Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭b.c

Cheers Derra, seen the youtube one but missed the mp3 ill grab it now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

DUB1 wrote: »
    Iv some gud old skool gabba or hardcore as i use to call it, tunes lik the bassreaction stuff & moby 1000 (dont come much heavier) hocus pocus etc,etc
    tunes lik the above got played in the asylum regaler suere when it first opened it was a hardcore club but the best music that got played in there was some of the real dark sinister progressive house/trance that you dont hear on any of the tapes or at any of the old skool gigs which i think is a gud thing!!!!!!!!1 was having a session wit slim (any one that was on ni in the early days will kno who im on about) he has one of the best old skool collections iv seen wit loads of rare asylum tunes & he wont rip any of them :eek: :p

i have a good few hardcore techno/gabba tapes, the like of bass generator etc etc

marc, would ye blame slim for not ripping em..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Cray92

Iv some gud old skool gabba or hardcore as i use to call it, tunes lik the bassreaction stuff & moby 1000 (dont come much heavier) hocus pocus etc,etc
    tunes lik the above got played in the asylum regaler suere when it first opened it was a hardcore club but the best music that got played in there was some of the real dark sinister progressive house/trance that you dont hear on any of the tapes or at any of the old skool gigs which i think is a gud thing!!!!!!!!1 was having a session wit slim (any one that was on ni in the early days will kno who im on about) he has one of the best old skool collections iv seen wit loads of rare asylum tunes & he wont rip any of them :eek: :p
    Yeah the dark sinister tunes were the ones i think made the club special and unique.Warrens new year eve mix 93'94 is the best example of that type of moody hard trance and tough house music.The set reads like a whos who of the best ninetys trance,starting with brainchild,then l'esperanza,cj bolland mantra,sunshower seven,paragliders,virtual symmetry,resistance d o conga,empoirion narcotic influence,the list gos on,warren at his best pure evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭daragh_k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

D/L the Mix SEANYBOY,
    Good old oldskool mix, had a listen, brings back all the memories,
    I love all the oldskool rave tunes, grew up on the stuff,
    I'am still strung out on the stuff, sad as it sounds,
    Nice mix to have, Cheers Mate....:):):):):):):):):)

Sure I'm a lifer meself, I finally accepted that I will never snap out of it:D;):D

here's an exclusive for ye's Casper sent this to me the other day, ENJOY

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?vjwljnzz122

cribos wrote: »
    Here's another mix, all tracks from 1992-95

Tracklist:
    DOP - Lion
    Narcotic Influence
    CYB - Sixtrax
    shi-take
    Sourmash - Pilgrimage to paradise
    Sublime - Transamerican
    Deep Piece - Panoramic Shuffle
    Peter Lazonby - sacred cycles
    RHC - Fever called love
    Formosa - OD on groove

http://www.d-underground.com/T.P.A_-_Part_Two.mp3

www.myspace.com/christianboshell

Crackin mix some class tunes especially shi-take havent heard that track since my warren k tape got pinched:mad: is that the full name of that track?
    big thanks for the mix cribos

b.c wrote: »
    Crackin mix some class tunes especially shi-take havent heard that track since my warren k tape got pinched:mad: is that the full name of that track?
    big thanks for the mix cribos

is it shi take "don't look back in anger"

cheers for that:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭lt_cmdr_worf

http://www.youtube.com/profile_videos?user=WATCHINGYOURTV

Lots of tunes here....including some Asylum classics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

senan s wrote: »
    i have a good few hardcore techno/gabba tapes, the like of bass generator etc etc

marc, would ye blame slim for not ripping em..

