Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Peters

• 25-03-2009 11:11AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

is he getting enough credit for what hes done for dunne and boxing in general in ireland since he brought it back. looks like a guy ud see in your local but id say hed buy and sell ya and i mean that in a good way. must be a very shrewd operator. does anyone on here know much about him or had any dealings with him ? seems like an interesting character IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

He's a promoter. :D

Shane10 wrote: »
    is he getting enough credit for what hes done for dunne and boxing in general in ireland since he brought it back. looks like a guy ud see in your local but id say hed buy and sell ya and i mean that in a good way. must be a very shrewd operator. does anyone on here know much about him or had any dealings with him ? seems like an interesting character IMO.

He is supposed to be the biggest clown in boxing today.Frank Moloney was saying on steve bunces show before that the guy conducts himself like an amatuer when arranging fights and in general doesnt have a clue about boxing.

He told some story where he was walking to the rign with a fighter and Peters approaches him and says he wants to bet against Franks fighter and says he will bet 500 pounds.

Apperantly franks fighter was heavy favourite and he agrees.His fighter wins and he takes Peters money as they leave the ring.He basically said the guy knows nothing about boxing or the way the boxing world works.He lives on a different planet when money is concerned etc.

This could just be Moloney itter about Munroe etc but he has put stuff on his website before that basically makes Peters look like an idiot,I cant really remember the details of it,maybe someone else can remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

I'm not a member of Peters fan club but I wouldn't believe a word from Franks mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

ya didnt they have words over munroe fight. he couldnt be that clueless could he if hes able to put on shows like he has over the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Foghorn Leghorn

I don't have much of an opinion on Peters one way or the other but i wouldn't pay to much attention to what Frank Moloney has to say about him,
    According to him peters is a clown who knows nothing about boxing. well I've been to many Brian Peters Boxing events including last weeks dunne fight and if thats an example of how a clown organises a boxing event then a Frank Moloney event must be off the chart in terms of entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭steve-collins

peters is no clown . id love to see moloney stage an event like that . not in a million years . peters is single handidly after brining big time boxing back to ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I wasn't too impressed with peters to start off with, sure we all know about promoters and what kind of people they tend to be but you have to give credit to him for one simple reason and thats that he's the only promoter in the country that can put on a proper show. No one else out there is doing anything to bring decent international boxing to the fans except for him so i'd gladly put up him being an fkn eejit as long as he keeps putting on good shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭liam7831

Is it me or what but when one of his boxers is being interviewed for tv he is always trying to get into the caption of the camera. Watch out for it the next time funny really:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

liam7831 wrote: »
    Is it me or what but when one of his boxers is being interviewed for tv he is always trying to get into the caption of the camera. Watch out for it the next time funny really:D

well thats just he wants to know what there saying and prob to direct the interviewer as to whats next etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭ShaunD

I like Peters, he seems like a decent guy and much credit has to go to him for everything he has done for Irish boxing.
    He is hilarious aswell, did you hear him on the Bernard Dunne documentary talking on the phone about the music he wanted for Dunne's ring entrance, "I was thinking some haunting **** myself"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭steve-collins

liam7831 wrote: »
    all promoters do that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭liam7831

I THINK ITS COS HE LIKES WATCHING IT BACK ON TV AGAIN SEEING HIMSELF ON IT:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

ShaunD wrote: »
    I like Peters, he seems like a decent guy and much credit has to go to him for everything he has done for Irish boxing.
    He is hilarious aswell, did you hear him on the Bernard Dunne documentary talking on the phone about the music he wanted for Dunne's ring entrance, "I was thinking some haunting **** myself"!

Hahaha I was pissin meself at some of the things he came out with. When he was in the point saying somethin like "Some ****in setup this isnt it, serious **** now" hahaha Very funny.

I reckon we go with the haunting - hahaha class

Fair play all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I think he deserves credit for what he has done for boxing in this country. But a few things annoy me...

First off wtf is he doing in Dunne's corner? As far as I know he has no boxing or training experience. Dunne even said in the Big Time documentary that he is never in the gym because he knows nothing about boxing and the promotion is his job. I do cringe when I see him in the corner and his only role seems to be holding the ropes for the rest of the corner to get in. For me a promoter should be in a suit sitting in the front row not pretending to be a corner man.

Also I think the shows that he puts on could be better but in fairness that is probably an issue with almost every boxing promoter. They focus too much on the main event.

Having said all that, I wouldn't take notice of a word of what Frank Moloney said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Scatman81

Peters is in the business to make money simple as so lets not get sentimental.If Bernard wasnt going to make him money he would be dropped like a hot spud.

Scatman81 wrote: »
    Peters is in the business to make money simple as so lets not get sentimental.If Bernard wasnt going to make him money he would be dropped like a hot spud.

Dropped for who scatman ?

I suppose your right Dunne is his crown jewel.Peters hasnt got much competition in this country maybe a budding entrepreneur could set up as his competitor:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Shane10 wrote: »
    looks like a guy ud see in your local
    Its funny you say that cus he goes into a pub my uncle works in the sticks in Galway. When Dunne first started fighting in Ireland my uncle said that he would like to go see it. Peters gave him 2 free tickets for the fight. Ever since, he has given my uncle 2 free tickets for every fight but for the world title fight, he landed into the pub with 2 ringside tickets and hotel accomidation as a thank you for his loyal support.

My uncle is no big shot, just a local fella that works in a bar. From the stories he tells me, he is a down to earth guy that chats away like any other local. Sounds like a decent chap to me.

