Electric Picnic : Aftermath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Boutique camping is the only way. Didn't have to queue for a toilet all weekend and they were sparkling clean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

scoot on wrote: »
    The toilets were a massive con for me. I was the only girl in a group of 8 and it was a bloody disaster trying to go to the toilet. How hard is it to put in enough toilets?? The queues were crazy. And of course all the lads had to wait for me most of the time. Ffs, ****** left them for dead in relation to the toilets this year.

Did you not see "comfy crappers"? They are going to save my life at Bestival this weekend...£13 for a wristband for the 5 days. Clean bogs. woo hoo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

eth0_ wrote: »
    Did you not see "comfy crappers"? They are going to save my life at Bestival this weekend...£13 for a wristband for the 5 days. Clean bogs. woo hoo!

No??

Wtf are comfy crappers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,193 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Pros:
    The craic being mighty
    The Gutter Twins
    The Saloon bar
    Candy Floss
    Franz Ferdinand(even though I'm fairly sure they played for like 10minutes)
    Time Maching Friday night from Meatloaf onwards

Cons:
    Sigur Ros:(..maybe they were lst on me after seeing Mark Lanegan though*
    MBV...all I heard was noise, couldnt hear vocals at all*
    Person trying to rob our booze(thanks to neighbouring tents for telling him where to go!)

Overall a great time, some amazingly cool people out there.

*Still think the bands are very good, just underwhelmed by the experiences with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Highlights:

Being up front for the Sex Pistols,
    Elbow
    The circus
    Franz Ferdinand
    Rave in the woods,(what i can remember of it)
    Eco friendly glasses
    Nice looking girls

Lows:
    Sunburn
    Hangover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

back to DUB at last.

wow.

amazing. didnt know a lot of bands but given it was my first picnic twas epicly good.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

JaneyMc wrote: »
    The wasps in Charlie Chaplin campsite, not sure if other campsites has this problem, but they were EVERYWHERE
    lol, i was in CC also, feckin wasps everywhere, hanging around the empty cans !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Evenescent

HIGHS:

Foals !! :D
    Gomez
    Crystal Castles
    Grinderman
    The Gossip
    The Floating act at the O2 Blueroom
    Hearing 'The New York Fund' and 'Yacht' for the first time.
    Seeing the band in the Bubble Jukebox thing near the Chapel
    Band called Fracas.
    The rave in the Woods

LOWS:

Sinéad O' Connor
    Main Stage not having Screens :(
    Needed more Water Top up Areas
    Thought I was going to keel over and die Saturday Morning - so Hungover

Pretty disappointed with 'The Kills' and I had been really looking forward to them

Brilliant Weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Too tired to do a proper review now but highlights:

Santogold
    Cut Copy
    Digitalism
    Modeselektor
    Grinderman
    ATrack
    Catching some guy robbing peoples cups from outside their tents early on Saturday morning. Chasing him off whilecalling him a krusty c*nt.
    Japanese Popstars in the rain last night. Stood there in only a T Shirt getting drowned but it was well worth it.

Toilets in Warhol and Hendrix were horriffic. Sort that out for next year and your laughing.

quarryman wrote: »
    My favourite year so far.

Highlights:
    • Silent Disco - Why is this my first year going into this? Amazing stuff

What was it like ?

Like is it not bizarre looking about and everyone is dancing at different times ?

Clearly i have never been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 hiphopopotamus

Music wise it was not a good year at the picnic there where a few exceptions of course the Roots where great so to where Wilco and Hayseed dixie were great fun. I was disappointed with Sigur Ros im a huge fan but i felt that on a main stage they just were not as good as seing them in a tent or similar small venue for instance when they played oxygen two years ago it was one of the best gigs i was ever at. The higlights for me at this years picnic came from the comedy tent with David O'Doherty and Jarleth Regan being the standouts. This is my fourth electric picnic and as with previous years you cant but not have a good time the atmosphere and the friendly crowd make up for any shortfalls in the line-up. My major complaints however are that the toilets especially in the campsites were a disgrace. Not enough of them and no urinals for the men. The car parks need to be looked at to I was lucky and left early on monday morning but i just about got out they need to lay gravel tracks or temporary roads along all the headlands and then their would would be no problem whatever the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Evenescent wrote: »
    What was it like ?

Like is it not bizarre looking about and everyone is dancing at different times ?

