Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Boggles wrote: »
    Deja Vu. Taken from the BBC June 2004

No, not at all!

The only similarity is the problem with the Director.
    Nothing else is similar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

anyone else want Voronin back pronto if he keeps up this form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

he's very popular with the Hertha fans supposedly.

I'd take him back if only to provide a different option.

Voronin's a great player.

Not top class by any means.
    He's not the ideal player for us, and he' never make our first team, but he's a good squad player.
    Like I've always said, he's not a striker.
    He's a support striker.
    His strenght lies in support play, and when on form, he can be very good.
    His close quater passing and through balls are very, very, good.
    He's missing pace and a long pass, and that's what makes him second class.

I'd be happy with him as a squad player, providing cover for Stevie, but never as first choice.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    he's very popular with the Hertha fans supposedly.

From what I can see he's been a fan favorite with every club he's been in bar Liverpool.
    He suffered from joining at the same time as Torres IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I wouldn't bring him back if Nemeth gets back to full fitness. He can play a similar role to Voronin but has far far more ability. I think we'll see him given a chance this season.

18apps 9 goals.Thats not at all bad.Id take him back and give him another shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,773 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

We are a fickle bunch aren't we?

~Rebel~ wrote: »

yep:D
    football fans are the worst type of people.Score a few goals and all is forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

....but if he came back and failed to score in a few games and we would up drawing nil nil.....

Personally, I'd fear that Rafa would play him as lone striker when resting Torres.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I've always liked "The Crow" and said he'd do well at Herta.
    He's never gonna be good enough to be first choice with us.
    But he's more than good enough to be back-up.

The guy is like a mini version of Alonso when on form.
    He can keep the attack ticking over.

He'll never be the biggest goalscorer, but he can contribute.

Can't see him coming back though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

The guy is like a mini version of Alonso when on form.
    He can keep the attack ticking over.

maybe stretching it a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I think that game against Besiktas is in Karmafaeries mind! 4 or 5 assists I think that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Voronin's a great player.

I'd be happy with him as a squad player, providing cover for Stevie, but never as first choice.

I think you would be in the minority Karmafaerie, if Gerrard was to have a prolonged injury, I don't think anyone would be happy having Voronin cover for a few months.

Voronin is not the worst player in the world, but he is by no means a great player, he looked well out of his debt at times with liverpool last season.

He is 30 this year and will never become more than an above average player in an average league.

I think you would be in the minority Karmafaerie, if Gerrard was to have a prolonged injury, I don't think anyone would be happy having Voronin cover for a few months.

Voronin is not the worst player in the world, but he is by no means a great player, he looked well out of his debt at times with liverpool last season.

He is 30 this year and will never become more than an above average player in an average league.

but is he not disproving that at the moment?a goal every two games and his team just went top of the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

raven136 wrote: »
    but is he not disproving that at the moment?a goal every two games and his team just went top of the league

It says more about the German League to be honest!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

monkey9 wrote: »
    It says more about the German League to be honest!!!

Absolutely correct............the german and dutch leagues are at their worst in living memory.

Voronins 2 goals were scored due to sunday league defending.

http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2091721/

http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2091908/

Why not bring back this fella too while were at it..........

http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2092566/

:rolleyes:;)

daithijjj wrote: »
    Absolutely correct............the german and dutch leagues are at their worst in living memory.

the best league in the world(tm sky sports)had defending my 3 year old could have done better in the pompey liverpool game last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I watched Hertha Berlin play Pat's earlier in the season and they were average. Pat's should have knocked them out. Voronin was laughable at the RDS. He missed a sitter just after the break that literally had me laughing.

He's doing well in Germany. Fair play, he can stay there! The bloke shouldn't be wearing a Liverpool shirt!

It proves he can play and be successful in the German league, that is all really.

the best league in the world(tm sky sports)had defending my 3 year old could have done better in the pompey liverpool game last week.

So you think voronin might score goals like that against a top 4/5 team in the prem?............id say pompey might even win the german league if they were in it...........its brutal, with the occasional good player splashing about in a few teams.

I always liked young Speedy myself...formed a nice partnership with Aurelio. It was only playing with Riise he didn't look so good (understandable given riise's form that season). Unfortunately Aurelio found himself out for long stretches that year (his first).

Well to be honest, there is a difference between scoring against barca and knocking in a few against german league teams...........do you think there may be a bit of a coincidence that alot of benitez signings in forward areas just cant settle in?

?wasn't saying i wanted Voronin back, just that i liked Gonzalez and would have liked him to have a second season...

As for Voro, i'd only want him back if we were short on options, eg if Kuyt or Yossi got inured or something.

Though, to be fair, it wasn't just "some german team" he scored 2 against, it was Bayern Munich, who do actually have a fairly tasty team. Not the best at the back, but far from the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

So you think voronin might score goals like that against a top 4/5 team in the prem?............id say pompey might even win the german league if they were in it...........its brutal, with the occasional good player splashing about in a few teams.

Sounds like you watch it week in, week out to have a broad sweeping statement like that?

The german league is not as bad as you may think. Currently 5th in the European leagues according to the UEFA co-efficient:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_coefficients

It's not to the standard of the premier league or la liga, but lads, it is far from sh1t....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

do you think there may be a bit of a coincidence that alot of benitez signings in forward areas just cant settle in?
    It's not "coincidence" that cheap strikers don't set the PL alight.

Keane and Torres excluded, Rafa's not had the £20m required to get "guaranteed" goals and attacking prowess.

PiE wrote: »
    It's not "coincidence" that cheap strikers don't set the PL alight.

Adebayor and Santa cruz have done alright, less than 4 million each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Adebayor and Santa cruz have done alright, less than 4 million each.

Don't forget Anelka ;)

jasonorr wrote: »
    Don't forget Anelka ;)

200 million at this stage?? :D

maybe stretching it a bit.

I said mini.;)

and Alonso controls the whole game when on song.
    Voronin can keep the attack moving, but only if he has the support behind him.