I'm in debt, and can't pay bills.

• 20-01-2009 06:25AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭

Basically, times are rough for everyone, but want to share my troubles.

Mortgage - behind by a payment
    Car - Not taxed for 3 months
    Car - not NCT for 6 months
    Car - not serviced for a year
    Mobile phone - soon to be cutoff this week
    TV licence - not paid for a month
    Mastercard - maxed out every month
    Babies - just had another one
    Missus - On the dole
    Me - working for multinational company

Struggling to put food on the table at the moment, don't know where my money is going. I don't go out at all, and have borrowed enough money from family to know when to say "I'm okay for cash".

I just wish things were easier. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Your best bet is to get in touch with mabs: http://www.mabs.ie/

They should be able to help you out.

Mabs :)

You probably over stretched your self with your mortgage.
    As you have a job,I'd suggest as one possibility of going into your bank and telling them that you will be selling the house and renting.

You can ask them if they are willing to work out a plan to allow you to bide your time in selling it but that thats the ultimate plan.

Theres nothing wrong in renting and it should allow you to save enough money to cover the rest of your out goings.

If you are in negative equity and for example owe a modest 30 k after the sale or something like that,then ask them to put that over 10 years for you.

But ultimately you'd want to be talking to mabs now and your bank.

Don't be worrying about it,theres worse that could be happening to you and wont :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I know its tough, but breaking it down, it's not as bad as you think.

First priority is the mortgage, call your company and tell them your in trouble. Maybe you can switch to an interest only payment for 12 months to get back on your feet.
    Car not taxed for 3 months, go to gardai tell them its been off the road and your back to date, then tax it for 3 months
    NCT, don't worry about it for the moment.
    Service, unless its giving trouble, treat it nice and it should be ok.
    Mobile Phone, switch to prepay straight away
    TV Licence, put it on the long finger for a while
    Mastercard, cut it up, you can survive without it
    Babies, congrats! Now use the extra childrens allowance to pay your credit card bill off. and the childcare supplement to pay extra off the Credit card. That will be €2800 over the year
    Missus, is she signing on and claiming all her benifits? Anyway if she just had a baby she won't be going to work for a while
    You. be happy you have a job, keep the head down and hope its Ok

Contact MABS if you need help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Basically, times are rough for everyone, but want to share my troubles.

Mortgage - behind by a payment
    Car - Not taxed for 3 months
    Car - not NCT for 6 months
    Car - not serviced for a year
    Mobile phone - soon to be cutoff this week
    TV licence - not paid for a month
    Mastercard - maxed out every month
    Missus - On the dole
    Me - working for multinational company

Struggling to put food on the table at the moment, don't know where my money is going. I don't go out at all, and have borrowed enough money from family to know when to say "I'm okay for cash".

You should start a simple budget. No computers necessary.

Just get An A4 pad line down the middle IN / OUT
    Record EVERYTHING you spend and every income, Salary, Dole, Childrens Allowance.

I did this when I was applying for my first mortgage and cut my outgoings by 250Euro per month.

Mortgage - is it fixed? Talk to your bank, they will be helpful if you want to just lengthen your term and reduce the repayments. DO NOT let a payment go unpaid. PAY the unpaid as a priority.

A mortgage broker can shop to switch your mortgage to get you a better deal.

Car - 3 months is 75Euro - if it's more than that you need a smaller car.

Car - Self service - change the oil, clean airfilter are jobs that anyone could do...

Car NCT - how bad is it, mine passed twice with an oil change.

Mobile- Good, Credit phone is what you need.

TV Licence, Eating is more of a priority, while i'm not advising you to not pay i'm just pointing out that you have 3 weeks to pay when they catch you because 'you just moved in'

Mastercard - Get rid of Credit card. Now - no excuses. It's not that you need it. if you manage to pay it then you have the cash.

Babies - how many, time to stop for a while...they cost money.
    Do you claim all child benefits? Have you enquired with revenue, citizens advice bureau.

You - Keep working :)

Sure it's tough but any situation can be made better by working Smarter not harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Mortgage is fixed for 5y with 4y to go, don't think I can break out of that so soon. Will try to get intererst only.

Only renewed my mobile contract in October, it wasnt an issue then, but is now...

No way am I renting, it's hard enough to get on the ladder. If i sell up i will never own a property again.

TV licence - wont a get a big fine in the door for not paying it?

Without sounding offensive get rid of your TV. Get off your ass and look at generating a second income from home in your spare time. The time you waste watching brain dead crap on TV could be used to research alternative streams of income or even studying so that you can command a higher salary. Same goes for your missus. The added benefit is that you will probably have more time to spend with your children and they wont grow up thinking just because they see an add on TV they HAVE to have it.