No i dont senan now i totaly understand y never did rip anything! sure im not even telling trigger the name of any tunes anymore!!! alot of old skool is gone cheese'e' now for example a lot of the tunes that are posted here & on all the tapes that have been u/l :( but all the real good tunes will stay underground :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

No i dont senan now i totaly understand y never did rip anything! sure im not even telling trigger the name of any tunes anymore!!! alot of old skool is gone cheese'e' now for example a lot of the tunes that are posted here & on all the tapes that have been u/l :( but all the real good tunes will stay underground :D

Deffo

Cray92 wrote: »
    Yeah the dark sinister tunes were the ones i think made the club special and unique.Warrens new year eve mix 93'94 is the best example of that type of moody hard trance and tough house music.The set reads like a whos who of the best ninetys trance,starting with brainchild,then l'esperanza,cj bolland mantra,sunshower seven,paragliders,virtual symmetry,resistance d o conga,empoirion narcotic influence,the list gos on,warren at his best pure evil.

Warren use to play a lot more darker than that mix ( which is gr8) but im not going to start naming the tunes :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

Warren use to play a lot more darker than that mix ( which is gr8) but im not going to start naming the tunes :eek:

He did indeed and we are not likely to hear them again on a oldskool night as most of the tunes that do get played have been played to death at this stage.
    Ya might get the odd tune here and there, but generally each mix ya hear or download will be similar regarding the tunage.
    Fair enough they are oldskool nights and your gonna get them tunes blasted out and ya might of indulged in something and bounce around the place anyway. And of course the dj will have mixed them well etc , am not doubting their skills.
    But be nice to hear a dj not play it safe for once and take control not with crowd pleasers but with a well thought out set of dark underground tunes or just something different for a change.
    Whats the point in spending all your money on discogs or whatever and keeping the tunes on the shelf and play Tribal Church every night.
    So many tunes here that i have'nt heard on a night out yet :confused:
    Good to see Reactive getting Jon the Dentist in and Rejuvenation had Billy Nasty play in Radio City so hope its the sign of things to come.
    Rant over :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Fitze wrote: »
    A mate of mine was livin over in Glasgow and was always on the about the massive raves over there, so had to give one a shot. Wasnt disappointed

Yeah, Glasgow is a great spot, the bhoys are mad over there.

I lived in Paisley, just outside Glasgow for a few years while in Uni towards the end of the 90's. There was (still is I think) a real dark, little underground club in Paisley, Club 69, that I went to a few times. Paisley is one dodgy town, it had a police curfew when I was there due to the amount of violence (nothing to do with me). And club 69 was in one of the worst spots, it's under an Indian resturaunt and the resturaunt is in the middle of a housing estate on a bit of waste ground, the location reminds me of the house in "Fight Club" It was as close to Sides DC that I've been in, it reminded me of downstairs in Sides mixed with the couch area of the Ormond MMC. The club never advertised, it was word of mouth. Most Friday nights they usually had some DJ playing that was in town to play a top club on the Sat.
    Anyway here are a few comments quotes about the club I found on the net, theres not much out there about it,
    • I canny believe nabuddy has mentioned CLUB 69 aka Rocksy's Basement. This truly underground club hides itself under th Koh-I-Noor Indian restuarant, in prolly one of the most dark and inhospistable streets in Paisley. Don't worry yerself though, it is attended by some of the finest characters yer ever likely to meet, and also some of the worlds finest performers. This venue/club has a worldwide following and for my money is the best club in Scotland if not the UK, its sweat stained walls tell the tales of a thousand strobe induced spasms. The atmosphere is second to none, cold yet warm damp yet dry, quite yet noisy, dark yet light. I can't put into words just how amazing this club is, go to it any saturday night when the Rub-A-Dub boys are playing and you will see, your eyes will open, leave ALL pretensions at the door and prepare to shake yer ass, 1989 stylee.
    • Cant beleive no-one has mentioned club 69, undoubtably THE best underground dance club Paisley, especially foresight and rub-a-dub, going now for 7 years and known by DJ's everywhere, from scotland to Detroit. It is for those that are into dancing getting sweaty and jumping to anything that is different and musically technical. Guarantees a night of no-hassle, no-fighting .. just luv xx
    If your going to Glasgow, get to Club69.

