Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Taxi driver protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    I find it very ironic that none of these threads are ever started by drivers, but by people whinging about drivers whinging. It seems to be a fact that the public do more whinging about taxi drivers, than taxi drivers do about the need for industry reform.

What's your point? I didn't start them, I didn't say I'd protest until I get what I want. What I would like, is for you to accept your in an unfortunate situation and the government aren't responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Maybe it's actualy time to ditch the Irish License and make all holders of Irish Licenses sit a proper EU test.
    So we'd be taught on how to overtake, and how to use the motorway?

=-=

Personally, I find it funny for anyone who got in after deregulation that wants a cap. Before deregulation, sure, those lads paid a fortune (and sometimes their house) for their plates, and they knew their area. Currently lots of the taxi people don't know the location of some streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

paulm17781 wrote: »
    What's your point? I didn't start them, I didn't say I'd protest until I get what I want. What I would like, is for you to accept your in an unfortunate situation and the government aren't responsible.

I know I am in an unfortunate situation, but I hope to get out of it as soon as I can find a job. Im probably lucky in that my CV is quite good and have a better chance than some guys I know of getting a job.

The government do share some responsibility, they should of regulated the industry properly from the word go. Then maybe, it wouldnt be quite as easy as just throwing a plate up on the family saloon and away you go. Better standards from the start would of introduced natural barriers to entry without a need for a cap and the industry would of settled down much quicker.

I know I am running a business and should accept that businesses fail, but the reason my business is failing has nothing to do with my ability to run it, or even that its a bad business. Its the failure of the government to regulate an industry properly.

This argument applies to alot of industries in this country, never more true than with the banks. If we had proper regulation there, maybe we wouldnt be in the mess we are in now. Should we not blame the government for their failings there either????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Should we not blame the government for their failings there either????

Yeah, I blame them for all the hours I wasted, standing freezing and waiting to get a taxi home when the govt capped the number of taxi licenses. It hasn't been too much of a problem since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭uma

Yeah, I blame them for all the hours I wasted, standing freezing and waiting to get a taxi home when the govt capped the number of taxi licenses. It hasn't been too much of a problem since.

will be blaming them in a while when most of the decent drivers will have dropped out because its not affordable and it will be knackers only trying to rip you off. I do hope you enjoy that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭uma

the_syco wrote: »

=-=

Personally, I find it funny for anyone who got in after deregulation that wants a cap. Before deregulation, sure, those lads paid a fortune (and sometimes their house) for their plates, and they knew their area. Currently lots of the taxi people don't know the location of some streets.

i find it funny that you see no difference between regulation and deregulation and are basically saying that if you wanted deregulation when there were only 2.800 taxis in Dublin you should still have the same opinion when it has gone completly the other way at 16000 taxis !:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I know I am running a business and should accept that businesses fail, but the reason my business is failing has nothing to do with my ability to run it, or even that its a bad business.

The same could be said about all the local business that have closed in the last 6 months.

I play an inter firms soccer league on Monday nights. 12 teams started out. Only 6 finished as they either closed or let go most of their staff.

I wonder what makes the taxi industry any different to them. Not one other industry is asking for a cap like the taxi industry is

kearnsr wrote: »
    The same could be said about all the local business that have closed in the last 6 months.

I play an inter firms soccer league on Monday nights. 12 teams started out. Only 6 finished as they either closed or let go most of their staff.

I wonder what makes the taxi industry any different to them. Not one other industry is asking for a cap like the taxi industry is

You left out the part of my post that explains the part you quoted. Your taking my point out of context. Quote the whole thing and then what you say doesnt apply in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭buzzerbuckley

kearnsr wrote: »

The Taxi industry is different than most others as it is a Public service industry run privatley.Most other countries in the world including the UK have quotas of taxis in their local areas instead of this free for all madness we now have here.

A fair comparison is the proff football industry.it is capped and only a certain number of teams are allowed in each league thus meaning in effect there can only be a certain number of proffesional footballers in each country.The governing body ( regulator) overseas the amount of teams needed and cannot simply just give a license to everybody remotly interested.

