Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Peters

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,948 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Get over it; I knew I'd cause a bit of a stir with my comments.

Joxer, and now you, have both said he is a nice fella. I take your
    word. He simply came across poor on that Documentary.

The word "knacker" too strong for you? Okay, then poor it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

I know him, not to the extent where I would be having dinner with him or anything like that but I would talk to him casually. He is a very genuine person who loves boxing and is a good businessman also.

He has been involved with boxing for years with a club in my locality and bringing youngsters to boxing tournaments and basically being involved at grass roots. I am unsure to what level he still does this but I know he does have an active interest in our local boxing club as he has had for at least 15 years now, so to say he knows nothing about Boxing is a bit ridiculous. I dont know who Frank Moloney is because I dont know much about boxing but it sounds like jealousy to me.

As for what he has done for Irish Boxing, its brilliant, I had friends who were in at the fight the other night and they said it was the best sporting atmosphere they have ever witnessed. Everything was brilliant about the night even result aside.

I think credit is due to him for trying to put Boxing in Ireland back on the map, unlike the rest of our sporting heroes going to England, America or Australia to try and reach their potential in their respective sports. Well done Brian and long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

His cursing did come across bad, i curse all the time but not if im on tele!

he sounded like a scummer, that does not mean he is a scummer but he could of used a bit of cop on when he was been filmed, also a lot of the times he was cursing did not even make sense, they where not curses that improved on what he was saying, Irish as a nation curse all the time and get away with it-thats because it sounds so natural, his sounded forced.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Paul, glad you saw what I saw, and I curse too. He just could have used some
    common decency for tv. He came across as a howya IMO. Came across!

And his expletives were for the sake of it, as you said. It didn't make sense for
    him to curse in certain instances. It was so silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

ShaunD wrote: »
    He is hilarious aswell, did you hear him on the Bernard Dunne documentary talking on the phone about the music he wanted for Dunne's ring entrance, "I was thinking some haunting **** myself"!
    That bit was so damn cringy! He reminded me of David Brent when he was describing his dancing technique just before he done his infamous dance.
    "I sort of fused Flashdance with some Mc Hammer shit"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 13663046

Yea he came across really bad on the doc, pretty much disowned his "Mona Lisa" after he lost.

I think he has done awesome things for boxing in Ireland and no one can put on a better show than him, but from what I have heard and seen, it seems he is all for the money, and just like any promoter in the sport a bit of a snake, you can't blame him for it, in his job you have to be.

I guarantee if Dunne lost that fight Peters would be moving on to others, I don't doubt his love for boxing, but his bigger love is money lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭ShaunD

13663046 wrote: »
    Yea he came across really bad on the doc, pretty much disowned his "Mona Lisa" after he lost.

I think he has done awesome things for boxing in Ireland and no one can put on a better show than him, but from what I have heard and seen, it seems he is all for the money, and just like any promoter in the sport a bit of a snake, you can't blame him for it, in his job you have to be.

I guarantee if Dunne lost that fight Peters would be moving on to others, I don't doubt his love for boxing, but his bigger love is money lol

I think that's a bit harsh, it seems like he and Dunne have a pretty good relationship and did you see his reaction when Bernard won the title, he was wiping away tears and later said that it was the best day of his life.
    I would say he is shrewd definately, but a snake? I wouldn't go that far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

walshb wrote: »
    On national tv, it's a wee bit different, it boils down to a skanger. It's pub talk!
    You would expect that from a bunch of howyas' on the Adrian Kennedy phone show!

If he was being interviewed on the Pat Kenny show then you have a point.

This was a fly on the wall documentary where the cameras are with you the whole time and that way they catch you with your guard down - if I was caught with my guard down and the worst you could say was that I cursed a bit too frequently then I would be a happy wee man!

If he was being interviewed on the Pat Kenny show then you have a point.

This was a fly on the wall documentary where the cameras are with you the whole time and that way they catch you with your guard down - if I was caught with my guard down and the worst you could say was that I cursed a bit too frequently then I would be a happy wee man!

You have a point and I do know that, but as Paul said, a lot of the foul tongue wasn't even in the appropriate settings. It was actually funny!

