Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which type of Engineering would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Gileadi

jmccrohan wrote: »
    Agreed. Everyone seems to be an engineer of somesort these days..

Best term i heard along these lines was a guy who worked in Statoil calling himself a fuel injection engineer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 fluffyduffy

Do you mean installing alarms? If so its stretching the engineer term imo
    Why?? How would you define "engineer"??

Are you suggesting that phonewatch etc. dont use engineers to put in their alarms?? These alarms even have to be programed, not just anyone can do that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭geurrp the yard

seadog9 wrote: »
    I'm currently studying engineering in UCD, but next year I'll have a choice to make, I will either delve into Biosystems, Mechanical, Electrical and Electronic, Chemical or Civil Engineering, so I suppose here is a good place to go, which of these courses would you recommend? I personally am interested in 2 of them but I want to get views on all of them anyway, just in case.....

Recommendation on what basis? Job, salary etc?

Study in what your interested in! Peoples opinions on here are going to be bias towards what they studied or have an interest in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Are you suggesting that phonewatch etc. dont use engineers to put in their alarms?? These alarms even have to be programed, not just anyone can do that sort of thing.

Educationally speaking, someone who has completed a certified engineering course (preferably Level 8 or above on the National Framework of Qualifications). Depending on their position/responsibilities, they should also have appropriate work experience.

Phonewatch etc. use technicians to install their alarms. I'm sure they're very good, but installing equipment to instructions is a world away from solving engineering problems - could a technician design the alarm, for example?

The main problem is that Engineers Ireland have been useless at protecting 'engineer' as a professional title - anyone can call themselves one, regardless of qualifications. If I set myself up as 'Turbulent Bill, Medical Doctor and Solicitor', I'm sure the Medical Council and Law Society would come down on me like a ton of bricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Darren1o1

Educationally speaking, someone who has completed a certified engineering course (preferably Level 8 or above on the National Framework of Qualifications). Depending on their position/responsibilities, they should also have appropriate work experience.

Phonewatch etc. use technicians to install their alarms. I'm sure they're very good, but installing equipment to instructions is a world away from solving engineering problems - could a technician design the alarm, for example?

The main problem is that Engineers Ireland have been useless at protecting 'engineer' as a professional title - anyone can call themselves one, regardless of qualifications. If I set myself up as 'Turbulent Bill, Medical Doctor and Solicitor', I'm sure the Medical Council and Law Society would come down on me like a ton of bricks.

EI sent out a survey to members recently and allot of it focused on did the members want the title "Engineer" protect similar to other professions. The framework is already in place (AMIEI, MIEI, CENG etc) and there are several models from other countries which could be implemented. To protect the profession and to maintain quality it makes sense. Problem is in certaon professions (mechanical, electrical etc) there is no emphasis to get chartered unlike in Canada where most job require it when you reach a level.

Darren1o1 wrote: »
    EI sent out a survey to members recently and allot of it focused on did the members want the title "Engineer" protect similar to other professions. The framework is already in place (AMIEI, MIEI, CENG etc) and there are several models from other countries which could be implemented. To protect the profession and to maintain quality it makes sense. Problem is in certaon professions (mechanical, electrical etc) there is no emphasis to get chartered unlike in Canada where most job require it when you reach a level.

Thanks Darren1o1, but the fact that they had to ask whether the title should be protected is ridiculous - why else would someone belong to a professional organisation if not to support the members' interests?! Did it take the 'washingmachine engineer' small ads for them to realise that 'engineer' might need to be protected? EI controls engineering titles in Ireland, acredits suitable courses etc. but does little to protect them once they've been granted or even stress their value to the general public.

I think the main driver in Ireland for becoming chartered is legal - as far as I know, chartered civils are required to sign off on certain works. The chartering process requires mentors / leaders who are chartered (as far as I remember). It's much more difficult for engineers in other fields to become chartered simply because there are few chartered colleagues around - it's chicken-and-egg. Until the title is properly protected, I don't think this is likely to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

I think we have two issues here

1. "Education Inflation" where pass "degrees" are being issued by ITs and an "honours" degree can be obtained by simply completing the fourth year. This is a factor of the increased commercialisation of our third level institutions, where quantity is more important than quality.

2. The dilution of degree titles ie Civil into environmental, structual, and the multiple other engineering degree titles springing up all over the place. These make cross specialisation after qualification more difficult IMO.

