would object. Especially nationalists in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

And yes I know that NI isn't part of Great Britain. It's just that the official code for the whole UK is "GB".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

The 1904 system which covered all of the then-UK is described at www.wolfbane.co.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Why do some old cars have red plates at the rear?
    When did that get phased out?
    How can I find out if a car has been scrapped or not, I'd love to know whats become of some of my old yokes.

My uncle has a house on Knockanore mountain near Ballybunion in Kerry and on a walk up the mountain one evening during my first visit in 2001 I came across three old, abandoned cars in a small field. Having a camera with me, and plenty of film in it, I decided to take photos of them, which I still have. They were:

4410 ZF - an Opel Ascona from 1979,
    9511 IN - a Morris Ital from late 1981/early 1982,
    4429 DI - an Audi 100 from around 1982.

All three have since disappeared from the field - but the Morris and the Audi are still listed on Cartell. I'd be surprised if they've been restored, as they, and the Ascona, all look ready for scrapping in my photos.
    Cool! Any chance of seeing the pics,as im from kerry myself!They will be listed on cartell as they were on the system after 1993,as thats when it all became computerised,and cars not taxed then were simply not recorded.Any that came to light afterwards and that were taxed were just re listed.
    attachment.php?attachmentid=75114&d=1237373282
    As has already been said,YI**** was originally issued by dublin county borough council between April 1921 to March 1927.Id sat that bike looks like its carrying its original plate though,not a transfered reg.
    It was also possible to transfer a number (as is still the case in the UK) back with the old system. I had a golf, think it was an 84 with the reg IT 200. This number goes back to nearly the start of the old reg system and therefore must have been transferred.
    Yes,alot of this went on back in the day alright,there was GTI1 and GTI2 on MK1 VW golfs GTIs,GTI 205 on a 205 gti,obviously enough.Z1 is a lotus elan.1Z is an alfa romeo.

Why do some old cars have red plates at the rear?
    When did that get phased out?
    How can I find out if a car has been scrapped or not, I'd love to know whats become of some of my old yokes.
    The red rear/white front plate system was discontinued with the introduction of the new year/county/number registration system on january 1st 1987.
    All new plates issued between then and january 1st 1991 were white background and black letters.
    On the 1st of january 1991 the new IRL european type plate was introduced.

To find out the history of your car,you could try cartell,but you will have to pay for each search.It was free when it first started,but the system went into meltdown soon after due to all the usage!

The popes limo in 1979,another transfer..
    VIP1.jpg
    And this escort..
    UPTONSTEAMRALLY5JUNE05035.jpg