Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shower break-in

1235»

This bit of advice is for your flatmate. Next time you act like such a knob, get a bag of flour and dump it over him when he leaves the bathroom. And then go have your shower.

I honestly wouldn't have been able to control myself in that situation. You would have been dragged out of the shower. A job interview on its own is stressful enough without you adding to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

AARRRGH wrote: »
    What crime did she commit?

breaking down a bathroom door with an intimidating atidude knowing the man was possible naked is definately a crime in my book..

put it this if a man did it to a woman its a crime so there should'nt be a difference.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,381 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

robbie1977 wrote: »
    breaking down a bathroom door with an intimidating atidude knowing the man was possible naked is definately a crime in my book..

put it this if a man did it to a woman its a crime so there should'nt be a difference.

Let's not get all worked up about the whole crime thing, ok? The only possible charge that could be brought against the woman is criminal damage for breaking the door, and it would be up to the landlady to decide whether she wanted to press charges on that. Getting an intimidating attitude ramped up to the level of a public order offence such as disorderly conduct or threatening behaviour would probably be impossible without any other witnesses, and I don't even know if they'd apply in a private dwelling. And as for seeing your flatmate naked in the bathroom? Well if it was a crime I would have been arrested for it myself on at least once occasion. Thankfully she chose not to call the Gardaí. :)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,988 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

TBH, I think 40 mins in the shower is a bit much. I'm a girl, and I've got a good thick head of hair which is about waist length, and I can have my shower, shave legs, exfoliate etc and it takes me 20 mins max, and that's if I'm using one of those 'leave in for 5 mins' conditioners, on an average day I'd only be 10-15 mins. I don't live in a house share, I live with my OH and if he was in the shower for 40 mins, I'd probably start getting worried in case he'd fallen and knocked himself out or something!!!!

I know you enjoy your shower, but you need to accept that with 8 people sharing a bathroom, for you to be doing this every day is quite selfish. Would you not consider having a quicker shower (10-15 mins) maybe 5 or 6 days a week and having your more luxurious shower on the other 1 or 2 days? You may also find that this cuts down on the electricity bills. Not to mention being better for the environment.
    Gordon wrote: »
    The simple solution is dialogue. You must hold a house meeting, you don't talk with your housemates enough and you simply must if you are to continue to be healthy in the mind.

Call a house meeting and do a house meeting every month or so, regularly. (or do you do that? I can't understand all that's posted tbh)

This is very good advice. The impression I've got from reading your posts is that you don't really communicate with your housemates. Your showering habits may well really annoy them, but maybe they just haven't said anything to you. A regular house meeting would mean that issues like this could be brought up and addressed as they arise, rather than a case like this where someone's anger built up so much that they broke a door down. Yes, her actions were out of order, however I think if you're going for a 40 minute shower in a shared house, it's just common courtesy to mention it to people before you go in, especially if you're not in a hurry and are just showering for pleasure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

40 minutes is a joke!
    Everyone has a breaking point and this other tenant reached hers. I don't know how long the two of ye were living together but it could have been slowly building from the first week.

And you mentioned she had a job interview so she was likely very stressed and in these tough times, maybe desperate for a job.
    Now it doesn't excuse what happened and for sure, if a lad did this to you OP, i expect the posters here would giving different responses.

Someone else mentioned this and got an infraction, don't know why as it was a good idea. :confused:
    Go join a leisure centre, you can spend a hour or two in sauna, steamroom, jacuzzi, cold showers and whatever else and it seems like something you'd be into

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

You hog the main bathroom in a house that 8 people live in? That is so so so selfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

What exactly do you do in the shower for 40 minutes? Genuine question, I'd really like to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,488 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Looking for his brain cell or something
    Op is a fcukin nutjob ..that's for sure.
    It's the rest of the tenants I feel sorry for..surprised they didn't get him kicked out already.

Looking for his brain cell or something
    Op is a fcukin nutjob ..that's for sure.
    It's the rest of the tenants I feel sorry for..surprised they didn't get him kicked out already.

Banned for a week for personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    What exactly do you do in the shower for 40 minutes? Genuine question, I'd really like to know.

OP has already told us. With 8 other people in the house its pure selfish OP.
    OP wrote:
    In the shower I usually use one sponge which is metally hard, another massage brash for about 5-7 minutes, then the simple soft sponge to thoroughly and slowly cover every tiny part of the body. When I use hair gel I have to wash the head twice or three times with the freeze tamper shampoo. Besides I was taught to let shampoo stay on your head for at least five minutes while massaging it. I also like to spend the first five and the last five minutes simply under running water, I really love the specific feeling deep and slender from playing with the temperatures while doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I'm sure if the situation was reversed, and the guy broke into the girls bathroom, while she had but a towel wrapped around her, there'd be the exact same reaction to her taking that long in the shower. Isn't equality great?

