Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Reid out for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

yabadabado wrote: »
    has carsley called time on his ireland career?just have a feeling he doesnt wanna be called up any more.

Apparently he's still interested...
    IRELAND'S forgotten man Lee Carsley has reassured Irish supporters that he's still keen to play for his country and wants to play a part in the bid to qualify for the 2010 World Cup.

Carsley has not played, or even made it into an Ireland squad, since Giovanni Trapattoni took over in May -- his last cap was in the friendly against Brazil earlier this year.

The Birmingham City man was not called into the squad for last week's World Cup win over Cyprus as he had reportedly undergone surgery on a knee problem, but his club have stated that Carsley is fully fit and in line to play for Alex McLeish's high-flying team against Burnley tomorrow.

With Steven Reid out injured and Stephen Ireland still in self-imposed exile from the national team, some fans wondered if there should have been a role for veteran Carsley (34) for the qualifier against Cyprus, especially as the Irish central midfield of Darron Gibson and Glenn Whelan had so little experience at international level and very little game-time with their clubs this season.

Desire

And the player has today stated that he hopes to keep his international career alive and will make himself available for selection for next month's friendly against Poland -- if picked.

"I am still available and still keen to play for Ireland, my desire to play international football has never gone away," Carsley told the Evening Herald.

"I know there is a four-month break before the next qualifier now, but we have a friendly in Dublin next month and I will be on a plane over to Dublin if I am picked. I want to play for my country again.

"I feel I can still contribute and play a part, I would not hang around otherwise. I have said all along that I will not stand in the way of younger or better players.

"I think we have a great chance of qualifying for South Africa and I will play a part if I am needed.

"I don't know if I will still be around when the finals take place, it's a long way off, but if I can play a role in helping the lads to get there, then I am happy to do it.

"I don't know how my club situation will be, Birmingham have started the season well and we have a good chance of promotion, so we'll see how things are in a year's time. But I feel I can still contribute with Ireland."

Confusion has surrounded Carsley's non-appearance in the Irish squad for the Cyprus game.

He was not named in the original 22-man squad by Giovanni Trapattoni, and when there were doubts over the match fitness of Liam Miller and Glenn Whelan on top of Steven Reid's absence, Carsley's name was touted for a late call-up.

At a press conference in Dublin last week before the 'B' game against Nottingham Forest, the Ireland boss suggested that Carsley was injured and had undergone an operation, as the player came off early in the second half of Birmingham's win over QPR the previous week.

But Birmingham have since stated that Carsley had suffered only a knock on his knee and was back in training a few days later.

For his part, Birmingham boss Alex McLeish -- a former Scotland manager -- is glad that Carsley is not playing international football.

"From a selfish point of view, I'm delighted he's not playing for them [Ireland] because we can save him for Birmingham," McLeish said.

"He's got so much experience that he could play without it being a huge burden on his fitness levels, especially if it was in a five-man midfield. His performances have been very good for us and I hope that continues.

"But for his sake, if Lee still has a desire to play international football, I find that very refreshing and I would only encourage it."

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/carsley-im-still-keen-to-play-for-ireland-1501778.html

Fair play to him. I admire his attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Carlsley should be back and straight into the first 11 beside ANDY REID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Come on Trap try it for the Poland game!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Feel terrible for Reid :/ Carsley isn't good enough. I'd prefer Gibson or O'Shea to him there. Ireland is who we need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

PHB wrote: »
    Ireland is who we need.
    Don't agree. Ireland in a team that dominates would be class but in Wednesday's team that conceded 56% of the possession I don't think he'd have improved us. He's not the type to dictate the play like the 2 Reid's. He's only as good as his teammates tbh. Capable of playing with the best of them though.

Martin Petrov's injury should make up for Reid's when we play Bulgaria anyway. In fact, I'd have traded that one. Bulgaria without Petrov are way below even Montengro's standard in attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

Very bad luck on Stephen Reid and bad news for ireland, hopefully he will make a good recovery and be there for next season.

On a lighter note, this could open the door for one of ireland lost sons who is tearing it up stateside....

Yes, the one and only ex-Juventus superstar Ronnie O Brien.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ronnie_O'Brien