Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tail-end charlie's...

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

'68 wrote:
    Your absolutely right peadar. It's cause I've got no nuts that twats get on my nerves. Sorry about that.

They wouldn't get on your nerves if you left them behind. If they're intent on drafting you, you're obviously the stronger rider and they aren't prepared to do the work. If they're annoying you so much I just don't understand why you don't leave them for dead.

Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭'68 Fastback

Never heard of sarcasm, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

'68 wrote:
    Never heard of sarcasm, no?

No. I have never heard of sarcasm.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

OK, this is rapidly descending into a slugging match. While I don't want to fan the flames further, I remain intrigued about this perception of club cyclists. Something Raam said struck a cord: "I don't need any validation from anyone else." I'm wondering, going by this thread and stuff I've seen on other forums, whether people might be a bit overly sensitive, i.e. club guys don't wave therefore they're looking down their nose at me. I mean, its mainly guys on road bikes you'll acknowledge you, but I'd pass countless ordinary joes on mountain bikes and hybrids who wouldn't so much as raise an eyebrow. Am I to conclude that they're elitist "knob jockeys" as well?

Touche

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

"People won't wave back to me"

"People won't say hello when they're cycling behind me"

"Cycling clubs are elitist and look down their noses at me"

You're out on your bike primarily for training/enjoyment etc, why does it matter so much to you that you're acknowledged?? I get on my bike and go cycling for me, why start moaning about what I perceive others to think of me?

Strap on a pair!

Jaysus I think you need to go out for spin and relieve some of your pent-up energy...

This threads a bit of banter, I don't see in anybody's posts where they've got overheated and having a mad big moan (apart from Peadar just there) - we're having a simple chat (thought that was the point of this website?) - theres no drama involved whatsoever so it's interesting to see these big cocks rocking in and posting up a loada snarly & sarky soundbites!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Harpz

From my experience (in and around Dublin city), roadies wearing spandex acknowledge most other roadies wearing spandex. If you are not wearing spandex then you dont get a wave or a nod. I guess its because you cant be nodding and waving to everybody and spandex on a road bike is the cut off....baggy shorts on a road bike or spandex on a MTB both don't get a wave/nod. ......not that its really important.
    I just thought id share this observation so that people can understand who gets a wave and hopefully to stop someones feelings being hurt when they dont get a wave (its cos you aren't wearing spandex).

el tonto wrote: »
    OK, this is rapidly descending into a slugging match. While I don't want to fan the flames further, I remain intrigued about this perception of club cyclists. Something Raam said struck a cord: "I don't need any validation from anyone else." I'm wondering, going by this thread and stuff I've seen on other forums, whether people might be a bit overly sensitive, i.e. club guys don't wave therefore they're looking down their nose at me. I mean, its mainly guys on road bikes you'll acknowledge you, but I'd pass countless ordinary joes on mountain bikes and hybrids who wouldn't so much as raise an eyebrow. Am I to conclude that they're elitist "knob jockeys" as well?

Sorry for getting all bitchy, I've worked the punch bag a bit and taken a cold shower!:D
    I know most cyclists on the road, club or not, are top boys/girls. and your right...people on clunkers in civvies are the least likely to respond to a wave. I think thats more to do with the fact that they're commuting someplace instead of out for a spin.
    But feck it, we're all different. You've talked sense into me:o.But if you don't wave at me, say hello, offer me a cup of tea and a sticky bun the next time i'll be following you home to stand behind you in the shower:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

'68 wrote:
    But if you don't wave at me, say hello, offer me a cup of tea and a sticky bun the next time i'll be following you home to stand behind you in the shower:D

It's a date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Harpz wrote: »
    From my experience (in and around Dublin city), roadies wearing spandex acknowledge most other roadies wearing spandex. If you are not wearing spandex then you dont get a wave or a nod. I guess its because you cant be nodding and waving to everybody and spandex on a road bike is the cut off....baggy shorts on a road bike or spandex on a MTB both don't get a wave/nod. ......not that its really important.
    I just thought id share this observation so that people can understand who gets a wave and hopefully to stop someones feelings being hurt when they dont get a wave (its cos you aren't wearing spandex).