FWIW, the 3 S's can easily take the guts of half an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

OP, that is an absolutely crazy routine. 10 mins just under the water? Get a ****ing grip as well as some sense of decency towards your housemates. Unless you've got hair like Rapunzel then cop yourself on and have some god damn respect for your housemates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Dudess wrote: »
    How does being pushed and pushed and pushed to the point where she lost her temper make her a "lunatic"?

Because she reacted like one. You're responsible for your own actions, nobody else is - "he made me do it" doesn't wash. I'm sure it was a pain in the arse for her, but only a lunatic would knock the door in.
    Let's be realistic here, I'm a 14 stone grown man and I'd have to put some effort in to kick a door in. This girl must have been waaaaaay out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

davyjose wrote: »
    I'm sure if the situation was reversed, and the guy broke into the girls bathroom, while she had but a towel wrapped around her, there'd be the exact same reaction to her taking that long in the shower. Isn't equality great?

FWIW, the 3 S's can easily take the guts of half an hour

I don't think anyone is debating that she was wrong to burst in like that. The OP did willingly and selfishly ignore her requests and from his post it seems that he quite enjoyed annoying her. Both are in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

davyjose wrote: »
    Because she reacted like one. You're responsible for your own actions, nobody else is - "he made me do it" doesn't wash. I'm sure it was a pain in the arse for her, but only a lunatic would knock the door in.
    Let's be realistic here, I'm a 14 stone grown man and I'd have to put some effort in to kick a door in. This girl must have been waaaaaay out of control.

I'm taking a wild guess here but I doubt it was quite the psychotic door-breaking image you have in your head
    Eric_85 wrote: »
    After which with a repetitive knock she actually broke the door in.

After a repetitive knock. Hardly sounds like the door was very secure anyway.
    Don't think she deserves the lunatic label quite yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,010 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Guess I know how much your word is worth now, Zaph. One page! Also, if you are going to ban that guy for a week for insulting the OP then that Kinetic mod deserves one too as they are being just as annoying. You should be ashamed of yourself after what you posted to me just one page ago!

I'm sorry, have I just acquired magical powers of omnipotence that I know what everyone has posted in every single thread? I told you before that if you have a problem with a post you should report it, didn't I. But no, you'd rather act the smartarse and post rubbish like this instead.

As regards Kinetic^'s post, annoying is not the same as calling someone a fcukin nutjob. His post is no better or worse than countless that have gone before it berating the OP for his lack of consideration. Should I go back and ban all them too?

As it is if you weren't hiding behind an unregged login I'd be banning you for backseat modding. But seeing as I can't do that I'm taking the next option available to me, which is to lock this thread. It's only going round in circles anyway. If you have anything to say about this please feel free to do so on the thread in feedback, although unfortunately you won't be able to stay unregged there.

In the interests of full transparency, I'm copying the following unregged post that was made on a different, unrelated thread to here.
    re. Shower post, Zapherilla. Back seat modding my arse. I dunno if yer drunk or if the other mods have got to you or what but you semi had my respect there for a bit. And no, I couldn't be arsed taking it further. This is about you making a promise to me and breaking it a page later. Be ashamed! And no, I don't expect or want you to unscreen this. Fer your eyes only, caver! ;) I like PI and have been known to give good advice to people and my bit to you would be to not let people come in throwing 'mod attitude' around. And they were on that thread. Have a good night!

As I said previously, any further discussion on this can be comtinued on the thread in feedback.

And another one.
    Full transparency, my left nut! Full transparency would be unscreening my 2 posts answering that mod and yourself on page 9 of the shower thread, Zapherilla! Ooh cheeky. Tou-bloody-che, I guess. Go ahead, get the last word in! The break-in girl is still a nut, though...

I can only see one post of your's deleted, and it wasn't by me, it was another mod. I can undelete it if you like, but it's pretty much the same thing as the post 3 above this one questioning mod actions on the thread. I see no reply to Dudess anywhere. Give me a post number and I might have some chance, I'm on a different post count per page than you.

And stop it with the posts on other threads. If you have something to say to me PM me or post in feedback instead of hiding behind an unregged ID.