Chivalry-Why do women expect it while at the same time wanting to be equal with men?

• 11-04-2008 04:19PM

Recently,there was a student publication in NUIG.It had an artice stating "Chivalry is dead in Ireland"
    The writer(obviously female) bemoaned that random guys would not hold open the door for her, and other such feminist crap.The point is,in this day and age, should it be expected of men to be chivalrous especially to women.Like us opening the door for awoman is applying that they are weaker than us.

I myself would never open the door or allow a girl to pass through first unless(a)she was pregnant or (b) I knew the girl.Also for older people and the disabled.

But why in this day and age would a woman expect a complete randomer to open the door for her when she is completely healthy and fit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Burnt Toast

I'd hold the door open if the chick was hot..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

Only if they're hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Tis all about the hotness.

Maybe the author of the piece was fat and ugly.Would explain why men ignored her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Maybe the author of the piece was fat and ugly.Would explain why men ignored her!

Would explain why she's a feminist at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well put it this way, if she looks like a pleasant girl who might flash me a smile after I've held the door then I'll do it. If she's a grumpy oul heffer who wouldn't give you the time of day then I won't. It's the women that dictate how they're treated by me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Chivalry is an overhang from times long forgotten. Now I'm all for it, but when it was truly in force, we were expected to be chivalrous. The flip side of that though, was that women were expected to do what they were fuckin told.

They can't have their cake and eat it, and if they try I'm going to stop lying to them when they ask me if they look fat in a certain item of clothing. Yes, you look like Jabba the Hut. Now make me a sandwich, bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Wheres the muppet button when ya need it? Are you insunuating that you would like your wimmens to chew tobacco, spit and scratch their nads? Well if not then stop complaining about having to employ a little bit of Chivalry every once in a while. Ladies should be ladies and gentlemen should be gentlemen E.O.S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Mirror wrote: »
    Chivalry is an overhang from times long forgotten. Now I'm all for it, but when it was truly in force, we were expected to be chivalrous. The flip side of that though, was that women were expected to do what they were fuckin told.

They can't have their cake and eat it, and if they try I'm going to stop lying to them when they ask me if they look fat in a certain item of clothing. Yes, you look like Jabba the Hut. Now make me a sandwich, bitch.

well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Chivalry is dead. And women killed it. - Dave Chapelle

That is all

Though I did once get a 'oh thanks you're so chivalrous' for holding a door for a girl. Was nicer than the usual 'wtf are you doing?' look or being completely ignored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

to be honest I dont expect it. but its nice when it is done.

Bendihorse wrote: »
    Wheres the muppet button when ya need it? Are you insunuating that you would like your wimmens to chew tobacco, spit and scratch their nads? Well if not then stop complaining about having to employ a little bit of Chivalry every once in a while. Ladies should be ladies and gentlemen should be gentlemen E.O.S.
    Yes, but ladies now want to be more than ladies. I look forward to the day you meet some butch feminist and make the mistake of offering to carry her gym bag (to the bin of course, she's finished with that old life now).

So you are saying that women should be subservient to men?Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think we should keep chivalry alive and do things like open doors for women. Women are week and prone to strange mood swings which could cause depression and crying. If we don't look after them they'll never get all the washing and ironing done.

So you are saying that women should be subservient to men?Ok.

Thats EXACTLY what im getting at! Would you like a dose of syphilis with that m'lord?

Its nice to be nice lads, its not about wimmens lib or equal rights. If we all lose our manners then the world would not be a very nice place to live. I hold the door for fellow human beings regardless of sex, however, i would be much more likely to have sex with a gentleman that stood up and offered me his chair than the man that pretended he didn't notice. S'up to ye after that, do ye want a ride or not?? If you look at it that way then there is also something in it for yees :)

It should be noted that I am a gentleman, and try to be as chivalrous as I can in the simpler ways, like opening doors, if I'm having dinner I'll stand when our counterpart comes to the table etc. but to be honest, that's just because I enjoy the etiquette. But I agree with the idea that it is, in general, a dead concept, and that women are responsible for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

id try to be chivalrous too without going way overboard. Dont think its really something id relate to gender equality. I reckon women put more effort into their appearance and holding a door open or whatever is just how i show that its appreciated.

Thats EXACTLY what im getting at! Would you like a dose of syphilis with that m'lord?

Its nice to be nice lads, its not about wimmens lib or equal rights. If we all lose our manners then the world would not be a very nice place to live. I hold the door for fellow human beings regardless of sex, however, i would be much more likely to have sex with a gentleman that stood up and offered me his chair than the man that pretended he didn't notice. S'up to ye after that, do ye want a ride or not?? If you look at it that way then there is also something in it for yees :)

Yeah.I understand that it is a nice gesture but a lot of girls expect it and would not even mutter thanks which can grate.To be honest,I think women not being thankful when it done is leading to the downfall of it.Thats not to say I think you do not thank the man though:)

I prefer my girls to be of pure virtue!:D

It should be noted that I am a gentleman, and try to be as chivalrous as I can in the simpler ways, like opening doors, if I'm having dinner I'll stand when our counterpart comes to the table etc. but to be honest, that's just because I enjoy the etiquette. But I agree with the idea that it is, in general, a dead concept, and that women are responsible for that.

I would be very wooed by that i have to admit, i love a bit of manners in a man and its not about anything other than its nice to see a man knows how to behave himself in company and how to treat others well.

