christmas is coming

• 16-11-2008 02:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭

guys and girls
    christmas is coming around again...
    whats the best and worst present you ever got???
    my aunt for years used to always get me a jumper she never
    failed to amuse me, i remember a blue woolly one with huge sticky-out
    sheep on it...:o and i was made wear it on xmas day(the shame)
    best was my mum bought me an old nissan micra which i learned to drive in... i thought i was the queen bee.....:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

I LOVE CHRISTMAS LIKE A FAT KID LOVES CAKE!!!!!!!:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I've never gotten any really "bad" presents, I got some presents I never used, or very rarely used, but I never got anything awful.

Best was probably my laptop I got last year. I think I've used it at least once every day since I got it, don't know how I lived 18 years without one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

I've never gotten any really "bad" presents, I got some presents I never used, or very rarely used, but I never got anything awful.

Best was probably my laptop I got last year. I think I've used it at least once every day since I got it, don't know how I lived 18 years without one!
    am the same... only got one last oct
    sure look at us now :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Aunt bought me a rip-off of connect 4, called 5-in-a-row! (exclamation mark included) for my birthday years back.

Later that year, christmas day, I got the exact same game from her.

I should also mention, that by "later that year", I meant 11 days later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

minxie1 wrote: »
    am the same... only got one last oct
    sure look at us now :):)

Mmm look at us now is right! :) Both of us on laptops, on Boards, on a Saturday night.....

....on second thoughts, perhaps that's not something to cheer about. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Some big, fat, hairy fella in a red suit once emptied his sac onto my floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Worst: Old style hankies (from an aunt who never had kids herself) when I was a teen.
    Best: Sinclair ZX81 - boy, did that light a fire in me to learn more about computers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

skanger nativity scene

my.php?image=northsidexmasnativityscew6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Id feel bad naming something I was given as "the worst present ever" I would hate to think that anyone would describe something that I got them that way, so I won't do it. I just won't. But the best I ever got.... I remember going mental after finding an EAST 17 concert tape in my stocking. Besides that, I would have to say a beautiful necklace I was given by the OH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭chaotic_vr

Can't think of a worst one. Some I never used....
    Best one: My Explorer, best guitar I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Best was an original Playstaion, man that was an exciting christmas morning.

Worst - don't think I ever had anything really bad. A friend of the family always used to give me expensive wolly jumpers which I never wore and just gave to my father. They really were old man kinda jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I got a really ****ty new phone one Christmas morning off my parents. I honestly tried my best to force a smile but I couldn't. My mam told me anyway that my dad was supposed to get me a different one but he left it too late and they were all sold out when he went to the shop. So I didn't feel as guilty anymore, and they brought it back and got me the other phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 AlphaMike

Hey! This is totally non-connected to this thread but I need your help!

Can anyone tell me where you can buy the figures for a nativity crib? I'm looking for some fairly decent figures and am willing to spend a couple of quid if neccessary?

I'm looking for carved wood maybe painted figures if possible of the usual crib scene....
    Mary, Joseph, Jesus, 3 wise men, shephards, donkey blah blah blah!

Thanks a mill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

AlphaMike wrote: »
    Hey! This is totally non-connected to this thread

You're right, it is! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I'm the oldest in my family and tend to get up last on Christmas morning, One year, The oul one buys us an album each based on our music interests, There's a clubland one, A NOW 56 and a Madonna album.

What do you think they left me with? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

The best present I ever got was a pre computer 1000!! (I think that's what it was called anyway)
    I don't know what the worst was off the top of my head....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Best was a PS1, I remember spending hours and hours and hours and hours on that thing! 3D graphics? HOLY ****!

(Had a NES before that)

Can't remember the worst present, never really thought of any present as a bad preset, its something I didn't have previously so how could it be bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mark200 wrote: »
    I got a really ****ty new phone one Christmas morning off my parents. I honestly tried my best to force a smile but I couldn't. My mam told me anyway that my dad was supposed to get me a different one but he left it too late and they were all sold out when he went to the shop. So I didn't feel as guilty anymore, and they brought it back and got me the other phone.
    Seriously?

I really don't know where to start with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

christmas is coming

Are we sure about this? I haven't heard anything about it.

Terry wrote: »
    Seriously?

I really don't know where to start with that.

When I read that post I thought he was trying to be smart. Maybe not. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

haha i remember coming into school after christmas and the usual asking around what did ya get what did ya get carry on.one poor fella in the class got a sega megadrive off his parents now this was about 5 years after they were released think playstation 2 was out and all at the time.felt real bad for him!!

.one poor fella in the class got a sega megadrive off his parents now this was about 5 years after they were released think playstation 2 was out and all at the time

I think your timeframe is all messed up there buddy. The PS2 came out about 10 years after the Megadrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Mods please lock this thread until Dec 24th.
    It is still fecking only November FFS?!!?!?!?!?
    guys and girls
    christmas is coming around again...
    whats the best and worst present you ever got???
    my aunt for years used to always get me a jumper she never
    failed to amuse me, i remember a blue woolly one with huge sticky-out
    sheep on it...:o and i was made wear it on xmas day(the shame)
    best was my mum bought me an old nissan micra which i learned to drive in... i thought i was the queen bee.....:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    There's a clubland one, A NOW 56 and a Madonna album.

What do you think they left me with? :(

A **** album no matter what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Mods please lock this thread until Dec 24th.
    It is still fecking only November FFS?!!?!?!?!?
    Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

its back.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭omgiluvxmas

championship manager 02. the game itself turned out to be good more than a year later when i got an actual real computer but the torture when i put it in the cd drive and it took about 5 hours to load one league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Mark200 wrote: »

I once asked my parents for a particular phone one christmas which they refused to buy for me because it was too expensive. They bought the same phone for my younger brother that same year and promptly gave it to him a week early which was perplexing.

The worst present I ever got was a kite from my older brother when I was sixteen or seventeen. I wasn't (unjustifiably) upset/angry or anything, it was just bemusing to recieve a kite as a present in December.

The worst present I have given anyone was in college when my class was doing a "Secret Santa" thing amongst ourselves with a €5 limit. I assumed it was just supposed to be a gag gift thing so I took a €3 black and white photo of myself in one of those passport picture machines, signed it, and put it in a €2 frame wrapped in the pages of an issue of the Galway Advertiser.

The girl I gave it to never spoke to me again after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

AlphaMike wrote: »
    Hey! This is totally non-connected to this thread but I need your help!

Can anyone tell me where you can buy the figures for a nativity crib? I'm looking for some fairly decent figures and am willing to spend a couple of quid if neccessary?

I'm looking for carved wood maybe painted figures if possible of the usual crib scene....
    Mary, Joseph, Jesus, 3 wise men, shephards, donkey blah blah blah!

Thanks a mill!

pfft make your own. Our crib has two jesus figures, in the corner, and a mighty max in the crib. And a shepherd made out of a toilet roll holder. And a camel.

seriously.