Obesity as a disease? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

it all started when that french bint said "let them eat cake"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

they make obesity sound unpreventable though; and inheritable: they even pegged down a Fat Gene ffs. I'm sorry but Obesity only becomes a disease when you've gathered up the fat from your ignorant and gluttonous choice in lifestyle. and even then its as reversible a condition as long hair (plus some clogged arteries you dumb fatass*)

*to nobody in particular. in stereo, where available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Overheal wrote: »
    I'm sorry

& so you should be!!

I'm sorry

& so you should be!!
    Yeah but
    Sometimes you cannot escape the fury of BBQ you can only defend/fight against it. I for 1 will eat the evidence. You've been warned!!

For my own beliefs, Just curious what will you do, when the BBQ is wiped out bar the few emotional stragglers, & the obese are rolling forever forward.

See what ive done here, is taken what you've said entirely out of context as well: except that when I do it, its funny.

Yeah but

See what ive done here, is taken what you've said entirely out of context as well: except that when I do it, its funny.

It must be true, you say it so!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

micmclo wrote: »
    Well they call alcoholism a disease but nobody is forcing an alcoholic to drink constantly.

Why give disease status to alcoholism and not obesity?

It took alcoholism about 150 years to be finally recognized as a disease and even then only by the medical community, being still rejected by citizens who believed it to be a weakness. Obesity has a way to go yet :)

For those who are interested there is a very good article here :

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/4650.php
    Proponents argue that new scientific understanding has clearly established that obesity is a discrete medical condition that independently affects health. Officially classifying obesity as a disease would have a profound impact by helping to destigmatize the condition, much as the classification of alcoholism as a disease made it easier for many alcoholics to get treatment, experts say.

But equally important, the move would immediately remove key economic and regulatory hurdles to prevention and treatment, they say.

Opponents contend that obesity is more akin to high cholesterol or cigarette smoking - a risk factor that predisposes someone to illness but is not an ailment in itself, such as lung cancer or heart disease.

Labeling it a bona fide disease would divert scarce resources, distract public health efforts from the most effective countermeasures and unnecessarily medicalize the condition, they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Im watching CNN

That was your first mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

B-b-b-but it is a disease because Wikipedia says so! And Wikipedia's NEVER wrong:

Wikipedia is the online version of "A man down the pub told me", anyone who cites it should be shot.

Anyway, time for Dr phil to solve this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

they make obesity sound unpreventable though; and inheritable: they even pegged down a Fat Gene ffs. I'm sorry but Obesity only becomes a disease when you've gathered up the fat from your ignorant and gluttonous choice in lifestyle. and even then its as reversible a condition as long hair (plus some clogged arteries you dumb fatass*)
    I dont know whats more stomach turning. The fact that you wrote this or that you believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Reminds me of that episode of south park where they're talking about alcoholism being an illness. "IT"S NOT AN ILLNESS, JUST STOP DRINKING"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

"It's glandular"... right up there with "We can just lie here..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

Honey-ec wrote: »
    "It's glandular"... right up there with "We can just lie here..."

I like it! A friend of mine who was chronically obese has, in the last two years, lost six stones. He was always making excuses for himself too. He had himself convinced that his weight problem was due to all sorts of causes like glandular, genetic and mild depression etc. It never seemed to occur to him that beating a path to the chipper twice or three times a day was a major contributory factor :rolleyes:.

Another friend of his, tired of all this moaning, gave him a bollocking for his constant do-nothing attitude to his weight problem. From that day on my mate started eating properly and excersing. He had broken that mindset of excuse making. Magically and inexplicably the weight started to come off. :rolleyes: A bit of straight talking goes a long way towards motivating people to change their lifestyle. Eat less and excercise more - couldn't be simpler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

its a disease to my eyes, speaking of which i think its breakfast time naamsayin

anti-venom wrote: »
    Another friend of his, tired of all this moaning, gave him a bollocking for his constant do-nothing attitude to his weight problem. From that day on my mate started eating properly and excersing. He had broken that mindset of excuse making. Magically and inexplicably the weight started to come off. :rolleyes: A bit of straight talking goes a long way towards motivating people to change their lifestyle. Eat less and excercise more - couldn't be simpler.

Fair play to him. I presume he received support from family & friends & probably several other factors.
    "Eat less & excercise more-couldn't be simpler", quite a generalisation to make. For some it's over eating, others it's mental health issues & others still it's glandular. Just because you don't believe it, doesn't make it so.