No way am I renting, it's hard enough to get on the ladder. If i sell up i will never own a property again.
    Good.
    That tells me:
    1.That your situation isnt that bad because you are confident that you can pay the mortgage with cutbacks.
    2: That your situation is far better and you are making moves to aleviate it far quicker or are in more of a position to aleviate it than this person

Now follow some of the advice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Mobile phone--bill phone's tend to be cheaper than buying credit. I personally couldn't afford to use a credit phone. I have an O2 mobile on a landline plan and it costs €25 a month flat rate including all calls to O2 and to landlines. I pay extra to call or text Vodafone people but bill doesn't go above €30. I don't have a landline, you probabl don't need one either. Cancelling the contract would probably be expensive but I'm sure you could change it to a lower price plan easily.

If you are missing the monthly standing order for the tv licence they will know so you are likely to be caught sooner than someone who never had a tv licence. Ask MABS what to do.

If direct debits are going unpaid from your account there are probably €6 fees being charged every time so you need to be aware of that.

Babies - just had another one--Congrats, but what were ye thinking:confused: Surely ye knew that ye couldn't afford more babies for now.

You still have a job and if you were to loose it you'd get redundancy money to keep you going for a bit.

You say you are in the 1st year of a 5yr fixed rate so I'm assuming the mortgage payments/house ownership is new to you. It takes a while to get used to the lifestyle involved in being a homeowner, it's easy to forgrt that your spending power is not what it used to be.

Is there a lot of debt on the credit card? So long as you are making the minimum payments you won't be in a any trouble over it but you will be charged a lot of interest.

Without sounding offensive get rid of your TV. Get off your ass and look at generating a second income from home in your spare time. The time you waste watching brain dead crap on TV could be used to research alternative streams of income or even studying so that you can command a higher salary. Same goes for your missus. The added benefit is that you will probably have more time to spend with your children and they wont grow up thinking just because they see an add on TV they HAVE to have it.

I have to disagree, his partner isn't working so is probably at home all day which can be very isolating. In that situation the tv provides company and is often the one thing that stops people from going crazy on their own. Unless they have a flat screen plasma or the like selling it won't bring in much money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Mortgage - behind by a paymenttalk to your bank,im sure theyre hearing this alot lately,they should help with this default payment
    Car - Not taxed for 3 months (guards have always signed off on my arrears no questions asked but dont leave it much longer
    Car - not NCT for 6 months no panic on this either can wait another while
    Car - not serviced for a yearask around friends of friends who know about cars its not rocket science doing a service
    Mobile phone - soon to be cutoff this weekgo pre pay or get rid of it, make any necessary calls from work if possible
    TV licence - not paid for a monthyou will get plenty of warning letters from An Post before or if they fine you
    Mastercard - maxed out every monthCUT IT UP end of, life goes on without them
    Babies - just had another onecongrats,no need to point out the obvious on this one
    Missus - On the dole€200/wk as well as your wage,shes had a baby give her a break and get a second job
    Me - working for multinational companylucky you to still have a job

Struggling to put food on the table at the moment, don't know where my money is going. (Lidl Lidl LidlI don't go out at all, and have borrowed enough money from family to know when to say "I'm okay for cash".

Maxwell Smart said it all right! Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

sunnyside wrote: »
    Mobile phone--bill phone's tend to be cheaper than buying credit. I personally couldn't afford to use a credit phone.
    that's not necessarily true. it depends entirely on your usage and nowadays pre pay is cheaper for low usage
    Cancelling the contract would probably be expensive but I'm sure you could change it to a lower price plan easily.
    not until he's been in the contract 6 months

Is there a lot of debt on the credit card? So long as you are making the minimum payments you won't be in a any trouble over it but you will be charged a lot of interest.

making the minimum payments on a credit card is a really bad idea. the best ides would be to pay it off asap and cut it up

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    making the minimum payments on a credit card is a really bad idea. the best ides would be to pay it off asap and cut it up

I wasn't suggesting that only ever making minimum payments is a good idea but it would keep the OP out of trouble with the credit card company. If he's behind on the mortgage and can't afford a tv licence where do you think he would get the money to pay off the card asap:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

mabs, mabs, mabs, they will deal with the fone co, they will work a plan for you, the banks and credit card company will have to go with them,
    the c.c. makes a lovely heart warming, reliveing glo in the fire,
    keep the tv, the missus and ankle biters need something at home all day in this climate,
    maby it is possible for her to take in a kid or two childminding, she is qualified, she is a mother, i f she does make sure you mention it to your house insurance co.it cost about 150 lids extra, BUT YOUR ARE COVERED.
    change your eating habits, cheaper food if better for you health wise. the likes of lidil and aldi have some really healty food for zilch, try their frozen veg microwave ready,
    whever you find it put 20 lids a week into the credit union i mean every week, week after week, in 10 months time you will have access to credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

yeah man lidil is a life saver I shop there all the time great food sweets veg is good meets not bad ok chease's and genrally you cant go wrong ..

