Rossport Hunger strike: It's day one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Just had a qiuck look at that Indymedia link. Holy shít balls I had never actually looked at that site before or realised such people lived on this Island.

Talk about your smelly, soap dodging, open toe sandled, tofu eating, Prius driving, Whale loving, tree hugging, flowers in their hair, poncho wearing, insane, deluded, paranoid hippies. With a dash of those masters of the band wagon jumping, political opertunists Sinn Fein thrown in for good measure! Jesus wept. There are all sorts of car-azy conspiracies going on over there from big bad Shell, to corporate media to to booogie man. WOOOOOO!
    They are planning on going up to the Joy tonight for some sort of love commune/support party at the gates as they wheel Maura's crazy ass in ala Hannibal Lecter in silence of the lambs with froth spilling from her mouth.

My solution, FIRE and lots of it. Burn them all!!!
    http://www.indymedia.ie/article/76443

They are not all harmless hippies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭johnmacward

Talk about your smelly, soap dodging, open toe sandled, tofu eating, Prius driving, Whale loving, tree hugging, flowers in their hair, poncho wearing, insane, deluded, paranoid hippies. With a dash of those masters of the band wagon jumping, political opertunists Sinn Fein thrown in for good measure! Jesus wept. There are all sorts of car-azy conspiracies going on over there from big bad Shell, to corporate media to to booogie man. WOOOOOO!
    Stick with the important stuff Fozzie. Who gives a **** what they look like, for some reason you're scared of that. You have some serious problem with insecurity, share it with the rest of us if you're so honest about the "hippies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

So anyone think she s going to start passing, on her Readybrek again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,346 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

starn wrote: »
    So anyone think she s going to start passing, on her Readybrek again.

It gave her too much gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,067 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Stick with the important stuff Fozzie. Who gives a **** what they look like, for some reason you're scared of that. You have some serious problem with insecurity, share it with the rest of us if you're so honest about the "hippies".
    Careful now.

Dont with this sort of thing

Sorry had to be said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just had a qiuck look at that Indymedia link. Holy shít balls I had never actually looked at that site before or realised such people lived on this Island.

They are planning on going up to the Joy tonight for some sort of love commune/support party at the gates as they wheel Maura's crazy ass in ala Hannibal Lecter in silence of the lambs with froth spilling from her mouth.

Ah, the neo-can racist, bigoted, hallelujah, Dubya votin', gun-totin, ****-everyone-except-me hypocrits are in the house!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

OMG see that? Hes so politically incorrect and he doesnt care! Oh my what a cool individual!!!!

God dude theres more to the world than hippie-bashing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Scared of what they look like? Meh I'm more scared of the smell of píss and wet dog off them to be honest.

But damn it you are right John! Who gives a tóss that they look like the walking dead and smell much the same. Its the important stuff I should be concerned with. Burning the lot of them. Now I'm sure if I approach Shell they will sponsor me a gallon of their fine petroleum product. Just need to get all the hippies in one place...

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Ah, the neo-can racist, bigoted, hallelujah, Dubya votin', gun-totin, ****-everyone-except-me hypocrits are in the house!

Spot on. It's like you have known me all my life.....

Oh and HALLELUJAH!

Oh my what a cool individual!!!!

Aw shucks, thanks. I think you are cool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Keep the personal comments to a minimum. Same goes for advocating violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Jesus wept. There are all sorts of car-azy conspiracies going on over there from big bad Shell, to corporate media to to booogie man. WOOOOOO!

I swear I was actually going to call you a muppet for that and all :rolleyes: Its 51 Billion Euro worth of gas. Do you not see the merit in that gas being nationalised? If the whole scandal kicked off now things would be completely different. Ray Burke, Bertie Ahern, Frank Fahy and their mates represented the ugliest form of gombeen man but we were too busy flying off to our holiday homes to notice.

Now we need money people might ask where the billions of the west-coast went.

51 Billion can you please back that up, with a link to a reputible source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

starn wrote: »
    51 Billion can you please back that up, with a link to a reputible source

Agree, you can't throw a huge figure like that out there when it isn't common knowledge without anything to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Spot on. It's like you have known me all my life.....

Oh and HALLELUJAH!

I know, I know... you guys are nothing of not predictable...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I live about 10 houses away from Mountjoy prison. I cant actually believe that Maura Harington is locked up in there tonight and for the rest of the month.
    The media coverage's of this focusing on how she needs to undergo psychiatric assesment is actually quite disgusting. Its an insult to all those people who really do suffer from psychiatric problems. I attended a talk Maura gave about a year ago and she struck me as a very articulate,intelligent,courageous women. She's someone I admire very much.

