Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marijuana March tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Thanks Irishcrx, ill be there :p jees just thinking about weed is getting me all giddy, love it. I swear its the only thing that makes working in an office 9-5 worth it.... 3.30 time for a joint.
    see you tommro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Have you tried turning your sarcasm detector on & off? That might get it going again. :p

Oh wow a sarcastometer...
    Thats a reeeeallly useful invent...*BOOM!!*

OT..

Might turn up to this actually just to have a look.

Starting at 2.30pm...
    You can tell the mentality behind this :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

As a cannabis user I'd like to see the law's surrounding it relaxed, but in fairness, these marches will do f*ck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Well there's less chance of it happening if we do nothing, do you think we'd have ever got the republic back if everyone had an attitude like yours. Didn't think so.

Define "back?" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 ProVox

I'l be there. So will most of my cohorts.
    This might not change our drug policies, but it will go some-way towards making people realise some marijuana smokers are motivated and intelligent enough to recognise flaws in the system, and others are socially-minded enough to support those with legitimate issues (medicinal smokers supported by social/casual smokers).

If the government realised how much of a benefit it would be to legalise, regulate and tax marijuana, we could solve the hospital and education funding crisises (sic?) with 2 years.

My 2 cents for what they're worth. C'yis there folks, I'l be the guy with the pink eyes asking if you have any sweets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

Hopefully over half the country show up. Might make a difference then.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Hope you get a good turn out man. I love weed but I'm not one to go marching around a city promoting it! Attitudes to cannabis need to change. It seems like people have been ingrained with all this bullsh1t hysteria that it fcuks up your mind blah blah repeat ad nauseum. Look at what happened in the UK this week, the silly blind bastards over there have taken one step backwards and reclassified it to Class B. They don't seem to understand that people who smoke it couldn't give a fcuk if its class a or class z, they will continue smoking it.

Governments don't seem to realise that if cannabis is legalized and controlled properly through Cafes such as those in Amsterdam, there is a lot of profit to be made from it. In theory if there are 190000 (random number :)) smokers in Ireland buying a 50 bag every week, that's 9.5 million euro per week which I'm sure they'd find a good use for.

Too many people are misinformed about this drug. Its less dangerous than alcohol and tobacco, yet people demonise it as if there had been thousands of deaths resulting from it. There has not been 1 death from cannabis. Not 1. How many people die from alcohol poisoning each year?? How many people cost the taxpayer money every weekend going out getting p1ssed and ending up in the A & E or fighting in the streets?

Now ask yourself the same questions about weed. How many stoners do you see fighting in the streets? None. We can all jump on top of our moral soapbox and denounce weed, but at the end of the day, its still a lot safer than your legal substances.

backed, completely.
    and i love random numbers too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sounds like a lot of effort dude, think I'll just stay at home and get toasted.

passive wrote: »
    Define "back?" :confused:

What's wrong, did he spell everything correctly so you want to give him a history lesson now.

take it to the politics forum.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Sounds like a lot of effort dude, think I'll just stay at home and get toasted.

Apathy For the win!!!

Or second...

Meh, Whatever really..

How about donating the money you give to drug dealers to the suffering in burma ?

Are you serious? Man thats a weak attempt at invalidating a whole argument. In that case why not donate all the money we'd spend on alcohol or cars, or new clothes or luxury items??

Granted the people of burma need help, but cop the **** on

Think before you post man

They have enough drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

I dont think their in the mood for smoking right now :D

ok, i donate and my cash buys food, the charity goes over to help them...and their not allowed into the country by the army...makes sense !!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

DarkJager wrote: »
    There has not been 1 death from cannabis. Not 1. How many people die from alcohol poisoning each year??

Correction, DJ, 1 person has died from cannibas. When a crate of the smelly stuff was been craned off a ship the link snapped and the crate fell on some bloke, squishing him awesomely.

Tsk, get your facts right, man!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

we'll have to construct the hippie drill, quick!

hippie drill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wazdakka wrote: »
    They have enough drugs.
    But them got blowed away.

