Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

085 vs 086 vs 087 ......(vs, um, 083 vs 088) - Mobile Prefix Stigma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I find the only stigma associated with meteor is the crap customer service you get with them, but I imagine they are all the same.

Mobile phones adverts, patronising tripe from overpriced cnuts, I hate phones sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Anyone who says Vodafone is a lot more expensive than meteor hasnt a clue.

It was a lot more expensive but meteor have become more expensive in the last few months so I moved back to vodafone. They offer a better deal free text and phone calls to all 087 users. My gf, mates and family use 087 so it makes perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

08YORE MA

Now I remember why I generally don't bother with AH:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭PCros

tech2 wrote: »

It was a lot more expensive but meteor have become more expensive in the last few months so I moved back to vodafone. They offer a better deal free text and phone calls to all 087 users. My gf, mates and family use 087 so it makes perfect sense.

Yeah cheap calls to your own network...but meteor offer low rates to all networks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Gillo wrote: »
    08YORE MA

Now I remember why I generally don't bother with AH:rolleyes:

If "yore ma" is all you have to contribute, it's no great loss. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

meteor 085 doesnt scream cheap it screams retarded, i wont even call people on meteor anymore, unless the in the city centre they dont have coverage. The only reason anyone is on meteor is :

girls : see the pink phones and buy them (because they dont know anything about phones or networks, they just like pink)

their boyfriends : bullied into moving to meteor for the free texts to each other,

boyfriends mates : when all his other mates are on meteor because their retarded birds made them move they move to meteor, join the heard.

all this leads to a large population of people under 25 who are unreachable by voice, only by text because of the patchy coverage, which is fine by them because there so cheap they just use free texts anyway, but annoys the f*ck out of everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

meteor 085 doesnt scream cheap it screams retarded, i wont even call people on meteor anymore, unless the in the city centre they dont have coverage. The only reason anyone is on meteor is :

girls : see the pink phones and buy them (because they dont know anything about phones or networks, they just like pink)

their boyfriends : bullied into moving to meteor for the free texts to each other,

boyfriends mates : when all his other mates are on meteor because their retarded birds made them move they move to meteor, join the heard.

all this leads to a large population of people under 25 who are unreachable by voice, only by text because of the patchy coverage, which is fine by them because there so cheap they just use free texts anyway, but annoys the f*ck out of everyone else.
    Have you tried calling anyone on Meteor in the last 5 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Have you tried calling anyone on Meteor in the last 5 years?

my housemate - no coverage in most of leixlip , but when hes in college its just fine

my mate aoife - no coverage in half of celbridge, and when i do get her its very bad quality

a few college mates - maynooth has pretty bad coverage, its there but patchy

theres a reason meteor is the only network with a 'call catcher' its customers are out of signal so often they need it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I've been with Meteor for about 6 years now, and i haven't had any signal problems in 4 or 5 years, no matter whether I'm in Dublin or in a remote part of Donegal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭PCros

my housemate - no coverage in most of leixlip , but when hes in college its just fine

my mate aoife - no coverage in half of celbridge, and when i do get her its very bad quality

theres a reason meteor is the only network with a 'call catcher' its customers are out of signal so often they need it

Oops they forgot about Kildare in their signal coverage! Dont worry they'll fix it soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭pakblue

O2 Free Texts to ANY network FTW! :P

Almost 70% of my friends are on 085/Meteor network.

When I got my first phone there was only two networks out there at the time Eircell and Digifone. I of course went with 086 and I have had the same number for the last 5/6 years now. People who change there number every 5 minutes drive me up the wall. Though I have changed networks a few times.

Defiantly, In my last two houses in Maynooth you had to had to go outside to get any Meteor coverage and it was the same in some of my friends houses. Its a bit odd because most of the people in Maynooth i'd say are with Meteor being students and all.

The only reason anyone is on meteor is :

boyfriends mates : when all his other mates are on meteor because their retarded birds made them move they move to meteor, join the heard..

I've known so many people who joined for this reason its scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I'm with meteor but I keep my 087 prefix because it makes me superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Got my first mobile when Eircell was the standard operator. Then they switched to Vodafone so was with them for a while, kept my number and switched to 02 bill phone. Switched again to Meteor still keeping my 087 number that i have always had. Have zero problems with meteor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Im 087 but thats because when i got my first phone many moons ago it was either 087 or 086....but im with meteor now.......am i the only the only person whose phone switches automatically to vodafone if theres no meteor reception???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Berty wrote: »
    I also had a scanner back then and you could listen in to mobile phone conversations. Every time someobody hung up you would have to search the airwaves for a new signal. You hear some strange things when people do not know you are listening. :D

Your memory is a bit hazy. You could only hear half (i.e. one side) of the conversation with a scanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

tech2 wrote: »

Of course an offer of free on network calls is cheaper for you on vodafone if everyone you know is on vodafone. That doesn't follow through to "vodafone is not more expensive than meteor". Meteor have the same offer as vodafone but with cheaper calls and if all your friends were on meteor it would be cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I did a 4 year degree in Maynooth and never once had a coverage problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭eskimo

I think it's funny the amount of people who replied saying how there couldn't possibly be a stigma attached to certain prefixes/networks, when clearly they must have known what I was talking about if the thread title grabbed them in.

