Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

If Vela turns out to be anything at all like Baptista (in terms of quality while at Arsenal) then I'll eat my own poo.

As I recall, Vela cost $4m, which was about £2.2m at the time. A fair few bob for a fella who was barely 16, but then he had just fired Mexico to the U17 WC title so I guess it wasn’t too much of a gamble. Looks well worth it now!

I’m loving the Walcott brothers at the mo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Lets not get things out of hand on vela, remember baptista and anfield.
    vela is a completely different player. i watched him through pre season and saw the entire game the other night. His movement is much better than bapista. he seems to have alot more energy about the place and his finishing is miles better. IMO they are not inn the same league. Vela will be huge. mark my words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Lets not get things out of hand on vela, remember baptista and anfield.
    Absolutely we shouldn't get carried away but Baptista never looked that good before or since for Arsenal while Vela's looked good and lively all pre-season too. Plus he wouldn't have missed the peno :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Draupnir wrote: »
    I personally feel that Vela will be at Real Madrid within 3 years and will be getting World Player of the Year nominations.

I refuse to let that happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Draupnir wrote: »
    I personally feel that Vela will be at Real Madrid within 3 years and will be getting World Player of the Year nominations.

why? has he a Real Madrid connection?

don't be getting ahead of yourselves lads. Vela still has an awful lot of development to do before he'll be reaching the lofty heights of WPY nominations, particular on the more physical aspects of the game.

personally, he reminds me Scholes as a youngster, i think he'll end up a playing deeper as he matures. His time playing for Osasuna on the left showed there's much more to his game.

On a slightly different note, watched Fever Pitch again last night with my girlfriend who was asking whether or not Mickey Thomas' goal had really happened. Inspired by Emma Thompson getting into the Arsenal thing, she then asked for my favourite Arsenal goals since... so:

(1) Dennis Bergkamp v Newcastle - my favourite goal of all time bar none,
    from my favourite player of all time bar none. Pure genius from the only man who you KNOW without a shadow of a doubt meant to do it.

In dutch, but best picture quality by a mile:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_zDqlYJtzA

(2) Dennis Bergkamp v Leicester - the third goal in one of the great hat-tricks
    (and a dress rehearsal of sorts for the goal he scored for Holland against Argentina in the 98 World Cup). Even apart from the skill, this earned
    Arsenal a point in a 3-3 draw at the start of the 97-98 double-winning season
    and helped Bergkamp take the first 3 spots in Match of the Day's Goal of
    the Month competition, the only time one player has done this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFPJU8LaNfw

(3) Tony Adams v Everton - the 4th goal of the 4-0 win against Everton that
    sealed the title in 1998. From the captain of the club after his successful
    fightback from alcoholism, including a spell in prison for drink-driving, this gives me the shivers every time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1W6ACn-LJkE

(4) Robert Pires v Villa - not a particularly meaningful goal from what I remember but incredibly skilful, so much so that Andy Gray in commentary started clapping. Plus it made ex-United keeper Peter Schmeichel look VERY silly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEVzSSPB4JA

(5) Ian Wright v Bolton - can't find a video of this one but part of a hat-trick early in 97-98 season to become the club's then-record goalscorer (before Thierry Henry). Thank Christ he managed to score again after the 178/179 fiasco.

(6) Thierry Henry v Man Utd - as Andy Gray said on commentary at the time, one of the best goals ever seen at Highbury. United still won the league that year though, otherwise this might be higher.

http://www.veoh.com/video/v14085543wwNK6Met

(7) Andy Linighan v Sheffield Wednesday - another one I can't find on video
    but this was my live Michael Thomas moment. Andy Linighan, who did feck all
    else of note in his Arsenal career, with a goal to win the 1993 FA Cup -
    in the last minute of extra time in the replay. Luckily for Linighan, Tony didn't give him the Steve Morrow 'Cup-Winner Special'.

(8) David Platt v Man Utd - a vital moment in October or so of that 97-98
    season. Arsenal beat defending champions United 3-2 in a true statement of intent. Watched with 3 United fans :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGMYgL7b4Ug

(9) Thierry Henry v Charlton - unreal cheek from Arsenal's greatest ever
    goalscorer at the absolute peak of his skills.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccAQWeeUsZ0&feature=related

(10) Robin van Persie v Inter Milan - only a preseason friendly (otherwise
    this'd maybe be higher) but well worth a place on the list. Like the first
    goal, might not look much straight away but what he does with his foot is
    almost unnatural. Here it is in good quality slo-mo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsbLjpAhiS0&feature=related

(11) Alan Smith v Parma - after winning both domestic cups in 1993, Arsenal
    won the European Cup-Winners' Cup in 1994. 1-0 in the final against Parma,
    very George Graham. We won't talk about what happened when they got to the final again in 1995.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_Xis15i2Yc

