Garda caught rightly moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Bond-007 wrote: »
    It made my day.
    Made your day? It made their hole weak!

(I know - another recycled one!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »

Was that deliberate?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

no_jokes_please.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 dologhli

A number of years ago, I was at the Blackrock end of Mount Merrion Ave and waiting to turn right into Blackrock. (For those unfamiliar with the area, I was on a minor(ish) road, at a T junction, turning into a major dual carriageway; there are two right-turn lanes)

Anyway, there are traffic lights here, and on this occasion, despite the traffic lights being in working order, there was a garda standing in the junction directing traffic after a nearby accident.

This fella in a shiny new BMW or Merc or similar [i.e. fancy in comparison to my ten-year-old rustbucket] comes up behind me. Lights turn green. I stay put -- the garda is directing traffic on my road to stay, while he keeps traffic moving along the main road.

Mr BMW gives a quick flash of his lights. He then taps his horn. He then leans on his horn. It's clear he hasn't actually spotted the garda. Or the traffic still crossing in front of us. Or noticed that the traffic in the adjacent lane isn't moving either. However, Mr Garda has cast a glance in our direction, most likely attracted by the honking of Mr BMW.

Mr BMW gets even more impatient, and out of his car he hops. Tis a nice day, my window was already rolled down. I can hear him f---ing and blinding, his generous advice that I hurry to a nearby opticians to have my vision examined and also a quick lesson on how traffic lights apparently only have one shade of green, etc.

While this is ongoing, Mr Garda has stopped the crossing traffic. He looks in our direction and bellows "IS THERE A PROBLEM OVER THERE?!" Mr BMW stops mid-sentence, looks into the junction, and mumbles a simple "Eh... no... no problem here, guard," before turning on his heel and creeping back toward his car.

I was in pain trying to contain my laughter as yer man approached my car; I could see the people in the nearby cars all in stitches.

The last thing I saw in my rearview as I continued on my way was the garda having a chat with Mr BMW by the roadside. Made my day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

Not necessarily to the point.. but a couple of months back i came home from college and was studying in the sitting room when i seen a garda car pull up outside our gate and two uniformed gards walk quite slowly but seriously thowards the front door, jumping to all sorts of conclusions i ran to the door presuming there was somthing wrong. There wasnt... my dad is a retired member and they had stopped to look for directions to a neighbours house. We were talking and laughing for some time when we heard shouting coming from the garda car parked out on the road... when i looked my 10 1/2 stone st bernard had found a small, shy trainee gard hiding in the back of the car and decided to sit ontop of him and lick him, the little garda was trying to open the back door and let himself out but the childlock on the back door ment he couldnt....
    We were all buckled laughing, when one of the older gards calmly walked over to the car and let him out, the little trainee spent the next 10 minutes running around the front garden trying to escape the dog..... I dont think the trainee gard went home and told his friends that one!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

kind of funny , i pulled up to a check point last night ,and was stuffing my face with crisps from a 24hr garage ,i,ve been on a low carb diet for 6months and got a mad craving for crisps around 1am , so i had to make an excuse to go to the garage and eat me crisps on the way home , the missus would kill me ,if she knew igot them and dont let her eat tha crap lol

so the AGS stop me and say have you been drinkin , i said NO but he didnt catch that and put his ear in and asked again but this time he got an ear full of hunkydorys with the answer NO I DONT DRINK GARDA
    he was laughing @me and i was choking on crisps , and when we got to are senses i blew into the thingy and went on my way ,
    nice to see them out getting the drink drivers , fair play to them
    ive alot of respect for them and always am polite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Hope they weren't Salt and Vinegar Hunky Dory's. They'd set off the handheld with the strength of 'em! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

yes they were if you can picture me with not a carb in my system then getting 2 bags and stuffing my face before i got back to the house , what a rush i was all giddy , suprised he didnt want to swap my for head probably thought ,bloody stoner with the munchies , ,
    so funny