If I were starting off again I would make sure I did either civil, mech or electrical, depending on what I liked best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭fishdog

"Education Inflation" where pass "degrees" are being issued by ITs and an "honours" degree can be obtained by simply completing the fourth year

I am doing a level 7 degree (electrical engineering). It takes 3 years full time. I know that this will not make me an engineer. I am told that I will be a "technologist" or "technician" depending on who I ask.

To get an hounours degree would take me another 2 years full time, it is not just a case of "completing the fourth year".

It is possible for me to become a chartered engineer without going for the hounours degree, it would just take a very long time!!

Dundhoone wrote: »
    I think we have two issues here

1. "Education Inflation" where pass "degrees" are being issued by ITs and an "honours" degree can be obtained by simply completing the fourth year. This is a factor of the increased commercialisation of our third level institutions, where quantity is more important than quality.

2. The dilution of degree titles ie Civil into environmental, structual, and the multiple other engineering degree titles springing up all over the place. These make cross specialisation after qualification more difficult IMO.

If I were starting off again I would make sure I did either civil, mech or electrical, depending on what I liked best.

I did an honours degree and seen people coming from IT's struggle with the levels after three years of education (Despite the fact we had only done two). To say come in and simply do "fourth year" is quite untrue and a little irresponsible.

I did my degree in Medical mechanical engineer (now titled biomedical). I did my degree because I felt it would give me a route into mechanical and/or biomedical. As it turns out I have to date practiced solely as a Mech but I have the option to return to a biomed industry. I would not have done it any other way, I think courses are the way the are based on opinion of those going into them. I think course focus should be judged by demand and as such regulated by the universities. Some people have an idea of a focused industry the want to proceed into and as such do these course. I could not have bared 2 years common education as was the case in an other university so I choose my course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

fishdog wrote: »

To get an hounours degree would take me another 2 years full time, it is not just a case of "completing the fourth year".

That wasnt a technician bashing post, I just think that this whole national framework for qualifications setup was in order to "inflate" diplomas into degrees (pass).

Can someone enlighten me? If you complete your pass degree in 3 years and go on to do two more on an honours degree course, what do you graduate with? I presume so that if you scrape a pass after the five years that you get a pass level 8 degree (and same for a uni four year course)???

Trad engineering courses always allowed transfer from distinction in a diploma to third year of a degree course. And those students were behind on the maths, and way ahead on practical subjects in my experience.

That wasnt a technician bashing post, I just think that this whole national framework for qualifications setup was in order to "inflate" diplomas into degrees (pass).

Can someone enlighten me? If you complete your pass degree in 3 years and go on to do two more on an honours degree course, what do you graduate with? I presume so that if you scrape a pass after the five years that you get a pass level 8 degree (and same for a uni four year course)???

Trad engineering courses always allowed transfer from distinction in a diploma to third year of a degree course. And those students were behind on the maths, and way ahead on practical subjects in my experience.

They are still differentiated. They are just trying to equalise with other standards all part of the bologna process. As a pal of my has been told (not certain myself), the english MENG is similar to our BENG (Hons). This change is known across the industry and was not part of any inflation but mean't to help equalise us with europe.

I had two friends coming out top of their respective courses (Diploma/ordinary degree) into third year. They had to complete as if coming from second year and were behind on the maths as you said. Level 8 courses have less emphasis on practical work for a reason. Not to sound condescending but we were told, engineers design and develop, techs make it.

I am now working as a Design engineer and this has always been true for me. It is good to have a practical background, but more often that not, it is easier to pick up in industry. The mathematics is more difficult to pick up again. This is just from my experience (working with an in house casting and machining facility).

I don't think the NFQ is inflating diplomas - it's fairly clear that a pass degree isn't equivalent to an honours one, and I'm sure employers are aware of the difference (if they have any interest). In most cases having a degree is a box-ticking exercise for engineering recruiters if you went to a big university, whereas they mightn't be as familiar with IT degrees and would check them out.

As far as I know, if you transfer into an honours degree course you're treated the same as the other incoming 3rd years - exactly as it should be. You can then go on to pass/fail/honour the Level 8 course.

As an example, a friend of mine who was weak at maths but otherwise an exceptional engineer did a diploma and followed on with an honours degree in a big Dublin uni (5 years total). He finished with a 1st, so it's entirely possible to do well by going this route.

I don't think the NFQ is inflating diplomas - it's fairly clear that a pass degree isn't equivalent to an honours one, and I'm sure employers are aware of the difference (if they have any interest). In most cases having a degree is a box-ticking exercise for engineering recruiters if you went to a big university, whereas they mightn't be as familiar with IT degrees and would check them out.