Yes it's true, believe it or not, each different network has been marketed in a distinctly different way so that you subconsciously (or consciously, in the case of the truly discriminatory) associate different thoughts with that network. You may not realise it, but it's a fact.

Par example.... Meteor means cheap. 083 means 3G. O2 means the iPhone and other various blue things. Vodafone 087 means business. Tesco means recession.

We all have subconscious thoughts when we see certain things. Fact. How aware you are of these thoughts is a different story altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

087-Free calls and texts every month for 20 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭n0fX

eskimo wrote: »
    Meteor means cheap. 083 means 3G. O2 means the iPhone and other various blue things. Vodafone 087 means business. Tesco means recession.

That pretty much sums it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I want an I phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

eskimo wrote: »
    Meteor means cheap.
    About 80% of unemployed I know are on this so must be true(they have money but booze seems to take priority)
    083 means 3G.
    One of the main reasons im on them.And I got a great contract a few years ago and they havnt been able to change it on me since :D
    O2 means the iPhone and other various blue things.
    Yep.I know a few people who signed o2 contracts for the iphone. Now everyone has the feckin thing and theyre stuck in shiddy contracts :D
    Vodafone 087 means business.
    And stubborn
    Tesco means recession.
    Hasnt hit here yet.Dunno any tesco users......might go get one for the laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I am 086 but my number has been a little whore going on all the networks at some point. Back on 02 at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Have a 086 number - also 087 phone which I rarely use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

083 - Thinks there being Cool.
    085 - Young, student, maybe low paying job. Formerly had bad coverage, no longer the case but stigma sticks. Texters usually, although some try to convert people because they have free calls and text to meteor only.
    086 - (me) Anyone really, nearest phone shop. Enjoy free texts after €20 top up, but call people enough to run out of credit. Generally top-up by €40 a month.
    087 - (My second phone used to be my only and primary phone, now never used but kept with me because I have had it 10 years. And it's the only number everyone knows for me.) Generally business people, it's the brand of choice so they use it. They want to come across like they don't care about the price. Also the only one to work with Blackberry, so practical for the business type.
    088 - Obsolete.

Are you doing a thesis on this or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

I don't get all the Vodafone hate here, it's hard to compare all the networks fairly because they all set different deals so that you can't, but I'm sure it's not significantly more expensive than the competition. O2 market themselves far more as a business network than Vodafone, and only started pushing PAYG in the last year or two.

Personally though, I've always had a grudge with Meteor, probably going back to the terrible coverage days, and the awful customer service I've received with Eircom in the past. And the fact that Meteor customers I know are always aggressively trying to get people to switch despite the fact that other networks did free texts to any network when Meteor's was still Meteor-Meteor only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,433 ✭✭✭markpb

I was 086 for six years, then switched to Meteor four years ago but kept my number. Never had any coverage problems in Dublin or deepest, darkest Cavan. I think you should take a hint, maybe your friends don't want to talk to you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

083 - Thinks there being Cool.
    085 - Young, student, maybe low paying job. Formerly had bad coverage, no longer the case but stigma sticks. Texters usually, although some try to convert people because they have free calls and text to meteor only.
    086 - (me) Anyone really, nearest phone shop. Enjoy free texts after €20 top up, but call people enough to run out of credit. Generally top-up by €40 a month.
    087 - (My second phone used to be my only and primary phone, now never used but kept with me because I have had it 10 years. And it's the only number everyone knows for me.) Generally business people, it's the brand of choice so they use it. They want to come across like they don't care about the price. Also the only one to work with Blackberry, so practical for the business type.
    088 - Obsolete.

I'm 085, I'm a university grad with a good job. I was 087 all through college, switched to 085 bill-pay after graduation when E20 credit with vodafone was used up in nanoseconds.

However, I'm thinking about switching back to pre-pay because while my bill-pay deal sounds good in theory, I always seem to get a**raped by the bill recently. I don't even use it that much really, compared to most people by my estimates.

Anyone who stays with 087 because of 'status', even when its ridiculously expensive, is living in 2005. The boom is over people, time to stop flushing money down the jacks!

Its not even about not having money, its about not behaving like a cock when you do have it. It's very bad taste. Be more like the Germans - they're always frugal, even the ones who are loaded.

Cartman, TBH, its grand most everywhere else. Sucks for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

Well i've had them all except 083 or 088 :)

But 085 means cheap, vodafone means you're not poor, and 086 means you never use your phone :P

But i've an 085 prefix and on vodafone, it really doesn't matter now anyway cause all networks have free texts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

To recap - a scratch guide to the various operators:

083 - it's a fucking mobile phone operator - get over it.
    085 - it's a fucking mobile phone operator - get over it.
    086 - it's a fucking mobile phone operator - get over it.
    087 - it's a fucking mobile phone operator - get over it.
    088 - it's a fucking mobile phone operator - get over it.