Armed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

kowloon wrote: »
    Would the lack of risk though (compared to dealing with someone at arms length) result in people getting tazered for mouthing off or something similarly unworthy of electrical stimulation?

It's not that simple really. Tasers have a microchip which records the time and length of use each time it's being deployed. Policeman using it in a way you described would have a lot of explaining to do.
    This also reminds me a point about tasers being made on the radio - i'ts a bit silly saying that tasers will be used to torture people etc - you could use your thumb to do it, you don't need a taser. It's people who hurt people, weapons are just tools.

Re foreign lad in Canada: he was actually polish, and he wasn't an illegal immigrant, he just came to the country and there was some problem with a visa. They couldn't communicate with him due to the language barer, he got agitated, they called the mounties and i ended how it ended. He got zapped way to many times and his heart couldn't take it anymore.

It's an example of the abuse of power, nothing else, but it's being used as a proof that tasers are dangerous. Like karlito said, ASP can be as deadly when used incorrectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Do you think ASP's or Tasers are more dangerous to the recipriant?

I would say ASPs because you've a likely chance of breaking bone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

When will the regular Gardai actually start carrying Tazers anyway?
    I think the time has come when every guard should have one on their belt.

They will be getting OC Spray as an interim measure, probably won't get taser for uniform members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

That's a shame given the deterent qualities of a tazer. Spray just doesn't cut it with the scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

the locust wrote: »
    They will be getting OC Spray as an interim measure, probably won't get taser for uniform members

Have you heard something? last I heard the big man was against it

i agree i would much rather have a taser than spray. Noel Conroy was quote to have said about the spray - over my dead body will they have pepper spray...

Murphy has made no comment yet, no one knows how he feels about it. But i read in the Indo a month back that Garda management had approved it after the Inspectorate released a report. I dunno. Sgt in Charge of training is crying out for spray as the ASPs are effective but dangerous they need a go between.

As far as i am aware ERU are trained in OC spray from large cannister and pepper rounds that can be deployed from shotgun for barricade incidents (as a result of Abbeylara) they have less lethal teams which can move in, and more recently then and more popular - the Taser, the RSU are supposed to be getting trained in these as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

In my opinion the Taser is a highly efficient and capable alternative to CS Spray. That said however I can't imagine the latter seeing the light of day in this country nevermind the former..

I sometimes wonder whether Ireland will be the last country in the world to have a Police force incapable of allowing uniformed officers have the proper capacity to protect the public of which he/she serves; not to mind his/herself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

interesting poll from http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhqlkfeyojsn/

More than half of gardaí polled about arming the force said uniformed officers should carry guns, it was revealed today.

The online survey by Garda Review magazine found 53% of respondents believed the time had come to issue firearms to rank and file.

Some 159 members who completed the survey were asked: “Do you now believe that all uniformed gardai on duty should routinely be armed?”

Half of respondents were attached to regular units of the force, with 63% of these in favour of being issued with guns.

Of the 47% that voted against more guns, many expressed a desire for more – and more visible – armed response units, according to Garda Review.

It said little emphasis could be placed on the response from other units because of the small sample size.

The results showed a majority of detectives who responded were against the idea but most student gardai were in favour.

The official magazine of the Garda Representative Association claimed the results signalled a cultural shift inside the force.

In an article on the findings, the magazine said the poll results were at odds with a common perception that uniformed gardai don’t want to carry guns.

The survey was carried out over the Garda Review website on a strictly one member/one vote basis, the magazine said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

id carry a firearm but i would only use if im in danger

utick wrote: »
    interesting poll from http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhqlkfeyojsn/

More than half of gardaí polled about arming the force said uniformed officers should carry guns, it was revealed today.

The online survey by Garda Review magazine found 53% of respondents believed the time had come to issue firearms to rank and file.

Some 159 members who completed the survey were asked: “Do you now believe that all uniformed gardai on duty should routinely be armed?”

Half of respondents were attached to regular units of the force, with 63% of these in favour of being issued with guns.

Of the 47% that voted against more guns, many expressed a desire for more – and more visible – armed response units, according to Garda Review.

It said little emphasis could be placed on the response from other units because of the small sample size.

The results showed a majority of detectives who responded were against the idea but most student gardai were in favour.

The official magazine of the Garda Representative Association claimed the results signalled a cultural shift inside the force.

In an article on the findings, the magazine said the poll results were at odds with a common perception that uniformed gardai don’t want to carry guns.

The survey was carried out over the Garda Review website on a strictly one member/one vote basis, the magazine said.

Beaten too the punch in posting this. :P

Was reading the article today, wont have a chance to scan the full thing sorry but what was really interesting was that a lot of people were in favour of arming but not immediate as they felt radio, cars and other areas were more of a priority. The 53% were for arming now. Others also said we needed more armed backup and spray, etc for ourselves.

Also, the number mentioned above is the number of people questioned in person, the number that completed the online survey was a lot higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

They're talking about this issue on Matt Cooper -Today FM at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Fire arms are bad, doesn't matter who has them. It's a touchy subject, but as a member of the public, this is who I and alot of other people see it.

But I am not in the force so I have no real idea of how bad the situation is just from reading the papers but they always over emphasise how bad a situation is.

Also firearms are around centrys what's changed that we suddley need too arm the force? There nothing new like !! Tazzers & CS all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

msg11 wrote: »
    Fire arms are bad, doesn't matter who has them. It's a touchy subject, but as a member of the public, this is who I and alot of other people see it.