As far as I know, if you transfer into an honours degree course you're treated the same as the other incoming 3rd years - exactly as it should be. You can then go on to pass/fail/honour the Level 8 course.

As an example, a friend of mine who was weak at maths but otherwise an exceptional engineer did a diploma and followed on with an honours degree in a big Dublin uni (5 years total). He finished with a 1st, so it's entirely possible to do well by going this route.

Agreed. One of the top people in our course was from an IT and beat allot of people from a direct level 8. It depends in the person in the end!

That wasnt a technician bashing post
    I know. I was just trying to explain it to you that it is not just a case of "just doing the 4th year"
    And those students were behind on the maths,
    For me to transfer to year 3 I need a minimum of 70% in maths because of this.
    Not to sound condescending but we were told, engineers design and develop, techs make it.
    I would think that is quite accurate. Some (not many) with level 7 only do progress on to work as if they were engineers after several years from what I have seen.
    I don't think the NFQ is inflating diplomas - it's fairly clear that a pass degree isn't equivalent to an honours one, and I'm sure employers are aware of the difference (if they have any interest).
    Exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭casey jones

I think this demonstrates how the status of engineers in Ireland is compromised by the loose manner in which it is used. This in turn makes it unattractive to people, especially girls, as a career. The "engineer" is the guy who programmes the alarm or fixes the phone, not the person who develops new technology or applications. The media are really poor on this also, they report on how "engineers" are climbing poles to fix phone or ESB lines after a storm. Engineers Ireland need to tackle this as a priority or engineering will never attract good people in sufficient numbers. As someone said recently Irish students are divided between those who have no aptitude in maths and those who study accountancy or law. If Engineers Ireland cannot deal with this there is no point in subscribing to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭von Neumann

You can't force people to recongise the value of engineering.
    You can set standards, but these standards have to stack up in the real world if anybody is going to take any notice.

Unfortunately, A good engineering degree does not equal a good engineer, so therefore nobody really cares about qualification as they don't prove anything in the real world.

I do agree that the profession requires a rebranding and better protection of the title.

A good engineering degree does not equal a good engineer
    Yes you are correct that it does not always follow, but for example it is often the case that only a chartered engineer can sign off on certain work.
    so therefore nobody really cares about qualification
    In some cases yes, but for many engineering jobs if you have not got the qualifiaction that is required you will not even get an interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I do agree that the profession requires a rebranding and better protection of the title.

I recently saw a funny one. A girl described herself as a janatorial engineer. What she actually does is clean toilets. Not to mention the bin men calling themselves waste management engineers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Im currently doing electronic and computer engineering and must say its quite enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I think this demonstrates how the status of engineers in Ireland is compromised by the loose manner in which it is used. This in turn makes it unattractive to people, especially girls, as a career. The "engineer" is the guy who programmes the alarm or fixes the phone, not the person who develops new technology or applications. The media are really poor on this also, they report on how "engineers" are climbing poles to fix phone or ESB lines after a storm. Engineers Ireland need to tackle this as a priority or engineering will never attract good people in sufficient numbers.

+1,
    It is very easy to be classed as an engineer these days, and easier than ever to become one with the array of degrees out there. Quite simply many of these courses don't handle any level of difficult maths, I have seen some basic papers for 3rd and 4th year students, but is difficult maths required in all engineering fields? no it's not IMO.
    Colleges that once held high standards still do, but they offer other qualifications that are easier to obtain and will still provide a student with a degree in engineering. Fair play to anyone who completes these courses.

The standard, entry level requirements and work load are all lower/less then the traditional courses, but both people end up with a degree in engineering, One student may have studied hard to get honors maths in the leaving, the other got a C or B in pass maths he/she may have opted for a diploma in Engineering with an option to spend an extra year to get a degree, there was a time when this was 2-3 years extra (or five part time).

At the end of the day both can become an IEI member one just knows a hell of a lot more then the other about the subject. The other guys seldom recognise this and consider themselves on par. Most industries agree with them.
    I use to recommend that people study with the IEI (a difficult studying environment). However recently I have advised people to get a handy qualification in as fast a time as possible, if you kill yourself for the harder course and end up in the same interview what's the point? I know the odd place will be fussy, but most will not, of course this is not a good attitude to have but I try to tell people that there is an easy road and a hard one and in many cases they lead to the same place.