Who is the state really protecting here? Its citizens? The gardai that this frail,barely 5' women supposedly 'attacked'? Shell?

Shell to Sea press release on Maura's imprisonment:

This relates to an incident which occurred when Gardaí and Shell used a digger to force their way onto private property against the wishes of the landowner in order to facilitate the laying of a portacabin.

Commenting on the sentence, Shell to Sea spokesperson Terence Conway stated “On the 11th June 2007 at Pollathomais in the region of 20 local people received injuries in relation to Gardaí forcing their way illegally onto private property, yet no Garda has ever been brought to justice as a result of this incident. Instead now that Shell is about to begin their works in Glengad, it seems that the State operation against the community has kicked into gear”

Speaking at Belmullet court, local fisherman Pat O’Donnell stated that “It’s a sad indictment of the country when a brave lady like Maura is put in jail for defending her community and standing up to corruption and greed; while all the corporate executives and bankers seem to only get golden handshakes for their corruption and greed. Maura Harrington is a political prisoner sentenced at the behest of Shell”

Previously during the hearing of the case, Maura Harrington had refused to take the stand in her own defence after Judge Mary Devins refused to allow video footage of the incident to be admitted.

In sentencing Maura Harrington, Judge Devins told of her horror to see the attack of one public servant on another.

Terence Conway stated “I personally have video evidence of numerous of these public servants assaulting members of our community but to date my video footage has never been allowed in court”.

Mr Conway continued “In the last 3 weeks the Gardaí have handed out in the region of 25 summonses to people for their opposition to Shell, so it seems that political policing has commenced in no uncertain manner. It cannot be mere coincidence that all of these summonses are appearing just as Shell is due to re-commence work back on Glengad Special Area of Conservation”.

Maura Harrington also refused to sign a bond that would prevent her from interfering with Shell’s operations in Mayo for a year and also refused to pay €1000 to the Garda Benevolent Fund.

Mr Conway concluded by saying that “Our opposition to Shell’s plans will continue, as we are fighting for the health and safety of our community and the future of the area”.

Also in Belmullet Court today, proceedings against Shell were initiated, which claimed that Shell and their sub-contractors broke a previous court ruling prohibiting them from carrying out site investigations on Rossport Commonage. This was adjourned until the 14th of May to court in Achill.

For verification and further information please contact:
    Terence Conway - *************

Notes to Editors
    • Judge Mary Devins is the wife of Government Minster, Jimmy Devins

• For more information on the Pollathomais Pier incident see
    Irish Times article: Shell apologises for landowner's distress!: http://www.corribsos.com/index.php?id=1445
    Irish Times article: http://www.corribsos.com/index.php?id=1444
    Indymedia report: http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82983

See You Tube clips of sections of the incident here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SP7iBPIBkZc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8veyGGKB0G8
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gm92Y7QY60

• For a copy of the video footage of the Pollathomais Pier incident, contact Terence Conway.

Related Link: http://www.shelltosea.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Panda, get it into your head that the Shell to Sea campaign is dead in the water. Maura Harrington has long lost the plot. I hope she's kept in jail until the gas is flowing to all the towns in Mayo that are piped for it. The vast majority of Mayo people are in favour of the Gas Project, and don't need tree huggers and their ilk coming in to tell them wgat to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

More importantly don't Shell already have a contract for the project? You can't just ignore the contract. It is legally binding, Shell could take us to court over it and they would win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Talk about your smelly, soap dodging, open toe sandled, tofu eating, Prius driving, Whale loving, tree hugging, flowers in their hair, poncho wearing, insane, deluded, paranoid hippies. With a dash of those masters of the band wagon jumping, political opertunists Sinn Fein thrown in for good measure! Jesus wept.

In the interest of fairness and balance, you left out pinko, liberal, commie loving, swan eating sympathising, West Brit, dole sponging, student types who never pay taxes and most importantly:

Dope smoking wasters.

I'm on the anti pinko, liberal, prius driving brigade on this one. Shudders!
    Were's me pitchfork?

I want to be the right wing, daily mail, indo, kevin myers loving, maggie thatcher lover, NWO, Pro/Anti whatever you are having yourself Lisbon, yeah to labour camps, castration, hard labour, shoot scum, kick out foreigners (whatever they are), sack the public service, pd, mcdowell loving, capitalistic, libertarian and whatever else you are Having yourself wing, for a change.

