Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I'm currently ****ing my pants. It's not enjoable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Yawn. Rafa ain't going nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Anyone hear where the Rumour is coming from?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Surely if there was any truth to this it would be on loads of websites and ssn etc already? Nothing mentioned any of those places. Doesn't mean it isn't true, but surely not very likely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Villain wrote: »
    Anyone hear where the Rumour is coming from?

Probably made up like most of the stories about him.

can anyone point me in the way of anything about this? have checked the usual news sites and the only forum I checked was rawk - any links at all? even to random ****t forum threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

5starpool wrote: »
    Not on any football websites yet though as far as I can see.

Hope it is not true. If it is then we might be lucky to finish in the top 4 ourselves this season.

tbh as a non liverpool fan im more worried it is true than you are it isnt i think

imo a different manager would probably improve things at the club

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

All I can find on other MB's is people saying "Lawro just said".. and this one from liverpoolfc.tv

"This poster on RAWK has said that his mate who is in spain has told him that Rafa is going to resign. He will announce it after the match tommorow. He got the information from one of the staff."

Helix wrote: »
    tbh as a non liverpool fan im more worried it is true than you are it isnt i think

you are so wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,595 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The discussion seem to be criticising Arbeloa for not being good enough and how Rafa has to ultimately take the responsibility for signing him. A few people have argued that Arbeloa is better than the credit he gets and we all seem to have settled on him being the 3rd, 4th or 5th best right back int he country. Lucas Neill is also being mentioned as one of the players that may be slightly better than him. No one seems to be mentioning that Rafa tried to sign Lucas Neil. I even think he tried to sign him before Arbeloa joined the club.

Forgetting who he tried to sign, why the attempt failed and then slamming him for not signing the best when he eventually settles on someone that wasn't his first choice as a result of his hand being forced by the requirement to fill the position is quite the consistant theme on this thread.
    I mentioned that Rafa tried to sign and I know he turned them down for money.
    I personally think Arbeloa is a good right back too, but I don't see him as top notch. He is steady though, I'd rate him similar to Hibbert in many ways. Hope you pool fans aren't offended by that comparison.

Rubbish. Rafa has made Liverpool into a contender in Europe and England. That is a fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Highsider wrote: »
    Rubbish. Rafa has made Liverpool into a contender in Europe and England. That is a fact

europe at the expense of the league tho

someone who wouldnt make as many, shall we say odd, decisions in terms of team selection would have probably won the league at liverpool by now

My brother's girlfriend's dad said he knows a taxi driver who's mother's friend knows a shopkeeper who's sister knows Rafa's wife who say's Rafa is going to say...it must be true so.:rolleyes:

at the expense of the league tho

someone who wouldnt make as many, shall we say odd, decisions in terms of team selection would have probably won the league at liverpool by now

Yeah, probably.. almost definitely but not quite for sure?

Gimme a break. Where is Alex Ferguson and Man United while all of this is happening behind their backs?

europe at the expense of the league tho

We'll agree to disagree.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

A thread on liverpoolfc.tv forum didn't last very long. Started by someone who posts/reads here by the way, so from the same source. All seems to be stemming from Lawrensons crap on the last word.

Aye, the mods on the official forum are deleting anything with a sniff of this.

I will say this..if Rafa does walk i for one would'nt blame him. The way the media,the owners and more importantly some of our own "fans" have treated him is a disgrace and has been at times bordering on hate. The saddest thing in all this is we are in a better position now than at any time in the last 10 years on the pitch.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I mentioned that Rafa tried to sign and I know he turned them down for money.
    I personally think Arbeloa is a good right back too, but I don't see him as top notch. He is steady though, I'd rate him similar to Hibbert in many ways. Hope you pool fans aren't offended by that comparison.

Wasn't really a post aimed at you despite quoting you.. Some of the posts on this forum really annoy me as they don't factor in all information when posting or arriving at conclusions. It drives me nuts actually.

I actually think Hibbert is an ok player but putting him on the same level as Arbeloa is a disservice to international and champions league football.. He has consistently performed at the hightest level for Liverpool and has not set a foot wrong when in the Spannish international either. Hibbert has not, whether he has been given the chance or not, proven himself at the same level.

The same argument applies to the O'Neill versus Rafa argument. Martin O'Neill is obviously a talented manager and has always peformed well with any club that he managed. Rafa has done the same but done so at a higher level, with bigger clubs and actually has a proven record of winning trophies. To say that O'Neill is a better manager is devaluing both La Liga and the Champions league and overplaying the SPL or the League Cup.

Ok I just listened back to Mark Lawrenson on The Last Word, and he does NOT say that he heard Benitez has walked.

