Arsenal Transfer Rumours And General Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

How about Gattuso? or do you think he only said he would like to move to the prem when it seemed Milan wouldent have Chapions league football. would be a perfect signing for Arsenal as far as im concerned.

The man who will end up as a squad player because of Flaminis arrival? I can't see Wenger buying a 30 year old to be honest...great player, but hardly at his peak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Id be amazed to see Wenger buy a player over 25! (except maybe a goalie)
    Gilberto has been in good form since being reintroduced to the first team set up (beginning in the United game). Although i'd doubt he'd have the legs for the full season next year. We definately need another quality CM to rotate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

so Flamini gone, looks like Hleb is out the door too... jaysus this team is in danger of breaking up before they get off the ground. that means at least 2 good signings are needed for the midfield, along with at least another CB and that's before they can even address the wings... Wenger's gonna have his work cut out to keep them competitive on his supposed shoestring budget... :(

could ye see him selling one of Van Persie or Rosicky to generate cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Nope can't see that happening, I do hope that we do not have any more exits including hanging onto Eboue as a squad player. I have every faith that Arsene will snap up another couple of bargains. As far as I know Ken Friar is meeting the Arsenal supporters group next week, it was supposed to have been Keith Edelman so we might get some news on our transfer budget.

I really doubt it, as injury prone as van Persie is, he has more skill and talent than any of our other players, but if he doesn't manage almost a full season next year I'll go nuts! Rosicknote should be given time to prove that he can stay fit through a season too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

If Van Persie was available, i would absolutely LOVE him at Anfield. Wat a player, ye would be mad to sell him.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Perhaps a swap deal for Harry Kewell could be arranged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

So if Hleb buys out his own contract, how much would Arsenal get? I honestly think it might not be a bad time for him to move on. A goalscoring winger like Bob Pires is needed, or just somebody more direct than Hleb.

So if Hleb buys out his own contract, how much would Arsenal get?

it was £3.6million according to the guardian before, barely a third of what they paid for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Yeah, I won't miss Hleb all that much - he looked great but was far from the end product. However, it was his first pretty good season and you wouldn't have been too surprised if he made the same goalscoring advances over the summer that Fabregas did last year(although in many ways, I think they just started going in for Fabregas).

Bummer about Flamini going though. Guess we just have to get over it.

One rather rosy way of looking at it is...

We didn't do so well against the big teams this year. One win against (a fairly poor at the time) Chelsea, a draw against Man U and two draws against Liverpool. These are the big games where an out and out DMF is supposed to really makes a difference...ergo, if Ade doesn't lose his scoring boots, we have a fully fit RVP, Walcott as a starter, (I'm too pessimistic to include Rosicky), then we can maybe take the loss of Flamini without too much impact on our league results.

However, I don't think we would have gotten past AC Milan without Flamini and I think we would have beaten Liverpool had he stayed on the pitch. His replacement is crucial to our Champions League season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Perhaps a swap deal for Harry Kewell could be arranged?

Done and Done.

What do we think of Joaquain?

I'd be worried about the fact that he's gone so flat at Valencia but they'd had big problems this year with Koeman.

He can play wing and side back too if I'm not mistaken. Is he only a right winger though?

Although Valencia paid €25million for him a couple of years ago and he is 26 so that would count against him.

Nigs. I’d rather we signed Valencia (the player, not the club!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Well if we can get £2 million for Pascal Cygan from Villareal
    Then maybe by using the same logic we can do a swap deal with valencia
    How about Senderos and Eboue for Villa and Joe Quinn
    Deal :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

so Flamini gone, looks like Hleb is out the door too... jaysus this team is in danger of breaking up before they get off the ground. that means at least 2 good signings are needed for the midfield, along with at least another CB and that's before they can even address the wings... Wenger's gonna have his work cut out to keep them competitive on his supposed shoestring budget... :(

Cant see that happen. VAN p, wont be sold.
    Diaby has a chance now to step up to the mark and replace Flamini. That was what he was bought for. This time last year, if u heard Arsenal were offering Flamini 50K a week for 5 years, u would have though that wenger was crazy. People need to remember over the period he was with arsenal, he had one average season at right back..and a great season this year, as his future was on the line. We nearly sold him to brum for 2 million in August. Can he perform as well for Ac milan. Time will tell. based on most players that leave us. I doubt it! In fairness wenger offered him a good contract at the end for his endevours.
    I think Hleb is replaceable. Great skill, opens up space but cant score for crap. I wouldnt be too concerned as an Arsenal fan. If we had better luck on the injury front, we werent that far off at all.
    Goalkeeping front, did Almunia do that bad?. so do we need to invest there.
    Backup at centre back is crucial and at right back, man Sagna was such a loss when he got injured. what a signing.