To compare it to the plumbing industry or retail industry shows pure ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

the_syco wrote: »

=-=

This is an example of when we say that people can hear us but they aren't listening....

We want a moritorium on license plates for a temporary period while a root n branch revision is made of the entire industry and people listen to the taxi drivers as well as the unions ( who don't represent all the drivers and indeed have some vested interests that directly oppose taxi DRIVERS interests )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭caff

The Taxi industry is different than most others as it is a Public service industry run privatley.Most other countries in the world including the UK have quotas of taxis in their local areas instead of this free for all madness we now have here.

A fair comparison is the proff football industry.it is capped and only a certain number of teams are allowed in each league thus meaning in effect there can only be a certain number of proffesional footballers in each country.The governing body ( regulator) overseas the amount of teams needed and cannot simply just give a license to everybody remotly interested.

Are the cap on teams not set by the governing bodies of each league? Don't think its anything to do with the government at all its the football industry themselves

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

You obviously dont know much about football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

caff wrote: »
    Are the cap on teams not set by the governing bodies of each league? Don't think its anything to do with the government at all its the football industry themselves

In that example, the Football Association is the same as the Transport minister in that they set the rules controlling the numbers in their respective leagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭buzzerbuckley

There is a cap on tv and radio stations another public service providers in ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Hamndegger wrote: »
    In that example, the Football Association is the same as the Transport minister in that they set the rules controlling the numbers in their respective leagues.
    The FA/Football league/Premier League are PRIVATE organisations. People are of course free to go set up their own league structure with as many teams as they like. Therefore there is no cap. You are asking for a LEGAL cap to be placed on numbers in your industry. No such cap exists in football, it is a decision made by the football clubs themselves who form the leagues and divisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭confused-dazed

just a couple of things i want to say here.
    it wasn't to long ago that we had taxi drivers whinging,moaning and foaming at the mouth because the guards hit them at one of their prime illegal spots and dished out fines to all involved. i'm sure one of our taxi regs could mention the place, if not i'll post it in a few days. just seeing how short their memories can be.
    now spookie nice pic you posted of the rank in o'connell street, blocking a 24hr rank. i heard a spat on the radio between tommy 'o'gorman and the guy/crowd that organised this protest. you going on about to many taxi's not enough work. then why did you stop other taxi drivers that weren't protesting from using the o'connel street rank. as well as all the other ranks that were blocked.
    you posted earlier about me being in two places as once, do you not know who i am. i'm superman.:D
    you see those arrows at junctions and on streets that are either turning left or right. they're not decorations they're there for everyone. not just joe motorist.
    you see those double yellow lines on the roads ,not decorations either. just in case you dont know it means no parking.
    as for taxi plate maybe you should set up your on school considering your studying a bit. a school for taxi drivers on how to read the following
    "20.00 -06.00 taxi rank "or are these signs just for decoration as well.
    damn in infants they teach you how to read a clock and by primany school they teach you the 24hr clock, but alas this doesn't comprehend in a taxi drivers brain what any of the signs i've mentioned mean ( these are but just a few by the way)
    as for my poll.
    i'm not going to reply to that thread. i set it up for joe public, maybe i should've put in bold." taxi drivers need not reply."
    oh and if bus drivers go on strike i'll be doing a poll on them as well. just to be fair.at least they know how to drive. unlike other stereo type drivers i know :rolleyes:
    as i've said before BIFFO needs more money in the coffers, now's his chance. let the guards enforce the rules of the road properly and to the law. damn with all the fines being dished out our taxes mightn't go up with all the money rolling in from fines. even better he could take us out of the recession.

murphaph wrote: »
    The FA/Football league/Premier League are PRIVATE organisations. People are of course free to go set up their own league structure with as many teams as they like. Therefore there is no cap. You are asking for a LEGAL cap to be placed on numbers in your industry. No such cap exists in football, it is a decision made by the football clubs themselves who form the leagues and divisions.