There was equiette between males in those days too that has died off and its not due to wimmens lib, its down to people getting lazy and not being bothered to make an effort for each other. But sure lookit, it takes all sorts to make the world go around and it would be very boring if we were all the same :)

Yeah.I understand that it is a nice gesture but a lot of girls expect it and would not even mutter thanks which can grate.To be honest,I think women not being thankful when it done is leading to the downfall of it.Thats not to say I think you do not thank the man though:)

I prefer my girls to be of pure virtue!:D

You see there we see the difference between a lady and otherwise, i ALWAYS make a point of saying a loud thank you to anyone that makes an effort because its nice to keep it alive. Some people do look at me with surprise but i always hold the door for the person coming after me, even if it means waiting 5 seconds. Its extreemly rare that the person wouldn't acknowlege me for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Meh...

To be honest, if I see someone approaching a door, struggling with a bag or whatever, I'll open the door for them, irrespective of age, sex, able-bodied or not, whatever. I would expect other people to do the same for me and I think most people would. Any time I walk through a door (in a public place), I'll always glance over my shoulder to check for anyone behind me - if there's anyone there I'll hold the door for them. Again, I'd expect most people to do the same for me and most do. It's not chivalry, it's just good manners.

Chivalry, on the other hand, is another matter entirely, like placing your coat over a puddle to make sure your lady doesn't get her ickle feet wet. That's a load of nonsense and I don't know of any women who'd expect that sort of treatment. Any who did would not remain long in my company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

djpbarry wrote: »
    Meh...

To be honest, if I see someone approaching a door, struggling with a bag or whatever, I'll open the door for them, irrespective of age, sex, able-bodied or not, whatever. I would expect other people to do the same for me and I think most people would. Any time I walk through a door (in a public place), I'll always glance over my shoulder to check for anyone behind me - if there's anyone there I'll hold the door for them. Again, I'd expect most people to do the same for me and most do. It's not chivalry, it's just good manners.

Chivalry, on the other hand, is another matter entirely, like placing your coat over a puddle to make sure your lady doesn't get her ickle feet wet. That's a load of nonsense and I don't know of any women who'd expect that sort of treatment. Any who did would not remain long in my company.

very true about the good manners.
    I see nothing wrong with lifting a girl over a puddle though id draw the line at putting my coat in the puddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I open doors for girls all the time. Except the ones I like, because they love it when you're a bastard. =D

No luck so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I would be very wooed by that i have to admit, i love a bit of manners in a man and its not about anything other than its nice to see a man knows how to behave himself in company and how to treat others well.

It works both ways. If women don't have the decency to acknowledge a kind gesture from the opposite sex then they have nothing to really complain about.
    There was equiette between males in those days too that has died off and its not due to wimmens lib, its down to people getting lazy and not being bothered to make an effort for each other. But sure lookit, it takes all sorts to make the world go around and it would be very boring if we were all the same :)

Nonsense. It has nothing to do with people getting lazy and not bothering to make an effort it is mainly down to the evolution of women in society. You now have these *'high power' business woman types who are too concerned about their own lives to even take notice of anything that is happening around them. Any bloke who has opened a door with a smile just to be greeted back with a sarcastic lip curled side-ways glance will know what I mean.

*in their own small minds anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Lads it comes back to women not knowing what they want example ask girl A what she looks for in a man.

Girl A: One that's sweet, kind , thoughtfull, able to show a girl a good time, listens.

Now what she will actually go for is a bad boy, no job, treats her like **** and will then moan about men and how bad they are while having about 10 friends that match the original description.

Same with being treated equal , want one thing and the other.

Davidius wrote: »
    I open doors for girls all the time. Except the ones I like, because they love it when you're a bastard. =D

No luck so far.
    Slam the door on her head and she's yours.

Raekwon wrote: »
    You now have these *'high power' business woman types who are too concerned about their own lives to even take notice of anything that is happening around them.
    Plenty of men like that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

You see there we see the difference between a lady and otherwise, i ALWAYS make a point of saying a loud thank you to anyone that makes an effort because its nice to keep it alive. Some people do look at me with surprise but i always hold the door for the person coming after me, even if it means waiting 5 seconds. Its extreemly rare that the person wouldn't acknowlege me for it.

+1 To be honest I think its about good manners. If I'm walking out the door and someone is heading in my direction to go into the building I'll hold the door open for them regardless of their gender.
    Some women get highly offended at a man opening the door for her and I cannot understand this. It is not insulting, degrading, does not mean that the man sees you as being weaker etc.
    I had to got to the post office recently to collect a package and as I was going into the post office an old woman who had been there to collect a large parcel was trying to make her way out, she also had a walking stick. She was obviously struggling with the parcel, stick and opening the door. I was disgusted to think that not one of the many people in the queue had helped her with the parcel. I opened the door for her as I got there and asked her if she would like some help. She was so grateful to me so taking the parcel to her car and made a comment about how sad it was that not one of the men in the queue offered to help. I think thats a really poor statement about the general good manners (or lack thereof) of the people who were there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

Well done to you,keep it up as many of us still appreciate good manners.And its even nicer for us more mature folk when younger people show us,by their good manners,that all the negative things that are said about them aren't true.The bad manners of my own age group sometimes shown towards younger people of both sexes make me very angry.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

You have a link to the report OP?