All the abuse that is fired at obese, alcoholics, addicts etc, is quite cowardly. The few are made out to be the scape goats for the many. It's disgusting in this day & age that people are still viewed upon for how they look or fit in. Bet you wouldn't go to an overeaters group & make that statement.

Would this thread be allowed if it was to discuss racism & sexism? ( I very much doubt it. The disease is the in the society not the few minor groups.

Smokers used to get it in the neck, but not so much now. What changed?
    Whether too thin, too fat, over eaters, under eaters, smokers, drinkers, gamblers, game addicts, internet addicts, porn addicts, pain addicts, mental & physical health problems, OCD, nervous disorders, fears etc, everone has something to hide. Not all can hide it & some even like to enforce their authority over someone else's afliction ( whether the authority exists or not )
    Life is a b*tch & we all have our cross to bear ( loosely speaking )
    Some beat it & some don't.

That's my rant over, appreciate your time, Cheers................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

All the abuse that is fired at obese, alcoholics, addicts etc, is quite cowardly. The few are made out to be the scape goats for the many. It's disgusting in this day & age that people are still viewed upon for how they look or fit in. Bet you wouldn't go to an overeaters group & make that statement.

well, I'm fairly certain i could outrun them, so yeah.

Would this thread be allowed if it was to discuss wheelchair users? I very much doubt it. The disease is the in the society not the few minor groups.

People don't end up in wheelchairs because the just can't say no to seconds. More to the point they can't get out of that wheelchair just by deciding they want to and motivating themselves. It's a terrible analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

"Eat less & excercise more-couldn't be simpler", quite a generalisation to make.

Why? That kind of thinking worked for most people, I lost nearly 3 stone eating less and actually doing some exercise.
    For some it's over eating, others it's mental health issues & others still it's glandular. Just because you don't believe it, doesn't make it so.

Most can still be beaten by will power.
    Glandular problems either require you to intake more of a certain chemical into your body or cause your body to over stock fat, neither of which actual make you eat more, both of which can be overcome by just eating healthier.
    Over eaters just eat too much and do no exercise. They use food as a crutch because its an easy way to feel better. Thing is, joining a gym or sports club and making new friends is a better way to feel better about yourself (you feel better because you have friends and you feel better because you are healthy).
    The disease is the in the society not the few minor groups.
    Smokers used to get it in the neck, but not so much now. What changed?
    Whether too thin, too fat, over eaters, under eaters, smokers, drinkers, gamblers, game addicts, internet addicts, porn addicts, pain addicts, mental & physical health problems, OCD, nervous disorders, fears etc, everone has something to hide. Not all can hide it & some even like to enforce their authority over someone else's afliction ( whether the authority exists or not )
    Life is a b*tch & we all have our cross to bear ( loosely speaking )
    Some beat it & some don't.

The disease in society is not from judging people as being too fat, for smoking, drinking etc, because all these things are very bad for your health. There's a reason why fat people, long time heavy smokers and drinkers look unattractive to the general public and thats because we are made to judge potential partners in terms of how healthy they look.
    I do believe there is a "disease" in society, but not in what people find unattractive, but in what a lot of magzine are putting forward as ideal physical specimens (particularly females) which, imo, are as unhealthy looking as the obese

If you are NOT obese, I still fail to see what, how or if obesity effects your everyday life? why worry about the strangers in our society so much?? they aint your problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

ChewChew wrote: »
    If you are NOT obese, I still fail to see what, how or if obesity effects your everyday life? why worry about the strangers in our society so much?? they aint your problem.

I agree. Apart from taking up 2 seats on the bus or buying the last 5 fresh slices of pizza in a deli it has nothing to do with a fit and sexy guy like myself :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I'll take a stab in the dark and say that some people could be upset by obese people being treated by National Health Care meaning that peopls taxes were being used to treat them. Some who believe it not to be an illness would object to this.

I agree. Apart from taking up 2 seats on the bus or buying the last 5 fresh slices of pizza in a deli it has nothing to do with a fit and sexy guy like myself :pac:
    of course. because you are a 'fit and sexy guy' you are automatically exempt. remove yourself. please. :p
    Ponster wrote: »
    I'll take a stab in the dark and say that some people could be upset by obese people being treated by National Health Care meaning that peopls taxes were being used to treat them. Some who believe it not to be an illness would object to this.
    maybe so. but most of us pay taxes that go towards things we disagree with. I disagree with 6 GAA teams getting a garda escort to croke park of sunday just gone. what a waste of 18 on-duty gards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

It's an addiction to food/eating in my opinion. It's no surprise that since this country has become richer and fast food much more accessible and cheaper that our country's children are much fatter than they were 10/20 years ago.