As usual, you miss the point made by Buzzer (Selectively as usual, shock horror) so once again typing slowly for your benefit; sports leagues control the numbers under their jurisdiction in order to control their sports more effectively. They may allow new teams to enter or they can form new divisions but only under specified criteria otherwise chaos ensues.

Hamndegger wrote: »
    As usual, you miss the point made by Buzzer (Selectively as usual, shock horror) so once again typing slowly for your benefit; sports leagues control the numbers under their jurisdiction in order to control their sports more effectively. They may allow new teams to enter or they can form new divisions but only under specified criteria otherwise chaos ensues.
    No point missed at all. It is simply not a valid comparison. That's all. Everyone can see a private football league's clubs deciding the terms has nothing in common with public taxis. A comparison with the football league that actually is valid would be for independent taxi drivers at the protest to form a 'premier league' of taxi drivers...better cars, standard colour, driver in smart uniform . You could form this yourself. A premier league for the 'professional drivers'. It looks a lot better than a manky sticker with "Irish driver" on it. The part timers wouldn't bother making the investment and would lose out. You are businessmen, not charity cases....market yourselves together if you are truly united.

It is valid and it shows you to be utterly wrong yet again.

murphaph wrote: »
    No point missed at all. It is simply not a valid comparison. That's all. Everyone can see a private football league's clubs deciding the terms has nothing in common with public taxis. A comparison with the football league that actually is valid would be for independent taxi drivers at the protest to form a 'premier league' of taxi drivers...better cars, standard colour, driver in smart uniform . You could form this yourself. A premier league for the 'professional drivers'. It looks a lot better than a manky sticker with "Irish driver" on it. The part timers wouldn't bother making the investment and would lose out. You are businessmen, not charity cases....market yourselves together if you are truly united.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The interesting thing about this thread is that the taxi drivers believe themselves to be infallibly right. If someone points out misbehaviour of taxi drivers, the drivers on here claim that that is why they are striking. "I got overcharged" "We are striking to do away with that". "taxis are driving illegaly" "striking will weed out the bad drivers etc." The drivers are supporting the claims of everyone else but they see that as backing up their strike.

Taxipete is claiming that posters here are looking down on taxi drivers and this is wrong. It seems he is looking down on certain elements of the taxi driving population.

One final thing to clear up some previous misinformation from a taxi driver: In order to hail a taxi on the city streets in the UK, be it London, Belfast, Edinburgh or anywhere; it has to be a black taxi type of vehicle or one which offers the same functionality. Normal family saloon cars are for pre-booking only.

Taxipete is claiming that posters here are looking down on taxi drivers and this is wrong. It seems he is looking down on certain elements of the taxi driving population.

No its not wrong. To call me or any other driver a "stain on society" shows prejudice of the highest order.

How am I looking down on certain elements explain please because I havent a clue what your on about?????????????????????????????

No its not wrong. To call me or any other driver a "stain on society" shows prejudice of the highest order.

How am I looking down on certain elements explain please because I havent a clue what your on about?????????????????????????????

I agree, to call anyone at all a "stain on society" is very harsh. Everyone has something to offer society, regardless of who they are.

You are coming at this from the viewpoint that you are right. Part time drivers are wrong. People with older cars than you are wrong. People with smaller cars are wrong. New people entering the industry should not be allowed to do so. This is not in this post alone, it's your postings as a whole. Regardless of whether those individual posts are correct or not, you are judging other drivers less favourably than yourself.

There is no solidarity in your protest. I would bet your bottom dollar that a lot of the men you drove alongside in this protest operate in a manner that you would not agree with. Whether it's overtaking a driver with a light on, having PAYE income elsewhere or not paying tax on all income.

So it is a case of looking out for number one, which has been the accusation levelled from the beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭signman12

I agree, to call anyone at all a "stain on society" is very harsh. Everyone has something to offer society, regardless of who they are.