(12) Thierry Henry v Liverpool - phenomenal pace and skill even if the intensity on his face after he scores kind of scares me. Part of a really important win towards the end of the 'Invincibles' season when I was beginning to think we'd go unbeaten but come second in the league.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_n3wjkse0tA&feature=related

And because I was at the game (bottom left corner of the screen as you look!), I'm also going to include another goal he got against Liverpool. Unreal pace.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AL12GItKeTw

Honourable mentions also go to two 'nearly moments':

(1) Sol Campbell's header to put Arsenal ahead in the 2006 Champions League
    final. Went to Paris with my Arsenal-supporting brothers for this but were priced out of tickets. Pretty quiet trip home the next day after the loss.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K3v9yuYP2g

(2) Emmanuel Adebayor's goal in last season's Champions League quarter-final
    against Liverpool. Just for Theo Walcott's run - incredible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShSm5fe2DEg

And a bit of light relief from the master to finish:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UP4O37fQgs8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,469 ✭✭✭DenMan

Thanks mate, some great memories there, thats for sure. Here is another.

RVP against Charlton Athletic. Amazing technique and balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Oh God I miss Robert Pires. Does anybody remember his goal against Southampton, after Arsenal had blown the league in 02/03. Himself and Pennant (shudder) got hat tricks in a 6-1 win.

It was a cracking goal but nobody ever remembers it because of the irrelevance of the game.

Oh God I miss Robert Pires. Does anybody remember his goal against Southampton, after Arsenal had blown the league in 02/03. Himself and Pennant (shudder) got hat tricks in a 6-1 win.
    Yeah, class strike. Forgot that was the same game as the Pennant hat-trick though - I remember vaguely thinking that Pennant might finally make something of himself after that :o

Worst thing about that win was the struggle 3 weeks later to beat them in the Cup final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

This wright classic. Quality is'nt great. Remember watching it in the pub and being absolutely dumbfounded.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yjyWAexQq4

Or this limpar one in the 4-0 trouncing of the pool.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6mW43iDVZY

Pires villa goal was pretty important it kept us ahead of united, beautiful especially because it was schmeichael that he did it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    (1) Sol Campbell's header to put Arsenal ahead in the 2006 Champions League
    final. Went to Paris with my Arsenal-supporting brothers for this but were priced out of tickets. Pretty quiet trip home the next day after the loss.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K3v9yuYP2g

Was lucky enough to be there and with a ticket from the club, tickets were really gold dust on the day, heard of tickets changing for mad sums. I had to collect my ticket at the stadium earlier in the day and am glad I bought a match programme as they were all sold out well before kick off, people were buying them by the box. Great goal by Sol, I really thought we would hang on, my memory of the night was the pouring rain, thunder and lightning. Great trip to Paris that I will never forget, happy days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jesus, I'd forgotten how bad Almunia was for both goals...

We really should have won it, Titi was through on Valdes at least twice iirc during the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Chong

Morning Arsenal fans.

Please support http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055385950&page=2, its for pick the Boards Team of the season.

The reason I am calling upon you guys is Marc Overmars Arsenal legend has returned to play for Go Ahead Eagles.

Go Ahead Eagles is our Nominee.

Relive the glory days of Overmars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ha, that's mad. He was a legend, albeit a brief one at Arsenal.

Wasn't gonna bother with that adopt a team thread but I'll vote for team Overmars now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Chong

Legend Royale with Cheese!!

Go Eagles, and Go Team OVERMARS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Ok I now also support the Go Ahead Eagles
    Go Eagles !!

** added to sig **

Ah, good old Marc Overmars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,147 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think it's fair to say after the performance today against hull that it accurate to state that Arsenal cannot finish off a game and cannot handle pressure put on them by any kind of physical side. It might sound a bit knee jerk to say such a thing after being heaping out so much praise in midweek for their drubbing of sheff utd but in the premiership, our bread and butter, the above statement is more than justified. It reminded me of a statement about the great Dennis Bergkamp, form is temporary but class is permanent. With the exception of Cesc who have we got that is world class. We have great prospects coming through but that didn''t help us today against hull. I may be blinded by a mixture of embarressment and anger ATM but is it acceptable to ask us, the fans, to endure such times in the hope that these prospects flourish.

I know there will be some that state it's the performance that counts, and we did pretty much dominate against Hull but we didn't get the result. At this stage I'd take a few scrappy wins over some dominating defeats. We've gone too far from the 1-0 to the Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,147 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think it's fair to say after the performance today against hull that it accurate to state that Arsenal cannot finish off a game and cannot handle pressure put on them by any kind of physical side. It might sound a bit knee jerk to say such a thing after being heaping out so much praise in midweek for their drubbing of sheff utd but in the premiership, our bread and butter, the above statement is more than justified. It reminded me of a statement about the great Dennis Bergkamp, form is temporary but class is permanent. With the exception of Cesc who have we got that is world class. We have great prospects coming through but that didn''t help us today against hull. I may be blinded by a mixture of embarressment and anger ATM but is it acceptable to ask us, the fans, to endure such times in the hope that these prospects flourish.

