Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"It's what you do next that counts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Great log BTW, must set one up myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Cheers stmochtas, I did splash the cash, I bought it in 2005 I think for approx 1300 give or take can't quite remember in elvery sports, its built like the strong ones you see in the gym, the make is Horizon fitness and mine is model number Ti21, and its never let me down.
    went to the physio yesterday, she said the problem is my lateral ligament and IT band but that it wasn't that serious, so she got her elbow and did this
    2848103134_3aface220f.jpg
    So it hurt like hell and today when I walk its a little tender, so unsure whether I'll run today, I'm back in to her in 2 weeks just before I head to Berlin and if I have any problems Monday coming after a planned 18 miles this Sunday, I just have to ring her and she'll fit me in. But hopefully the foam roller will sort it out aswell.
    A good kind of pain is how she explained her work,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

:eek: Holy sh1t.

Thats a serious workover! Was she wearing a rubber suit by any chance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Woddle wrote: »
    before I head to Berlin and if I have any problems Monday coming after a planned 18 miles this Sunday,

Woddle are you sure a 18 miler is wise two weeks before Berlin?
    Officially your last long run was 3 weeks ago - a big 26.2 with max effort.
    That run is still in your legs. And you have an injury niggle
    You may be tempted to get out for another long run but I would consider a 14 or possibly a 15 miler would be loads.
    You want to be as fresh as possible on that starting line.

Your right abhainn, it will be a 15 or 16 which is what I'm suppose to do, I'm following a program for multiple marathons from advanced marathoning but wanted to throw in a couple of extra miles because of last weeks long runs failure, so cheers for the advice and its been taken on board.
    Today 7.25 miles in 59 mins
    2.4 miles @ 8:40 153 aver
    2 miles @ 7:15 hr 172 aver
    1.6 miles @8:40
    1 mile @ 7:39 hr 175 aver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

16 miles 2 weeks before the 2nd marathon if marathons are 5 weeks apart according to Pfitzinger.

Took off this morning for 15 miles, got 5.3 done and could not continue, I could feel the pain starting to come so I stopped, I'm now going to take a 3 day break and see the physio on Monday or Tuesday, so Wednesday will be my next run and it will be on the treadmill, I'll give the roads a miss till Berlin I think, so no half marathon for me.
    Main goal is to be able to run in Berlin and I'll put time goals on the back foot for now.Frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Jeebus, that looks like a nice bruise there mate. Sorry to hear about your injury, I'm off the road nyself at the moment with a nasty stomach bug. Hope you recover soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 exbootie

Woddle wrote: »
    Hi everyone,I have decided to start a training log as I enjoy reading other peoples so maybe people will enjoy reading mine, any advice would be warmly welcome, a little backround I first started running in 2001 to 2002 in order to loose weight and just found that I loved it and became an addict.
    A few race times from that period are 21/7/02 Irish runner 5 mile 33:49
    07/8/02 Naas 4 mile 25:56
    06/07/2002 5K Phoenix pk 20:10
    25/08/2002 Longford marathon 4:37
    07/09/2002 cityswift 10 mile 69:17
    I was gutted not to break 20 in the 5k but I ran a mountain race 3 days earlier in Maulin which wrecked me. After doing the Longford marathon which really broke my love of running and gave me a slight knee problem, I tried one more race but in the last mile of that cityswift my knee went again and I limped over the line.
    The lessons I learned where valuable 1:Don't do all your training on the road, 2: buy good runners and change them every 2,3 months and 3: not every training session should be hard and against the clock.
    I;m currently into week 9 of my training which is 6 days a week and a crosstrain day.
    Mon: easy 4 mile followed by a tabata protocol and alot of stretching
    Tue: Indoor football
    Wed: 4 Mile which includes 1/4 mile fast,1/4 mile slow and a 1 mile test at max speed
    Thur: easy 3 mile
    Fri: 5 mile of hills
    Sat:4 mile easy
    Sun slow 7 mile
    I own a garmin 305 which is an excellent tool helps me get my distance spot on.I'm currently trying to lose a few more pounds I'm 5:9 and 172 lbs was 183lbs at week 1.
    I have done 2 races to date the paddys day 5k in 26:33 which does not correspond with the website results. and the great Ireland run in 54:52, my next race probably the rte 5 mile if not I have already registered for the 5 mile classic in the middle of May.
    My main objective this year is an injury free Dublin marathon in 4 hours, I plan to start the Hal Higdon intermediate 2 program on the 23rd of June.
    I have recently given up work to be a stay at home dad, I also have a treadmill whish I use for my traing, its great when I bring the oldest to school she is 4 the other watches her cartoons for an hour,she is a good girl.She is 2.I'll keep you guys informed as much as possible, Really enjoy sungods,ike,robbicosta,amadeus,hunnymonster and many others.

If its to easy try doing it in boots with some weight on your back, start with 15lbs aiming to go up to 35lbs.

That will sort you out, if marathons are too soft for you, try these, civilians can enter.