What he actually says is this:

"But then also, not to scare you, someone just rung me and says 'Have you heard that Benitez has walked out?', well I've not heard that so I think that's just one of those rumours that has been, eh, hah, rumour mongering.."

BTW, if anyone else wants a listen, go about 20:15 into this file

http://www.radioireland.ie/lastword/2422009-18.wmv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

mike65 wrote: »

heart stopped there for a sec. bollix mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭LizardKing

The Liverpool Irish connection - Looks like the lads are practicing GAA in training ...

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N163367090224-2140.htm

Nice hand pass from yossi ...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Dub13 wrote: »
    Another fundraiser we are doing.

Win 2 Tickets for Liverpool v Real Madrid

For the next 2 Weeks Irishkop will be running a reverse auction with the money raised going to the hillsborough justice campaign

You will be Bidding for 2 kop Tkts to the Liverpool V real madrid Champions League last 16 game at Anfield on Tuesday march 10th.the Lowest Unique Bid will Win,its 5 euro per bid.

To Submit a Bid(s) you need to PM me and i will give you a Reference Number and the Sort Code and Number of an Account where you can Lodge the Money.make sure you include the Reference Number when Lodging the Money or i will not know who the Money is from.i will get back to people as soon as possible.

On Receipt of your Money you will then be Contacted to Submit your Bid(s).
    to give the successful Bidder Time to organise Travel and Accomodation i will Close the Auction at 2.30 pm on Tuesday march 3rd and the winner will be announced shortly after that,that's a full Week before the Game.

I have set up an email address for new members to get around the 30 post problem.if any new members wish to take part in the reverse auction they can send an email to sirbob@live.co.uk.

They will need to be members though,it's not open to non members.when they send the email they need to include their username on irishkop.
    if people wish to pay by paypal they can pm me or email sirbob@live.co.uk with their paypal details and i will request payment from them.
    just to let everyone know,there is a small fee that paypal charges for each transaction.one of the drawbacks of using it.bit of a bummer but not really much that can be done about it.i'll leave it up to the individual as to whether they want to add a little extra to cover the charge.

I don't know the exact figure but it's seems to be around the 5% mark....
    i have decided to limit the number of entries to 10 per member,i had a few problems with multiple entries last time and i don't want to go through that again.
    5 euro per bid.
    best of luck to everyone that enters....

For more info see This thread

Bump.

Less than a week left to enter this plus its for a great cause.Also the tickets are flying out for the upcoming legends night so again get in fast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I'll be honest on this. If we lose Rafa it will be just what we fúcking deserve for the way he has been treated. The man is in the top 5 managers in world football and people doubt him. He has got this "Average to shít" squad to challenge for the league title, he has totally revamped our whole club from the ground up. We now have potentially world class youngsters ready to come through as opposed to the likes of Jon Otsemobor and Neil Mellor etc. I couldn't give a flying fúck how he treated Robbie Keane, Peter Crouch and Craig Bellamy or anyone else he has shipped out "unfairly". They werent good enough in his eyes to wear the shirt so he got rid of them, well done Rafa!

If a new man comes in, what happens? He gets rid of the players he doesnt like and brings in his own players, who can say if they would work? He doesnt see the potential in Pacheco, Nemeth, Dalle Valle etc and ships them out for free which sets us back 10-15 years with regards to our youth system. Who the hell could do what Rafa has done for us? From barely scraping into the Champions League places to fighting for a title in 5 years, thats not good enough for us? BÓLLOX!!! We were on a serious downward spiral towards the end of the Houllier era, Rafa came in and changed all of that. I truly believe if he had a bit more control over who he could sign then we would have a premiership title in the bag, if not more than 1.

If the unthinkable happens tomorrow night and he does walk out, it will set us back years. We will be years away from ever putting together a challenge like this again so for anyone going to Anfield this season, how about this? Stop whinging, stop going for the fúcking day out at the big game, get behind the fúcking team and get behind our manager. As the old saying goes, you don't know what you've got until its gone.

In Rafa We Trust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Melion wrote: »
    If the unthinkable happens tomorrow night and he does walk out, it will set us back years.

I honestly believe the current rumour is nothing more than bullsh1t. However if he were to walk I think it would take a hell of a lot for him to walk mid season.

If it were down to not being able to work out a contract I just couldn't see him walking out mid season - he seems to be the type that has too much respect for the club would keep going until May (concentrating purely on football matters) and leave over the summer rather than leaving the club hanging there. Likewise I don't think G&H would be stupid enough to push him mid season - the clubs needs stability right now and they seem to have finally realised that (when did we last hear Hicks open his big mouth ?). In fact I'm not sure that G&H could afford for him to leave - do they have the money to settle his contract (if appropriate), bring in a new man + new playing staff + give that person sufficient funds to start overhauling the squad to their requirements over the summer ? All the indications are that they don't.