Clearly i have never been

here ya go: Silent Disco. The sound in the video doesn't do it enough justice, you take off the earphones and its just people singing really badly!

Also:
    Dan Deacon

enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Toast

Really enjoyed it but I think they need to consolidate a bit. There are far too many stages and things to see and some of them are of only passing novelty value at best. Either that or add another day. Impossible to see everything even with a weak lineup preventing too much distraction from the music stages.

Toilet layout needed looking at... not as bad as 2006 but seemed to be worse than 2007. I feel that they are trying to force people into using posh camping by reducing the quality of the regular camping setup. The heading into the Arena trick only worked until the point that the Arena filled up.

Other than that was a great festival that was over far too soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

First EP (First festival in fact) but it was mighty good craic!

Sigur Ros were epic and played most of my favourite songs, so I was very happy with that. Franz Ferdinand played too many new songs off their upcoming album I thought, still sounded good but ya couldnt bop along to it really.

Comedy tent was pretty awesome. Some short Irish guy (Ian Coppinger I think) was an absolute hoot. Colin Murphy was strangely bad (Seen him twice before and he was excellent)

Brought way too much booze, the 'latrines' and general toiletry was a disgrace, WASPS!, but everything else was awesome.

Kudos to everyone who had funny tshirts too :)

quarryman wrote: »
    here ya go: Silent Disco. The sound in the video doesn't do it enough justice, you take off the earphones and its just people singing really badly!

Also:
    Dan Deacon

enjoy!

Bah ha aha ha : Thanks for that.

May try it out at some stage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

scoot on wrote: »
    No??

Wtf are comfy crappers?

They are eco-loo's that you pay to use. They're always clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

eth0_ wrote: »
    They are eco-loo's that you pay to use. They're always clean.

Where were they??

Was there much of a queue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

highlights
    - The weather
    - Taking a shortcut down that was reasonably effective
    - Silver Apples. Yeah.
    - Twinkranes in the Bernard Shaw. Krautastic. Was too leaden footed to see much of Andy Votel's DJ set though.
    - Large Mound rockin' the Little Big Tent
    - Faust's chainsaw massacre.
    - Super Extra Bonus Party.
    - That Petrol Emotion making it seem like Feile 1990.
    - That German hot dog place. Bratwurst mmmm.
    - Ice cream.
    - Actually finding someone handing out Saturday and Sunday copies of The Ticket
    - Meeting loads of people I knew and good conversations with strangers.
    - My Bloody Valentine. No earplugs necessary and having room to dance. Still glad I went to Manchester. Totally different experience at EP.

lowlights
    - Getting lost in the Body and Soul arena on Friday night having spilled drink all over me during Rollers / Sparkers. Kept going round in circles.
    - Little Big Tent not being marked on map. Several people I know missed bands because of this.
    - Inconsistent seizing of alcohol by security
    - Toilets in Charlie Chaplin. Portaloos on Saturday evening too little too late.
    - Realising I have outgrown my tent.
    - The hellish walk from the car park to the campsite. Never gets easy.
    - Frustrating 'walk the long way around' incidents when the place you want is just over the fence.
    - Sound quality during the Sex Pistols.
    - Hearing someone lament the dropping of their phone in the latrines, Charlie Chaplin.

Grace Jones started well but I left for the Silver Apples. Hope someone gave her the spliff she craved.

Left at around 11.30pm last night. Did the Pistols do Frigging In The Rigging?

Orb any good? Would have liked to stay but a good feeling to be back home and in bed by 12.15am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Extraplus

Irjudge1 wrote: »
    Highlights:

Bands I know now: Herbaliser, Kormac, Booka Shade

Kormac rocked it! Completely sorted my head out on Saturday morning after a bop to these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

BarryCreed wrote: »
    Is this not the best way to listen to them? (for me..)

Yea, it was nice looking up at the sky with the lights beaming from Stradbally Hall. :)
    chris d wrote:
    The main stage & big tent could have done with screens. I could just about make out nick cave.

Definetly concur there. I think the festival has grown to the point where it could really do with screens on the two big stages. Graspop in Belgium had two massive screens on the two sides of the main marquee which were fantastic.
    scoot on wrote:
    The toilets were a massive con for me. I was the only girl in a group of 8 and it was a bloody disaster trying to go to the toilet. How hard is it to put in enough toilets?? The queues were crazy. And of course all the lads had to wait for me most of the time.