It bugs me when they play the disease/illness card, especially seeing as they tend to get far more sympathy than somebody who is addicted to smokes/cigarettes/drugs.

nummnutts wrote: »
    It's an addiction to food/eating in my opinion. It's no surprise that since this country has become richer and fast food much more accessible and cheaper that our country's children are much fatter than they were 10/20 years ago.

It bugs me when they play the disease/illness card, especially seeing as they tend to get far more sympathy than somebody who is addicted to smokes/cigarettes/drugs.

Are you saying EVERYONE plays the disease/illness card?? or are you talking about a specific trend in overweith people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

No, not everyone. I probably should have been more specific. But the ones that do and are in denial about the whole 'eating less=weight loss' annoy me. It's similar to the way a lot of alcoholics don't believe they are addicted.

nummnutts wrote: »
    No, not everyone. I probably should have been more specific. But the ones that do and are in denial about the whole 'eating less=weight loss' annoy me. It's similar to the way a lot of alcoholics don't believe they are addicted.

I thought thats what you ment of course. but ya cant be too sure. I do think there are people out there that are oblivious to the damage they are causing themselves and see no problem in what they are doing. It just really annoys me when people 'assume' these people are just eating for the craic to see how obese they can get. there are so many different factors that contibute directly and indirectly to obesity that a percentage of people dont realise the effects untill they become a statistic. and its the narrowmindedness of some social aspects of their lives that make it hard for them to accept what is going on with their lives and that there is why denial sets in, locks and throws away the key.

I'm a pretty big guy (I wouldn't say I'm obese, but overweight, but thats beside the point).

The reason I'm like this isn't as straight cut as being addicted to food or an 'over-eater'. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy a nice meal as much as the next guy, but I don't eat that much more than the next guy, either.

I, however, have what i believe woule be best described as a pretty bad case of Social Anxiety Disorder. I don't have (m)any friends and feel very uncomfortable in public. Therefore, I don't really get much/any exercise at all. I sometimes go out for an hour or so walk at about 4 or 5am some nights (as there are no people out, i feel more comfortable) but I find it is sometimes difficult to build up any motivation or enthusiasm to do so and therefore, do it rarely.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure there are people out there that are just genuinely too lazy to do anything, I believe that there are people out there that are addicted to food and will eat and eat. But to class every overweight person as being a lazy, greedy bastard is just a little unfair and ridiculous in my opinion.

People don't end up in wheelchairs because the just can't say no to seconds. More to the point they can't get out of that wheelchair just by deciding they want to and motivating themselves. It's a terrible analogy.
    Don't be so sure: Thanks to affordable motorized wheelchairs, more and more fat people are turning to wheelchairs and segways. Not to take away from paraplegics.
    When they're your friends and family members... I have an obese aunt. She can't walk anymore without at least a cane because she's eroded almost all of the cartilage in her knees. When it gets to those extremes would I call it a disease? Absolutely - thats what fits the description. But I think people grossly underestimate the point at which they are no longer personally in control of their condition. But the truth is she has done nothing in the last 20+ years to turn her own health around and now she's suffering for it.

I still dont see how that affects you? are you he full time carer?? does she require a full time carer?

To reverse this back on you dear Chew Chew how does mine giving a **** affect you?

I guess Im not in school anymore so I shouldnt be concerned with school shootings. I never visited New York so I shouldnt give a hoot when it gets attacked by terrorists...and I guess I shouldnt try and help people at all in PI because I dont know them. Im so sorry for caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Obesity being classed as a disease is stupid, its all down to being comfortable. When people are single they put a lot of effort into how they look, including their weight but when they find someone they let themselves go. Also when couples go out to eat the girl tends to eat less and the bloke eats his and finishes hers....so every overweight bloke should blame their OH....as for the kids...they are just lazy b*stards.

To reverse this back on you dear Chew Chew how does mine giving a **** affect you?

I guess Im not in school anymore so I shouldnt be concerned with school shootings. I never visited New York so I shouldnt give a hoot when it gets attacked by terrorists...and I guess I shouldnt try and help people at all in PI because I dont know them. Im so sorry for caring.

dont patronize me with that bullsh1t please. and your giving a sh1t does not effect me. . . !!

I'm so sorry for having an opinion!