My adverage on a week shoping in super value would be 80 euros or more.
    In lidil i can eat for a week thats breakfast lunch and dinner for 40 euros thats a 50% saving, thast in one week 40 euros to taxing your car.....

I have a bad cash flow at the moment too. Have a job and still live at home with parents so no mortgage. But I basically have me no money at the moment and I have been borrowing off people to get me by. Me credit card is maxed out too. I will basically owe out my full wage when I get paid next week (get paid by the month). It's very depressing. I have a bad binge drink problem at the weekends. I love going out. I need to stop but I can't because there's nothing else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I wasn't suggesting that only ever making minimum payments is a good idea but it would keep the OP out of trouble with the credit card company. If he's behind on the mortgage and can't afford a tv licence where do you think he would get the money to pay off the card asap:confused:

i've never understood that logic. if he can't afford to pay off the credit card now it's unlikely he'll be able to pay it off plus all the interest in a few months. he can't afford not to pay off the credit card

It's very depressing. I have a bad binge drink problem at the weekends. I love going out. I need to stop but I can't because there's nothing else to do.
    You actually need drastic measures but relative to others,you shouldnt be depressed from your financial position.If something else is causing that-then talk to someone about it :)
    Give half your wage minus what you give anyway to your mum and ask her to hold it for you and cut up your credit card.
    Dont be afraid to tell your friends thats what you are doing.
    Save €40 for the weekend entertainment-buy a cheap bottle of wine and that will get you started on merry ness and let the rest of the money buy your drink for the night.
    When it runs out -you have to stop.

I know one person like you thats doing that now and it's working well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

OP it might help to do a Sunday market here and there. I do the odd one when I need to get a few quid together. I get a few bits together over a few weeks, such as old mobiles, lamp shades, clothes, ironing boards, portable tvs, basically old tat. Fill up the car and head off to the sunday market. People will buy ANYTHING from you, stuff that you think is rubbish. I've often come home after 4 or 5 hours of standing in the cold with €400 or €500. Your friends and family will be only too willing give you their tat, as are mine thankfully. It only costs about a score to hold a stall too. I do 2 or 3 a year but I could do more if I bothered. It's now at the stage that family and friends just bring me stuff that they want to get rid of.

Now it won't cure your problems but it has really helped me out of tough times and it has to be the most profitable "occasional" income when you consider the amount of time and money you have to invest into it.

PS... FYI the easiest things to sell seem to be old bicycles in any condition, old portable tvs (esp if they have remotes), coffee tables and old tv stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

I know its tough, but breaking it down, it's not as bad as you think.

First priority is the mortgage, call your company and tell them your in trouble. Maybe you can switch to an interest only payment for 12 months to get back on your feet.
    Car not taxed for 3 months, go to gardai tell them its been off the road and your back to date, then tax it for 3 months
    NCT, don't worry about it for the moment.
    Service, unless its giving trouble, treat it nice and it should be ok.
    Mobile Phone, switch to prepay straight away
    TV Licence, put it on the long finger for a while
    Mastercard, cut it up, you can survive without it
    Babies, congrats! Now use the extra childrens allowance to pay your credit card bill off. and the childcare supplement to pay extra off the Credit card. That will be €2800 over the year
    Missus, is she signing on and claiming all her benifits? Anyway if she just had a baby she won't be going to work for a while
    You. be happy you have a job, keep the head down and hope its Ok

Contact MABS if you need help

Dont go near the gardai if you have had a ticket or think you may have got caught speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

I have a bad cash flow at the moment too. Have a job and still live at home with parents so no mortgage. But I basically have me no money at the moment and I have been borrowing off people to get me by. Me credit card is maxed out too. I will basically owe out my full wage when I get paid next week (get paid by the month). It's very depressing. I have a bad binge drink problem at the weekends. I love going out. I need to stop but I can't because there's nothing else to do.

you should not be funding going out by borrowing from other people. that is one easy way to lose your friends and alienate family. instead learn how to say no, and if you can't say no to drink go to AA. anyone whose alcohol consumption comes before fiscal responsibility and their future security has a problem with drink and you don't have to face that alone.

wake up before life gets worse and you still have a chance of regaining control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭bethm24

Wow the advice is so good here.
    You did the right thing by sharing this, good luck:o

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    i've never understood that logic. if he can't afford to pay off the credit card now it's unlikely he'll be able to pay it off plus all the interest in a few months. he can't afford not to pay off the credit card

You are making sense in theory but if the man has a cashflow problem where is he supposed to find the cash to pay off the balance (which could be a few thousand euro). Have you never been poor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 casstlebrook1

Hi All,

I cant seem to get a straight answer to this question from googling. Basically my car is now worth half what I paid for it and its on finance...what would be the outcome if I contacted them and said take it back, I cant afford the repayments?