Toilets did look a complete disaster, horrendous looking queues. I did take my one designated festival **** and the toilet I landed upon was far better than jacks I've had to endure at previous festivals. So no complaints from myself anyway, but there definetly didn't seem to be enough portaloos to go around for the whole weekend. I can't recall it being that bad last year.
    Toast wrote:
    Really enjoyed it but I think they need to consolidate a bit. There are far too many stages and things to see and some of them are of only passing novelty value at best. Either that or add another day. Impossible to see everything even with a weak lineup preventing too much distraction from the music stages.

Yea, was a little too bloated, seemed like the site had doubled the amount of things on offer from the previous year. Let alone the fact that vast majorty of big guns music-wise were on during the later hours, it was slightly disappointing that I didn't get to touch on even half of the going-ons.

Maybe next year I shouldn't drink so much. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    - My Bloody Valentine. No earplugs necessary and having room to dance. Still glad I went to Manchester. Totally different experience at EP.

I thought the Manchester gig was a lot better myself. Sound quality ar EP wasn't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Sigur Ros totally wrecked our buzz on the Friday, they made us too chilled and sleepy so we just headed back to the tent, drank a bit and fell asleep.

Today I realised how much stuff I really wanted to see but missed, can't believe I never went to the silent disco :( On Friday the queue was too long, on Saturday I was passed out and on Sunday it was lashing rain and we were all wrecked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    - Little Big Tent not being marked on map. Several people I know missed bands because of this.

Speaking of the music tents, did anyone else encounter problems recognising the different stages? They all looked very similar, and being clumped in one general area didn't help.

I miss that kooky-looking Nokia tent from last year. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭stakey

Great time!

Highlights:
    Grinderman
    Crystal Castles (boo at clashing with Underworld)
    * the end of Underworld
    Faust (wow!)
    Super Extra Bonus Party
    Silver apples
    Hayseed Dixies
    Goldfrapp

Body and Soul and the bizarre little cottage with sing alongs!
    Laughing at that washed up bunch known as the Pistols
    The 'Rocket and Relish' Gourmet Burger people, nom!
    Diep feeding me all day Sunday :)
    The circus! Haven't been in 15 years! ha!
    Great crowd (gratz all!)

Lows:
    Spending 5 hours comatose in the tent on Saturday
    General sound issues in the tents
    The Pistols
    Piss poor signage for car parks
    Shockingly low quotient of loo's!
    10 o clock closing time in the bar! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Fontaine

Great festival. needed a few more days there to take it all in :)

Highs-
    Grinderman aka Nick Cave & Co. - what a performance!
    My bloody valentine -great, played it like they should!
    Digitalism and The Stunning on friday.
    Cut Copy
    Born Slippy from Underworld, missed most of the rest of the gig but that was brilliant. Visuals as well were cool!
    The Comedy Tent.
    Elbow, lead singer is a legend.
    The free cups of tea and flakes! Nice touch!
    Hayseed Dixie, just for the lead singers jokes! or were they jokes!
    meeting friends hadnt seen in a while.
    Lows
    The lack of network coverage which meant when you lost your friends that was it!
    CSS

Edit:
    Dan Deacon - great gig. crazy american :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭seanironmaiden

anyone catch The Breeders on Saturday? wasnt at the festival myself as I was just flying back from Scotland saturday afternoon. I stopped inside the airport to help a woman who's bags had fallen off her trolley and looked up to find I was being thanked by none other than Kim Deal ( Pixies, Breeders ). Had a nice chat with her as we were both walking out towards the busses. They were heading straight to EP. So pissed off I couldnt go down she kept saying I should come down which made it worse.. She was real nice. Would love to hear what their set was like and what stage / time they were on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Fontaine

i seen them. they were on in the electric arena (could be wrong) on sat eve at about 5 pm. Ya they were really good as well. I dont know much of their music but i thought it was good anyways. And they played that classic song which everyone knows..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Highs

Body and Soul

Lows

For me, much of what Ireland is about, ie hypocritical, drunk and dirty.

As a matter of interest, how can a festival be hypocritical?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Sajan

Highlights were.. Digitalism, Dan Deacon, The Roots, Hercules and Love Affair. AND....

Michale Franti in the Body and Soul was one of, if not the best musical experiences of my life. It was a true moment and for me what the Electric Picnic is all about.