Firearms are treated with great respect and even fear from what I have seen inside the force. This is probably why until now there was a total rejection of the potential use of firearms by uniformed members.
    But I am not in the force so I have no real idea of how bad the situation is just from reading the papers but they always over emphasise how bad a situation is.

Some situations can get very bad even though at first arrival can seem trivial or just not very dangerous. They can escalate very quickly and all we can do stand back, watch and wait for back up which can be up to 20 minutes away. In these situations we are powerless and this is not lost on those who are fighting.
    Also firearms are around centrys what's changed that we suddley need too arm the force? There nothing new like !! Tazzers & CS all the way.

Increased use of firearms and the shooting of unarmed member Garda Sherlock in Dublin. Although this shooting was unusual it can be easily predicted they will increase.

I agree with you on Tazer and CS. I dont think the time has come for full arming. At least not just yet. Having said that this needs to be constantly reviewed so we are not calling for weapons after a Garda has been shot dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

The nog, As I understand your personal protection must come first, but your human at the end of the day, follow your natural instinct and get the hell away from the trouble, if it becomes more than your head.

I think this is why the garda are as good as they are, they use as much reason and they do force.

Just full on arming is a bit over the top! CS, tazzers and rubber bullets, are as much force as shooting someone, without the high risk of death.

Then again, any scumbag who points guns at people deserve to be shot, dunno I just can't put my finger on it. Something would not feel right, maybe just seen some people with guns??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

as a non member...

if you look back at all the gardai who gave their life in the line of duty, you will find many of them were armed (certainly in the last few decades). while you can argue that this is partly explained by armed members facing higher risk situations, it makes it clear that the issue is bigger than simply the question of carrying a firearm or not.

improved access to armed back up which is visible would seem to be the way forward for many situations - coupled with better training in firearms and use of non-lethal weapons by the force as a whole.

however, if the percentages in the recent survey are borne out accross the force as a whole, we should listen to what we are being told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

I think Paul Williams made a good point about this survey: A lot of members surveyed were probationers or students, and since a lot of them are younger and less experienced there would be much more gung ho, and know a lot less about the realities of the job.

ojewriej wrote: »
    I think Paul Williams made a good point about this survey: A lot of members surveyed were probationers or students, and since a lot of them are younger and less experienced there would be much more gung ho, and know a lot less about the realities of the job.

thats not entirely true. only seven students were questioned as they cannot access the online questionaire and by the same token, the biggest percentage of no votes came from detectives that are already armed which too me just about says it all about ddu and their attitude to uniform members.

back to students, lets remember that the student of today is the uniform beat man of tomorrow so their voice needs too be heard.
    dredre wrote: »
    as a non member...

if you look back at all the gardai who gave their life in the line of duty, you will find many of them were armed (certainly in the last few decades).

Actually its the complete opposite. McCabe was armed but the vast majority were unarmed when shot dead including a student, off duty garda, off duty sergeant, a probationer that was shot in the back as he ran away from his armed apponent and also a sergeant that was shot in the head while he lay on the ground already wounded from the first shot and begging for his life.

the second two cases i mention are important as the outcome could and probable would have been different had they been armed themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 tintin

The nog, As I understand your personal protection must come first, but your human at the end of the day, follow your natural instinct and get the hell away from the trouble, if it becomes more than your head.

Unfortunately as any guard can tell you, trouble often seeks you out, not the other way around. And if guards didn't constantly step up and put themselves at risk to deal with "trouble", then who exactly would deal with the criminals, be they coked up, carrying knives, just pure bad, etc. etc.?? nurses? teachers maybe? Damned if you do, damned if you don't....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

/grits teeth.

Some things really, truly sicken me about the role we're meant to play and the role we're -made- play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

follow your natural instinct and get the hell away from the trouble,
    I can picture the Holy Grail moment - "Run Away! Run Away!":P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭owlwink

Tazers should be introduced and we should work from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

Actually its the complete opposite. McCabe was armed but the vast majority were unarmed when shot dead.

Of the Gardai killed in the line of duty in modern times (excluding road traffic collisions and overseas):

4 were on duty and unarmed; 4 were on duty and armed; 1 was a student Guard on duty and unarmed but with an armed soldier; 2 were killed by bombs; 2 were off duty.

I heard McCabes weapon was in the boot of the car in the safe? Anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

the locust wrote: »
    I heard McCabes weapon was in the boot of the car in the safe? Anyone know?

Without a doubt the most disdainful comment I have ever read on this forum.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I agree with CLADA but

Just for the record, Det. Gda. Gerry McCabe and Ben O' Sullivan were armed with thier smith and wesson revolvers, their uzis were in the car in cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Why is this even being discussed? I'm sure the locust didn't mean any harm, however this is a tasteless and, in my view, offensive topic. Not to mention disrespectful.

I agree it shouldnt be discussed, but i felt it was best to put the record straight rather then feul the flames of rumors, dont you think? Or am i going to get a bollocking for this too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    I agree it shouldnt be discussed, but i felt it was best to put the record straight rather then feul the flames of rumors, dont you think? Or am i going to get a bollocking for this too?

Ultimately you weren't an eye witness, nor were you one of the investigating detectives, so you can't do anything other than add to the rumour mill, but I see what you were trying to do.

However, to dine on ashes like this is in very poor taste generally.

These facts are widely available, anynumber of reports or documentarys on that attrocity will confim this, but fairs fair you did give credit where it was due.

Think its time to move on from reply to that post and back onto the topic at hand