I dont think any promoter in this or any country would be able to do what Peters has done...not saying that there arent better promoters than Brian Peters but what he has that others dont is knowledge of the Irish market - I dont think any other promoter could tap into that the way peters has. He's taken risks (and lost money) in the past with Bernard AND still put it on the line after the loss to Kiko.

Would Warren, Maloney or anyone else put on shows in castlebar ?

Look at Irish Ropes and another example - "Erin go Brawl" ?

Peters deserves every penny he gets - Whether he has in depth knowledge of boxing or not !

Is it true he owns a lot of land in Co.Meath?

Not sure mate but you can buy a 4 bed detatched house in Meath for €90,000 so I wouldnt read too much into it if he does :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,948 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Is it true he owns a lot of land in Co.Meath?

He does live on the Navan road; about 1/4 mile before the turn off to Ratoath.
    It's a fine big house with a good bit of land; whether or not he owns the land
    is another thing.

I don't know him as a person, but he came across as a real skanger
    on that Dunne documentary. A foul tongue he has and most of
    the swearing was "deliberate" and for the cameras. It was so out
    of place

I agree 100% he seemed to be playing up to the camera all the time.I dont know why he has to get credit for bringing fights to Castlebar and places he is well able to charge ya know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

He is supposed to be the biggest clown in boxing today.Frank Moloney was saying on steve bunces show before that the guy conducts himself like an amatuer when arranging fights and in general doesnt have a clue about boxing.

He told some story where he was walking to the rign with a fighter and Peters approaches him and says he wants to bet against Franks fighter and says he will bet 500 pounds.

Apperantly franks fighter was heavy favourite and he agrees.His fighter wins and he takes Peters money as they leave the ring.He basically said the guy knows nothing about boxing or the way the boxing world works.He lives on a different planet when money is concerned etc.

This could just be Moloney itter about Munroe etc but he has put stuff on his website before that basically makes Peters look like an idiot,I cant really remember the details of it,maybe someone else can remember?

Moloney is bitter that he had the European champion and Peters had the guy that got KO'd by the guy his guy beat twice yet his guy was fighting in lesuire centres and Peters guy was fighting in arenas!

I am sure that Peters has acted in an amatuerish way in the past - Peters in still a relative novice in the promotions game where as Moloney has been there and done it - however Peters bring a freshness to promoting and isnt afraid to take a risk.

He does seem to take a few leaves out of Fwank Wawwens book and afopt some of his less desirable methods such as getting an exclusivity on the National Stadium for fight (Warren did this on the MEN to get at the Hattons) and his refusal to use fighters from other Irish stables - such as the Cubans, the Hylands, Spike O'Sullivan etc

all in all he is doing a great job!

Tribal shiit man, tribal!

LowOdour wrote: »
    Its funny you say that cus he goes into a pub my uncle works in the sticks in Galway. When Dunne first started fighting in Ireland my uncle said that he would like to go see it. Peters gave him 2 free tickets for the fight. Ever since, he has given my uncle 2 free tickets for every fight but for the world title fight, he landed into the pub with 2 ringside tickets and hotel accomidation as a thank you for his loyal support.

My uncle is no big shot, just a local fella that works in a bar. From the stories he tells me, he is a down to earth guy that chats away like any other local. Sounds like a decent chap to me.

good story I like it! Shows the guy has a bit of class - something usually lacking in boxing promoters!

I agree 100% he seemed to be playing up to the camera all the time.I dont know why he has to get credit for bringing fights to Castlebar and places he is well able to charge ya know!

do you expect it to be free?

He deserves credit for bringing boxing around Ireland because it was a risky thing to do and because it promotes boxing and give people who otherwise wouldnt go to a fight a chance to sample what its all about - and possibly make a few converts.

Boxing isnt strong nationally anyone and there are only pockets of hotspots wheres is thrives - this type of move by Peters helps spread the word and enthuse young fellas to join a local club etc

Great missionary work imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,948 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hey, I'm Irish and I'm proud, but Peter's was only making a mint selling out here because
    a lot of suckers were paying for so called 'quality boxing'.

You wouldn't get away with this anywhere else, so it's not Peter's magic, it's the suckers
    in Ireland who will pay to see any old ****.

It's like when a faded and raggedy pop star makes a comeback, they usually
    start here because here we'll bloody buy into anything.

Peter's is a big fish in a small small pond!

Gimme the IABA any bleedin' day of the week!

do you expect it to be free?

He deserves credit for bringing boxing around Ireland because it was a risky thing to do and because it promotes boxing and give people who otherwise wouldnt go to a fight a chance to sample what its all about - and possibly make a few converts.

Boxing isnt strong nationally anyone and there are only pockets of hotspots wheres is thrives - this type of move by Peters helps spread the word and enthuse young fellas to join a local club etc

Great missionary work imo!
    I dont expect it free but is 80 to 100 eur to see a boxing match reasonable!?i dont believe Brian Peters motivation is to improve the profile of irish boxing he is in it to make money.The Cordoba fight was s##t or bust for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

The Cordoba fight was s##t or bust for him.

I'd say it was the same for bernard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Joxer Brown

dont be a clown, judging someone on an hours documentary is childish. i work for the man and i can tell ye he's a decent skin. the swearing was definitely not put on for the camera anyone that knows him will tell you that.

someone even said he sounds like a skanger swearing hahaha what a dope. the man has done more for boxing than any of these forum junkies who think they're a class above. priceless