Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Can't see Arsenal sticking 4 past Madrid, so it seems they probably won't retain the Emirates cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

Well we are winning 1-0 against Real. Ade on target after 49 mins. Great result if we get it. Only 3 mins left. Juventus concede two late goals and lose 3-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Not a bad performance. Still 2 matches and the only goal they scored was a penalty. Not a huge amount of penetration against either sides.

Adebayor shouldn't have bothered with the badge kissing crap. If he just keeps his head down and scores goals, the fans will forgive him. He shouldn't start kissing the badge pretending he loves the club when it's blatantly obvious the only thing he loves is money.

Wilshere looked good, again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

have to say, Wilshire looks pure class.

I dont think bendtner did himself many favours, he seemed well off the pace in the last two games. Denilson was good as well. The passing movement and pace certainly looks like its coming together though.

Am I mistaken in thinking that Kolo Toure's first came to us as an attacking midfielder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

have to say, Wilshire looks pure class.

He has the potential to be some player all right, expect to see him start Carling cup matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Adebayor shouldn't have bothered with the badge kissing crap. If he just keeps his head down and scores goals, the fans will forgive him. He shouldn't start kissing the badge pretending he loves the club when it's blatantly obvious the only thing he loves is money

Have to say it was quite sickening alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Have to say it was quite sickening alright.

I thought it was quite funny, I knew he was going to do it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Players should have to do what managers have to do and earn their badges then they can kiss them. It was obvious alrite he'd do it. Nasris looks like another pires, it'll take him 2-3 months to get into it(i hope).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I dont think bendtner did himself many favours, he seemed well off the pace in the last two games.

Am I mistaken in thinking that Kolo Toure's first came to us as an attacking midfielder?

Yeah Bendtner has just looked disinterested in the past two games against the first real top class opposition we've faced so far in pre-season.

I think Kolo started out at left mid if I remember correctly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Do people reckon Denilson is gonna get the starting nod beside Cesc come the league kickoff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

I think it will be Diaby, I see him as being the big breakthrough this season. I think Denilson has shown great form and I would love to see him get a run of games, his passing and movement have been very good, just feel he fades from games for periods and needs to maintain focus a bit more. I think Diaby will be really Dynamic and step up his game.

We really wont know until Cesc is back though, it depends on who can partner his style and movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Has to be Diaby.. He has featured regularly in the first team throughout last season where Denilson didn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Diaby is hardly a defensive midfielder though ...he's more of an attacking midfielder, right? I can't see him and Cesc lining up in CM together.

I reckon it'll be Denilson or maybe even Djouru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Hasnt Wenger come out and said he hopes to sign one quality experieced midfielder before the summer is out? Presumably whoever that is will partner Fabregas in the centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Hasnt Wenger come out and said he hopes to sign one quality experieced midfielder before the summer is out?

Thats what he said alright. When asked if he had Barry in mind he smiled and said he didn't want to name names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Hasnt Wenger come out and said he hopes to sign one quality experieced midfielder before the summer is out?

Surely he was talking about Amaury Bischoff.... :p
    I cant see it being Denilson.
    Somehow I think he's gonna pick Diaby, although Ramsey might get the odd cameo...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Unless he signs someone it'll be Denilson.

Denilson didn't play much last season because he was injured. He's played the DM role a lot this pre-season (and has done it well) which suggests to me that he's being prepared to play alongside Cesc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He going to buy Alonso for a Spanish MF. :(

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Hleb scored a beauty for us last night, seemed really chuffed about it too. He's a nice guy... Good for the team Im hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Well thats Barry ruled out, maybe the Alonso rumours arnt so far out although I would be very surprised to see Benitiz sell such a quality player to one of their top four rivals. Denilson has always impressed me when he plays, a very good tidy player.
    Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has ruled out a move for Gareth Barry even though he is an admirer of the Aston Villa ace.