PS. Signed: The Will somebody not think of the children brigade.

Runs to RTDH.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 captain a

Panda, get it into your head that the Shell to Sea campaign is dead in the water. Maura Harrington has long lost the plot. I hope she's kept in jail until the gas is flowing to all the towns in Mayo that are piped for it. The vast majority of Mayo people are in favour of the Gas Project, and don't need tree huggers and their ilk coming in to tell them wgat to do.

in saying that, are you supporting the violent actions of the legal system, the jailing of a 55 year old retired school teacher and a two tier legal system (see below)??? if it were a 55 year old woman in your back yard standing up for your neighbourhood, how would you feel?

whatever side people choose in this, be it human rights or contractual rights above them, this stand out to me:

assault by frail 55 year old teacher on gardai, 2000 euro fine and 28 days in jail

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0311/corrib.html

drunk Australian male assaults gardai and nurse, 1000 euro, no jail.

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/83576

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

captain a wrote: »
    in saying that, are you supporting the violent actions of the legal system, the jailing of a 55 year old retired school teacher and a two tier legal system (see below)??? if it were a 55 year old woman in your back yard standing up for your neighbourhood, how would you feel?

whatever side people choose in this, be it human rights or contractual rights above them, this stand out to me:

assault by frail 55 year old teacher on gardai, 2000 euro fine and 28 days in jail

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0311/corrib.html

drunk Australian male assaults gardai and nurse, 1000 euro, no jail.

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/83576

The Aussie got off to light.

Fecking foreigners.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

Hold on if the psychiatric angle in the media is bull**** then she did deserve the prison sentence for, sober and completely in control of herself, attacking a Garda.

She also, as far as I can tell, plead not guilty and was as difficult as possible in court, unlike the Aussie, who plead guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 captain a

Karlusss wrote: »
    Hold on if the psychiatric angle in the media is bull**** then she did deserve the prison sentence for, sober and completely in control of herself, attacking a Garda.

She also, as far as I can tell, plead not guilty and was as difficult as possible in court, unlike the Aussie, who plead guilty.

well i would believe that when someone has been a teacher (which is civil service, like the garda) all their life, they know the difference between good and bad conduct, maturity and immaturity, guilt and non guilt, and also when either should be exercised as a statement. the garda have consistently operated as a law unto themselves in this specific case, i find it difficult to back the legal system in this instance, while in tandem, there are much worse things the garda have to deal with then 55 year old women so i dont want to had out blanket criticisms of them. all in all i take the side of the protesters because they are setting a better example morally, environmentally and consciously then the garda line on this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

They are all brainwashed into thinking it is good to give away our gas. Rely on the intoxicated, fighting Irish to hold onto our national resource, yeah, some hope. We ****ed up in the past....we will again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Ms Harrington stated that she placed her life in the hands of the Master of the Solitaire

AWESOME! Sounds like the next Bond film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,655 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Karlusss wrote: »

And also has a long history of court appearances for drunk and disorderly conduct. And was forced out her job by local parents concerned about the effect this nutjob was having on their kids - when she wasn't off falsely claiming sick pay while protesting, that is.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

She is a fruit cake and I see her brother does his local appearances in the courts now also. This plum is/was a civil servant and meant to be an example to the children she taught. Some example eh?
    Enough of fruitcakes in the world without letting her out again.

K-9 wrote: »
    In the interest of fairness and balance, you left out pinko, liberal, commie loving, swan eating sympathising, West Brit, dole sponging, student types who never pay taxes and most importantly:

Dope smoking wasters.

I'm on the anti pinko, liberal, prius driving brigade on this one. Shudders!
    Were's me pitchfork?

I want to be the right wing, daily mail, indo, kevin myers loving, maggie thatcher lover, NWO, Pro/Anti whatever you are having yourself Lisbon, yeah to labour camps, castration, hard labour, shoot scum, kick out foreigners (whatever they are), sack the public service, pd, mcdowell loving, capitalistic, libertarian and whatever else you are Having yourself wing, for a change.

PS. Signed: The Will somebody not think of the children brigade.

Runs to RTDH.

Don't know if I'd agree with all of the above or even my own original post. This is AH for feck sake, things need to be taken with a pinch of salt.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Best post on boards, ever.
    Never seen indymedia before but OH EM GEE, some people really need to start living in the real world.
    'right on guys, lets fight the nazis, anarchist youth right on!!'

get a bloody job