Family probs

• 14-04-2009 12:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭

Friend of mine, call him X, had party over the weekend and asked up all his brothers and sisters - some of whom were over from abroad for the easter weekend. There were kids in house as well.

All of sudden his brother, call him B, head butted him and went to gouge out his eye - X tried to restrain him but B just continued and verbally abused him, his partner and kids. X lost it at that point - took 3 men to stop him "killin" him.

Anyway the real issue is the fact that the family dont seem to be doing anything to make my friend feel better - when he told their mam what happened her first words were what did you do to antagonise him?

We're not talking about 20 year olds here - the family just dont seem to be taking it seriously - X is so hurt and upset and that his brother acted this way against him and for everyone else, life seems to be going on as normal. They are letting the alcohol be an excuse for B to do this in X's home - this would in no way have happend if B's family had also been in the house but B thought it OK to fight in front of everyones children and in X's home. Sorry for all the innuendos.

What are other peoples views about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

B is obviously a violent knacker, and you need to learn the meaning of innuendo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

As you're not part of the family there's not much you can do in this situation.

Your friends brother 'B' - sorry, sounds like a bit of a tool. And as you said alcohol isn't an excuse for this situation. Again as you're not in the family you may not know other things that have happened/not happened before.
    If people are insisting on taking 'B's side - all your friend can do is just try and keep 'B' out of his life. Don't invite him to things, and if anyone asks why - he can explain his dangerous behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭bluecell99

B ia drunken,violent scum and X needs to cut any contact with him.Period.

reject all stupid advances to make up and be so,so careful of those making excuses for him.X needs this like a hole in the head.He needs to realise that he cant pick relatives but he sure can decide to have nothing whatsoever to do with them.If they dont like it tough bloody luck.Dont bend.

Move on and forget this thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

and you need to learn the meaning of innuendo

Jaysus - you get all kinds of advice that didnt even want on this place - Whats wrong with using the word innuendo?? !!

Well hes decided that thats the end of any kind of relationship between himself and his brother - its the fact that hes worried now it'll mean losing the family as well, he feels that they not doing anything is nearly as bad as throwing the punch in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

That's a good decision made by your friend.

As regards the rest of the family - it's hard to tell why some people act/react (or not as the case may be) to things but all he can do is include them & hope they don't bugger off too.