Joining the irish defence forces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

If the poster can't discuss his job we must respect that.
    Derisory comments such as "navy seal is it?" are not appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭murph226

Just curious, I am a member of the Naval Service myself.

As I said earlier, I just asked what he does, not to disclose any info that could get him into trouble.

If you're not willing to discuss something why bring it up, it is a discussion board after all?

Being chosen for "specialist training" because you have a Leaving Cert?

About 80% of my recruit class had leaving Certs, they didnt get sent for any "specialist training".

Might I add, when you passout as an ordinary seaman you do your division specific course e.g. Comm's, Mech's, Log's or Seamans.

These courses are compulsory, Leaving Cert or not.

If statements about "specialist training" cannot be backed up because they are top secret maybe they should be in the walt forum?

This is the Irish Naval Service we are talking about, not the S.B.S ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Mslug

I was researching on joining the military and was wondering how do regular cadets get put into certain corps?

Like from what I've been looking at the Communication and Information Services Corps seems like the prime one for me and I was wondering whats the process into getting into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭murph226

not too sure, but I'd imagine you get a choice, then its probably dependant on vacancies.

your best bet is to get in contact with your local barracks, or if you're still in school, someone in career guidance should be able to find out for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Tribunius

You pick a number of preferences. Depending on vacancies and your placement in the class you get your assignment.

CIS have direct entry competitions from time to time too so keep your eyes open for that too. You have to have a relevant degree to go that route though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Mslug

Tribunius wrote: »
    CIS have direct entry competitions from time to time too so keep your eyes open for that too. You have to have a relevant degree to go that route though.
    This definitely sounds like my kind of thing. I'm currently doing a computer science degree so I'd assume that would be relevant enough.

Thanks for the information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭G_H

anyone know when the next recruitment is only i applied a few weeks ago and still have heard nothing back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

were di you apply to?

I applied to the eastern and i rang,they sed interviews will be held in november and i was to wait

were di you apply to?

I applied to the eastern and i rang,they sed interviews will be held in november and i was to wait

i applied to the eastern myself did you hear anything back from them before you rang them i might give them a call later

no i heard nothing at all just rang the man power office and thats what they told me

how long ago did you apply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

what age do you have to be to join the reserves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KINGPIN

was very few numbers applying for navy recently, someone there told me their was going be further recruitments to get the numbers up. so if you got an application in, you could still be called in the next few weeks. as for the army no clue

My buddy went for the Naval interview and passed it. They told him that there were 150 applicants, which is utter tripe because they will accept him as long as he passes the Physical, even though he is over the BMI. The Medic who will do them tests said so anyway!

G_H wrote: »
    how long ago did you apply

i applied about 4-5 weeks ago now just have to wait until november,really hope i get an interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

My buddy went for the Naval interview and passed it. They told him that there were 150 applicants, which is utter tripe because they will accept him as long as he passes the Physical, even though he is over the BMI. The Medic who will do them tests said so anyway!

Reserves or permanent navy?

Considering that meself right now.

Permanent, If you can get in a application within say a week you could even possibly be in by the end of Sept. I have a buddy in already and thats what he told me anyway!

i applied about 4-5 weeks ago now just have to wait until november,really hope i get an interview

Did you hear anything back yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Failure to pass your BMI is a medical failure, unless of course you can pass the calipers test.

G_H wrote: »
    Did you hear anything back yet

Yeah i have an interview for the eastern in november

When did you find that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 NoAverageJoe08

I stumbled across this thread while looking for info on the PDF. I have done just over a year in the reserves and its really interested me(two star at the mo) and im really thinking of giving the PDF a good go i'm pretty sick of civi jobs.
    But i have trained outside the rdf to be a computer technician i have the A+ Network + and i am currently working as a software and server technician. i would really like to take this EXP into the army but i don't know how that would work if i went in as a regular recruit in the pdf.

I mean to be honest i have only ever seen one laptop the entire time in was in the rdf

Is there a real demand for I.T people in the army?(Im 21 at the mo and really looking for a bit of advice)

Thanks Lads an Lassies:D

I doubt you'll be here very long:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Dub83

Howya lads,

Was just wondering if any1 has recently sat the interview for the Navy (enlisted) as I have my interview next week...I've to be at Cathal Brugha Barracks at half 8 in the morning:eek:, so I'm presuming that I'll be first on the list...Got the letter outlining what they will ask but its a bit vague & I tried ringing the recruit office & got no answer:(...is it previous work experience, life experience etc...

Any help is much appreciated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Dr.Sanchez

Recruitment freeze in the Defence Forces at the moment, prob cause of that whole recession thing...

They wont be taking on people till middle of next year id say...

00Blaine00 wrote: »
    Recruitment freeze in the Defence Forces at the moment, prob cause of that whole recession thing...

They wont be taking on people till middle of next year id say...

Yeah had my interview this november and was postponed until 2009(provisionally) so nobody really knows when they will take on again,Have to wait and see how the economy goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Capt Blackadder

Hey guys,

new to all this. i was wondering if anyone on this thing i applying for the Army Cadet Corps. this year. If any one has any advice regarding the interview process, it would be graciously welcomed. Did the first one last year and to say I was clueless would be like saying The Battle of Cannae went well for Rome. I've applied to the R.D.F. and am awaiting the return of the security clearance from the Gardaí. If any one has advice for things to discuss in the application form, appearance on interview day, etc., do please let me know,

Kindest regards,
    Capt. Edmund Blackadder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Is there a real demand for I.T people in the army?(Im 21 at the mo and really looking for a bit of advice)

Theres the Communications & Information Corps (CIS). They also have a reserve CIS unit you could try out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Hey guys,

new to all this. i was wondering if anyone on this thing i applying for the Army Cadet Corps. this year. If any one has any advice regarding the interview process, it would be graciously welcomed. Did the first one last year and to say I was clueless would be like saying The Battle of Cannae went well for Rome. I've applied to the R.D.F. and am awaiting the return of the security clearance from the Gardaí. If any one has advice for things to discuss in the application form, appearance on interview day, etc., do please let me know,

Kindest regards,
    Capt. Edmund Blackadder

I replied to a post like this before let us know if you need more info

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055424977