Cheers,
    Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

tunes like the above got played in the asylum regular sure when it first opened it was a hardcore club but the best music that got played in there was some of the real dark sinister progressive house/trance that you dont hear on any of the tapes :eek: :p

Best set of underground tunes i have heard in a long time by far was Oct 2005 in the temple bar music centre....not one track i had heard before & i would presume they were all new tracks being spun for over 3 hours by Mr. C from the Shamen....now i know what everybody thinks when they hear the Shamen...:pac:Ebeneezer good:pac:....but i sh.it you not this was just like the tunes your talkin about that were banged out in the ASYLUM on the bottom floor....no gig since the ASYLUM has ever come close to sounding like the buzz Mr. C made in the place....the tunes he plays are being classed as 'Underground-Electro-Acid-House' or 'Tech-House'
    http://www.outlar.com/artist.php?id=183
    And again i didnt recognise one of them & they were all really underground feeling off them....not fast but a consistent sinister bass line & beat through the entire set. Couldnt recommend a gig by him more if you want that 'Dark, sinister, subtly menacing progressive tech house' or whatever you want to call it....all i know is its the best gig i have been at since the ASYLUM shut:cool:

I havnt seen Mr. c in yrs but when i did see him live he never dissapoints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

I havnt seen Mr. c in yrs but when i did see him live he never dissapoints

He has or had a jungle club in london....

Here is a couple of mixes lads, peppered with Olympic/Asylum classics. The files are zipped so hope you all can unzip with WinRAR software which can be downloaded here http://www.download.com/WinRAR/3000-2250_4-10007677.html. or http://rarlab.com/download.htm (Hope this helps)
    Some of you got them in PM's. What the f~ck, yis all can have a listen:D

A Retrospective of House 91-95 Volume 1

Jon 'Pleased' Wimmin (Disc 1)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ilettofxem1

Judge Jules (Disc 2)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mjeddytlj1w

John Kelly (Disc 3)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?3jmtgpxzbum

ARetrospectiveofHouse91-95-Volume1F.jpg
    ARetrospectiveofHouse91-95-Volume1B.jpg

VOLUMES 2, 3 & 4 WILL FOLLOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

Seanyboy ! some crackin tracks on that !!!! nice one !! i will be getting nicely sedated later on to the sound of them there tracks !! Question to all ......Its my favorite holiday coming up next month i.e Halloween !! Is anyone interested in getting together for a session ???? I know all the usual haunts will be havin halloween events but a Boards.ie/Asylum thread, get together could be a good aul buzz???? later P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

I'd be interested in a get together, great opportunity to put faces to the mad names on here:confused:
    Also,
    I haven't been to a club in years and I've been dying to get to one of these old skool nights - all I need is the release papers from the wife for the night:rolleyes:

If it's Halloween, whos getting the bangers like the old Olympic days for an extra bit of noise.

Cheers,
    Mick
    Seanyboy ! some crackin tracks on that !!!! nice one !! i will be getting nicely sedated later on to the sound of them there tracks !! Question to all ......Its my favorite holiday coming up next month i.e Halloween !! Is anyone interested in getting together for a session ???? I know all the usual haunts will be havin halloween events but a Boards.ie/Asylum thread, get together could be a good aul buzz???? later P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

Have you anything in mind asylumkey?? judging by your stories on previous pages it will start off something like......' so there we were with a pocket full of dots and doves' lol:D.
    Are you thinking of a club/old skool nite/ organising something ourselves??? I could do with a bit of a mental one alright, hasn't been done in a while!:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 25 punts for 1

hows it going lads ??? ive had a great time reading thru all the posts about the asylum, that chineese fella, cornflakes, great memories that i,d forgotten .i was 21 when i first went to the olympic in 91' went to all the spots till about 96' when i dunno whether i just was bolloxed or i think the tunes and drugs just werent the same.....any whoo check out this vid its about DUBLIN youth cults thru the decades and has some pics of raves ....the last rave pic in the clips has a pic of me -far right with white hat on- in the asylum....

