If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool vs. Madrid Redux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,728 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Real must really be c**p if Dossena can score against them!!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

kryogen wrote: »
    as in who?

plenty of united fans have been on congradulating your lot and praising the performance, just put the bitterness aside for one night and enjoy your victory ffs

ntlbell springs to mind, is boggles here? Neil1984?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,109 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mike65 wrote: »

Boggles has posted in this very thread and congratulated Liverpool.

Any chance you could refrain from shit stirring by naming names? If it continues I will lock the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Think he said United fans in fairness.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

Ramos has turned real into spurs it seems....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Madrid are one of the worst teams I've seen in this stage of the CL in a long, long time.

Surely Sporting have something to say about that?

OT but good research by setanta BTW, apparently Bayern winning 7-1 is the biggest home win in ever CL, I mean it has only been a year since Liverpool beat Besiktas 8-0. Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,776 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

ok, this is the second time i have seen that posted in this thread so i must ask, if you truly are the best in Europe for the last 5 years, why have you not won it each year? if you dont allow the other teams to play and dicate the play and pace and blah blah, how come you have been beaten by teams? you hardly controlled the games so much you beat yourselves cause it didnt feel like a challenege anymore or something?

Liverpool have the highest UEFA co - efficient of any team involved in European competition since 2004.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Ramos has turned real into spurs it seems....

Not in la liga,they are playing very good in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Stekelly wrote: »

OT but good research by setanta BTW, apparently Bayern winning 7-1 is the biggest home win in ever CL, I mean it has only been a year since Liverpool beat Besiktas 8-0. Well done lads.

Knockouts brother and they are wrong as United also beat Roma 7-1 in the Quarter-Finals in april 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,109 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I haven't seen them play though, which is why I said Real ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Nah, Mascherano for me.

I thought Diarra was the only outfield Madrid player to come out of that with any credit. It was basically Casillas & Diarra vs Liverpool.

I would nearly stick Sniejder on the list up to the point where he got bored and gave up.

I was very impressed with Diarra though. He is obviously not worth 20 million but he would be an asset for virtually any team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

I think they said in the knockout stages (they also forgot to mention that Bayern only equalled United's 7-1 win against Roma in the knockouts)

Long live Setanta!

EDIT: waaaaay too late. redout in before me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,952 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I'd give Casillas man of the match (sympathy), he looked dejected at the start of the second half.

Without him, no exagerration it would have been 9-0.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Boggles wrote: »
    I'd give Casillas man of the match (sympathy), he looked dejected at the start of the second half.

Yea Casillas was class,definitely man of the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Boggles, appologies for includuing you in my (apparently random) hall of shame.

Casillas is the Given of La Liga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Liverpool have the highest UEFA co - efficient of any team involved in European competition since 2004.

congrats.....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I would nearly stick Sniejder on the list up to the point where he got bored and gave up.
    Sneijder was ok. Took the lazy option to shoot wildly from range too often, but I suppose you could forgive him - would you have passed to Gago and co?

I missed the opening periods of both halves so I guess I missed Liverpool at their best, but I didn't think they were that exceptional. That isn't a dig either imo - it says something when you can stroll past the champions of Spain with such ease.
    I was very impressed with Diarra though. He is obviously not worth 20 million but he would be an asset for virtually any team.
    Rub it in :(

Boggles, appologies for includuing you in my (apparently random) hall of shame.

That's alright Mike, I know you didn't mean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I was over the moon to see him dejected the dirty Madridista. He should move on to a better club in fairness because the side he is in are going nowhere fast.

congrats.....

// has heart attack ______________________

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Suppose when you are dominated that much the gk stands out. Reina made a couple of decent saves too.

Mascherano for me. I don't think our defence was all that great, Real created a few decent chances but Raul especially was poor.

Mascherano and Alonso to a lesser extent were the ones breaking up Real attacks and setting Liverpool ones up.

Babel wasn't bad. YEP, I know he was marked poorly but he needs a run of games. He showed enough to get a decent run.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

I posted this elsewhere,but goddam I wanted to put it here too:)

I fancied Liverpool to get through Real when the draw was made and couldn't see anything but that happening after the away win.

I read alot of talk of a boring game and the likes and to be honest,didn't really disagree as that's what Rafa and 'pool do best in Europe,the minimum but almost always enough.

I'm astonished at what transpired tonight,to see such a free flowing attack minded performance was a joy for any Liverpool fan and lifted the spirits of us all,considering the events of the last few weeks.

Tonight was our club at its best and a real throwback from other times,when Anfield was a ground that even the best in Europe feared visiting,and it's great to be able to consider the scoreline flattering to Madrid imo.

I don't think anyone will argue that tonights game can be classed as a total annihalation of the visitors and it's not often 'pool fans have had the opportunity to say that lately.

I'm not getting carried away,but no real football fan can begrudge the joy of all LFC fans tonight after such a wonderful performance.

We haven't had much to savour as of late,but dammit if I'm not going to sit back and smile about this for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

K-9 wrote: »
    Suppose when you are dominated that much the gk stands out. Reina made a couple of decent saves too.

Mascherano for me. I don't think our defence was all that great, Real created a few decent chances but Raul especially was poor.

ya Mascherano was superb but he let himself down with that yellow card
    He'll be deffiently missed in the next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,203 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Class by Liverpool, had the fight and the temperment to overcome a disappointing Real. Out fought and out played them. Lol at Dossena, nice finish!

Very true

Suppose when you are dominated that much the gk stands out.

Yeah I factored that in, he ruined Torres chance when he spun Canavaro. I thought that was a wonderful save.

The save from Masch, was brilliant too, considering he went with his wrong hand for it.

Babel did okay, but in fairness he had the whole side of the pitch to himself, he will never get that again in a game of even semi competitive football.

Mascherano and Alonso to a lesser extent were the ones breaking up Real attacks and setting Liverpool ones up.

Babel wasn't bad. YEP, I know he was marked poorly but he needs a run of games. He showed enough to get a decent run.

If Babel would only look up when he gets the ball, he keeps the head down all the time. Frustrating to watch sometimes. He does need a run of games but he is hit and miss for me and to be honest I dont think he is good enough and may be moved on in the summer.

He did play pretty well tonight though

rarnes1 wrote: »

// has heart attack ______________________

eh, are you alright?

grand, was just heatburn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

Jesus that was awesome!:D From start to finish Liverpool played some quality football. To destroy Madrid like that was a pure joy to watch! Fantastic performance.

Gerrard seemed ecstatic afterwards. Just reading his interview after the match and fair play to him to single out Yossi knowing full well that it was his goal in the 1st leg that allowed this performance
    Gerrard wrote:
    "We got the job done in the first 30 minutes tonight when I thought we were awesome," said Gerrard.

"The second half was about seeing it out and fortunately we were able to score a couple more goals.

"We're all really pleased. It was important to win and book our place in the last eight. It was a fantastic team performance tonight.

"We have to give a special mention to Yossi Benayoun tonight. He was fantastic in the first leg and was unfortunate to be injured for this game."

rarnes1 wrote: »
    grand, was just heatburn

good to know :)