Traversing across the Brecon Beacons over 40 miles you are expected to complete the course in 20 hours or better! We will not be setting strict timings or insisting you carry the correct weight on but if you want to test your fitness to the standard of the SAS then you must complete the walk in under 20 hours carrying a 55lb bergan, 35lb belt kit and a piece of scaffolding pipe to simulate a rifle, navagating using a map and compass.
    http://www.sassurvival.co.uk/euroedit/editable_files/long_drag.php

It thats to much heres another.
    P' COMPANY CHALLENGE: The Parachute Regiment challenges you to attempt the 10 Mile 'P' Company Cross Country Route run, carrying a bergen (rucksack) weighing 35lb (excluding food water) and wearing military style boots. Competitors rucksacks will be weighed before and after the race, by race officials. The P Company Challenge is open to individuals and teams of 4 (With the first 3 runners to count). As a guide the Paratroopers Company Selection cut off time is 1 hr 50 minutes.
    MEDALS 'T' SHIRTS:
    Medals and T-Shirts will be awarded to all who finish the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 exbootie

When you have done those come back and I will give you more :)

Cheers exbootie maybe somewhere down the line :D
    Well I took my 3 days off started a course of ibrufon and iced my lateral ligament. I went back to the physio, she reckons I have week glutes so I have a few exercises to do and I'm back doing a little bit of deadlifts and squats to see if that helps.
    Today easy 4 mile on the treadmill in 33:40 with no problems

Still continuing with the ibrufon and icing.
    6 miles on the treadmill
    1.25 warm up
    1.00 in 6:55
    0.75 in 5:08
    0.50 in 3:27
    0.25 in 1:43
    1.25 cool down
    All done on the treadmill with no issue of pain but the treadmill never really provoked pain so might try the road for 2 or 3 tomorrow to see how it feels.
    Also went a bit mad and bought a knee bandage and one for the shins as well as new soles for a mid arch, I'll try anything to make sure I finish Berlin :D

Well I did the half marathon today, I had already prepaid and I figure if I can't do this, how can I expect to do Berlin, my plan was to take it easy, which I did very succesfully, average heart rate 169 compared with my 177 for the 10 mile,and it was far warmer today also, the itb felt like it was going to go a few times but never did, so don't know if I was letting it get in my head too much.
    I didn't tell anyone I was doing it only my wife in case I dnf.
    my time was 1:47:59 for 13.21 miles, pace 8:10 and my last mile was ran in 6:36 so I know I could have ran alot faster but glad I didn't and I really enjoyed it, it flew by and I'll look forward to having a crack at another half if theres one in Feb.
    Leg doesn't feel to bad maybe 6/10 back in the physios on Monday and will probably only do 2 or 3 rund on the treadmill from now till Berlin, the excitement :D

Well done. Hope you'll be alright for Berlin.

Monday morning easy 2 miles before going to the physio, see if I can pin point any trouble, not really which was good news.
    At the physio, she worked alot on the lower part of my IT band close to my knee, she reckons she rubbed a good bit out.
    Tuesday night was indoor football, got a couple of kicks at the start so decided not to get to involved in this paticular game.
    Today 5 miles on the treadmill, 2 of them a little bit faster than predicted marathon pace, with a little bit of weights before and after to help with leg.
    My info package has yet to come for Berlin but not too concerned just too excited.

3.5 miles on treadmill, got a slight twinge so just stopped, can't wait, heading to bed shortly as my flight is at 6:05.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭stipes212

best of luck in Berlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

best of luck Woddle

Best of luck Woddle - hope you get your goal time

Another best of luck Woddle - hope everything holds together - just remember all the progress you've made since the start of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

hi woddle , yeah the same as the lads above .the best of luck to ya

Cheers everyone, lying in bed after the marathon, resting my weary legs , so I thought I would give you guys an update.
    My gameplan was to go out at 8 min pace and see how long I could last, 1/2 mile is the answer, I was dying for a wee, so 8:30 for that mile but all the way up to mile 16 I kept between 7:50 and 8:05, halfway mark at 1 hour 45, 3 mins faster than last Sat race, no probs with my IT band so I had a bit of confidence to keep going for a pb 3:55 in Longford last month, Last 10K I found myself having to stop a few times, the heat was starting to get to me, but again I pushed on with the help of a fantastic crowd, crossed the line in 3:41:27 not official yet but it will only be give or take a few secs.
    I hope the other lads and lassies who came out get what they wanted I'm over the moon, and alot more to come.
    Anyone wanting to do a marathon in the future its got to be Berlin absolute class and a new world record set.:D:D:D

Fair play woddle thats a brilliant time - you have to be happy with that great stuff enjoy the rest you've earned it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Peckham

Congrats Woddle, sounds like the race went pretty much to plan and that Berlin is a great race destination. Enjoy the few pints or should that be litre jugs?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

great stuff woddle , and taking 14 minutes is your PB is fantastic, enjoy the mini rest before you crank it back up for dublin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

congrats Woddle, some running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭stipes212

congrats Woddle, enjoy the few beers.

Cheers for all the supportive comments, I look forward to returning the favour after Dublin for you guys and girls.
    For anyone interested in the course and my mile splits and hr and stuff heres a link to my garmin, It was actually mile 16 and 21 that I stopped to refuel, how I wish now I had of kept walking while refueling but I decided to Stop and take my time. my watch acted up only a little, it had me covering a distance of 26.6 but I didn't cause I kept mostly to the blue line but there was alot of over hanging trees and tall buildings. After looking at my splits and where I lost time, I know where I can make up time for next year :D
    http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/episode/view.do?episodePk.pkValue=6879900
    Just click on laps on the left handside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Well done Woddle man. Only 5 weeks after Longford and a massive PB.
    Fair play to you after all the physio and worry about the IT in the lead up to Sunday. An inspiration to many.

Cheers abhainn, I didn't want to throw any excuses out but my training has been seriously compromised over the last 5 weeks so it just gets me more motivated now for my April marathon target and hopefully see how much more I can lower my time :D
    Heading to the physio now in 20 mins because I anticipated my band acting up but not so, so a big thanks to my physio and if anyone wants her number you can pm me cause I do recommend her.
    Will you target Berlin next year for your sub 3 attempt abhainn or is it a bit too soon to be thinking that far ahead