Students in college IMHO seem to over estimate how their particular course is valued. I remember all the crap that went on when in was in college about which course was better, it was in the most part complete rubbish.
    The real world is different, at an interview having degree may be required to get the interview but the interviewer will look at different aspects of an application once the existence of a degree has been established.

Take for example the amount of times someone from HR give the green light for an engineer to be taken on. In the past I saw some of the pay scales for Intel and HP staff, a cert, diploma, degree and post grad were all grades, where you received these qualifications was not an issue.

Real work experience is what determines an engineer IMO. Most positions require a lot of training, many times it is required to almost start again when the work place is entered. Since they say we only use about 10% of our training in the work place, maybe knowing all that extra material is not as important as some might think.
    For example if someone joined HP with a cert they will be provided with some fantastic training opportunities for years, someone with a degree might work somewhere with little or know professional development, who is to say that after 5 or 6 years that the HP guy is not better trained then the guy with a degree? or is less entitled to be called an engineer, not me anyway.

I don't know about the IEI TBH, I have written to them at length in the past about some issues I have with them. They can make it difficult for some things and too easy for others IMO, at an elementary level I have an issue with big boys clubs, but the doors are wide open now.
    I have noticed in the last 3-4 years a huge improvement in their communications methods, their regular updates and CPD info is well documented and very appropriate IMO. I think they are doing some excellent work. Once the polly techs in the UK started to offer degrees in the UK it was only a matter of time before we followed here, their hands were tied IMO, the country needs stats to show how qualified we are as a nation. The UK and Ireland work too closely together to have such a discrepancy IMO, colleges here followed the UK lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I have a diploma in Engineering(Electronics) and cannot get any job at the moment. I am converting to Mechatronics as this is what employers want.
    I was in Intel doing motherboard repair on Customer returns, very stressful, very competitive and in the end the jobs were shipped to Hungary which was cheaper.
    I transferred to the FAB operations and I was treated as a joke.
    They wanted and paid better for craft persons such as plumbers, electricians and fitters and instrumentation people who were respected better and paid better than I was. I was relegated to doing routine operations which I found soul-destroying and mind numbing.
    I found it a bitter experience and left in Nov 08 to pursue craft related course in mechatronics with FAS which I am finding challenging in hands on stuff but enjoyable all the same.
    I have learnt more in FAS in 9 months than I learned in 7 years in FAB in Intel.
    While there were some notable exceptions in Intel such as the trainers who thought me operations (One was an Indian with a doctorate in Electronics, completely wasted doing ops in a FAB........) most technical people guarded their information jealously and were afraid to train and educate new people properly. They only opened up with info when leaving for a better job and the trainee would not show them up, such was the level of competiveness in Intel.
    It is well within the bounds of possibility that Electronics will open up and begin to pay dividends in the future but it will be for multidisciplinary people with a grasp of chemistry, mechanics and Biology who will reap the most benefits rather than specialists.
    Going through all the branches I'd say construction and civil are crippled for the next 4-5 years until we get rid of the housing surplus and government spending will stop civil eng projects in their tracks.
    The downturn the the car industry will also cripple mechanical eng.
    Obamas recently announced energy infrastructure projects to take the US away from fossil fuels might bode well for Wind, Solar and energy management and advanced building management expertise esp. energy demand reduction.
    The Irish govt have set aside 300million fro broadband rollout in non covered areas so the immediate future of network engineers is ok, but I fear this area, like the railway boom of the 1870's, is overdone and needs a sound revenue plan to sustain itself. Who will pay for all this lovely infrastructure? What will be the benefits to people of all this access and information and who will regulate it?
    What I find out in the jobs market is companies looking for skills in HVAC, electrical utilities experience and also the mechatronics skillset.
    This would take years to accumulate and leaves me in a difficult position jobwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭lg123

doolox wrote: »
    The downturn the the car industry will also cripple mechanical eng.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

The downturn the the car industry comment confused me also. Not every mechanical engineer works in the car industry, i would imagine there is more electrical guys.

