Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Okay I've lost interest in following every random rumour about Arshavin - I'm just going to wait until there's a yes or no - but on the plus side, we can earn some spare cash if we act quickly and rent out the stadium for an ice hockey match:

gun__1233572571_emirates_snow06.jpg?ic=5f9aedT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Arsenal/Cardiff match has been called off tomorrow night.
    The one fecking time I'm not in work or have a match... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Zenith never wnted the deal to go through anyway. Hence why they made it as awkward as possilble. Same happened when Tottenham were after him, same when Barcelona were after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Deal is back on according to SSN. Whoop de do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

keano_afc wrote: »
    Deal is back on according to SSN. Whoop de do.

I doubt it. They're just dragging the story out for another few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,150 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I hope he doesn't sign.. I'm sick of the **** already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Has anybody seen this classic save from one of our ex players (:pac:).

http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2017466/

Ye can see Ribery was gutted when this didn't go in, funny stuff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Latest news is that the clubs have agreed on terms and Arshavin has accepted our contract offer! :):):):)

Still seems to be an issue with regards a payment Zenit want from the player himself

Roddy23 wrote: »
    Has anybody seen this classic save from one of our ex players (:pac:).

http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2017466/

Ye can see Ribery was gutted when this didn't go in, funny stuff though.

God i miss him and his crazy german ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

This seems to be the latest:

1558: This just in from BBC Radio 5 Live's Mike Sewell: "Arsenal and Zenit have agreed a fee and I understand personal terms have also been agreed and Andrei Arshavin is having a medical this afternoon. But there is a but, as Zenit want half of his signing-on fee for signing for Arsenal. That is now the sticking point." Hmm. They've got (weather permitting) 62 minutes to sort it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

SSN are saying:

15.48 At last Arsenal and Zenit St Petersburg have finally agreed a fee for the transfer of Andrei Arshavin to the Gunners. The deal is still to be finalised though with Arshavin and the Russians still to sort out a final payment. It is understood Arshavin will wear the number 13 shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Nooooo not No.13!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Arsenal haven't reached an agreement with Zenit.

its off according to SSN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

website says it is still on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

It's on, its off, its on again, its off again, its on again, It's off again...He's flying to London, its off again, he's flying back to Russia, No wait! its on again, he's on the next flight to London, off again, waiting for his flight back to Russia, No no he's checking out Hotels in London, its off again. Arshavin passes medical!....it's off again..........

This is the most ****in ridiculous transfer saga ever!:mad:

If it really doesn't go through i will be seriously annoyed for allowing myself to get optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Will be extracting the urine a little if the deal is facilitated by the PL on the grounds of weather seeing as he's been at the Emirates for most of the day, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I reckon he is going to sign by the end of the night. The chap does nothing but complain at Zenit. Its either this or wait till the summer so I reckon he is going to sign and Arsene to knock a few bob off his wages to !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I really couldn't give a crap at this stage.
    I'd rather the money was spent somewhere else on someone who isn't going to cause problems.

God Help him he wont be earning nearly 4 million a year, he'll only be getting less than half that, how will he survive without selling 6 of his cars?

Footballers earn ridiculous money and yet they are one of the greediest professions

Zenit to make a statement at 7 ! :eek:

source?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

If Arshavin has been in London all day, Arsenal can hardly blame the snow here to get the deal pushed through late surely the deal is off now no matter whats said at 7pm by Zenith. yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

If Arshavin has been in London all day, Arsenal can hardly blame the snow here to get the deal pushed through late surely the deal is off now no matter whats said at 7pm by Zenith. yes?

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Dust still has to settle but Arsenal seem to be saying it's done, medical is passed etc and for some reason Zenit are the only ones confusing the issue.

SSN said they just spoke to an agent involved in the deal who said everything was faxed to PL well before the deadline and that Arsenal were of the understanding the deal was done.

people are going on as if its the end of the world. so we didn't pay over the odds for an unproven player! big deal. truth is if we weren't going to buy a defensive player this window then it wasn't going to make much difference anyway. anyhow the behavior of both arshavin and zenit left alot to be desired.
    id have preferred the money went on Alonso or arteta.

WEnger says the deal will go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Arsene has said Arsenal will make an announcement tonight and it will be positive so deal looks like it is done thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

No

Deal is done according to Arsene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

The paperwork was sent well before the 5pm deadline

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

OPENROAD wrote: »
    No

Deal is done according to Arsene.

well Its not what i as a Villa fan want to hear (although as a football fan im looking forward to watching him) but I was just saying i doubt they would be using the snow/weather excuse for a late deal, with Arshavin here in london all day. If its done according to Arsene id say the deal was put through before 5pm and then Zenith just confused everyone guess we will see when Zenith make that statement in a few mins.