Two great articles. They have me chomping at the bit.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2009/feb/25/benitez-liverpool-real-madrid-champions-league
    Rafael Benítez was born in Madrid, grew up in Madrid and was schooled in Madrid. He went to university in Madrid, married in Madrid and did military service in Madrid, barely a hundred yards from the Santiago *Bernabéu. He played and coached Real Madrid and lays claim to spotting Madrid's captain Raúl. He even commentated on football for Telemadrid. So, when Benítez reveals that "my childhood dream was to play for Madrid", it comes as no surprise; when he says his return to Madrid tonight will provoke few emotions, it is harder to believe him.

"Above all Rafa is supremely professional and he hides his feelings well," says José Luis San Martín, who worked with the Liverpool coach at Madrid, the club he has served for more than 30 years. "But I have no doubt this match is special for him." Special is not the half of it. "Madrid saw the birth of Benítez", says the Spain coach Vicente del Bosque. Almost half his life has been spent at Real Madrid and rumours of a return for a prodigal son persist. For one member of the technical staff, Madrid should never have let him go in the first place.

Benítez was only 35 when he left "home" but 23 years had passed since he joined the club when his Atlético-supporting father Francisco got him a trial. He had progressed through the club's youth set-up – infantiles, cadetes, and juveniles – before reaching Real Madrid C in Spain's amateur Third Division. "I would have been an average First Division player," he admits, "but I wasn't good enough for Madrid." He never got the chance to find out: playing for Spain at the World Student Games in Mexico in 1979, he suffered a knee ligament injury that effectively ended his hopes of a *professional career at 20.

But Benítez had always been a coach, even when he was a player. His father still has the notebook Rafa kept when he was 13, full of notes on his team-mates, marks out of 10, tactics, even his team talks. He was a compulsive collector of cuttings and no one could shut him up. "When I played, they said I talked too much but I couldn't help it," Benítez admits. "If I saw a problem I tried to correct it." And within six years of that Mexico injury, having finally hung up his amateur boots, graduated in PE and qualified as a coach of basketball as well as football, he got a job at Madrid.

Starting with Castilla Juvenil B in 1986, Benítez had by 1993 reached Real Madrid B in Spain's Third Division where he coached Raúl for one game only. He did not just coach him: others have their doubts and Raúl does not remember but Benítez claims: "I was the one who decided to sign Raúl from Atlético's youth team."

It mattered little that Benítez's first charges were teenagers or that he was not even 30; there were already signs of the demanding obsessive that would succeed at Valencia and Liverpool, always on top of his players. Ahead of his time he turned to videos and reports, controlled diet and recovery programmes. He carried a laptop, too – at a time when most people didn't even have one, let alone know how to switch it on. Every detail counted.

As Jesús Velasco, a former Madrid *juvenil player who reached the first team, puts it, Benítez was "pesado". Heavy. He simply never let up. "Rafa was single then and lived for football," Del Bosque recalls. A keen chess player, fan of the board game Risk, he was fascinated by tactics and had an extraordinary capacity for work. "Rafa," one friend fondly insists "is an anorak."

"What was striking was the detail," says Ismael Urzaiz, the former Athletic Bilbao striker who began his career at Madrid. "I was only with him for a week," agrees Raúl, "but I had never seen a coach study every little detail so profoundly." Velasco adds: "We were only 17 but Benítez was extremely demanding, very systematic. On long coach journeys to games we would watch videos and the amount of information he provided was incredible."

Some called him "Arrigo Benítez", such was the attention to detail and – in particular – the obsession with playing by zones. Moves were perfected in training without a ball. "Conceptually we had to imagine we were connected by a rope," explains Velasco. "No-one could go too far one way without the others accompanying him. We learnt so much from Benítez. You could tell he was going to go a long way. In fact, wWhen I see Liverpool play now, I see something of our team from back then."

When Real Madrid sacked Benito Floro mid-way through the 1993-94 season, Del Bosque was promoted in his place. Impressed by Benítez's methodical, dedicated approach, he took Rafa as his assistant. The experiment, though, did not last for long. At the end of the season Madrid signed Jorge Valdano as coach and Benítez was returned to the B team. And that was the beginning of the end.

One problem stood out above all. Valdano had called Carlos Alejandro Sierra Fumero, "Sandro", into the first-team squad and considered him a star, albeit one who was not yet fully ready. He told Benítez to play him for Real Madrid B; Benítez refused. He did not consider Sandro to be as talented as Valdano claimed. More importantly he did not like the way he trained. He had, Benítez argued, lost focus; he did not have the application or mentality to make it.