Nigs

????

gosplan wrote: »
    ????
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

My girlfriend assured me some time ago that the "nigs" thing comes from "not in goals" but yeah, it basically means "no way".

As for the departures, I'm surprised that people are more cut up about Flamini leaving than the possibility of Hleb leaving. Especially if people consider Diaby a replacement for Flamini (ie he can't be considered a replacement for Hleb, to whom I think he's more similar).

Think back to games when we were without Hleb and Fabregas this season and remember how poor we were. Much like Fabregas (bar an above-average run early on this season), Hleb isn't a goalscorer - but they're both vital to the current team's style where possession, movement and the ability to pick the right pass quickly are all-important.

Flamini is not a top-notch positional DM in the Makelele/Mascherano/Gilberto mould - he's an athlete with an incredible engine who can still put himself round the pitch after 80 minutes of hard work. That makes him far more replaceable (and not necessarily with the exact same type of player) than Hleb for me, especially given that all his replacement will really have to do a lot of the time is win ball and play it 5 yards to Cesc (rather than Hleb's replacement, who'll have to develop and bed in the way it took Hleb two years to do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Arsenal 2007/2008 Fan Survey

Thinking about Premier League home matches, which of the following is the most important element about going to a game?

Seeing the game live – 49%
    The quality of the football – 44%
    The passion of the crowd – 4% HAHA :D

Arsenal 2007/2008 Fan Survey

Thinking about Premier League home matches, which of the following is the most important element about going to a game?

Seeing the game live – 49%
    The quality of the football – 44%
    The passion of the crowd – 4% HAHA :D

Surely the 3 should be more evenly split...not for us though I guess :rolleyes:

One interesting answer that Arsene Wenger gave in the light of later gossip was that he is seeking a defensive player and a creative player in this summer’s transfer activity. He also semi-joked a couple of times that Ken Friar will be a very busy man before next season gets under way. Of course positionally, the manager’s not going to be more specific about his targets, but over refreshments after the manager had departed came a bit more of the jigsaw.

One of the shareholders present is quite close to one of the first team squad. No names mentioned as I wouldn’t want to compromise the source of the info, but apparently Alex Hleb will indeed be leaving the club this summer.

Wenger talked about wanting to keep this group of players together, but with two years left on Hleb’s deal, the club would presumably have sounded him out about an extension if they wanted to keep him in the long term. His response – or lack of it – may force Arsenal to sell now when they can still get a decent amount of money for a player that did not come cheap. And it would explain why Arsene is on the lookout for a creative midfielder!
    From onlinegooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

"I am at the right team at the right moment playing some good football and scoring goals so of course I am happy," he declared.

"The most important thing is playing for the fans, and having the opportunity to play with so many great players at the club.

"As a footballer you want to make history and leave your name at a club.

"I hope I can do that at this club because I love the club."

Adebayor, though, maintains he would have sacrificed his own personal landmark this season for Arsenal to have secured the title.

"If somebody said to me 'you will only score 10 goals this season but you will win the league', of course I would go for that no matter how many goals I end up with," he said.

Adebayor, however, is confident this young Arsenal side have the determination needed to become champions.

"The secret is to believe in yourself, no matter what happens or what others say, you must believe in yourself and also work hard," he said.

"If you do that, you will be successful in life."

Man, I love Adebayor. From his interviews and anything he's said, he gives the impression of a guy who constantly has his head bowed mumbling something like 'work harder, improve, work harder, improve', and then every so often he lifts his head up and says how much he enjoys being at Arsenal.

Another big season please Ade - the defence will catch up with you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

From onlinegooner.
    sh!te (if true) - I'd be really disappoitned to lose Hleb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Surprised with Inter, we've always had a good relationship with them, but then again i think that was more with Dein. There was also talk of inter not trying to invoke the webster agreement where hleb can buy out his contract. The funny thing about hleb and the flamster was if it was last year noone would really give a toss, flamini had the champs league run at left back and the chelsea\united goals last year but was anonymous otherwise, hleb played some of the worst games i ever witnessed. 2 totally different players this year.

Peter Hill Wood..... seems money has always been available?

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11670_3532202,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Clichy with yet another great interview. Man why can't they all just be like him. Such a legend

playa3 wrote: »
    Clichy with yet another great interview. Man why can't they all just be like him. Such a legend

can you quote? the Sun's website breaks my browser.