I know there will be some that state it's the performance that counts, and we did pretty much dominate against Hull but we didn't get the result. At this stage I'd take a few scrappy wins over some dominating defeats. We've gone too far from the 1-0 to the Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

DenMan wrote: »
    Thanks mate, some great memories there, thats for sure. Here is another.

RVP against Charlton Athletic. Amazing technique and balance.

He shinned it - clearly came off his shin.

That was an embarrassment to the club. Fair play to Hull though who put in a heroic performance.

Arsene was stubborn again in the transfer market and it is costing us again. Some things, you cannot just fix 'internally'. Gallas and Toure will never be a strong CB pairing. That's the third goal already we've conceded from a corner this season, and we've given away very few corners. Johan Djourou has been our best CB so far this season; why is he on the bench?

Likewise Nicklas Bendtner has been our best striker this season, why is he on the bench too?

Furthermore today highlighted the problem we had in our midfield last season, and still have this season. Nasri has replaced Hleb which is fine by me, but then when Nasri gets injured - far too much creative pressure is put on Cesc. If Rosicky was about that might not be the case but then is Rosicky ever going to be about. It's not like this is any kind of surprise.

We have a very easy opening run of fixtures and we've already lost twice. Not good enough.

Anyway, at this juncture I have decided that the best solution to this issue is to go and get rat arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Today's loss was a huge disappointment but so typical. Top of the league, mess up against a small team and lose it.
    Nobody to blame but ourselves. We should have put the game to bed well before Geovanni's wonder strike brought Hull back to life. Add in Gallas' crossbar header and the brilliant save from Fabregas' long range effort and it simply wasn't Arsenal's day.

Forgive me Galvasean, but I just don't buy into this "wasn't to be our day" shoite.

We're a top 4 club in the Premier League, we should be beating the likes of Hull City even if it isn't our day period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Roll on Tuesday night imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

All my fault i made adebayor captain in the fantasy footy. No intention of watching this game at all. It is'nt our day happens too many times. and amen to getting rat arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Bleh

Dunno what happened really. Just didn't seem like too much of a spark. Great defending from Hull on all those crosses and corners.

Fabregas and van Persie were our best players imo, although van Persie could have done better with some of the half chances that came his way, could have scored a cracker right at the end.

As Pepe said, we're really missing Nasri and Rosicky to add to the creative spark.I thought Walcott really made a balls of a lot of decisions today, was the biggest culprit of dawdling and trying to over play it. Adebayor was no great shakes and Bendtner would have been the right option given his recent form. All in all, a bit **** really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

I honestly don't think that any team in the premiership can go into a league clash and 'expect' 3 points. Be it Man U, Chelsea, Arsenal and to a lesser extent (dig;)) Liverpool. Credit where credit is due, well done to Hull, and the likes of Stoke. No such thing as an easy league win!

As a Man utd fan I can compare feelings. I didn’t see the match today but from reading the above posts, i can understand a lot of those 'one of those days' sentiments. I learned a long time ago not to write off AW and his shrewdness in the market once again was for all to see midweek while embarrassing one of the championships hopefuls!

Maybe I'm the only one, but i honestly rank the gooners as bigger league rivals than Chelski or 'pool. I've no doubt Arsenal will bounce back with a vengeance and, well, Fergie said it himself, "A Man Utd Chelsea match will never compare to a Man Utd Arsenal game" or something along those lines ! Can't wait to see it, always the highlight of the season for me !

Lads, I cannot understand those sentiments at all.

You want to win the Premiership you have to bully the smaller teams. When Mourinho was at Chelsea they were great at it. The amount of 4-0 wins against the small teams they got was unbelieveable. Arsenal were 1/5 to win this today for a reason; they should comfortably be beating the likes of Hull City off the park.

That was an embarrassment to the club. Fair play to Hull though who put in a heroic performance.

Arsene was stubborn again in the transfer market and it is costing us again. Some things, you cannot just fix 'internally'. Gallas and Toure will never be a strong CB pairing. That's the third goal already we've conceded from a corner this season, and we've given away very few corners. Johan Djourou has been our best CB so far this season; why is he on the bench?

We have a very easy opening run of fixtures and we've already lost twice. Not good enough.

quite right. to be fair i don't think we lack in attack but at centre back mostly. both gallas and toure are crap. i too felt djourou should be playing and also that kompany should have been bought or someone adequate.