Too soon? Nah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

I'm not going for the simple reason that last year the vast majority of marchers were a load of scumbags who had no interest in the logic behind legalization or the fairness of it. They just wanted to thwart the law and scream abuse at the gardai. I really believe in legalizing marijuana in all forms and regulating it's quality and price, try and get all the sh*t off the streets that kids are buying..laced with fibreglass is the latest money saver for dealers...
    But because of the huge amount of recreational drug users who are stereotypical scumbags I fear it will never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

bubonicus wrote: »
    What's wrong, did he spell everything correctly so you want to give him a history lesson now.

take it to the politics forum.

Uh.. Take it to the "wannabe mod" forum?

(Edit; I do support the legalisation thing. Don't get beaten up by angry Gardaí though, and try distance yourself from the scumbags who are going to come along to make trouble/get wasted. Would be there if I wasn't elsewhere.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

DAMNIT

I have an Exam tomorrow :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

there are posters for this event around town with a marijuana leaf as it emblem so i think gardai intelligence might be aware of this event.

I also noticed a new head shop in town ( near hardwicke street ) .

there seem to be loads of these places in dublin now .

I'm suprised that there is such a demand for them.

perhaps these shops could sponsor the stroll tommorow :)

Perhaps you don't realise that the last thing the vultures that own head shops (what a stupid fucking name) want to see is any sort of move to legalise/decriminalise/reclassify cannabis, and deprive them of their lucrative trade in legal "highs".

As for the march itself? Pointless in the extreme...sorry to be cynical but that's the reality of it. General attitudes in this country rail against people that want to go against the grain, particularly those who are seen as stupid, sluggish, giggling, lazy, red-eyed druggies/hippies with only their own selfish interests (ie getting stoned with no consequences) at heart.
    Mass non compliance with drug laws is the only way to force changes in legislation...they can't put the whole populace of drug users in jail....where would they put the real criminals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

OP you'd be far better off putting together a well crafted, coherent petition, and submitting it to Pat Carey, Minister of State with special responsibility as Government Chief Whip at the Department of An Taoiseach. On the face of his approach to drugs he seems more agreeable to a reasonable case for the legalisation of marijuana.

A quick google will furnish you with his e-mail, (I'm not putting it up here because frankly I don't know the regs about that kind of thing on boards).

This would be far more productive than any demonstration, it's a means of showing the numbers of people who this issue matters to, without the inevitable influx of scumbags, and without painting a target on your forehead so the police can raid your gaff.

All you need is some kind of scientific type person to wade through the scientific literature and put together a compelling case as to why marijuana should not be illegal in this country...now where oh where would you find such a person ;)

EDIT: I'm not sure what his current mandate is with the cabinet re-shuffle yesterday, you should probably look into that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Excellent, now I know the best spot to deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Wertz wrote: »
    Perhaps you don't realise that the last thing the vultures that own head shops (what a stupid fucking name) want to see is any sort of move to legalise/decriminalise/reclassify cannabis, and deprive them of their lucrative trade in legal "highs".
    +1 if i could. You speak the truth. In saying that, im off down there tomorro. Its only <100 metres away from my home.
    As for the march itself? Pointless in the extreme...sorry to be cynical but that's the reality of it. General attitudes in this country rail against people that want to go against the grain, particularly those who are seen as stupid, sluggish, giggling, lazy, red-eyed druggies/hippies with only their own selfish interests (ie getting stoned with no consequences) at heart.
    I disagree. Marching can be so powerful and gains so much attention that they went out of their way to ban marching outside parliament in England. At least they know that some people believe the current laws arent worth a fuk and some peoples lungs hurt from the fiberglass.

Jesus though, if i had a cent for every gullible idiot that gave me the "but its illegal" argument........
    Mass non compliance with drug laws is the only way to force changes in legislation...they can't put the whole populace of drug users in jail....where would they put the real criminals?
    Seems like a good idea, cept im a clumsy whore and id be dropping the soap. Im probably a bit bi though, if he was nice...maybe. But thats the evil satanic smoke making me near-half homosexual.

Jah bless.

passive wrote: »
    Uh.. Take it to the "wannabe mod" forum?

Ditto

but you missed my point. no harm.

Best of luck with the march guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Good luck to all you marijuana fans marching in the rain today. Shine on you crazy diamonds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

I am completely against marijuana. My cousin, once, he smokes a "spliff" and he laughed himself to death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

As another cannabis user I support any effort to leaglize it, especially for medical purposes as I know someone who smokes it to deal with medical depression as well as other medication, I'd go but I have work :/