Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Babs Keating

• 16-04-2009 03:33AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭

Why does Babs Keating continuously mouth and criticise the Cork hurlers? I know he is entitled to state his views with the hurling strike and all but now its over and it''s history for now. I know the Cork hurlers are no saints or the CCB for that matter but what happened happened and thats it.

Yet he keeps coming out on the newspaper (irish examiner yesterday) and the radio again and again with bad remarks on the Cork players. What is his problem exactly? Fair enough if he came out just once to express his views but he is always doing it and making a habit of it. What has he to gain exactly? Has he anything else to talk about?

Just give it a rest Babs, just because you are a sh*te manager and just because you were never as good as any of the current Cork players in your day, why dont you just stick to betting against your own players (oh wait you are sh*te at that too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

is he not entitled to an opinion? is his opinion, despite of what you may think of him, not broadly in line with the majority of GAA people?

to say he is not as good as the current cork hurling panel is silly for so many reasons and on many levels.

what has he to gain? if he was reading your post he would be happy, so you must feel pretty miserable for him to have got one on you now, not just the cork hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Who cares?

Seriously- who tf listens to Babs Bleating Keating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

is he not entitled to an opinion? is his opinion, despite of what you may think of him, not broadly in line with the majority of GAA people?

to say he is not as good as the current cork hurling panel is silly for so many reasons and on many levels.

what has he to gain? if he was reading your post he would be happy, so you must feel pretty miserable for him to have got one on you now, not just the cork hurlers.

Well the post thread is not about me exactly. Its about Keatings blabbing on about the Cork hurlers. I agree that he is entitled to his opinion but why does he keep wasting valuable newspaper column space on his repetitive crap. Why doesnt he do the same to Waterford, Wexford and Offally so and give us a different perspective? He should stop just targetting the Cork players alone. Read the piece in the examiner yesterday and get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

teednab-el wrote: »
    Why does Babs Keating continuously mouth and criticise the Cork hurlers? I know he is entitled to state his views with the hurling strike and all but now its over and it''s history for now. I know the Cork hurlers are no saints or the CCB for that matter but what happened happened and thats it.

Yet he keeps coming out on the newspaper (irish examiner yesterday) and the radio again and again with bad remarks on the Cork players. What is his problem exactly? Fair enough if he came out just once to express his views but he is always doing it and making a habit of it. What has he to gain exactly? Has he anything else to talk about?

Just give it a rest Babs, just because you are a sh*te manager and just because you were never as good any of the current Cork players in your day, why dont you just stick to betting against your own players (oh wait you are sh*te at that too).

Sounds like you are pretty wound up about this, but I am going to ask you to refrain from insulting individuals or teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,763 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We should be thanking him for winning us the all-ireland in 1990 ;)

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

He is a bitter old man - just ignore.

We should be thanking him for winning us the all-ireland in 1990 ;)

That famous quote by Babs "donkeys dont win derbies" about the Cork hurlers in 1990 says enough tbh. :D

Hope some of Babs comments on the current Cork hurlers come back to haunt him again in time to come and we'll see what he has to say then for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,763 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That famous quote by Babs "donkeys dont win derbies" about the Cork hurlers in 1990 says enough tbh. :D

Hope some of Babs comments on the current Cork hurlers come back to haunt him again in time to come and we'll see what he has to say then for that matter.

Remember being in Blackrock end in 1992 when Cork played Tipp.

Cork were leading well with couple minutes to go and all the Cork crowd behind the goal starting doing Donkey noises as Babs walked over that direction.

V Funny

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Just give it a rest Babs, just because you are a sh*te manager and just because you were never as good as any of the current Cork players in your day, why dont you just stick to betting against your own players (oh wait you are sh*te at that too).

5 Munsters and 2 All Irelands in 8 yrs was an ok return i think from 87-94. managed Tipp without Eoin Kelly to beat Cork in 2007.You cannot judge players against those from 30yrs ago,especially if you never saw them.Clare 97 best team ever,Cats 03,Cork 05, Cats 09--how is it getting so much better every year,in 10 yrs time everyone will say the current champions at that time are the best ever.

hawkwing wrote: »
    5 Munsters and 2 All Irelands in 8 yrs was an ok return i think from 87-94.

But he has relatively poor success overall for one who has been a long time serving manager..
    hawkwing wrote: »
    managed Tipp without Eoin Kelly to beat Cork in 2007.
    Good achievement by Babs seeming that the 2007 Cork team were not as good and had gone downhill from that of 2003 - 2006. So eventhough credit may have been due to Babs for putting Cork away that year he certainly wouldnt have done it in the 2003 -2006 period. You dont expect Cork to win Munster every year.

my point was that babs loves winding people up. you got wound up - he'd love that. just ignore him. you'd be surprised how many people here in Tipp dont like the man at all and I'm one of them but you really are playing into his hands.

(he has a vast underground base where he monitors reactions to things like this. or something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Did you know Tom Humphries wrote a piece in the The UK Times the day of the Grand Slam match against Wales? Most people know he hates the sport but on one of the greatest sporting days in history he basically came out and said he doesn't care if we win or lose, it's still just elitist crap that only protestants play and he gave the impression that most Irish people feel this way too.

Everyone I talked to was up in arms about it when they read it and I just asked.....why?! He's just shít stirring, something most journalists are very good at. He doesn't care if you think his opinion is balls, but the more controversial he is, the more people will read his articles. Sad but true.

My point? Babs Keating is doing the exact same. By even posting this topic you're giving him exactly what he wants, to get people talking about his article, and hence, to buy the paper he writes for.

Seriously, the best thing you can do is just let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

He's a failed manager who's still craving a bit of limelight. A pity though to be wasting column space on a newspaper we pay for.
    The comments he is making, if made by somebody who's opinion meant something to me, would make me sit up and think. Time for him to get off the stage at this point. He's only showing himself up - badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Johnnyjump wrote: »
    He's a failed manager who's still craving a bit of limelight. A pity though to be wasting column space on a newspaper we pay for.
    The comments he is making, if made by somebody who's opinion meant something to me, would make me sit up and think. Time for him to get off the stage at this point. He's only showing himself up - badly.

Beg to differ buddy, unlike others he has a fooking opinion.

He was going on today about Kilkenny/Dublin no significance game and suggesting that H Shefflin wouldn't be trying too hard.

(Anyone with a bit of sense would agree with this FFS!!!)

In comes Dessie Cahill all guns blazing (savaged by a dead sheep comes to mind) to try and refute this, and five minutes later he is bleating about "de fellas" and put in his box by Babs.

He may be wrong in a lot of his views,but for jaysus sake he has definite views.

Cahill will be running the Sunday game-jaysus :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Why is it surprising that a man who is paid to write a column about hurling chooses to write about the ongoing repercussions of the biggest hurling story of the year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭autograph

Is this English you are using?? Sorry but much of what you have said in your posting just doesn't make much sense to me.
    On the Keating front, I think most people are agreed that Keating is more than making a show of himself at this stage. To be honest, I'm almost embarrassed for the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

autograph wrote: »
    Is this English you are using?? Sorry but much of what you have said in your posting just doesn't make much sense to me.

Are you talking to me?

Taxi driver, right?

is babs a "failed manager" though? i thought winning All Irelands was some sort of a success.

then again, maybe not if you're not from Cork, boy!!!