Hey, Dunne came across with a bit of class I thought and the camera was
    all on him

walshb wrote: »
    You have a point and I do know that, but as Paul said, a lot of the foul tongue wasn't even in the appropriate settings. It was actually funny!

Hey, Dunne came across with a bit of class I thought and the camera was
    all on him

I dont think the documentary showed him in his best light either - he cursed way to much (and thats from someone that curses a lot) and he looked a little amateurish and as if he was winging a lot of thing - but I dont think he came across "skangerish" - we say "knackers" in Sligo.

Tribal shiit man, tribal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 13663046

I think that's a bit harsh, it seems like he and Dunne have a pretty good relationship and did you see his reaction when Bernard won the title, he was wiping away tears and later said that it was the best day of his life.

Of course he was crying with joy, lol. If Dunne made me the amount of money he made Peters, I would still be crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

So far he has brought massive names to Ireland, promoted and managed Irish, British, European and world champions and put on unforgettable shows.

So the question is, with Irish boxing on such a high at the moment, what can Mr Peters and co. do to sustain this high?

13663046 wrote: »
    Of course he was crying with joy, lol. If Dunne made me the amount of money he made Peters, I would still be crying.

Cynical bastards! In fairness to him, I bet he cares more about the wellbeing of his "mona lisa" than the likes of Frank Maloney or Frank Warren do about their fighters!
    He lost money on the Martinez fight and with Dunne losing the way he did, coupled with all the stick he got afterwards, that would have been the ideal time for Peters to cut and run if he was the money grabbing ****er some people think he is, but he stood by Bernard through all that. Most promoters would have run a mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 irish32

I would go so far as saying peters is a snake! He plays the game of could be your best friend, but would stab you in the back if given the chance.

irish32 wrote: »

I would go so far as saying peters is a snake! He plays the game of could be your best friend, but would stab you in the back if given the chance.

Is this an opinion or do you know something the rest of us don't?

this post should be looked upon as complete bollocks unless you can provide some facts and evidence!

I met Peters a number of years ago, when I got involved in boxing, he invited us out to his bar/club in Meath. We chatted and he talked about a few fighters he had back then. A year or two later when putting together a boxing card in NY, he asked if one of his fighter could get a fight. We got his fighter a win, Peters helped with no ticket sales. He had promised otherwise. We had 7 fights orginally on the promotion, four fell apart the day before and day of the fight, must have been the first and only three fight promotion ever in NY. So tickets were returned by the fighters. Card went ahead, 3 good fights, lost money, had to scramble to get cash together that night after paying back on returned tickets. Asked Peters fighter if he would take a some cash and a cheque, told him to cash it when he got home to Ireland, he was very decent and worked with us. But sat on check for four weeks, then cashed, check didn't clear, 1500 dollars or something like that. Peters was the one cashing it, he called every newspaper in Ireland and asked them to do a story, called Irish boxing commission, but never called and told us. Fist I hear was some Belfast reporter, sent bank order over right away. Peters had got his bad press, sent copies of printed pieces to a fighter that was with us and that he wanted to promote. All over 1500 dollars and gave us no chance to put right. Some of us were in boxing for the right reasons, to get fighters fights, wins and sometimes work on very tight budgets. Now that is not bollocks mate. Again Peters is a snake!

Well just saying that he is a back stabber and not outlining any details is always going to arouse suspicion dont you agree.

So you put a card on - Peters supplied a fighter - you hadnt the money to pay him and fobbed him off with a cheque and a promise - he cashed it, its bounced and only got his money after the press put pressure on!

Thats the flip side of that story.

The point was, a phone call from Peters to let us know what happened would have been enough, the payment would have been settled. But Peters took it as an opportunity to put someone down. The rest I don't care about, we all have bad cash days. But it's what he did to bad mouth us after the fact. You can see it for what you want, I call it "little man syndrome". Kicking someone when they are down.

Like i said, i have no reason to disbelieve you - but a lot of what you have said is opinion as opposed to fact. Thats all I am saying.

As they say, there are three sides to every story, your version, the other guys, and the truth.

I gave my own account of my business experience with Peters, you can take it any three ways you want it. It's my story and I'm sticking to it!

no problem with that at all. And also - welcome aboard!