growing up we were all rude boys/skinheads/mods into scooters and then i discovered raves...so i feel ive lived thru 2 of the best scenes ever and still loving it....going to james zabiela in tripod next month were im sure the young scallies will ask me if im ds....little fuppers.

i know some of you boys off the ministry forum thats dying a death, good to see the massive interest in what was OUR WOODSTOCK:)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uwmLCARUsQ

heres my asylum membership card...im not gonna show ya the picture ,cause off the nut on orange sunsets wasnt my best look.
    asylum2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

haha sounds like my kinda party !! im asylum DUBLIN !! not the infamous asylumkey !! lol,, but to answer your question !!! I woud prefer a more intimate smaller gig maybe ?? old skool only of course and not just the anthems but for all who are into havin a spin get the rarities out and the not so famed tunes.I am shooting from the hip here totally , but im mad keen to put a few faces to names and tell a few war stories from the aul days over a volley of pints and a pocket full of bits n bobs !!! so to put some flesh around the bones!!! all ideas thoughts or ideas are welcome. sample i.e A fucntion room with a late bar and a bit of a dance floor , rent in decks lights etc. and have a bit of a spin/bop ????? I will play for the night if no one else wants to !!!! be delighted to ! just need to get a venue and put a little lid of quietness ..... if thats possible !! enough of us to have a buzz but not a riot ! am i dreaming is this possible ????? P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Have you anything in mind asylumkey?? judging by your stories on previous pages it will start off something like......' so there we were with a pocket full of dots and doves' lol:D.
    Are you thinking of a club/old skool nite/ organising something ourselves??? I could do with a bit of a mental one alright, hasn't been done in a while!:pac::pac::pac:

Yep when i think about it now most weekends started off with a pocket full of Dots n Doves:pac: Friend of mine used to shift a lot of the former & gave us bags of Dot Dust, like a gram of lou reed but it was crushed Dots......but it was Paul who made the suggestion of a Halloween gig not I.....Im away to the sun for the end of October so i wont be attending if a gig is on the cards......im sure there is no need to say this but....Hush Hush about it on here if it is to be a gig of the unlicenced variety with flexi closing times & full 8am bar extension as long as the locals dont mind:D

Since you mentioned Dots, have a read of this extract from a book called 'The doors of perception' where the band the Doors took their name from....i know its a bit off the subject of this thread but sure its a insight into Hallucinagenics; Namely Mescalin http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mescaline

From the French window I walked out under a kind of pergola covered in part by a climbing rose tree, in part by laths, one inch wide with half an inch of space between them. The sun was shining & the laths made a zebra like pattern on the ground & across the seat & back of the garden chair, which was standing at this end of the pergola. That chair- shall I ever forget it? Where the shadows fell on the canvas upholstery, stripes of a deep but glowing indigo alternated with stripes of an incandescence so intensely bright that it was hard to believe that they could be made of anything but blue fire. For what seemed an immensely long time I gazed without even knowing, even without wishing to know, what it was that confronted me. At any other time I would have seen a chair with alternate light & shade. Today the percept had swallowed up the concept. I was so completely absorbed in looking, so thunderstruck by what I actually saw, that I could not be aware of anything else. Garden furniture, laths, sunlight, shadow – these were no more than names and notions, mere verbalizations, for utilitarian or scientific purposes, after the event. The event was this succession of azure furnace doors separated by gulfs of unfathomable gentian. It was inexpressively wonderful, wonderful to the point, almost, of being terrifying. And suddenly I had an inkling of what it must feel like to be mad.