from time to time dad reminiceses about being in ags, he was always a bit of a wild one...full of devilment, a real countrish gda.
    He was talkin the other night about when he was in templmore and how himself and the other trainees used to listen to republican rebel songs, so the trainer thought he'd teach the lads more about republicianism and as soon as dad was qualified he was sent to the border (in the height of the troubles) and stationed in swanlinbar. An older gda was sent in temporiraly from the south. This senior gda was sh##less of the violence and bombings and wanted to go home,, so dad being the wise ass that he is decidid that he and the other lads would simulate a fake bomb and concocted a deadly looking contraption out of bean tins, wires and springs. They spotted the older gda out on patrol and flagged him down. they opened the boot of the squd car, lumped in their fake bomb and told the senior gda to bring it to the nearest quarry. A friend of theirs from the irish army was waiting out in the quarry for the senior gard, who jumped out of the car, dumped the apparent bomb and left again at speed. When the gda was passing the main road they let off a flare gun. Dad said the poor old bugger got himself transferred home the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That was an awfully silly thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭return guide

Driving back to Dublin from Carlow a few years ago, i was behind an old Jetta/Vento. While waiting to over take a forty foot truck a civic type with 2 lads in it started flashing us to get out of the overtaking lane. The Vento with two old lads was committed to the overtake but the they were not to be rushed, and i was following along nicely.

This was not to the civic drivers liking, so to my amazement he pulls into the hard sholder and passes the truck just as I am passing inthe overtaking lane.

It will be a long time before I forget the look on the civic drivers face as the old style "blue bottle" went up on the roof of the vento and the passenger put on his cap.

priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 YOUNGGUN

Driving from the bridewell a few weeks ago along the quays in half blues.Looked into my wing mirror and spotted this cheeky chappy in his red mini cooper flying up the bus lane on the mobile phone.There was a free flower up ahead at the Ormond quay junction. When cheeky chappy spotted the free flower he slowly dropped the phone and moved in behind me real sneekly, all the while i was watching this in the rear view mirror. As he passed the free flower he had a little check to see was free flower looking and lifted the phone again,thinking that he had pulled the wool over the eyes of the law...As he pulled up beside me at the next lights, still on the phone and after having a little giggle with his mate on the other end, I tooted the horn and introduced myself..On seeing the badge he nearly threw the phone into the liffey with the shock...The look on his face was priceless...

Whats a free flower?? Whats half blues?? Were you driving marked or unmarked??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

freeflower is a probationer garda who is attested and out of the college in time for operation freeflow, in Dublin that means 6 weeks of standing on an intersection directing traffic, and here in Limerick 6 weeks on beat,

half blue means wearing uniform but with a civvy jacket over it so the uniform cannot be seen, in other words the way you'd see a member on the way to or from work.

o righteo.... thanks for that!! ever since i joined boards, all i have been talking to are either gards or reserves or failing that people talking about the gards... a fairly popular bunch it seems... Im slowly getting used to the garda jargon, but to take cie's motto and use it as my own.... im not there yet but im getting there!!
    I dont understand how people get away with driving up the bus lane, it seems to anoy people alot.. much like que skipping or prank phone calls!! Do people not try and cut them off from getting back into the proper lane?? Im from the country so we dont have problems like that, we hardly have buses let alone bus lanes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

lyingeyes wrote: »
    Do people not try and cut them off from getting back into the proper lane??

I'd always try to block them from cutting back in front of me anyway but there's always some aul biddy who'll let people walk all over them.:rolleyes:

Ya i no the type alright.... a poor little old lady in a yaris that she won on winning streak!! Id never even consider doing it, personally id be mortified if everyone started beeping at me and then to get stopped by the gards on the side of a really busy road with eyeryone watching!! not a chance!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,480 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Ah sure it's only an €80 fine, and no points! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,158 ✭✭✭afatbollix

it could be if the gardai decides to charge you with Crossing a continuous white line, Failure to comply with prohibitory traffic signs and Failure to comply with traffic lane markings

all with points :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,480 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The wide line is not 'a continuous white line' in the sense you think it is.
    Failure to comply with prohibitory traffic signs = Driving in a bus lane during a time prohibited.
    Failure to comply with traffic lane markings = ditto.

So, one offence only, €80 fine, no points.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

lyingeyes wrote: »
    Whats a free flower?? Whats half blues?? Were you driving marked or unmarked??
    Free flowers arekind of like married ones, but get to spend a lot more time and/or money in Coppers.