You are coming at this from the viewpoint that you are right. Part time drivers are wrong. People with older cars than you are wrong. People with smaller cars are wrong. New people entering the industry should not be allowed to do so. This is not in this post alone, it's your postings as a whole. Regardless of whether those individual posts are correct or not, you are judging other drivers less favourably than yourself.

There is no solidarity in your protest. I would bet your bottom dollar that a lot of the men you drove alongside in this protest operate in a manner that you would not agree with. Whether it's overtaking a driver with a light on, having PAYE income elsewhere or not paying tax on all income.

So it is a case of looking out for number one, which has been the accusation levelled from the beginning.

why did'nt taxi drivers do their protest over a weekend by refusing to drive their cars for 1 night, I'd have more respect for that than them clogging up the roads during normal business hours on a sunny day.

it's hard enough to try & make a living these days, taxi drivers don't seem to realise that they do not "own" the roads plus loading bays are not taxi ranks but are for vans trying to do deliveries.

we would all be happy if there was less competion in the marketplace, but we can't ask companies not to open because some of us in the same line might make less money.
    you just need to get on with it,
    it's not easy being a sole trader but that's your choice,

Just because I dont agree with someone does not mean I look down on them which was the accusation you levelled at me.

I dont always agree with how some of my friends operate or some of the stories I hear about how other drivers do things but I dont look down on them as a result.

I will admit its difficult for there to be full solidarity amongst a group of people who are all natural competitors and I will admit not all drivers share the same ideas as me on how best the industry should be reformed but that is not to say there wrong and im right or vice versa, its our opinions we debate.

Almost every post against capping licences has judged taxi drivers less favourably so if you apply your standards to other posters surely they do look down on taxi drivers as I suggested???

signman12 wrote: »
    why did'nt taxi drivers do their protest over a weekend by refusing to drive their cars for 1 night, I'd have more respect for that than them clogging up the roads during normal business hours on a sunny day.

If you wish to protest outside Government buildings there is little point doing it if there is no one inside. Its that simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭signman12

If you wish to protest outside Government buildings there is little point doing it if there is no one inside. Its that simple

so what was the point in clogging up the roads, this did not effect the government in the least but just adden extra burden's on the rest of us.
    you do have a right to protest but your methods are out dated.
    you do not get any sympathy from the general public that are your customers.
    I always think of the scenes from George Orwell's "animal farm" when you look at how the irish government tries to ruin run this country

Just because I dont agree with someone does not mean I look down on them which was the accusation you levelled at me.

I dont always agree with how some of my friends operate or some of the stories I hear about how other drivers do things but I dont look down on them as a result.

I will admit its difficult for there to be full solidarity amongst a group of people who are all natural competitors and I will admit not all drivers share the same ideas as me on how best the industry should be reformed but that is not to say there wrong and im right or vice versa, its our opinions we debate.

Almost every post against capping licences has judged taxi drivers less favourably so if you apply your standards to other posters surely they do look down on taxi drivers as I suggested???

Maybe they do but two wrongs don't make a right.

One final thing to clear up some previous misinformation from a taxi driver: In order to hail a taxi on the city streets in the UK, be it London, Belfast, Edinburgh or anywhere; it has to be a black taxi type of vehicle or one which offers the same functionality. Normal family saloon cars are for pre-booking only.
    Thanks Terrontress. That was Hamndegger with the misinformation which I must have missed. You are 100% correct-taxis for hire on the street across the ENTIRE United Kingdom must conform to the 'black cab' standards. Only mini-cabs (what we call Hackneys in Ireland) are allowed to be 'normal cars'.

Oh and just for information....there is no limit on the number of London Black Cabs. It is purely controlled by the difficulty in getting a licence due to the nature of the test.

Maybe they do but two wrongs don't make a right.

Really dont know what you mean by that??

I made the point that there are large numbers of taxi who you deem less suitable than you to do the job you are currently doing.

Your response seems to agree, tailed with the point that people on here are looking down on taxi drivers. It doesn't really take what I said about you into account.