What makes the ultimate pub?

• 27-02-2009 09:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭

I am new here and by way of an introduction I thought I'd start a little discussion. Please forgive me if I don't reply right away, but I do live on the other side of that little pond, the Atlantic.

So, what makes the difference to you in a pub? What changes it from "well, they have beer" to "I don't ever want to leave here"?

I'll start by saying that one of the first things I notice is the bar. I love a massive slab of wood properly burnished by all the bellies that have gently carressed it over the years, and it needs a proper brass foot rail. So that as you stand there you can assume the proper slumped position.

So, What do you look for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

the people who drink there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

loos that dont smell of wee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭The_M

Redpunto wrote: »
    loos that dont smell of wee

I see that you are easily pleased!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭clones1980

Friendly bar staff, a good pint of guinness and a bit of male talent :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 97,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Having a pizzeria on the premises helps.

Mmmmmmm, Pizza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Depends on what sort of night I'm looking for, obviously the people I'm with is the biggest factor.
    Cosiness - Don't want it grubby looking but don't want it too clinical either, ability to have a warm atmosphere would be good.
    Drink - Good varied selection.
    Music - In the evening I like something to tap along to (I sound very old now) but not too loud that you can't have a conversation with someone across the table (I'm ancient now amn't I)
    Location - Nice to be able to get home handily enough.
    Price - Not OTT obviously
    Staff - Lounge staff is usually a nice bonus.
    Toilets - Clean :p
    Food - Some sort of take away next door is good.
    I'd be a happy camper in that pub :D

There is a lot to be said for cosiness. A place I enjoy has almost all the great elements, its a brew pub so the beer is GOOD. There is a pool table, and a fireplace. Serves outstanding food (try the seafood chowder), but its in a converted shoe factory and they left the ceiling open to the roof so its like talking inside a trash can (I will save any explanation on how I know this till I know you better)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 97,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The_M wrote: »
    There is a lot to be said for cosiness.
    True
    soft lighting, bright enough that you find something small that dropped or even to read. And none of those nasty halogen lights either.

A roaring fire on a cold wet day can be heaven

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The Albert just outside Anfield, my idea of a dream pub. A juxebox with over a million songs(updated daily), old lads at the bar, great characters.

A pool table is always a plus, i hate all these swanky new pubs that are showing up lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

I predict an increase in business for cosy pubs, with a corresponding drop-off in business for the swankier pubs, which must cost an arm and a leg to run.

Are you also predicting a drop off in price? Ya know, cause, of course, any publican is really just interested in the public interest!

I do miss $0.50 drafts, with free tacos mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

One that when you're there you wonder why it's not fuller.

Bit of food available, nothing more complicated than fried :P

Oh yeah, maybe somewhere that isn't 45 degrees. I sweat enough without the ambient temperature being higher than body temperature.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

No poxy football on the telly blaring so loud you cant hear yourself fart.

Aint that the truth! We were in Ireland in '06 for 10 days, right smack in the middle of the World Cup! I could have stayed home and ignored "football". Instead every pub had a crowd of punters staring at the TV, watching guys from Zimbabwe play for Germany or whatever ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 pcworldsucks

always liked places with lots of nooks and crannies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭cooperla

tele's seem to ruin the craic in a pub, but saying that, I love watching rugby in the pub.

Open fire is nice, especially when the weather is rubbush.

Not big on a pub being too flashy or having too much light, should be cozy as other point out.

Most importantly, the pint of black must be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Great beer, music, and pretteh wimmins is no harm either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭paddyb125

Quiet and warm does me, I hate pubs that insist on blasting out music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Not sh**ty chart/pop/rnb rubbish mind you. R a dubya k, rawk!!! Preferebly of the classic variety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Nice pints, coal fire, back room for pool table, jukebox (with decent music!) and fruit machine! I dont ask for much (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

good pint's & generous shot's
    good friendly bar staff (including at least 1 hot chick)
    good jukebox, with good music, which is mainly decided by the bar flies (but only if they know good music)
    a nice snug, big enough for 2 or 3 tables and 4 bar stools.
    open fire in snug there will be no telly in the snug & speakers will be turned down.
    there is a time and a place for football, it is on Saturday and Sunday, and when Ireland play.
    the telly will be in the main bar
    a small stage in the main Bar for regular live music
    a good smoking area
    a pizza place would be nice but a deal with the local takeaway where they will run down with food is just as handy.
    wooden floor and bar, memorabilia on the walls.
    clean toilets.