I take it I get the usual credit rating hit, but does that mean I'm on a bad rating for life? What else happens....anyone in the know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭merlie

Speak with your local community welfare officer. They may be able to help you with some interim payments if your work payment isn't able to cover the costs of your day to day needs.

Contact whomever it is about your payment difficulties with the mortgage. Most would rather you pay something as opposed to nothing. Do contact MABS regards this. They will help and talk to them on your behalf so its less a stress on you and they can work out a payment that you can afford as well as your other debts into one monthly payment that wont break the bank.

I suggest that you should get a pay and go phone account. Get your account switched to pay n go rather than a bill phone. Take the bus or the luas or get a bicycle. Cars these days are expensive to run. You could perhaps sell the car and cover some of your costs. Maybe?!
    Pay the minimum on your mastercard forthe time being till you get sorted when you can pay more, so you do not run into trouble with them
    As to your tv licence, get a stamp book and buy stamps each week for 2 euros it will soon build up and you can pay your licence by that means.

Check with MABS and also the Citizens advice information. You just may be entitled to other benefits which you may not know of.

Other helpful hints n tips

I know it is tough going and it is hard for you to put food on the table but shop wisely for food and the everyday things you need. Go to Lidl and Aldi ( at the moment aldi are selling fresh vegetables and fruit for 49c. Go to Moore street market and stock up on vegetables.

You can get free stuff in different places that may help you in this difficult time.

If there are things you need such as clothes for your children try

www.jumbletown.ie

everything on there is free

If you are stuck for food

every wednesday between 10 and 12 am the capuchin day centre in bow street gives out food parcels to those that really need it such as those who are homeless and those on the breadline.

Also contact Vincent De Paul they may be able to help you as well either with things for your children or household payments.

I know it may feel like you are at the bottom of the rung when you get to this point in life, but people are out there and are willing to help you. Dont be embarrassed or worried, we all go through this in life at some point.

Do take care of yourself and the very best of luck,

Love,
    Merlie :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Missus - On the dole

I'm not sure what to say without being unhelpful.

So basically you got yourself into a mess by being really, really stupid. But you know that yourself at this stage. So it's about time to get smart and get your act together. It's that simple man. For short time remedies I'd say go with people's suggestions and see debt counseling.

And stop making more fkn babies 'til you have yourself sorted. It's plain stupid and more importantly it's not fair on your children.

What is it with people and babies? Don't people get the impact they have? Like increase expenditure massively and decrease time/ressources available for actually making money? And should be therefore planned somewhat? And planned with your head instead with your heart/dick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭ellie1

And stop making more fkn babies 'til you have yourself sorted. It's plain stupid and more importantly it's not fair on your children.

What is it with people and babies? Don't people get the impact they have? Like increase expenditure massively and decrease time/ressources available for actually making money? And should be therefore planned somewhat? And planned with your head instead with your heart/dick?

Yes op, you really should have predicted the recession and your wife becoming unemployed.:)

Follow the sound advise here.
    Another equally helpful site is ask about money and there is a money makeover section where ya slot in all your incomings and outgoings. I find that helpfull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

ellie1 wrote: »
    Yes op, you really should have predicted the recession and your wife becoming unemployed.:)

Ah come on, as if not being able to afford them ever stopped people from making babies.

Also, I wasn't giving out about the current baby (although that one was probably not made on a good financial basis either). All I said was 'stop making more babies...' I find that fairly sound advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Speak to MABS, but I think that a few small changes could take the burden off a bit.

Mortgage - behind by a payment Speak to the bank about some sort of arrangement
    Car - Not taxed for 3 months Do you 100% *need* a car? Could you switch to some sort of rental plan?
    Car - not NCT for 6 months Do you 100% *need* a car? Could you switch to some sort of rental plan?
    Car - not serviced for a year Do you 100% *need* a car? Could you switch to some sort of rental plan?
    Mobile phone - soon to be cutoff this week Switch to ready to go and limit your calls/texts. People will get used to it.
    TV licence - not paid for a month Set up a Direct Debit to pay it off monthly, you'll barely notice it leaving your account.
    Mastercard - maxed out every month Could you switch to a new card company with an interest free plan for the first few months?
    Babies - just had another one Limit your spending on toys and clothes, have a look in charity shops for toys, only shop in the cheaper shops for clothes.
    Missus - On the dole Would some sort of part time job be completely out of the question? A local shop or the like?
    Me - working for multinational company Is there any over time available? Could you get a job delivering pizzas at the weekend or something (if you're going to keep the car).