Dont mess with the mescaline:pac::D:eek:
    The Doors of perception - Aldous Huxley (256kb)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?inltjjj3zm4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

hello folks

anybody got - Jon Pleased Wimmin - Betty Blue.? would love to here it again!
    cant find it anyware?

thanks paddy

haha sounds like my kinda party !! im asylum DUBLIN !! not the infamous asylumkey !! lol,, but to answer your question !!! I woud prefer a more intimate smaller gig maybe ?? old skool only of course and not just the anthems but for all who are into havin a spin get the rarities out and the not so famed tunes.I am shooting from the hip here totally , but im mad keen to put a few faces to names and tell a few war stories from the aul days over a volley of pints and a pocket full of bits n bobs !!! so to put some flesh around the bones!!! all ideas thoughts or ideas are welcome. sample i.e A fucntion room with a late bar and a bit of a dance floor , rent in decks lights etc. and have a bit of a spin/bop ????? I will play for the night if no one else wants to !!!! be delighted to ! just need to get a venue and put a little lid of quietness ..... if thats possible !! enough of us to have a buzz but not a riot ! am i dreaming is this possible ????? P

Pablo I was only talking to a mate late week about organising something.
    Renting out one of the rooms in the Vaults. I know the owner, my mate done it before so he would know all the ins and outs. I would ask You to do a set on the decks, I was talking about trying to contact Cliffy (X Asylum Resident) and my mate who is tooled up with all the equipment. Alternative Asylum Nite! Then rent a set of lazers, on your credit card, :D Hey presto.
    However since I am serious about this it couldn't be pulled off this side of Halloween but I think with some phone calls try and get it this side of Crimbo.
    At least it would be above board so no boys in blue....................

hows it going lads ??? ive had a great time reading thru all the posts about the asylum, that chineese fella, cornflakes, great memories that i,d forgotten .i was 21 when i first went to the olympic in 91' went to all the spots till about 96' when i dunno whether i just was bolloxed or i think the tunes and drugs just werent the same.....any whoo check out this vid its about DUBLIN youth cults thru the decades and has some pics of raves ....the last rave pic in the clips has a pic of me -far right with white hat on- in the asylum....

growing up we were all rude boys/skinheads/mods into scooters and then i discovered raves...so i feel ive lived thru 2 of the best scenes ever and still loving it....going to james zabiela in tripod next month were im sure the young scallies will ask me if im ds....little fuppers.

i know some of you boys off the ministry forum thats dying a death, good to see the massive interest in what was OUR WOODSTOCK:)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uwmLCARUsQ

heres my asylum membership card...im not gonna show ya the picture ,cause off the nut on orange sunsets wasnt my best look.
    asylum2.jpg

Welcome 25 PUNTS FOR 1. Will you give me a half for 12.50:D
    Had a look at the youtube pics. I wonder did you ever know a bloke called Mano from Arthur Griffith Park, Lucan. He was a proper skin head. Used to buzz with him in the Olympic and at house sessions after on many a night, dead sound bloke.

hello folks

anybody got - Jon Pleased Wimmin - Betty Blue.? would love to here it again!
    cant find it anyware?

thanks paddy

Paddy, isn't that a first track on one of the Pressure tapes? Not sure which one but if it is the same track I know where your coming from, pure class and have very vivid memories of hearing it in Asylum on many a night.
    Will U/L the particular pressure one here amárach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Here is a couple of mixes lads, peppered with Olympic/Asylum classics. The files are zipped so hope you all can unzip with WinRAR software which can be downloaded here http://www.download.com/WinRAR/3000-2250_4-10007677.html. or http://rarlab.com/download.htm (Hope this helps)
    Some of you got them in PM's. What the f~ck, yis all can have a listen:D

A Retrospective of House 91-95 Volume 1

Jon 'Pleased' Wimmin (Disc 1)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ilettofxem1

Judge Jules (Disc 2)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mjeddytlj1w

John Kelly (Disc 3)
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?3jmtgpxzbum

ARetrospectiveofHouse91-95-Volume1F.jpg
    ARetrospectiveofHouse91-95-Volume1B.jpg

VOLUMES 2, 3 & 4 WILL FOLLOW!

nice Mix's Sean, I have that Album on Tape somewhere, bought it In Virgin on the Keys years ago.