This debate could go on forever, depending on your perspective of mechanical/electrical and everywhere in between. Being mechanical myself, I am of the opinion a engineer worth anything will have some knowledge of everything and not just one discipline. I am in a mechanical Eng role but daily I come across electrical tasks. So bear that in mind that its not so black and white in real world industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭cluelessx2

What about chemical/process engineering? I feel that there aren't too many of us! As far as jobs go, it's not the worst, you don't have to specifically work in any one area, it's quite varied, I have worked in lots or areas, mech, elec (not so much though), environmental, quality, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 billygruff

If anyone is thinking of doing anything releated to Manufactruing Engineering - take a reality check... that is unless you want to live in Asia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭sul02

Unfortunately manufacturing companies employ a wide range of engineering disciplines......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 paddy353

I'm currently studing electrical and electronic engineering and i'm focusing more on electrical side and I see a large downturn in the speed at which employers want to take on studnets but they are still willing. I'm doing a work placement with Eirgrid this summer, hopefully it all goes well......:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

While China has an advantage in the short term it looks as if Europe and North America are waking up to the realities of what will happen to them strategically if they give up manufacturing altogether.
    Obamas recent initiative ( $900billion ) to create jobs in the U.S should go some way to redressing the East/West job imbalance and bring manufacturing jobs back to the West.
    Similar initiatives are probably needed in Europe.
    The U.S student population generally shunned Science and Engineering in favour of less rigourous options in administration, law and humanities more suitable to jobs in services etc.
    These are all gone belly up now as the banks, insurances etc try and recover some of the credibility they have lost worldwide.
    There may be a return to Science and Engineering because of this.
    While a resurgence in manufacturing may happen it will be highly automated and capital, rather than people, intensive. Like the refineries and power stations of today a few,highly skilled people will run the show.
    It won't solve the unemployment problem on its own.
    Neither will services. Most people will be able to avail of banking,insurance and countless other financial services through the internet. Other sectors will be hit in the same way with jobs in them reduced.
    We now face a crisis similar to that in the 1930's:- what to do with a vast army of underskilled underpaid struggling class which will be a permanent feature of future society.
    The people of the 1930's solved it with a war which,through fear,rapidly mobilised an enormous workforce to make weapons and massive armies to use them.
    After the war came the present financial and political framework which is running our lives today. Just as the communists woke up in 1989 and found their system collapsing, we capitalists have woken up to see our system collapsing.
    What will replace it in terms of arbitrating who gets the nice toys, big houses decent lifestyles etc and who gets the leftovers is not yet known.
    That there will be room in it for Scientists and Engineers is as safe a bet as any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

cluelessx2 wrote: »
    What about chemical/process engineering? I feel that there aren't too many of us! As far as jobs go, it's not the worst, you don't have to specifically work in any one area, it's quite varied, I have worked in lots or areas, mech, elec (not so much though), environmental, quality, etc.

i think chemical is awesome indusrty to get into.
    good variety to go into anything, although it does lack in civil areas, has a good bit of cross over with mech and elec.

but the main reason chem is briliant... is there are only two proper colleges in the republic fo ireland that produce them!
    cork and ucd. so you are more then likely gauratunteed an engineering job if you want it. and if not, alot of chemical engineering companies such as irish cement, take on chemical engineers as jr managers, and puch them into proper management.

this means that after a couple of years in such companies you will have good experience to move into the business field if you want to.

another exaample of this is ROCHE, upon graduation if you hire on witht hem its a two year full time contract, during which you will attand a university(cannot remember which off the top of my head) to obtain a diploma in managment. another example of a company who will push you towards business.

there are pleanty of others i just am tired right now...

i just think chem is great because obiously i am one, but i want to end up in business or at least have option to! so it gives me opportunity and experience to.

btu more then on that, most pharmecutical companies in ireland cannot properly be hit by recession, as in people will still buy drugs if sick, they arent a luxury, and when a pharmecutical plant is built, it has to be kept for a set number of years before they make a profit, most plants in ireland havent hit that limit yet. so they cannot for the most part pack up and leave without losing millions which they wont do. so most jobs for chemical engineers in these areas are secure.

muboop1 wrote: »
    btu more then on that, most pharmecutical companies in ireland cannot properly be hit by recession, as in people will still buy drugs if sick, they arent a luxury, and when a pharmecutical plant is built, it has to be kept for a set number of years before they make a profit, most plants in ireland havent hit that limit yet. so they cannot for the most part pack up and leave without losing millions which they wont do. so most jobs for chemical engineers in these areas are secure.

Keep dreaming. EVERY pharma company will be hit by recession to a greater or lesser degree, the same as any other industry. It's common knowledge that many of the major pharma's drug patents will run out in the next few years, hence we'll see generic replacements on the shelf at a lower cost. This will reduce demand for branded drugs currently in production in Ireland. Some companies might cut their losses on infrastructure and close/ reduce their production facilities.

Chem eng is an interesting and valuable field, but like any of the other fields it doesn't guarantee a job. Those involved in R&D, process development, quality improvement etc. are probably in the best position.