Joining the irish defence forces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Cato

i was hoping for a month notice was looking forward to the time of from work which currently takes up alot of time, i wanted to cram some trining in as well to make sure i was top condition going in, to bad i only get a weeks warning, oh well thanks for the warning i gues i better start geting prepared now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

yep, although you can always be fitter, the level they start at is fine if you didnt struggle in the fitness test, they will build you up to a level so its not up to you, so you ok in that regard, although it is nice to have it handy fitness wise the 1st couple of weeks :)

enjoy haha

king-stew wrote: »
    yep, although you can always be fitter, the level they start at is fine if you didnt struggle in the fitness test, they will build you up to a level so its not up to you, so you ok in that regard, although it is nice to have it handy fitness wise the 1st couple of weeks :)

enjoy haha

thanks for the reply, could you define "struggle" :) or is that open to interpretation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Finally got my interview date for the PDF, a week from today:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 daisey

Finally got my interview date for the PDF, a week from today:)

howdy just wanted to ask if any those their training in the curragh

Cato wrote: »
    thanks for the reply, could you define "struggle" :) or is that open to interpretation?

crawling over the line = struggle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Lobster

I can't get in because I had asmatha

crawling over the line = struggle :D

hehe thats good then for me :D

Lobster wrote: »

they dont know if you dont tell them!

i had asthma from when i was around 8 years till about 14/15, never mentioned it to them and there was no hassle ;)

Well they know now and he told me that I cant get into any of the defence forces in the future. It seems the naval vessels can't spare room for my medication, that being the inhalers i never need anymore. Their loss, I was the most suitable canditate there that day by a million miles. The Ferry to haulbowline was a new experience for some of them for feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Aviator141

I applied for the Equation school last January. Because I had a lot of experience training horses they interviewed me within 2 days which really surprised me. I then had my medical and fitness test within the space of a month, they certainly were efficent! I was accepted and give 2 days notice to start training in Co Louth. I explained to them that I had to give one months notice to my employer but their attitude was " Screw your job, you're in the army now!" I told them could I defer until the next time so they said ok " With a serious attitude might I add" Just 2 weeks ago I recieved a letter asking me to arrive in Gormanstown, however I only had 4 days notice this time :mad: ! I again had to ring them and I was basically told off for wasting their time :confused: !? I explained to them I wanted to start but I also had a loyalty to my employer. They seem to think that you will drop everything for them!? I then told them to take my name of the list, they seem to me to be a very unorganised Army in my opinion. I mean I stated many times in my interview that I had to give a months notice and they said they can work something out for me.
    Im very disappointed it worked out this way but I had no other option :(

damn, i always thought they gave you a months notice, not sure why i just thought that would make sense, but i intend to drop everthing and go, i just wish i knew wether i am going to be called up when they said next RC is starting or at some random point 8 months down the line when ive all but forgotten about it? you must have a good job to stay and refuse a career in the army, especially in equitation i hear people go places in there... although i know my employers and they are probably the soundest i have ever had, i would prefer not to just leave them without hardly any notice. What i do is minimum wage stuff, but is semi skilled ie i was trained to a certain deegree to acomplish a certain job that only 1 or 2 other people know how to do and badly at that, so me leaving would force a huge workload on them, but i want a real job/career and when it comes to this i come first not anyone else! so you must be kicking yourself man :(

Aviator141 wrote: »
    they seem to me to be a very unorganised Army in my opinion.

haha mate you have no idea, thats just the tip of the iceberg youve seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Company Sgt

Lobster wrote: »

of course u can get in with asthma

haha mate you have no idea, thats just the tip of the iceberg youve seen!

Really?? Is there anything you've seen or come across to make you come to that conclusion?

so you must be kicking yourself man :(

You said it! It's not so bad though as I work as a photographer which I love, I also get to work with horses every 2 weeks or so, so I'm still involved in something I have a passion for. It really comes as no surprise to me why the army has difficulties recruiting qualified personal, their recruitment procedures need to be totally overhauled and evaluated. I'm positive I wasn't the only one in this situation.:confused:

Not I, maybe it was because I mispelled "asthma":p

Aviator141 wrote: »
    Really?? Is there anything you've seen or come across to make you come to that conclusion?

yes, my whole (albeit rather short) army career!

Go on..........?

there wouldnt be enough space on the interweb to write it all but in general, the simplest tasks involved a lot of effort, even more shouting and an enormous amount of confusion! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hoorah81

too right you can get in with asthma! i know 2 or 3 ppl in 1 company with it so i can only imagine the whole defence forces! once u make it trough training without them knowing your pretty much there 2 stay!

Did the interview today, went very well i tought.
    Couldnt belive it, out of thirty or so being interviewed, only around 6 including myself were dressed in a suit, the rest in jeans and casual shirts and a few even in tracksuits with runners:eek:, It is a job interview at the end of the day

Did the interview today, went very well i tought.
    Couldnt belive it, out of thirty or so being interviewed, only around 6 including myself were dressed in a suit, the rest in jeans and casual shirts and a few even in tracksuits with runners:eek:, It is a job interview at the end of the day

i would call it "youthful optimism" out of all the poeple at my interview medical i was the oldest by around 4 years!:eek: i wonder how being one of the oldest will work out in recruit training?meh propbably wont make a difference;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KINGPIN

mind me asking where did you apply and when did you send in your application

bitemybanger ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hoorah81

i would call it "youthful optimism" out of all the poeple at my interview medical i was the oldest by around 4 years!:eek: i wonder how being one of the oldest will work out in recruit training?meh propbably wont make a difference;)

it makes a differnce alrite! when the training instructors leave a platoon task 2 be done they usually leave the oldest or (SENIOR SOILDER!) in charge! if everyting goes well and u dnt make a mess outa tings it wrks out as a beneifit 4 u! but if it goes bad which usually happens well..........

Did the Interview this day last week and already got a date for the medical, glad its moving swiftly:D

KINGPIN wrote: »
    mind me asking where did you apply and when did you send in your application

bitemybanger ^^

Have a look on the website and choose a brigade, I choose Eastern and my application went to Cathal Brugha Barracks in Rathmines, they send you an application form, fill it out, send it back and wait to be called for interview. sent mine in around 6 weeks ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 scobey87

Thinkin about joining up the website doesnt really help much so just wondering can anyone give me an insight and inform me how to get forms i rang all manpower offices and got no answer.
    cheers.

Holy crap lads, Did the interview 3 weeks ago, did the medical yesterday and i have the PT test on Monday morning:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KINGPIN

i applied in april no response yet, thats awfully quick medical and pt ^^