Reports over the weekend surfaced suggesting that Arsenal could hijack Liverpool's long-term pursuit of Barry, as Wenger looks to bring in at least one more new face before the close of the transfer window.

Wenger admits he is in the market for a new midfielder with rumours suggesting Liverpool schemer Xabi Alonso is his top target.

With Barry hoping to push through a deal to Liverpool after Villa boss Martin O'Neill conceded defeat in his bid to keep the England star, it could open the door for Arsenal to land Spanish international Alonso.

Wenger refused to reveal the identity of his transfer targets, but confirmed he will not be making a move for Barry.
    Not on his case
    "I don't know if Gareth Barry will leave Aston Villa or not, but I am not on his case," said Wenger.

"I like Gareth Barry and I like two or three other players. It is better I don't speak about names, I said that yesterday. It is better I leave things to your imagination and creation.

"I cannot tell you anything more. If we sign a player we will come out and tell you, but I can say to you now that we are not close to signing anybody."

Meanwhile, Wenger expects big things from Theo Walcott next season.

Wenger is happy with the progress being made by Walcott and believes this could be a defining season for the former Southampton youngster.

"Theo is ahead of what he was doing at this period last season and he is still 19," said Wenger.

"I hope Theo will be a big part of the squad this season.

"I have confidence in him of course, but it is down to performances.

"His first touch his much better and he moves the ball quicker. His penetration and final ball is better.

"There is goalscoring potential in him and I hope he gets it out of him."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11670_3908622,00.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

mike65 wrote: »
    He going to buy Alonso for a Spanish MF. :(

Mike

saw those reports. wtf? doesn't really make sense to me. Alonso is a great player but imo too static for Arsenal's style of play... the player needed is the type of player who will pop up and make a challenge in the LB position, then race up the pitch and start pressing against the RW. Alonso doesn't really do this, he's not dynamic enough imo.

i also see the price being quoted is 18 million. haven't the sly feckers raised their valuation by 2 since the Juve event? the cheek!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

If Wenger gives 18M for Alonso,Liverpool will have the cash to get Barry,who was also a target for Wenger.Who would be your first choice of any offensive midfielder?

Invincible wrote: »
    Who would be your first choice of any offensive midfielder?

eh? it's a defensive midfielder that's needed... have more than enough offensive ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Well thats Barry ruled out, maybe the Alonso rumours arnt so far out although I would be very surprised to see Benitiz sell such a quality player to one of their top four rivals.

If any club are willing to give 18million for Alonso, Benitez will bite their hands off. I'd be shocked if this story was true, I just can't see Wenger shelling out that sort of cash on what has become a very hit and miss player.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Jaysus... looks like he'll be getting more than a few Carling Cup Appearances so. excellent to see, if hugely depressing given that he's all of 4 years younger than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Good news, he looks like he could be a great player.

I saw a report yesterday saying that Newcastle are looking to buy Senderos. Deal would be 7 million plus Given. One can dream I suppose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Galvasean wrote: »
    55 -> 19 quite the jump

Maybe he's the experienced midfielder Wenger has been talking about getting in:rolleyes:

dunno if it was mentioned here, but traore signed a new deal today.
    Arsenal can today confirm Armand Traore has signed a new long term contract with the Club.

Since joining the Gunners as a scholar in Summer 2006, Traore (18) who is predominantly a left-back but can also play in midfield, has already made a total of 18 first team appearances, including three Premier League and two Uefa Champions League appearances.

In his first season with the Club, Armand missed just one League Cup game during Arsenal’s run to the Final in Cardiff, and has also regularly been on the bench for Uefa Champions League matches.

Armand is also a regular for France Under-19s, and took part in all three of their 2008 Uefa Under-19 Championships Elite Qualifiers.

Everyone at Arsenal is delighted that Armand has extended his contract with the Club.

not much to say on this other than it's always good to see the younger players signing on for the long term. hopefully he'll develop into a good player, he certainly has the potential imo.