Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy on the bus this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

All CIE busses are equipped with CCTC, the latest ones have 7 internal cameras and 1 foreword facing. The pervert taking these photos will be on record.

The pervert buses are filming schoolgirls?

Ban all buses.

/rabble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭blah

Child trafficking and Pornography act.

It is a serious offence to take pictures of kids wihtout their parents permission.

It's actually illegal. Ask any legaloligist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

Well I know that in swimming pools, etc.. that parents cant take pics of THEIR kids cos of child laws (not sure which tho) so there has to be some law against it or else the pools are doing it themselves.

would other people have done something this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,629 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

joe316 wrote: »
    Well I know that in swimming pools, etc.. that parents cant take pics of THEIR kids cos of child laws (not sure which tho) so there has to be some law against it or else the pools are doing it themselves.

would other people have done something this morning
    yea i'd have linked up and got a copy via bluetooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

blah wrote: »
    It's actually illegal. Ask any legaloligist.

Ask any WHAT? And no, it's not illegal. Frowned upon maybe in paranoia driven tabloid-states like the UK, yes, but not illegal and not in Ireland

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Somehow, I don't think pornogrpahy was being filmed on CIE/Dublin Bus this morning. You do know what pornography is, don't you?

Link to legislation sighting the act in the second setence is an offence, please.

Sorry, can't be arsed.

Just going on advice given by two lawyers and two Gaurds though when I had a "Dispute" with the local residents association over car parking.....its a long story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

think she woulda been worth 1.8 million??

hehehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sorry, can't be arsed.

Just going on advice given by two lawyers and two Gaurds though when I had a "Dispute" with the local residents association over car parking.....its a long story.

Didn't think so.

I'll bet it's long. And completely unrelated. Just one question: were charges brought in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭blah

Ask any WHAT? And no, it's not illegal. Frowned upon maybe in paranoia driven tabloid-states like the UK, yes, but not illegal and not in Ireland

It's true, I was taking a photograph of a traffic light for my traffic light enthusiast website and I accidentally caught a 17 year old boy's finger in the shot. Then I got arrested and chemically castrated. Look it up, it was in all the papers and Traffic Light Enthusiast Monthly.*

*May not be true. I think I've taken this as far as I can go. And I can never have children.

blah wrote: »
    It's true, I was taking a photograph of a traffic light for my traffic light enthusiast website and I accidentally caught a 17 year old boy's finger in the shot. Then I got arrested and chemically castrated. Look it up, it was in all the papers and Traffic Light Enthusiast Monthly.*

*May not be true. I think I've taken this as far as I can go. And I can never have children.

Ah, I see. And how is the 17-year-old? Poor traumatised wee thing will be in psychotherapy for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

6th wrote: »
    Christ do people not realise you can turn off the sound the camera phones makes?

Some do require you to have a sound, but then helpfully let you assign *any* sound you like to the camera function.

Ohh, Silence.Mp3 my usefull little friend.......... erm, i mean, ohh jesus.... i've said too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

whiskeyman wrote: »
    not on some cameras afaik.
    Sony Ericcson being one of them, althought there's probably downloadable 'fixes'

If you put your sony erricson phone on silent..you may take pictures undetected ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Somehow, I don't think pornogrpahy was being filmed on CIE/Dublin Bus this morning. You do know what pornography is, don't you?

Link to legislation sighting the act in the second setence is an offence, please.

The Daily Mail Paedo Tabloid Hysteria Legislation of 2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Maybe he just didn't understand the phone and was trying to make a call.
    "Who the hell is that young one on my phone? What's that damned clicking noise?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

ClioV6 wrote: »
    If you put your sony erricson phone on silent..you may take pictures undetected ;)

Just tried that - still get shutter noise on my K800i.
    Think it depends on the regional firmware on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

is_that_so wrote: »
    Maybe he just didn't understand the phone and was trying to make a call.
    "Who the hell is that young one on my phone? What's that damned clicking noise?"

Even tho that is very possible, i did spot him trying (i think) to take another one. He was hiding the phone and aimed at her, I stared at him he saw me looking at him and quickly put the phone back in his jacket.

joe316 wrote: »
    Even tho that is very possible, i did spot him trying (i think) to take another one. He was hiding the phone and aimed at her, I stared at him he saw me looking at him and quickly put the phone back in his jacket.

Good luck with convincing the Guards to take THAT seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

FFS OP - this is the kind of crap that will be in the Sunday World and have every paretn terrified of sending their kids to school on a bus.