Half Blues is the way you walk to the hatch after watching the sneaky 10 minute freeviews you get to see on certain "artistic" channels when you've made sure nobody else is in the staion during the night shift, lock the door and have the remote at the ready.

And as for marked or unmarked? Theres' plenty of Garda Caught Rightly moments in that one!

Deadwood there's no way around it, ill just have to come up to the big smoke and check coppers out for myself,, all ive heard so far is 1)its a bit of a dive 2) they charge a 10er in and 3) the women are about as easy as 1st class maths,, Deadwood, if i see you there ill buy you a drink, i take it you'll be the ont in the corner with your fone switched off, so mrs. deadwood wont be bothering you and you'll be watching blue movies on a conficated laptop....
    ..... and ohh no, i bet you wont be kicked out either for public indecency or offensive behaviour, as you have already appropriatly titled yourself ''deadwood''!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Free flowers arekind of like married ones, but get to spend a lot more time and/or money in Coppers.

Half Blues is the way you walk to the hatch after watching the sneaky 10 minute freeviews you get to see on certain "artistic" channels when you've made sure nobody else is in the staion during the night shift, lock the door and have the remote at the ready.

And as for marked or unmarked? Theres' plenty of Garda Caught Rightly moments in that one!

Deadwood, your always good for a laugh. . .thanks for cheering our sore heads up!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This guy really has a grudge for people who drive in Bus lanes...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5k-M-yTb1CY&feature=related

...rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

donvito99 wrote: »
    This guy really has a grudge for people who drive in Bus lanes...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5k-M-yTb1CY&feature=related

...rightly so.

he is gas - be thte americans love him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Doing a bit of a revive on this thread, but I gotta give credit to the lads involved on this.

I get the 78a home from Thomas St in Dublin most days (Or any of the 51's). At around the usual time, there's always the same lad up the top of the bus, down the back, selling heroin, or shooting up, or causing a nuisance of himself (I've mentioned to the driver or a Garda passing myself - I have a bit of a thing against junkies/dealers).

Anyways, popped up this evening with one of my friends to head home. Same lad down the back, myself and herself rolled our eyes up at each other as usual. There was two other lads down the back aswell, but didn't pay too much attention, until one of them got off in a bit of a rush, only to appear back up the top of the stairs a few seconds later. By the time I'd copped on it was the same fellah after running back up, the other chap down the back had yer man in cuffs before he could say a word.

Two of them escorted the scumbag off the bus before he could say a thing/scream murder. Just a look of pure shock on his face. I think it happened so fast he would have been in the back of the car before figuring out he was arrested.

I was absolutely delighted.

To the two undercover lads, well done, much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭foxtrot-oscar

Driving towards swords there a few weeks ago, down the old road past the kennel club place.

Myself and a taxi pretty much neck and neck doing 60km, him in the bus lane me in the other, wally behind me looks in a rush and decides to cut up the bus lane.

As we round the ben as per usual the traffic boys have their speed check on the top of the hill, self and taxi driver look at each other and i nod at him, we knew what had to be done, i slow down a bit and he keeps his speed, we try to box yer man in so he cant nip out of the bus lane. Our plan fell to crap when a sympathetic white van man lets him in, as we get to the top of the hill, i spot the garda walking out to the carrigeway. Myself and the taxi stop as the guard directs matey boy into the lay by for a word.

at the lights at airside myself and the taxi part ways after a beep and a wave. Job done muppet got his cummuppance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

This happened a few years ago to a member I work with. He and another mule were driving through a small village within our district. It was in the early hours of the morning and it just started snowing for about 10-15 minutes. Passed by a side road but when they looked could see wavy lines from car tyres going side to side on the road. About 1/4 mile down they could see back lights on the one and only car. You can guess the rest. The driver pi**ed as a fart.

Another one this time my story:

Was following a car down a small road which was just big enough for a car. It was swerving from side to side a little so thought he was maybe drunk. Put on lights and sirens and the car stopped. The driver get out straight away so at first I thought he was gonna do a runner so I jumped out of the patrol car. I saw the driver stumble a bit, got off balance and then fall into the ditch head first. I nearly cried with laughter trying to get him out of the 4ft deep ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I think the garda must have been involved in a pursuit there cos theres no way he could have been on his tail that fast!