Sandro's subsequent career has proved Benítez right but few backed him. In fact, the pressure built against him. Madrid sided with Valdano and for the first time in his life Benítez, determined to remain faithful to his ideas, took the reluctant decision to build a footballing career away from the club that was his club and should have remained so. "Rafa going hurt," admits San Martín. "He had so much to offer. It's such a shame that they didn't see it at the Bernabéu." Tonight, at last, they might.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/feb/25/benitez-real-madrid-liverpool-champions-league
    A return to Real Madrid as first-team coach figures at some point on Rafael Benítez's career map but the Liverpool manager, his contract unsigned and his employers irritated as a result, has insisted his future at Anfield must not be determined on the outcome of the Champions League tie against the club he supported as a child.

Benítez revisits the Bernabéu Stadium where he served 16 years as a player, youth-team coach and assistant manager, with Europe again appearing Liverpool's most likely salvation given the seven-point gap that Manchester United have established at the top of the Premier League. The Spaniard will make a late decision on Steven Gerrard's availability to face Real Madrid, the captain having taken part in a light training session at the stadium last night, and will take advice from Liverpool's medical team and influential midfielder before finalising his plans.

Victory over two legs would enhance Benítez's reputation at the expense of a club that still covets his services. Defeat, however, will only intensify the scrutiny on his long-term position, particularly given his reluctance to commit to a new deal at Anfield almost four months after negotiations began.

"I don't think this game is important for my contract. It is an important game for us as a club, that's it," said the Liverpool manager. "You know the situation and we have to wait. We have a lot of important games coming up. You have to judge a manager on his career, not one or two games. That is my idea. If you have to decide on a manager on the basis of one or two games that is not the best decision."

Benítez refused to be drawn on whether he would consider any offer to return to Real and preferred to discuss an opponent in resurgent form, but one that has not reached the quarter-finals since 2004. "They have 11 good players and are very dangerous so it is more important to focus on them than other things," he said.

"They are my friends here and I have good memories with them. The delegate on the door is the same delegate as when I was here as a player and a coach. But I am a professional so I want to win with my team. It is just about winning a Champions League game against a top side in Europe."

Jamie Carragher, who would captain the side in Gerrard's absence, insisted Liverpool could copewithout the midfielder. "When we won the Champions League in 2005 there were plenty of games when Steven Gerrard didn't play but obviously we are a better team with him in it," said the defender. Carragher's pressingconcern tonight will be curtailing the remarkable form of Raúl, the leading goalscorer in Champions League historywith 64 goals and now in Real's history having taken his total to 311 against Real Betis on Saturday and having surpassed the great Alfredo di Stefano's record.

"To play for Real Madrid so long, a club where there is constant pressure and criticism like at Liverpool, shows outstanding quality and character," said Carragher. "People were writing him off a few years ago but he has come back and broken Di Stefano's record, one of the greatest players ever. When you think of Real Madrid now you think of Raúl, in the same way as you think of Steven Gerrard when you mention Liver*pool. It will be a privilege to be on the same pitch as him."

The tie presents Juande Ramos, the Real coach, with an opportunity to repair a reputation damaged in English eyes by his inglorious 12-month spell at Tottenham Hotspur, although his standing remains elevated in Spain. Real are tonight seeking a 10th successive victory under a coach who is only under contract at the Bernabéu until the summer. "I don't think I have to prove anything," insisted Ramos. "I have been coaching for a long time and people know what I have done as a coach. I am just happy that things are going well for Real Madrid."

Such is the confidence in the Real ranks that Ramos claimed his pre-match instructions will barely touch on the threat posed by opponents who have reached two Champions League finals plus one semi-final in four seasons under Benítez. He said: "When I talk to my players, I don't talk that much about Liverpool – I talk about Real Madrid. I don't know anything about how they'll line up. The only thing I know for sure is that Liverpool will play with 11 players."

Those hoping for a defiant retort to Sir Alex Ferguson's assertion that Real have "no chance" of winning the Champions League this season were to be disappointed by Ramos' diplomacy. "I am not going to reply to Ferguson. I'm not interested in responding to him," he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Rafa would be treated with infinitely more respect at Madrid than he is at Liverpool, which is a shocking thing to say about a club that chews up and spits out managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭shakespeare

Melion wrote: »
    The man is in the top 5 managers in world football and people doubt him.

this opinion is based on what? if based on purely success then im afraid he is not even nearly top 5 as there are many more successful managers(allbeit older ones) doing the rounds...if based on his footballing philosophy then surely success is a sign of whether or not this "philosophy" is enough to consider him in the top 5?

and while a good manager, i do agree, top 5 is a bit flattering to him...i agree with a lot, if not all, of what youre saying but (and heres my point)i think its this type of "pedestol-ing" that may irritate other liverpool fans who arent as supportive of him.

Ps: if he goes on to succeed in the way that i presume you think he will then fair enough...but lets ease off with the subjective "top 5" crap...