You go to the gaurds and the guards are goign to ask you the exact same question I will: What exactrly would you like him to be charged with?

Dont have the time to dig up the link but some guy in Galway got jail time during the week for 3 incidents of taking upskirts with his phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Actually this reminds me of an incident I saw on a bus.

There were two kids around six or seven sitting together on the bus in front of me when I was heading home. Bus is half empty when I get on and empties more as we head for Rathmines. Anyway as we pull into the Portobello stop this lad comes up the stairs and sits down beside them, i.e. makes them push over so there’s a space for him. At this stage there’s loads of seats available so I found it a bit odd he wanted to sit there.

Anyway as we’re driving up the road he keeps engaging them in conversation even though it’s obvious they’re a bit freaked out. It’s also obvious that he doesn’t know them as he introduces himself with a handshake. The two kids end up squashed together in the corner with him sprawled in beside them. There was nothing more ominous than that.

Still when I was getting off I made a point of telling him to go elsewhere as the seats are only made for two. He was pretty pissed off at my temerity though and I had to tell him (politely) a couple of times.

So what do you think? Friendly chap who likes kids to talk to or something more sinister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I thought you were against CCTV and police state crap?
    I forgot to mention, if the culprit was using a smart card they could track his movements and see what other busses he was on and where else he was perving :D

kayos wrote: »
    Dont have the time to dig up the link but some guy in Galway got jail time during the week for 3 incidents of taking upskirts with his phone.

Please do when you get the chance. I think upskirts might qualfiy as 'invasion of privacy' whereas photogrpahy doesn't. I'd be surprised to find he got jail for it, considering people who download genuine child porn sometimes avoid jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Please do when you get the chance. I think upskirts might qualfiy as 'invasion of privacy' whereas photogrpahy doesn't. I'd be surprised to find he got jail for it, considering people who download genuine child porn sometimes avoid jail.

I'll tell you what.

At lunchtime, find a guard and ask him to watch you take a photo of a group of kids you don't know. Then, if you are able to come back this afternoon, let us know how you get on.

Some bloke on a bus taking a photo of a school girl so he can go home and have a **** over her would be considered producing pornographic material, which, it may surprise you to find out, is very much illegal.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

If all he did was take a photo. On a camera. So what.

Honestly, I would refer everyone to that Brass Eye special a few years back. Pedophobia is out of hand.

Frankly if someone want to **** in the privacy of his own home, dressed up as Julie Andrews in the Sounds of Music over a picture of an infant panda in stockings, that's their own business.

(it's jolly good fun by the way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

6th wrote: »
    Nokia, the pervert friendly phones.

I have an E65 and unless I'm missing something glaringly obvious you can't turn the sound off on it.

The amount of pics of hot birds on the train I've lost out on cause of that feckin click.... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Maximilian wrote: »

Honestly, I would refer everyone to that Brass Eye special a few years back. Pedophobia is out of hand.
    )

That was a quality episode of a quality show.

The part were they showed children to a pedo was Epic Funny :D

http://www.galwaynews.ie/4923-salthill-man-jailed-taking-indecent-photos-women

Sure there is a better article on it some where. Basicly he was caught in boots and on the street doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

He was (allegedly) taking pictures of a fully clothed teenager in a public place? And we've gotten from that to him being a raging paedo who should be arrested and charged with producing child p0rn?

Jesus Christ. What's next? Gouging out the eyes of people with an eidetic memory juuuusssst in case they look at a bunch of schoolgirls and go home and get their rocks off while picturing them???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

kayos wrote: »
    http://www.galwaynews.ie/4923-salthill-man-jailed-taking-indecent-photos-women

Sure there is a better article on it some where. Basicly he was caught in boots and on the street doing it.

7 months is a bit OTT. This would have been laughed at as a Just William type scenario in an earlier age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Silent phones aren't much good when you have to tell the girl to get her kit off for a better shot.

stovelid wrote: »
    7 months is a bit OTT. This would have been laughed at as a Just William type scenario in an earlier age.

Well if you are a Galway local you know that if your in front of Mary Fahy your screwed. There have been cases where lesser offenses have got very heavy sentences. Reading the local rags and the in the courts sections you get to know she is not a judge you want to be in front of.

Unless of course you are a restaurant caught serving alcohol on Good Friday. In which case she refuses to give a conviction. But in fairness to her on that one my understand of the good Friday law was you could get wine etc in a restaurant on Good Friday as long as you where eating a meal. But some cop got it into his head to bring charges against nearly every restaurant on Quay street last year. She admitted that by law he was right but refused to convict.