It's lycra, not spandex... small, but important difference :)

Blorg nods to everybody, but then he's some sort of cycling legend.... maybe he doesn't actually exist...

It's a date.

Is that how you get all your dates :)

Watch and learn

I think I'll have to... never mind this softly softly approach, just ignore 'em till you find them in your shower :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Watch and learn

Buckin' 'ell, Bosco!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Surprised no-one has discussed roadie/MTB inter-waving etiquette. Harpz is right though, like-amounts of lycra are essential when deciding who to wave to. Would you wave to someone wearing a current ProTour team jersey though (defunct teams, teams on the Continental circuits, and actual members of ProTour teams are acceptable.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

blorg wrote: »
    Surprised no-one has discussed roadie/MTB inter-waving etiquette.

I think a begrudging wave is OK. Kind of like "I see what you are at, I don't like it, but I respect you for your dedication, no matter how misguided it may be"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭cantalach

It's lycra, not spandex... small, but important difference :)

You know, that's what I thought too. I always thought spandex was shinier and more 'showbizzy'. Wikipedia thinks otherwise though:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spandex

cantalach wrote: »
    You know, that's what I thought too. I always thought spandex was shinier and more 'showbizzy'. Wikipedia thinks otherwise though:

Jaysu, you live and learn, 'eh :)

Raam wrote: »
    I think a begrudging wave is OK. Kind of like "I see what you are at, I don't like it, but I respect you for your dedication, no matter how misguided it may be"

Yes. And it runs both ways.
    cantalach wrote: »

I always thought it was referred to as Spandex in the States and Lycra in Europe.

No, you smack the MTB'r upside the head for being an eejit and not on a mountain single track

-obviously, if they are on the side of a mountain, they can return the compliment for you bringing your lovely road bike away from a road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

Haha very very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭cantalach

blorg wrote: »
    Surprised no-one has discussed roadie/MTB inter-waving etiquette.

Yeah, I had to train on my mtb for about six weeks last spring because my road bike was in hospital. I rode mostly the same routes I would have taken on my road bike and I couldn't get over the way I was blanked all the time! I was wearing the same roadie gear, apart from the shoes, but it was as though the mtb had an invisibility cloak.

It's a date.

You obviously think i'm some sort of slut.
    Earl grey and a chocolate ecclair or you'll get nothing from me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

I'm a bit confused but would i be right in saying that, you only acknowledge/wave/fart at another cyclist if your out on a training run/out for a spin/pootling to the shops. If your commuting, then no acknowledgment is needed?
    A roadie acknowledges another roadie regardless, and if he's wearing the same team kit, they stop for tea and cake. A roadie won't acknowledge a MTBer as he's too busy training.
    An MTBer will acknowledge everyone and if your lucky get in the shower with you.

So does this apply for other forms of transport too? Should I be acknowledging all other car users too? Now hang on..... thats not a bad idea.... it'll certainly put the end to road rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

I keep an eye out for fellow single gear riders and make a smile or wee wave if possible. An acknowledgment that yes we are both smart ****ers for cycling singlespeed/fixie and at the same time conveying condescension towards fellow geared commuters.

In the same vein, I get irrationally disgusted with fellow single gear riders who break lights or act like loons and so make sure to catch up with and overtake as much as possible with as false a casual air as possible. Racing people who break lights is a pain in the arse though, bleedin cheaters.

To address your confusion Signal-Rabbit, I try my best to fart at all other road users, however, on occasion(it's rare i'll admit) i just don't have the reserves to oblige everyone.:D

Verb wrote: »
    Racing people who break lights is a pain in the arse though, bleedin cheaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

"Racing people who break lights is a pain in the arse though, bleedin cheaters."

EPO of the streets?
    not that i would ever break a red light...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc